Management of fiscal reserves and Government investment income



DateContextSummary of developmentAction
18.2.98 COU denoting Council Meeting In the 1998-99 Budget, the Financial Secretary (FS) defined three purposes for which the fiscal reserves were needed, namely to meet operating, contingency and monetary requirements. The guidelines adopted by the Government in determining the appropriate level of fiscal reserves was the total of 12 months' government expenditure and the Hong Kong dollar money supply under the M1 definition, allowing a margin of plus or minus 25%. [Budget "paragraphs 55 to 70"]
11.1.01 FA denoting Financial Affairs Panel At the briefing by the Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Monetary Authority, the Panel discussed with the Administration on the management of the Exchange Fund (EF) and requested the Administration to provide information on the investment returns of the fiscal reserves placed with EF since the financial year of 1998-99. [Follow-up paper]
2.3.01 and 9.3.01 FC denoting Finance Committee At the briefings on the 2001-02 Budget by the Secretary for the Treasury (S for Tsy) on 2.3.01 and by FS on 9.3.01, the Administration pointed out that the purpose of the fiscal reserves was to meet Government's operating needs, absorb any fiscal deficits during the downswing of an economic cycle, or meet contingencies such as any major regional or world events with serious adverse financial implications on the economy of Hong Kong. As Hong Kong adopted the currency board system to maintain currency stability, it was the Government's policy that fiscal reserves should be used to safeguard the stability of the monetary system in unforeseen circumstances as well. The Government would follow the guidelines set out in the 1998-99 Budget to determine the appropriate level of fiscal reserves.
23.3.01 FC denoting Finance Committee At the special FC meeting to examine draft Estimates 2001-02, members discussed with the Administration on the guiding principles in financial planning and management of the fiscal reserves. [Minutes]
7.5.01 FC denoting Finance Committee The Panel discussed with the Administration on the proper use of fiscal reserves, in particular the rationale for the guidelines adopted in the 1998-99 Budget to determine the appropriate level of fiscal reserves. [Paper]
4.6.01 FA denoting Financial Affairs Panel At the briefing by FS on Hong Kong's latest economic situation, the Panel discussed with the Administration on the management of fiscal reserves. [Minutes "page 10"]
3.7.01 FA denoting Financial Affairs Panel The Panel met with academics and experts on the proper use of fiscal reserves. [Minutes]

The Panel also noted the background brief on the proper use of fiscal reserves prepared by the Secretariat. [Background brief]

14.3.02 FA denoting Financial Affairs Panel The Panel discussed the research report on "Practices of Overseas Jurisdictions in Building up or Maintaining Their Fiscal Reserves" prepared by Research and Library Services Division (RLSD). [Research report]

To facilitate further deliberation by the Panel on the subject of fiscal reserves, members agreed to obtain the following information from the Administration -
 investment incomes of the Government for the period from 1996-97 to 2000-01 [Paper] ; and
 target level and purposes of fiscal reserves [Clerk to Panel's letter dated 20.3.02] [S for Tsy's letter dated 12.4.02]

The Panel also agreed to gather more information on whether the Singaporean Government managed its fiscal reserves separately from its foreign reserves and whether it employed different strategies in investing fiscal reserves and foreign reserves. [Letter from the Ministry of Finance of Singapore]

28.5.03 CQ denoting Council Question In response to the question raised by Hon NG Leung-sing on issuance of government bonds, the Administration advised that if the cost of issuing bonds by the Government was higher than the investment income from its fiscal reserves, then it would be considered not cost-effective to fund public expenditures through borrowings. [Hansard "page 32"]
5.1.04 FA denoting Financial Affairs Panel The Panel noted that when the Subcommittee on matters relating to the implementation of railway development projects considered the draft Penny's Bay Rail Link Project Agreement, some members expressed concern about the scope and extent of powers of FS in relation to the management of dividends and other forms of income generated from the Government's investments in public and private companies. Members were also concerned about whether proper mechanisms were in place to ensure that the exercise of such powers was properly accounted for by the executive authorities to LegCo. The Subcommittee requested that the above policy issues be further discussed by FA Panel.

Similar concerns were raised in the discussion on the appropriate mechanism for financing the West Kowloon Cultural District Development project and the role of LegCo in monitoring the development of this project.

To address members' concerns on the management of Government investment incomes, RLSD proposed to conduct in-depth research on this subject to assist members in analyzing the financial arrangements, corporate governance and reporting arrangements of selected statutory bodies in Hong Kong. The selected statutory bodies covered by the research are: Kowloon-Canton Railway Corporation, Airport Authority, Mass Transit Railway Corporation Limited, and Hong Kong Science and Technology Parks Corporation.

