Terminal handling charges and mid-stream fees


DateContextSummary of developmentAction
22.7.98 CQ denoting Council Question Hon Kenneth TING raised a question on the monitoring terminal handling charges (THC). [Hansard]

Remarks: THC are charges collected by shipping lines to recover from the shippers, the cost of paying the container terminals or mid-stream operators, shipping companies and the shippers. Shipping lines operating in the major trade routes have formed themselves liner conferences to set THC.

11.12.98 ES denoting Economic Services Panel The Panel invited deputations including Hong Kong Shippers' Council (HKSC), shipping lines and terminal operators and the Administration to discuss the paper on THC. [Paper]

Members noted that shipping lines used to charge a single rate to cover all shipping and terminal handling and related charges. The rate was however separated into the freight rate and THC since 1990. Members were concerned about the continuous increase and the possible price cartel of THC due to the lack of transparency and consultation with shippers when THCs were adjusted by liner conferences.

The Administration had examined the option of regulating THC by legislation but considered that the approach would impose intervention to market. The Administration undertook to urge the shipping lines and the terminal operators to freeze or reduce THC. Meanwhile, it would explore with shipping lines for more transparency in the setting of THC.

28.6.99 ES denoting Economic Services Panel eputations and the Administration were invited to discuss the issue related to THC.[Paper]

The Panel welcomed the liner conferences' agreement on frozen of THC for a year. Members noted that a subcommittee had been set up under the Hong Kong Port and Maritime Board (PMB) to improve the competitiveness of the Hong Kong container port. Members discussed on whether the THC should be regulated by legislation as the THC was still considered to be on a high side.

28.2.00 ES denoting Economic Services Panel The Panel invited deputations and the Administration to discuss the paper on THC. [Paper]

While members noted that the THC would be frozen for another year, they opined that the problem of high THC remained unresolved. The competition from container ports in Pearl River Delta region also drew members' concern. Members queried whether the Administration had measures to improve competitiveness of the Hong Kong Container Port.

13.2.01 ES denoting Economic Services Panel The Panel noted that the mid-stream operators started to impose a $40 mid-stream service fee (MSF) on the trucking industry which triggered a dispute between the mid-stream operators and the trucking industry.

At the Panel's meeting, the Administration informed members that the major parties (the Mid-stream Operators Association (HKMOA), Hong Kong Liner Shipping Association (HKLSA), the China-Hong Kong Transportation Joint Conference (CHKTJC) and HKSC) had reached a preliminary agreement on a new mechanism for collection of MSF. Members were of the view that the Administration should examine whether the pricing mechanism of mid-stream operation was anti-competitive.

6.3.01 ES denoting Economic Services Panel The Panel noted that the HKMOA, HKLSA and HKSC had reached an agreement on using a coupon system to collect MSF. Nevertheless, the truck drivers and the mid-stream operators had dispute on the operation of the MSF coupon system commencing on 1 March 2001. The dispute was, however, resolved on 5 March 2001. [Paper]
26.3.01 ES denoting Economic Services Panel Members noted that the Hong Kong Textiles and Garments Seven Associations (HKTGSA) and the Hong Kong Business Community Joint Conference (HKBCJC) had requested to present their views on MSF coupon system at the Panel's meeting. Against this background, deputations from HKTGSA, HKBCJC, HKMOA, HKLSA, HKSC and CHKTJC were invited to attend the meeting to express their views on the MSF.
9.4.01 ES denoting Economic Services Panel The Panel noted the follow-up paper entitled "Port Development and the Container Freight Industry" after the Panel's meeting on 26.2.01.[follow-up Paper]

Noting the THC of Hong Kong was the highest in the world, members enquired about the components of the calculation of THC and raised query whether a cartel was formed to control THC.[Paper]

18.6.01 ES denoting Economic Services Panel The Panel noted that there was another dispute regarding collection of MSF coupon which had led to protest actions taken by truck drivers. The Panel also noted that a press release was issued by HKSC on 11 June 2001. [Press release]

Deputations were invited to discuss the issue. The Administration was requested to produce a report for the Panel's consideration. The Administration provided its' report on 10 July 2001. [Follow-up Paper]

18.12.01 ES denoting Economic Services Panel A paper on the latest development of MSF was provided by the Administration for members' reference. [Paper]

Deputations were invited to joint the discussion. The Panel suggested that the case should be referred to the Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre. The panel also urged the mid-stream operators to consider the views expressed by members and the abolition of MSF as requested by concerned parties.

30.1.02 CQ denoting Council Question Hon Emily LAU raised a question on the implementation of MSF coupon system. [Hansard "page 79"]
16.10.02 CM denoting Council Motion A motion moved by Hon Kenneth TING on Terminal handling charges was passed. [Hansard "page 183"]
10.12.03 CQ denoting Council Question Hon Kenneth TING raised a question on the Terminal handling charges. [Hansard "page 65"]


Go to Top

貨櫃碼頭處理費及中流貨櫃收費



日期場合/
來源
發展摘要行動
22.7.98 CQ代表立法會質詢 丁午壽議員就監管貨櫃碼頭處理費提出質詢。[議事錄]

備註:貨櫃碼頭處理費是船公司向付貨人收取的費用,以收回船公司支付給貨櫃碼頭或中流作業營辦商、船公司及付貨人的費用。經營主要貿易航線的船公司歷來均自行組成定期班輪協會,以釐定貨櫃碼頭處理費。

