Governance and operation of the Securities and Futures Commission



DateContextSummary of developmentAction
7.7.04 CQ denoting Council Question When considering the Securities and Futures Bill during the Committee Stage at the Council meeting on 13.3.02, Hon Henry WU stated his view that the proposed provisions relating to the Chairman and members of the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) as set out in Schedule 2 of the Bill should be reviewed. To put in place an effective governance structure for enhancing the transparency, accountability and responsibility of SFC, he suggested that the post of the chairman should be split into the posts of a non-executive chairman and a chief executive officer (CEO).

Hon Henry WU raised a question at the Council meeting on 7.7.04 on excessive power of SFC. He enquired whether the Administration would change the existing structure of SFC. [Hansard "Page 105"]

10.11.04 FA denoting Financial Affairs Panel The Administration briefed the Panel on its proposal of improving SFC's governance structure such that SFC would be led by a non-executive chairman while the executive arm would be headed by a CEO. [Paper] [Background Brief]

At the request of members, the Research and Library Services Division (RLSD) of the LegCo Secretariat provided an information note on the governance structure of selected overseas securities and futures regulators. [Information note prepared by RLSD]

3.1.05 FA denoting Financial Affairs Panel To facilitate the consideration of the Administration's proposal to split the post of the SFC chairman, the Panel met deputations and received views from representatives of SFC, professional bodies, associations of the securities and futures industry and academics. [Summary of submissions]

In view of the diversified views expressed by members as well as the deputations/academics on the details of the Administration's proposal, the Administration was requested to examine the details of the proposal having regard to the views and concerns expressed.

17.2.05 FA denoting Financial Affairs Panel The Panel further discussed the Administration's splitting proposal, having regard to the Administration's written response to submissions and issues raised at the previous meetings, as well as implementation details of the proposal (such as the respective duties, responsibilities, qualification requirements, recruitment and appointment procedures, and remuneration levels for the chairman post and CEO post).

The following motion proposed by Hon James TIEN was passed at the Panel meeting:
"That this Panel supports in principle the Administration's proposal to amend the Securities and Futures Ordinance to split the post of the Chairman of SFC into a non-executive chairman post and a chief executive officer post with a view to enhancing the governance structure of SFC."
[Paper]
[Letter from PAS(SFT) to the Secretary General of the International Organization of Securities Commissions (IOSCO)]
[Letter from the Commission Secretary of SFC to the Secretary General of IOSCO]
[Letter from the Secretary General of IOSCO to PAS(SFT)]
[Extract from "Objectives and Principles of Securities Regulation" of IOSCO] (English version only)
[Two articles published on the Economist (22 January 2005)] (English version only)

4/05 BC denoting Bills Committee on Securities and Futures (Amendment) Bill 2005 The Administration introduced the Securities and Futures (Amendment) Bill 2005 into the LegCo on 6.4.05 to implement the splitting proposal and a Bills Committee was formed on 8.4.05 to scrutinize the Bill.

The Bills Committee held 9 meetings. [Bills Committee on Securities and Futures (Amendment) Bill 2005]

The Bills Committee reported its deliberations to the House Committee on 2.6.06. [Report]

The Council passed the Bill on 14.6.06. [Hansard]

4.5.06 FA denoting Financial Affairs Panel As agreed at the Panel meeting on 6 February 2006, SFC was invited to provide information on its policies on remuneration for and post-termination employment of its senior executives. [Letter dated 9 February 2006 from the Clerk to Panel to the Chairman of SFC]

When the Panel was briefed on SFC's budget for the financial year 2006-07 on 6 March 2006, members expressed concern about the high staff turnover rate of SFC in 2005, particularly for executive staff. In this connection, the Panel invited SFC and the Hong Kong Monetary Authority (HKMA) to provide information on the post-termination employment of their senior executives in the past three years. [Letter dated 7 March 2006 from the Clerk to Panel to the Chairman of SFC] [Reply dated 27 March 2006 from the Commission Secretary of SFC]