The Panel endorsed the research outline on management of Government investment incomes prepared by RLSD. [Paper]

7.3.05 FA denoting Financial Affairs Panel RLSD completed the research. [Research report]

The Panel discussed with the Administration on the management of Government investment income. To facilitate discussion, the Administration provided the consolidated information on Government investments and investment incomes and other relevant information requested by members. [Paper] [Extracts of Accounts of the Government for the year ended 31 March 2004]

To address members' concerns raised at the meeting, the Administration provided information on the dividend payout policy of public corporations, role of public officers appointed to boards of the corporations and value for money audits of the corporations. [Follow-up Paper]

Members agreed at the meeting that a joint meeting of the FA Panel and the Panel on Planning, Lands and Works be held to follow up the issues relating to land grant policy and the impact of the policy on government revenue. The Administration provided its response on these issues. [Follow-up Paper]

24.5.05 FA,PLW denoting Financial Affairs Panel and Planning, Lands and Works Panel The Administration discussed with members on the land grant policy and the impact of the policy on government revenue. [Background Brief]

To address the concerns raised by members, the Administration provided information on land granted by private treaty. [Follow-up Paper]

28.6.06 CQ denoting Council Question Hon SIN Chung-kai raised a question on the government revenues brought to credit in March in each of the financial years from 1997-98 to 2005-06. [Hansard "Page 76"]
5.7.06 CQ denoting Council Question Hon SIN Chung-kai raised a question on the government revenues brought to credit in April in each of the financial years from 1997-98 to 2006-07. [Hansard "Page 96"]
22.11.06 CQ denoting Council Question Hon SIN Chung-kai raised a question on investment income from the Exchange Fund. [Hansard "page 41"]
20.12.06 CM denoting Council Motion A motion moved by Hon Howard YOUNG and amended by Hon CHAN Kam-lam on increasing the Government's share in the investment income of the exchange fund was passed. [Hansard "page 111"]

The Administration provided in March 2007 the progress report on its views on the motion and the progress of the follow-up actions taken. [Progress report]

10.1.07 CM denoting Council Motion A motion moved by Hon TAM Heung-man and amended by Hon Jeffery LAM on enhancing the efficacy of the management of public finances was passed. [Hansard "page 83"]

The Administration provided in March 2007 the progress report on its views on the motion and the progress of the follow-up actions taken. [Progress report]

12.12.07 CQ denoting Council Question Hon David LI Kwok-po raised a question on level of fiscal reserves [Hansard "page 83]
5.5.10 CQ denoting Council Question Hon Jeffrey LAM Kin-fung raised a question on taxes collected and recovered. [Hansard "page 5]
2.6.10 CQ denoting Council Question Hon Abraham SHEK Lai-him raised a question on unused government premises. [Hansard "page 83]
19.10.11 CQ denoting Council Question Ir Dr Hon Raymond HO Chung-tai raised a question on strategies for managing reserve assets. [Hansard "page 20]
4.12.13 CQ denoting Council Question Dr Hon CHIANG Lai-wan raised a question on Government reserves and expenditure. [Hansard "page 143]
19.2.14 CQ denoting Council Question Hon Paul TSE Wai-chun raised a question on investment returns of the funds set up or with moneys injected by the Government. [Hansard "page 109]
26.3.14 CQ denoting Council Question Hon Kenneth LEUNG raised a question on Report of the Working Group on Long-Term Fiscal Planning. [Hansard "Page 154"]
7.4.14 FA denoting Financial Affairs Panel The Panel discussed with the Administration on the report of the Working Group on Long-Term Fiscal Planning issued on 3 March 2014. [Executive summary of the Report] [Paper] [Background brief]
18.12.15 FA denoting Financial Affairs Panel The Administration issued an information note on Investment of Fiscal Reserves–"Future Fund". [paper]
9.12.16 FA denoting Financial Affairs Panel The Administration issued an information note on updated on the operation of the Future Fund. [paper]
25.4.18 CQ denoting Council Question Hon WU Chi-wai raised a question on The Caring and Sharing Scheme. [Hansard "Page 71"]
13.5.20 CQ denoting Council Question Hon Kenneth LEUNG raised a question on management of public finance. [Hansard "Page 30"]
17.6.20 CQ denoting Council Question Hon Paul TSE Wai-chun raised a question on non-disclosure of information involving commercial secrets. [Hansard "Page 63"]
28.10.20 CQ denoting Council Question Hon Paul TSE Wai-chun raised a question on financial burden on the Government. [Hansard "Page 115"]


