Native-speaking English Teacher Scheme



DateContextSummary of developmentAction
9.10.97 PA denoting Policy Address The Chief Executive (CE) announced in the Policy Address 1997 the implementation of a new Native-speaking English Teachers (NETs) Scheme, providing more than 700 additional native-speaking English teachers for secondary schools from 1998. [Policy Address "paragraphs 84 to 88"]
17.10.97 ED denoting Education Panel The Panel discussed with the Administration the proposed NET Scheme. [Minutes]
5.11.97 CQ denoting Council Motion Hon YEUNG Yiu-chung raised a question on the employment of expatriate English language teachers in secondary schools. [Hansard "page 61"]
12.11.97 CM denoting Council Motion The Council passed a motion moved by Hon Mrs Elsie TU requesting the Government to take into consideration the views of Members on the proposal to provide more than 700 additional native English-speaking teachers of English for Hong Kong secondary schools. [Hansard "page 99"]
21.11.97 FC denoting Finance Committee FC accepted the financial implications of introducing a new NET Scheme in public sector secondary schools with effect from the 1998/99 school year, and approved a remuneration package for teachers employed under the Scheme. [Paper]
31.7.98 FC denoting Finance Committee FC approved the extension of NET Scheme to cover practical schools, skills opportunity schools and the secondary section of special schools except those for the mentally handicapped, with effect from the 1998/99 school year. [Paper]
23.9.98 CQ denoting Council Motion Dr Hon David LI raised a question on the recruitment of NETs, noting the fact that a quarter of the job offers had been turned down by overseas recruits. [Hansard]
6.10.98PA denoting Policy Address CE announced in the Policy Address 1998 the provision of up to four additional English language teachers for each Chinese medium school, of whom a maximum of two might be native-speaking English teachers in order to improve the teaching of English in these schools. [Policy Address "paragraph 97"]
21.10.98 CQ denoting Council Motion Hon YEUNG Yiu-chung raised a question on the progress of the enhanced NET Scheme for secondary schools. [Hansard]
16.11.98 ED denoting Education Panel The Panel discussed with the Administration the progress of the measures to enhance the teaching of English language in schools, in particular the measures referred to in the 1998 Policy Objective, such as the provision of NETs and the development of language benchmarks for teachers of English. [Paper]
2.12.98 CQ denoting Council Motion Dr Hon David LI raised a question on the decline in English standard in Hong Kong. [Hansard]
21.4.99 CQ denoting Council Motion Hon YEUNG Sum raised a question on the survey conducted by the Administration on schools employing NETs. [Hansard]
28.4.99 CQ denoting Council Motion Hon David CHU raised a question on NET Scheme, in particular on the recruitment procedures and the time required, and the plans in place to facilitate these teachers in adapting to the teaching and living environment in Hong Kong. [Hansard]
7.7.99 CQ denoting Council Motion Hon Kenneth TING raised a question on matters relating to teachers employed under NET Scheme taking up part-time jobs. [Hansard "page 65"]
15.3.00 CQ denoting Council Motion Hon James TIEN raised a question on the effectiveness of NET Scheme, noting that about one sixth of the teachers employed under the Scheme whose contracts would expire in 2000 would not renew their contracts. [Hansard "page 13"]

Hon Emily LAU also raised a question on the provision of NETs to primary schools. [Hansard "page 56"]

13.12.00 CQ denoting Council Motion Hon NG Leung-sing raised a question on the setting up of a Working Holiday Scheme for young people of Hong Kong and New Zealand under which some of the New Zealand holiday-makers would be recruited as English teacher assistants to reinforce NET Scheme. [Hansard "page 50"]
19.11.01 ED denoting Education Panel At the meeting when the Panel discussed with the Administration on CE's Policy Address 2001, some members enquired about the timetable for introducing NETs and the English Language Teaching Assistant (ELTA) schemes to the primary schools. [Minutes "page 8"]
21.1.02 ED denoting Education Panel The Panel discussed with the Administration its plan to implement NET and ELTA Scheme in public sector primary schools (including special schools) with effect from the 2002/03 school year. [Paper]

The Panel also discussed with the Administration the progress on the implementation of the NET Scheme in secondary schools. [Paper]

