Decommission of Cheoy Lee Shipyard at Penny's Bay -
Treatment of dioxin


DateContextSummary of developmentAction
5.5.00 EA, HS denoting Environmental Affairs Panel and Health Services Panel The Panels discussed the Administration's paper which presented the consultant's report on dioxin emissions in Hong Kong and the independent review of the consultant's findings, and met with deputations. [Administration's paper] [Independent review of the consultant's report] [An Assessment of Dioxin Emissions in Hong Kong - Summary of Findings] [An Assessment of Dioxin Emissions in Hong Kong : Final Report]
21.2.02 PRESS denoting Press Release The Government announced detailed plans for the decommissioning of Cheoy Lee Shipyard (CLS) at Penny's Bay, Lantau Island. The site would be used for the construction of some of the transportation infrastructure for the Hong Kong Disneyland (HKD) Theme Park. [Press Release]
12.3.02 EA denoting Environmental Affairs Panel The Panel discussed with the Administration and met with deputations on the effect of dioxin and removal of dioxin-contaminated soil at Penny's Bay. Key findings of the Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) study on the decommissioning of the former CLS at Penny's Bay were presented in the Administration's paper. [Paper] [List of questions raised by members] [Follow-up paper]
20.3.02 ES denoting Economic Services Panel The Panel discussed the Administration's paper which explained the financial implications of the decommissioning of CLS. [Paper]

The Secretariat prepared a background brief which gave a brief account of the discussions on the statutory EIA requirements and the decommissioning of CLS at Penny's Bay. [Background brief]

10.4.02 EA denoting Environmental Affairs Panel The Panel continued the discussion on the effect of dioxin and removal of dioxin-contaminated soil at Penny's Bay. [Paper] [List of questions raised by members] [Follow-up paper]
19.4.02 EA denoting Environmental Affairs Panel The Panel continued the discussion on the effect of dioxin and the removal of dioxin-contaminated soil in relation to the EIA study for the decommissioning of CLS at Penny's Bay, and met with deputations. [Summary of Thermal Desorption Projects treated Dioxins] [Paper on "Inspection visits to CLS at Penny's Bay by the Labour Department"]

Noting that the funding proposal for the decommissioning project would be submitted for consideration by the Public Works Subcommittee (PWSC), the Secretariat prepared a background brief summarizing the Panel's deliberations for reference by PWSC. [Background brief]

8.5.02 PWSC denoting The Public Works Subcommittee PWSC endorsed a commitment to upgrade part of 660CL to Category A, entitled "Infrastructure for Penny's Bay Development, Package 3 and Penny's Bay Reclamation Stage 2", at an estimated cost of $2,375.9 million in money-of-the-day prices for the construction of infrastructure and government, institution and community facilities to serve HKD Phase 1 and the reclamation works for the future development of HKD Phase 2. [Paper]
15.5.02 CQ denoting Council Question Hon Albert CHAN raised a question on contamination of industrial sites, having regard to the need to deploy huge amount of resources to remove the toxic dioxin from the former CLS site. [Hansard "page 86"]
24.5.02 FC denoting Finance Committee FC approved the commitment endorsed by PWSC on 8.5.02. [Paper]
23.6.03 EA denoting Environmental Affairs Panel The Panel discussed the Administration's paper which informed members of the details of the incidents associated with the decommissioning of CLS. The paper also explained how the monitoring mechanism had been operating and what precautionary measures would be taken. [Paper] [Follow-up paper]
10/03 AUD denoting Director of Audit's Report Director of Audit conducted a value-for-money audit on the acquisition and clearance of shipyard sites (Report No. 41). [Report]
23.6.03 EA denoting Environmental Affairs Panel At a member's request, the Administration provided the Panel with the progress report of the decommissioning of former CLS and formulation of land contamination policy. [Paper]

The Administration to report the outcome of the legal pursuits arising from the decommissioning and the progress of the formulation of a policy on land contamination.