 Hong Kong Monetary Authority (HKMA) - Fiscal Reserve Account:
http://www.info.gov.hk/hkma/gdbook/eng/f/fiscal_res_acct.htm
 HKMA - The Exchange Fund:
http://www.info.gov.hk/hkma/eng/exchange/index.htm

Related topics in the Database:
 The Linked Exchange Rate System
 Exchange Fund


Go to Top

財政儲備及政府投資收入的管理



日期場合/
來源
發展摘要行動
18.2.98 COU代表立法會會議 在1998至99年度財政預算案中,財政司司長界定了財政儲備的3項用途,即應付日常運作、處變應急及金融的需要。政府是以12個月的政府開支及M1定義的港元貨幣供應的總和,作為釐定財政儲備適當水平的指引,增減幅度定為25%。[財政預算案"第55至70段"]
11.1.01 FA代表財經事務委員會 在香港金融管理局總裁的簡報會上,事務委員會與政府當局討論外匯基金的管理,並要求政府當局提供由1998至99財政年度起存放於外匯基金的財政儲備的投資回報資料。[跟進文件]
2.3.01
9.3.01
FC代表財務委員會 在庫務局局長及財政司司長分別於2001年3月2日及2001年3月9日就2001至02年度財政預算案舉行的簡報會上,政府當局指出,財政儲備的作用是應付政府的運作需要、抵銷經濟周期回落時出現的任何財政赤字,或應付緊急的突發事件,例如對本港經濟造成嚴重財政影響的區內或世界大事。由於香港以貨幣發行局制度來維持貨幣穩定,根據政府的政策,財政儲備的另一作用,應該是在出現無法預見的情況時,用以保障金融體系的穩定。政府會依照1998至99年度財政預算案所訂的指引,釐定財政儲備的適當水平。
23.3.01 FC代表財務委員會 在審核2001至02財政年度開支預算草案的財務委員會特別會議上,委員與政府當局討論財政規劃的指導原則及財政儲備的管理。[會議紀要]
7.5.01 FA代表財經事務委員會 事務委員會與政府當局討論適當運用財政儲備的課題,特別是1998至99年度財政預算案在釐定財政儲備適當水平方面所採用的指引的理據。[文件]
4.6.01 FA代表財經事務委員會 在財政司司長就香港最新經濟狀況作出簡報的會議上,事務委員會與政府當局討論財政儲備的管理。[會議紀要"第8頁"]
3.7.01 FA代表財經事務委員會 事務委員會就適當運用財政儲備的課題會晤學者及專家。[會議紀要]

事務委員會亦察悉秘書處就適當運用財政儲備的課題擬備的背景資料。[背景資料簡介]

14.3.02 FA代表財經事務委員會 事務委員會討論資料研究及圖書館服務部擬備的"海外司法管轄區累積或維持財政儲備的做法"的研究報告。[研究報告]

為方便事務委員會進一步討論財政儲備的課題,委員同意向政府當局索取以下資料
 1996-97年度至2000-01年度期間的政府投資收入。[文件];及
 財政儲備的目標水平和用途[事務委員會秘書2002年3月20日的函件] [庫務局局長2002年4月12日的函件]
事務委員會亦同意蒐集更多資料,以瞭解新加坡政府有否把財政儲備與外匯儲備分開管理,以及在投資財政儲備及外匯儲備方面是否採取不同的策略。[新加坡財政部發出的函件]

28.5.03 CQ代表立法會質詢 因應吳亮星議員就發行政府債券提出的質詢,政府當局表示,假如政府發債的成本高於財政儲備的投資收益,則以發債方式籌集資金以支付公共開支並不符合成本效益。[議事錄"第22頁"]
5.1.04 FA代表財經事務委員會 事務委員會察悉,研究和推行鐵路發展計劃有關的事宜小組委員會在研究竹篙灣鐵路線工程項目協議草擬本時,部分委員關注到,財政司司長在管理政府在公營和私營機構所作投資帶來的股息及其他形式的收入方面,享有何種範圍及程度的權力。委員亦關注到,當局是否訂有適當的機制,以確保行政當局就行使該等權力的事宜向立法會作出適當交代。小組委員會要求由財經事務委員會進一步討論上述政策事宜。