11.12.98 ES代表經濟事務委員會 事務委員會邀請團體代表,包括香港付貨人委員會(下稱"付貨人委員會")、船公司及貨櫃碼頭營辦商代表,及政府當局討論有關貨櫃碼頭處理費的文件。[文件]

委員察悉,船公司以往以單一收費收回所有運費、貨櫃碼頭處理費及有關費用。不過,此項收費自1990年起已分開為運費及貨櫃碼頭處理費。委員關注到,由於定期班輪協會在調整貨櫃碼頭處理費時缺乏透明度又沒有諮詢船公司,故導致貨櫃碼頭處理費不斷增加,並可能會構成協定貨櫃碼頭處理費的情況。

政府當局已研究透過立法來規管釐定貨櫃碼頭處理費的事宜,但當局認為此舉會對市場造成干預。政府當局答允促請船公司及貨櫃碼頭營辦商凍結或降低貨櫃碼頭處理費。與此同時,當局會與船公司研究,以提高釐定貨櫃碼頭處理費的透明度。

28.6.99 ES代表經濟事務委員會 團體代表及政府當局獲邀討論有關貨櫃碼頭處理費的問題。[文件]

事務委員會對定期班輪協會同意凍結貨櫃碼頭處理費1年表示歡迎。委員察悉,當局已在香港港口及航運局(下稱"港口及航運局")轄下設立專責小組,以提高香港貨櫃港的競爭力。鑒於貨櫃碼頭處理費的水平仍然偏高,委員討論應否透過立法來規管貨櫃碼頭處理費。

28.2.00 ES代表經濟事務委員會 事務委員會邀請團體代表及政府當局討論有關貨櫃碼頭處理費的文件。[文件]

雖然委員察悉貨櫃碼頭處理費將會再凍結1年,但他們認為貨櫃碼頭處理費偏高的問題仍未解決。委員又關注到,珠江三角洲地區內的貨櫃碼頭帶來的競爭。委員質疑政府當局有否措施以提高香港貨櫃港口的競爭力。

13.2.01 ES代表經濟事務委員會 事務委員會察悉,中流作業營辦商已開始向貨運業徵收40元中流服務費,因而觸發中流作業營辦商與貨運業之間的爭議。

在事務委員會會議席上,政府當局告知委員,主要有關方面(香港中流作業商會(下稱"中流作業商會")、香港定期班輪協會(下稱"定期班輪協會")、中港運輸聯席會議及付貨人委員會)就徵收中流貨櫃費用的新機制達成初步協議。委員認為,政府當局應研究中流作業營辦商的收費機制有否違反公平競爭的原則。

6.3.01 ES代表經濟事務委員會 事務委員會察悉,中流作業商會、定期班輪協會及付貨人委員會已就實施代用券制度徵收中流貨櫃收費達成協議。可是,貨車司機與中流作業營辦商卻就2001年3月1日起實施的中流貨櫃收費代用券制度發生爭議。然而,有關爭議已於2001年3月5日獲得解決。 [文件]
26.3.01 ES代表經濟事務委員會 委員察悉,香港紡織染製衣業界七公會(下稱"紡織染製衣業界七公會")及香港各界商會聯席會議(下稱"各界商會聯席會議")曾要求在事務委員會會議席上就中流貨櫃收費代用券制度陳述意見。有鑒於此,紡織染製衣業界七公會、各界商會聯席會議、中流作業商會、定期班輪協會、付貨人委員會及中港運輸聯席會議的團體代表獲邀出席會議,就中流貨櫃收費發表意見。
9.4.01 ES代表經濟事務委員會 事務委員會察悉,當局於事務委員會2001年2月26日會議後發出題為"港口發展與貨櫃運輸業"的跟進文件。[跟進文件]

委員察悉,香港的貨櫃碼頭處理費是全球最高昂的,並詢問貨櫃碼頭處理費所涵蓋的各種收費及計算方法,以及質疑有否成立"卡特爾"(即同業聯盟)以控制貨櫃碼頭處理費。[文件] (此文件只備英文本)

18.6.01 ES代表經濟事務委員會 事務委員會察悉,就中流貨櫃收費代用券制度再次發生糾紛,因而引發貨車司機採取抗議行動。事務委員會又察悉,付貨人委員會於2001年6月11日發出的新聞稿。[新聞稿]

團體代表獲邀討論此事。委員要求政府當局提交報告,供事務委員會審閱。政府當局於2001年7月10日提交報告。[跟進文件]

18.12.01 ES代表經濟事務委員會 政府當局提供一份有關中流貨櫃收費的最新發展的文件,供委員參閱。[文件]

團體代表獲邀參與討論。事務委員會建議事件應交由香港國際仲裁中心處理。事務委員會又促請中流作業營辦商考慮委員提出的意見,以及有關各方有關撤銷徵收中流貨櫃收費的要求。

30.1.02 CQ代表立法會質詢 劉慧卿議員就實施中流貨櫃收費代用券制度提出質詢。[議事錄"第56頁"]
16.10.02 CM代表立法會議案 丁午壽議員就貨櫃碼頭處理費動議的議案獲得通過。 [議事錄"第118頁"]
10.12.03 CQ代表立法會質詢 丁午壽議員就碼頭作業附加費提出質詢。[議事錄"第47頁"]


往頁首