3/02FC denoting Finance Committee Some members raised questions on matters relating to the expenditures on NET and ELTA schemes in primary and secondary schools in examining the Estimates of Expenditures 2002/03. [Questions "Reply Serial Nos.: EMB106, 115, 127, 136, 192]
27.3.02 FC denoting Finance Committee At the meeting when FC examined the Estimates of Expenditures 2002/03, members discussed with the Administration on its plan to extend NET Scheme to primary schools with effect from 2002/03. [Speaking note of the Secretary for Education and Manpower] [Minutes "page 7"]
9.10.02 CQ denoting Council Motion Ir Dr Hon Raymond HO raised a question on matters relating to the implementation of NET Scheme in secondary schools and NET and ELTA Scheme in primary schools. [Hansard "page 63"]
16.12.02 ED denoting Education Panel The Panel discussed with the Administration the results of the recruitment of NETs for secondary schools and ELTAs for primary schools for 2002/03 school year, and new measures to ensure recruitment targets could be met for 2003/04 school year. [Paper]
3/03FC denoting Finance Committee Some members raised questions on matters relating to the expenditures on NET and ELTA schemes in primary schools in examining the Estimates of Expenditures 2003/04. [Questions "Reply Serial Nos.: EMB061, 070]
17.11.03 ED denoting Education Panel The Panel discussed with the Administration on introducing a mechanism for making regular adjustments to the rate of the Special Allowance payable to NET recruited under the NET schemes of primary and secondary schools. [Paper]
10.12.03CQ denoting Council Motion Hon Abraham SHEK raised a question on the recruitment of 150 additional NETs for primary schools in 2003. [Hansard "page 71"]
10.1.05 ED denoting Education Panel The Panel discussed with the Administration on the latest development of NET Scheme in primary schools. [Paper]
11.7.05 ED denoting Education Panel The Panel discussed with the Administration on NET Scheme, and met with Native English-speaking Teachers' Association on the subject. [Paper]

The Panel also noted the background brief prepared by Legislative Council Secretariat on "Native-speaking English Teacher Scheme". [Paper]

24.10.05 ED denoting Education Panel The Panel discussed with the Administration on Native-speaking English Teacher Scheme. [Paper]

The Panel also noted the background brief prepared by Legislative Council Secretariat on "Native-speaking English Teacher Scheme". [Paper]

18.11.05 FC denoting Finance Committee FC approved a commitment to revise the remuneration package for teachers under the NET Scheme; and delegate the authority to the Secretary for Education and Manpower to approve future revisions to the special allowance for teachers under the Scheme. [Paper]
1.11.06 CQ denoting Council Question Hon Emily LAU raised a question on enhancing English Language education in primary schools. [Hansard "page 81"]
16.4.07 ED denoting Education Panel The Panel met with deputations and the Administration to discuss "Review of the Native-speaking English Teacher Scheme". [Paper]

The Panel also noted the updated background brief prepared by Legislative Council Secretariat on "Native-speaking English Teacher Scheme". [Paper]

6.7.11 CQ denoting Council Question Hon Audrey EU raised a question on "Native-speaking English Teacher Schemes in Primary and Secondary Schools". [Hansard "page 136"]
7.12.11 CQ denoting Council Question Hon Tanya CHAN raised a question on "Education Support for Children of Native-speaking English Teachers". [Hansard "page 159"]
12.12.12 CQ denoting Council Question Hon Martin LIAO Cheung-kong raised a question on "Strengthening the teaching of English at school". [Hansard "page 79"]
9.7.13 ED denoting Education Panel The Panel discussed the Administration's paper entitled "The Latest Development of the Native-speaking English Teacher Scheme. [Paper]
10.11.14 ED denoting Education Panel The Panel discussed with the Administration on Native-speaking English Teacher Scheme. [Paper] [Follow-up paper]

The Panel also noted the background brief prepared by Legislative Council Secretariat on "Issues related to the Native-speaking English Teacher Scheme". [Paper]

10.12.14 CQ denoting Council Question Hon Michael TIEN raised a question on "Implementation of the Native-speaking English Teacher Scheme in primary schools". [Hansard "page 46"]
25.11.15 CQ denoting Council Question Hon Starry LEE raised a question on "English proficiency of Hong Kong people". [Hansard "page 43"]
17.5.17 CQ denoting Council Question Hon Michael TIEN raised a question on "Review of the Native-speaking English Teacher Scheme". [Hansard "page 77"]