議員就西九龍文娛藝術區發展計劃的適當融資機制及立法會在監察該計劃的發展方面所擔當的角色進行討論時,亦提出類似的關注。

為處理委員對政府投資收入的管理問題所提出的關注,資料研究及圖書館服務部建議就此課題進行深入研究,以協助委員分析選定的本港法定機構的財政安排、公司管治及匯報安排。是項研究涵蓋的選定法定機構包括:九廣鐵路公司、機場管理局、地鐵有限公司及香港科技園公司。

事務委員會通過資料研究及圖書館服務部就政府投資收入的管理擬備的研究大綱。[文件]

7.3.05 FA代表財經事務委員會 資料研究及圖書館服務部完成該項研究。[研究報告]

事務委員會與政府當局討論政府投資收入的管理。為方便進行有關討論,政府當局在會議前提供有關政府投資及投資收入的綜合資料,以及委員所要求的其他相關資料。 [文件] [《2003至04年度政府帳目》摘錄]

為處理委員在會議上提出的關注,政府當局提供資料,說明公營公司派發股息的政策、獲委任為公營公司董事局成員的公職人員所擔當的角色,以及該等公司的衡工量值式審計。[跟進文件]

委員在會議上同意舉行財經事務委員會與規劃地政及工程事務委員會聯席會議,以跟進與批地政策有關的事宜及該政策對政府收入的影響。政府當局就該等事項提供回應。[跟進文件]

24.5.05 FA,PLW代表財經事務委員會與規劃地政及工程事務委員會 政府當局與委員討論批地政策及該政策對政府收入的影響。[背景資料簡介]

為處理委員提出的關注,政府當局提供有關以私人協約方式批出土地的資料。[跟進文件]

28.6.06 CQ代表立法會質詢 單仲偕議員就1997-98至2005-06財政年度期間,每年在3月份內入帳的政府收入提出一項質詢。[議事錄"第53頁"]
5.7.06 CQ代表立法會質詢 單仲偕議員就1997-98至2006-07財政年度期間,每年在4月份內入帳的政府收入提出一項質詢。[議事錄"第69頁"]
22.11.06 CQ代表立法會質詢 單仲偕議員就外匯基金的投資收益提出一項質詢。[議事錄"第28頁"]
20.12.06 CM代表立法會議案 由楊孝華議員就"增加政府在外匯基金投資收益的分帳"動議並經陳鑑林議員修正的議案獲得通過。[議事錄"第83頁"]

政府當局在2007年3月提供進度報告,說明其對這項議案的意見,以及所採取的跟進行動的進展。[進度報告]

10.1.07 CM代表立法會議案 由譚香文議員就"提升公共財政管理效能"動議並經林健鋒議員修正的議案獲得通過。[議事錄"第61頁"]

政府當局在2007年3月提供進度報告,說明其對這項議案的意見,以及所採取的跟進行動的進展。[進度報告]

12.12.07 CQ代表立法會質詢 李國寶議員就財政儲備的水平提出一項質詢。[議事錄"第61頁"]
5.5.10 CQ代表立法會質詢 林健鋒議員就收取及追收的稅款提出一項質詢。[議事錄"第5頁"]
2.6.10 CQ代表立法會質詢 石禮謙議員就政府的閒置處所提出一項質詢。[議事錄"第83頁"]
19.10.11 CQ代表立法會質詢 何鍾泰議員就儲備資產的管理策略提出一項質詢。[議事錄"第16頁"]
4.12.13 CQ代表立法會質詢 蔣麗芸議員就儲備資產的管理策略提出一項質詢。[議事錄"第109頁"]
19.2.14 CQ代表立法會質詢 謝偉俊議員就政府設立或注資的基金的投資回報提出一項質詢。[議事錄"第80頁"]
26.3.14 CQ代表立法會質詢 梁繼昌議員就長遠財政計劃工作小組報告提出質詢。 [議事錄"第115頁"]
7.4.14 FA代表財經事務委員會 事務委員會與政府當局討論於2014年3月3日發表的長遠財政計劃工作小組報告。 [報告摘要] [文件] [背景資料簡介]
18.12.15 FA代表財經事務委員會 政府當局發出有關財政儲備的投資 - "未來基金"的資料文件。 [文件]
9.12.16 FA代表財經事務委員會 財經事務委員會 政府當局發出有關"未來基金"的最新運作情況的資料文件。 [文件]


 香港金融管理局(下稱"金管局") - 財政儲備帳:
http://www.info.gov.hk/hkma/gdbook/chi/stroke10/fiscal_res_acct.htm
 金管局 - 外匯基金:
http://www.info.gov.hk/hkma/chi/exchange/index.htm

資料庫內的相關題目:
 聯繫匯率制度
 外匯基金


往頁首