6/04 PAC denoting Public Accounts Committee Public Accounts Committee (PAC) PAC considered in detail the report of the Director of Audit on the acquisition and clearance of shipyard sites (PAC Report No. 42). [Report]
- EA denoting Environmental Affairs Panel The Administration provided an update on the current policy on management of contaminated land in Hong Kong, and the actions taken to enhance contaminated land management, drawing reference from the Cheoy Lee Shipyard case. [Paper]


Go to Top

竹篙灣財利船廠清拆工程 -
二噁英的處理



日期場合/
來源
發展摘要行動
5.5.00 HS代表環境事務委員會與衞生事務委員會 兩個事務委員會討論政府當局的文件,當中載述有關本港二噁英排放情況的顧問報告及對顧問研究結果的獨立檢討工作,並與團體代表舉行會議。[政府當局的文件] [顧問報告的獨立檢討工作] [香港二噁英排放評估研究摘要] [香港二噁英排放評估研究:最後報告]
21.2.02 PRESS代表新聞稿 政府公布清拆大嶼山竹篙灣財利船廠的詳細計劃。該土地將用作興建若干配合香港迪士尼樂園發展的交通基建設施。[新聞稿]
12.3.02 EA代表環境事務委員會 事務委員會就二噁英的影響及清除竹篙灣受二噁英污染的泥土與政府當局進行討論,並與團體代表舉行會議。竹篙灣前財利船廠清拆工程的環境影響評估(下稱"環評")的主要結果載於政府當局的文件內。 [文件][由委員提出的問題一覽][跟進文件]
20.3.02 ES代表經濟事務委員會 事務委員會討論政府當局解釋財利船廠清拆工程的財政影響的文件。[文件]

秘書處擬備了一份背景資料簡介,概述委員就法定的環評要求及拆卸竹篙灣財利船廠所進行的討論。[背景資料簡介]

10.4.02 EA代表環境事務委員會 事務委員會繼續討論二噁英的影響和清除竹篙灣受二噁英污染的泥土。 [文件] [由委員提出的問題一覽] [跟進文件]
19.4.02 EA代表環境事務委員會 事務委員會因應竹篙灣財利船廠清拆工程的環評研究,繼續討論二噁英的影響及清除竹篙灣受二噁英污染的泥土,並與團體代表舉行會議。[處理二噁英的熱力解給工程方案的摘要][有關"勞工處巡查竹篙灣財利船廠"的文件]

鑒於船廠清拆工程的撥款申請須提交工務小組委員會審議,秘書處擬備了一份背景資料簡介,綜述事務委員會的商議內容,供工務小組委員會參考。[背景資料簡介]

8.5.02 PWSC代表工務小組委員會 工務小組委員會通過一項承擔額,把660CL號工程計劃的一部分提升為甲級,稱為"竹篙灣發展的第3組基建工程及竹篙灣第2階段填海工程";按付款當日價格計算,估計所需費用為23億7,590萬元,用以闢設基礎設施和政府、機構及社區設施,以配合香港迪士尼樂園第一期發展計劃,以及為香港迪士尼樂園第二期發展計劃進行填海工程。[文件]
15.5.02 CQ代表立法會質詢 鑒於須動用大量資源來清除前財利船廠用地所產生的有毒二噁英,陳偉業議員就工業用地被污染提出質詢。[議事錄"第58頁"]
24.5.02 FC代表財務委員會 財務委員會批准工務小組委員會在2002年5月8日通過的承擔額。[文件]
23.6.03 EA代表環境事務委員會 事務委員會討論政府當局的文件,當中告知委員財利船廠清拆工程的一些事件詳情,並闡述監察機制的安排及運作情況,以及將會推行的預防措施。[文件] [跟進文件]
10/03 AUD代表審計署署長報告書 審計署署長就徵用和清理船廠用地進行衡工量值式審計工作(第四十一號報告書)。[報告書]
26.4.04 EA代表環境事務委員會 應委員的要求,政府當局向事務委員會提交有關清理財利船廠原址及制訂土污染政策的進展報告。[文件]

政府當局須匯報清拆工程引致的法律訴訟的結果及關於制訂土地污染政策的工作進展。

6/04 PAC代表政府帳目委員會 政府帳目委員會詳細研究審計署署長就徵用和清理船廠用地提交的報告書(政府帳目委員會第四十二號報告書)。[報告書]
- EA代表環境事務委員會政府當局簡介經財利船廠事件後,本港現行的土地污染管理政策,以及政府在加強土地污染管理方面所採取的措施。[文件]


往頁首