Go to Top

以英語為母語的英語教師計劃



日期場合/
來源
發展摘要行動
9.10.97 PA代表施政報告 行政長官在1997年《施政報告》中宣布推行一項新的以英語為母語的英語教師計劃,由1998年起為全港中學增加700多名以英語為母語的英語教師。[施政報告"第84至88段"]
17.10.97 ED代表教育事務委員會 事務委員會與政府當局討論擬議的以英語為母語的英語教師計劃。[會議紀要]
5.11.97 CQ代表立法會質詢 楊耀忠議員就中學聘請外籍英語教師事宜提出質詢。[議事錄"第45頁"]
12.11.97 CM代表立法會議案 杜葉錫恩議員動議議案,要求政府考慮議員就建議為本港中學增加700多名以英語為母語的英語教師所提出的意見。議案獲通過。[議事錄"第74頁"]
21.11.97 FC代表財務委員會 財務委員會接納由1998至99學年起,在官立及資助類別中學實施新的以英語為母語的英語教師計劃的財政負擔,以及批准在這計劃下聘用的教師的薪酬方案。[文件]
31.7.98 FC代表財務委員會 財務委員會批准由1998至99學年起,把以英語為母語的英語教師計劃擴展至實用中學、技能訓練學校和特殊學校中學部(弱智兒童學校除外)。[文件]
23.9.98 CQ代表立法會質詢 鑒於有四分之一的海外受聘人士拒簽聘書,李國寶議員就招聘以英語為母語的英語教師事宜提出質詢。[議事錄"第51頁"]
6.10.98 PA代表施政報告 行政長官在1998年《施政報告》中宣布,為以中文為授課語言的學校增聘英文教師,每間學校最多會增加4名,其中最多可有兩名是以英語為母語的英語教師,以提高這些學校英文科的教學水準。[施政報告"第97段"]
21.10.98 CQ代表立法會質詢 楊耀忠議員就在中學推行以英語為母語的英語教師加強計劃的進展提出質詢。[議事錄"第23頁"]
16.11.98 ED代表教育事務委員會 事務委員會與政府當局討論為提高學校英語教學水平所推行的各項措施的進展,並特別討論到1998年《施政方針》所載的措施,例如增聘以英語為母語的英語教師及為英文科教師訂定語文基準等。[文件]
2.12.98 CQ代表立法會質詢 李國寶議員就本港英文水準日漸低落提出質詢。[議事錄"第48頁"]
21.4.99 CQ代表立法會質詢 楊森議員就政府當局對聘請以英語為母語的英語教師的學校進行的調查提出質詢。[議事錄"第38頁"]
28.4.99 CQ代表立法會質詢 朱幼麟議員就以英語為母語的英語教師計劃提出質詢,特別問及有關的招聘程序及所需時間,以及當局有何計劃令該等教師適應本港的教學及生活環境。[議事錄"第20頁"]
7.7.99 CQ代表立法會質詢 丁午壽議員就根據以英語為母語的英語教師計劃聘用的教師擔任兼職工作的有關事宜提出質詢。[議事錄"第47頁"]
15.3.00 CQ代表立法會質詢 鑒於在根據以英語為母語的英語教師計劃受聘並在2000年約滿的教師當中,約有六分之一不會續約,田北俊議員就該計劃的成效提出質詢。[議事錄"第11頁"]

劉慧卿議員亦就為小學提供以英語為母語的英語教師的事宜提出質詢。[議事錄"第38頁"]

13.12.00 CQ代表立法會質詢 吳亮星議員就下述事項提出質詢:為本港及新西蘭兩地青年設立一項工作假期計劃,藉此吸納部分參與該計劃而來港度假的新西蘭青年到本港學校擔任英語助教,以進一步加強以英語為母語的英語教師計劃。[議事錄"第35頁"]
19.11.01 ED代表教育事務委員會 在事務委員會與政府當局討論行政長官2001年《施政報告》的會議席上,部分委員問及在小學引入以英語為母語的英語教師計劃及英語教學助理計劃的時間表。[會議紀要"第7頁"]
21.1.02 ED代表教育事務委員會 事務委員會與政府當局討論下述計劃:由2002至03學年起,在官立及資助類別小學(包括特殊學校)推行以英語為母語的英語教師及英語教學助理計劃。[文件]

事務委員會並與政府當局討論在中學推行以英語為母語的英語教師計劃的進度。[文件]