Noting the written responses from SFC and HKMA, the Panel invited the two regulators and the Administration for discussion of remuneration for and post-termination employment of their relevant senior executives. [Background brief on the remuneration policies] [Background brief on the policies on post-termination employment]

16.12.09 & 17.12.09 CM denoting Council Motion A motion moved by Hon Mrs Regina IP LAU Suk-yee and amended by Hon Miriam LAU Kin-yee and Dr Hon PAN Pey-chyou on formulating operational standards for public organizations was passed. [Hansard "page 300"] and [Hansard "page 5"] [Progress Report]
12.5.10 CQ denoting Council Question Dr Hon PAN Pey-chyou raised a question on trading of Loco London gold. . [Hansard "page 51"]
2.6.10 CQ denoting Council Question Dr Hon Samson TAM Wai-ho raised a question on electronic trading system. [Hansard "page 92"]
11.5.11 CQ denoting Council Question Hon Mrs Regina IP LAU Suk-yee raised a question on speculative and high-risk financial products. [Hansard "page 16"]
29.5.13 CQ denoting Council Question Hon Christopher CHEUNG Wah-fung raised a question on withdrawal of Hong Kong Mercantile Exchange Limited's automated trading services authorization. [Hansard "page 48"]
10.7.13 CQ denoting Council Question Hon James TIEN Pei-chun raised a question on surrender by the Hong Kong Mercantile Exchange Limited of its authorization to provide automated trading services. [Hansard "page 212"]
23.10.13 CM denoting Council Motion A motion moved by Hon Tommy CHEUNG Yu-yan and amended by Hon Christopher CHEUNG Wah-fung and Hon Dennis KWOK Wing-hang on reviewing the functions of the Securities and Futures Commission was passed. [Hansard "page 157"] [Progress Report]
29.6.16 CQ denoting Council Question Hon James TIEN Pei-chun raised a question on investigations into suspected irregularities of the Hong Kong Mercantile Exchange Limited. [Hansard "page 111"]
28.6.17 CQ denoting Council Question Hon Christopher CHEUNG Wah-fung raised a question on regulation of short selling activities. [Hansard "page 28"]
3.4.19 CQ denoting Council Question Hon WU Chi-wai raised a question on regulation of virtual asset investment activities. [Hansard "page 122"]


Go to Top

證券及期貨事務監察委員會的管治及運作



日期場合/
來源
發展摘要行動
7.7.04 CQ代表立法會質詢 在2002年3月13日立法會會議全體委員會審議階段考慮《證券及期貨條例草案》時,胡經昌議員陳述其意見,認為條例草案附表2所載有關證券及期貨事務監察委員會(下稱"證監會")主席及委員的擬議條文應予檢討。為制訂有效的管治架構,以提高證監會的透明度、加強其問責性及所承擔的責任,他建議應把主席職位分拆為非執行主席及行政總裁兩個職位。

胡經昌議員在2004年7月7日立法會會議席上就證監會權力過大提出質詢,詢問政府當局會否改變證監會的現行架構。[議事錄"第71頁"]

10.11.04 FA代表財經事務委員會 政府當局向事務委員會簡介有關改善證監會管治架構的建議。根據該建議,證監會將由一名非執行主席領導,而該會的管理層則由一名行政總裁領導。[文件] [背景資料摘要]

應委員的要求,立法會秘書處資料研究及圖書館服務部提供有關選定海外證券及期貨事務規管機構的管治架構的資料摘要。[資料研究及圖書館服務部擬備的資料摘要]

