Sheung Shui to Lok Ma Chau Spur Line (the Spur Line)



DateContextSummary of developmentAction
9/98 - In September 1998, the Executive Council (ExCo) decided that the Kowloon-Canton Railway Corporation (KCRC) should be invited to submit a detailed proposal for the implementation of the Sheung Shui to Lok Ma Chau Spur Line (the Spur Line) project.

KCRC submitted its proposal on the Spur Line project to Government in March 1999. ExCo decided to ask KCRC to proceed with the detailed planning and design of the Spur Line.

Running along a 7.4 km alignment, the Spur Line would branch off the existing East Rail north of Sheung Shui to terminate at Lok Ma Chau Station, including 700 metres over Long Valley.

8.10.99 PRESS denoting Press Release The Administration published in the Gazette the railway scheme for the Spur Line in accordance with the Railways Ordinance. [Press release]
28.4.00 PRESS denoting Press Release The Administration published in the Gazette the amendments to the Spur Line in accordance with the Railways Ordinance. [Press release]
31.5.00 CQ denoting Council Question Hon Christine LOH raised a question on the alignment of the Spur Line. She was particularly concerned whether alternative alignments had been considered, and the environmental and planning merits of each alignment.[Hansard "page 83"]
16.10.00 PRESS denoting Press Release The Director of Environmental Protection (DEP) decided not to approve the Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) report for the Spur Line and not to issue an Environmental Permit (EP) for the project. [Press release]
18.10.00 TP denoting Transport Panel The Panel raised concern about the development of the Spur Line at the meeting when the Secretary for Transport briefed members on the Chief Executive's (CE) Policy Address 2000. [Minutes]
10.11.00 - KCRC lodged an appeal to the Environmental Impact Assessment Appeal Board (the Appeal Board) against DEP's decision not to approve the EIA report and not to issue EP for the Spur Line project.
15.12.00 FC denoting Finance Committee FC approved a supplementary provision of $35 million under Head 92 Department of Justice Subhead Hire of legal services and related professional fees. This included $2 million for KCRC vs DEP on the Spur Line case. [Paper]
2.1.01 EA denoting Environmental Affairs Panel The Panel discussed the Administration's proposal to seek funding approval for the proposed remuneration package for the Chairman of the Appeal Board appointed by CE to hear the appeal case on the Spur Line project. [Paper]
5.1.01 FC denoting Finance Committee FC considered a proposal for a remuneration package for the Chairman of the Appeal Board appointed by CE to hear the appeal case on the Spur Line project. [Paper]

The Administration withdrawn the proposal in view of members' concerns. [Minutes]

19.1.01 FC denoting Finance Committee FC approved the resubmitted proposal for a remuneration package for the Chairman of the Appeal Board appointed by CE to hear the appeal case on the Spur Line project. [Paper]
27.6.01 CM denoting Council Motion Hon LAU Kong-wah moved a motion urging the Administration to consider exploring the feasibility of operating a Sheung Shui-Shenzhen express rail line and a Hung Hom-Shenzhen through train service. He was concerned that the Spur Line might not be able to alleviate the overcrowding problem at Lo Wu Station. The motion as amended by Hon WONG Sing-chi was passed by the Council. [Hansard "Page 254"]
30.7.01 PRESS denoting Press Release The Appeal Board confirmed the decision of DEP not to approve EIA report for the Spur Line and not to issue EP for the project. [Press release]
18.9.01 PRESS denoting Press Release Following the Appeal Board's dismissal of KCRC's appeal, the Administration and KCRC worked on the best way forward and concluded that the bored tunnel represented a more practical way compared to the original viaduct option, as it was more environmental acceptable and hence the new EIA process could be completed earlier.

On 18.9.01, the Administration announced that the CE in Council had endorsed KCRC's proposal to adopt the tunnel option for the construction of the Spur Line project. The project was scheduled for completion before mid-2007. [Press release]