3/02 FC代表財務委員會 部分委員在審核2002至03年度開支預算時就在中小學推行以英語為母語的英語教師計劃及英語教學助理計劃的開支的有關事宜提出問題。[問題"答覆編號:EMB106、115、127、136、192]
27.3.02 FC代表財務委員會 在財務委員會審核2002至03年度開支預算的會議上,委員與政府當局討論下述計劃:由2002至03年度起,把以英語為母語的英語教師計劃擴展至小學。[教育統籌局局長發言稿] [會議紀要"第7頁"]
9.10.02 CQ代表立法會質詢 何鍾泰議員就下述事項提出質詢:在中學推行以英語為母語的英語教師計劃及在小學推行以英語為母語的英語教師及英語教學助理計劃。[議事錄"第44頁"]
16.12.02 ED代表教育事務委員會 事務委員會與政府當局討論在2002至03學年為中學招聘以英語為母語的英語教師及為小學招聘英語教學助理的結果,以及為確保於2003至04學年達到招聘所訂目標而採取的新措施。[文件]
3/03 FC代表財務委員會 部分委員在審核2003至04年度開支預算時就在小學推行以英語為母語的英語教師及英語教學助理計劃的開支的有關事宜提出問題。[問題"答覆編號":EMB061、070]
17.11.03 ED代表教育事務委員會 事務委員會與政府當局討論,為根據以英語為母語的英語教師計劃受聘任教於中、小學的英語教師所享有的特別津貼引入定期調節津貼額的機制。[文件]
10.12.03 CQ代表立法會質詢 石禮謙議員就於2003年為小學額外增聘150名以英語為母語的英語教師的事宜提出質詢。[議事錄"第51頁"]
10.1.05 ED代表教育事務委員會 事務委員會與政府當局討論在小學推行以英語為母語的英語教師計劃的最新情況。[文件]
11.7.05 ED代表教育事務委員會 事務委員會與政府當局討論以英語為母語的英語教師計劃,並就此事與英語外籍教師協會會晤。[文件]

事務委員會並察悉由立法會秘書處擬備的背景資料簡介,該資料簡介題為"以英語為母語的英語教師計劃"。[文件]

24.10.05 ED代表教育事務委員會 事務委員會與政府當局討論以英語為母語的英語教師計劃。[文件]

事務委員會並察悉由立法會秘書處擬備的背景資料簡介,該資料簡介題為"以英語為母語的英語教師計劃"。[文件]

18.11.05 FC代表財務委員會 財務委員會批准一項承擔額,以修訂以英語為母語的英語教師計劃的教師薪酬福利條件;以及授權教育統籌局局長日後可批准修訂向在這項計劃下聘用的教師發放的特別津貼額。[文件]
1.11.06 CQ代表立法會質詢 劉慧卿議員就"改善小學英語教育"提出質詢。[議事錄"第56頁"]
16.4.07 ED代表教育事務委員會 事務委員會與代表團體及政府當局會商,討論"檢視以英語為母語的英語教師計劃"。[文件]

事務委員會並察悉由立法會秘書處擬備的最新背景資料簡介,該資料簡介題為"以英語為母語的英語教師計劃"。[文件]

6.7.11 CQ代表立法會質詢 余若薇議員就"以英語為母語的英語教師計劃"提出質詢。 [議事錄"第97頁"]
7.12.11 CQ代表立法會質詢 陳淑莊議員就"對以英語為母語的英語教師的子女的教育支援"提出質詢。 [議事錄"第117頁"]
12.12.12 CQ代表立法會質詢 廖長江議員就"加強學校的英語教學"提出質詢。 [議事錄"第56頁"]
9.7.13 ED代表教育事務委員會 事務委員會討論政府當局題為"「以英語為母語的英語教師」計劃"的文件 [文件]
10.11.14 ED代表教育事務委員會 事務委員會與政府當局討論以英語為母語的英語教師計劃。[文件] [跟進文件]

事務委員會並察悉由立法會秘書處擬備的背景資料簡介,該資料簡介題為"以英語為母語的英語教師計劃的相關事宜"。[文件]

10.12.14 CQ代表立法會質詢 田北辰議員就"在小學推行以英語為母語的英語教師計劃"提出質詢。 [議事錄"第34頁"]
25.11.15 CQ代表立法會質詢 李慧琼議員就"港人英語能力"提出質詢。 [議事錄"第29頁"]


往頁首