3.1.05 FA代表財經事務委員會 事務委員會與團體代表會面,並聽取證監會、專業團體、證券及期貨業組織的代表及學者的意見,以便考慮政府當局就分拆證監會主席職位的建議。[意見書摘要]

鑒於委員及團體代表/學者對政府當局的建議的細節意見分歧,事務委員會要求政府當局因應會上提出的意見及關注事項,仔細研究建議的細節。

17.2.05 FA代表財經事務委員會 經考慮政府當局就意見書及先前會議上所提事項作出的書面回應,以及該建議的實施細節(例如主席及行政總裁兩個職位的職責、責任、資歷要求、招聘及委任程序和薪酬水平)後,事務委員會進一步討論政府當局的分拆建議。

田北俊議員提出的下列議案在事務委員會會議上獲得通過:
"本事務委員會原則上支持政府修訂《證券及期貨條例》,把證監會主席職位分拆為非執行主席及行政總裁兩個職位,以改善證監會的管治架構。"
[文件]
[財經事務及庫務局首席助理秘書長致國際證券事務監察委員會組織(下稱"國際證監會組織")秘書長的函件]
[證監會秘書長致國際證監會組織秘書長的函件]
[國際證監會組織秘書長致財經事務及庫務局首席助理秘書長的函件]
[國際證監會組織《證券監管的目標及原則》摘錄] (只備英文本)
[刊登於《經濟學人》(2005年1月22日)的兩篇文章] (只備英文本)

4/05 BC代表2005年證券及期貨修訂條例草案委員會 政府當局於2005年4月6日向立法會提交《2005年證券及期貨(修訂)條例草案》,以便推行分拆職位的建議,立法會於2005年4月8日成立法案委員會,審議該條例草案。

法案委員會共舉行9次會議。[《2005年證券及期貨(修訂)條例草案》委員會]

法案委員會於2006年6月2日向內務委員會匯報其商議工作。[報告]

立法會於2006年6月14日通過條例草案。[議事錄]

4.5.06 FA代表財經事務委員會 經事務委員會在2006年2月6日的會議席上商定,證監會獲邀就其高層行政人員的薪酬及離職後就業的政策提供資料。[事務委員會秘書於2006年2月9日致證監會主席的函件]

事務委員會在2006年3月6日聽取證監會2006至07財政年度預算的簡報時,委員關注到2005年證監會職員流失率高,其中行政人員的流失情況尤為嚴重。就此,事務委員會邀請證監會及香港金融管理局(下稱"金管局")提供資料,說明過去3年其高層行政人員在離職後擔任其他工作的情況。 [事務委員會秘書於2006年3月7日致證監會主席的函件] [證監會秘書長2006年3月27日的覆函]

事務委員會察悉證監會及金管局的書面回應,並邀請兩間規管機構及政府當局就其有關的高層行政人員的薪酬及離職後就業的事宜進行討論。 [有關薪酬政策的背景資料簡介] [有關離職後就業的政策的背景資料簡介]

16.12.09及17.12.09 CM代表立法會議案 葉劉淑儀議員就設立公營機構營運準則動議議案,有關議案經劉健儀議員及潘佩璆議員修正後獲得通過。 [議事錄"第206頁"]及[議事錄"第5頁"] [進度報告]
12.5.10 CQ代表立法會質詢 潘佩璆議員就本地倫敦金買賣提出質詢。[議事錄"第37頁"]
2.6.10 CQ代表立法會質詢 譚偉豪議員就電子交易系統提出質詢。[議事錄"第64頁"]
11.5.11 CQ代表立法會質詢 葉劉淑儀議員就投機性及高風險的金融產品提出質詢。 [議事錄"第13頁"]
29.5.13 CQ代表立法會質詢 張華峰議員就撤回香港商品交易所有限公司提供自動化交易服務的認可提出質詢。 [議事錄"第34頁"]
10.7.13 CQ代表立法會質詢 田北俊議員就香港商品交易所有限公司交回其提供自動化交易服務的認可提出質詢。 [議事錄"第177頁"]
23.10.13 CM代表立法會議案 張宇人議員就檢討證券及期貨事務監察委員會的職能動議議案,有關議案經張華峰議員及郭榮鏗議員修正後獲得通過。 [議事錄"第121頁"] [進度報告]
29.6.16 CQ代表立法會質詢 田北俊議員就香港商品交易所有限公司涉嫌違規問題展開的調查提出質詢。[議事錄"第80頁"]
28.6.17 CQ代表立法會質詢 張華峰議員就規管沽空活動提出質詢。 [議事錄"第28頁"]


往頁首