26.10.01 TP denoting Transport Panel The Panel discussed the KCRC's proposed tunnel option for the Spur Line Project. [LegCo Brief]
13.12.01 EA,TP denoting Environmental Affairs Panel and Transport Panel The Panels discussed with the Administration on the protection of wetlands in Long Valley in light of the latest development of the Spur Line project, and met with deputations on the subject. [Paper provided by Environment and Food Bureau] [Paper provided by Transport Bureau] [Background brief prepared by the Secretariat]
24.1.02 EA,TP denoting Environmental Affairs Panel and Transport Panel The Panels continued the discussion on the protection of wetlands in Long Valley in light of the latest development of the Spur Line project, and met with deputations on the subject.[Summary of views raised at the meeting held on 13.12.01] [Administration's response]
22.5.02 CQ denoting Council Question Hon WONG Sing-chi raised a question on impact of works along the alignment of the Spur Line on wetlands in Long Valley. [Hansard "page 66"]
14.6.02 PRESS denoting Press Release The Chief Executive in Council authorized the Spur Line project under the Railways Ordinance. The notice of authorization was gazetted.[Press Release]
9.10.02 CM denoting Council Motion Dr Hon TANG Siu-tong moved a motion urging the Administration to expediting the implementation of the Northern Link, having considered that the Spur Line could not solve the problem of overloading of East Rail. The motion as amended by Hon Albert CHAN was passed. [Hansard "Page 115"]
27.11.02 SUBC denoting Subcommittee on matters relating to railways The Subcommittee discussed paper on the funding proposal for the essential public infrastructure works for the Spur Line at an estimated cost of $656.5 million in money-of-the-day (MOD) prices. [Paper] [Follow-up paper]
29.1.03 PWSC denoting Public Works Subcommittee PWSC endorsed a commitment to upgrade 46TR to Category A at an estimated cost of $656.5 million in MOD prices for the construction of the essential public infrastructure works for the Spur Line. [Paper]
21.2.03 FC denoting Finance Committee FC approved the commitment endorsed by PWSC on 29.1.03. [Paper]
7.5.04 SUBC denoting Subcommittee on matters relating to railways The Panel discussed paper on the funding proposal for the design and construction of a public transport interchange at the Lok Ma Chau (LMC) Terminus of the Sheung Shui to Spur Line at an estimated cost of $93.1 million in MOD prices. [Paper]
9.6.04 PWSC denoting Public Works Subcommittee PWSC endorsed a commitment to upgrade 75TI to Category A at an estimated cost of $93.1 million in MOD prices for the design and construction of a public transport interchange at the LMC Terminus of the Spur Line. [Paper]
25.6.04 FC denoting Finance Committee FC approved the commitment endorsed by PWSC on 9.6.04. [Paper]
26.1.07 TP denoting Transport Panel The Administration briefed members of the public transport arrangements at the public transport interchange of the new boundary crossing of Sheung Shui - Lok Ma Chau Spur Line. [Paper]

Development to date presented in background brief prepared by the Secretariat. [Background brief]

2.3.07 TP denoting Transport Panel The Panel met with the transport trades to receive views on traffic and transport arrangements for the commissioning of the Sheung Shui to Lok Ma Chau Spur Line.

The Administration provided supplementary information on traffic and transport arrangements for the commissioning of the Sheung Shui to Lok Ma Chau Spur Line. [Paper]

25.5.07 TP denoting Transport Panel The Administration and KCRC briefed members on the operational readiness and the fare of the Spur Line which will open for revenue operation in mid 2007. [Paper]


Go to Top

上水至落馬洲支線



日期場合/
來源
發展摘要行動
9/98 - 在1998年9月,行政會議決定邀請九廣鐵路公司(下稱"九鐵")就實施上水至落馬洲支線(下稱"支線")計劃提交詳細的建議。

九鐵在1999年3月就支線計劃向政府提交建議。行政會議決定請九鐵展開支線的詳細規劃及設計工作。

支線全長7.4公里,由現時的東鐵上水車站以北分支,直達座落於落馬洲的新車站。其中700米會經過塱原。

8.10.99 PRESS代表新聞稿 政府當局根據《鐵路條例》將支線的鐵路方案刊憲。[新聞稿]
28.4.00 PRESS代表新聞稿 政府當局根據《鐵路條例》將支線的修訂方案刊憲。[新聞稿]
31.5.00 CQ代表立法會質詢 陸恭蕙議員就支線的定線提出質詢。她尤其關注當局有否考慮其他定線,以及每條定線在環境及規劃方面的優點。 [議事錄]"第66頁"
16.10.00 PRESS代表新聞稿 環境保護署(下稱"環保署")署長決定不批准支線的環境影響評估(下稱"環評")報告,以及不會簽發環境許可證予該項工程。[新聞稿]
18.10.00 TP代表交通事務委員會 當運輸局局長就行政長官2000年的施政報告向事務委員會作出匯報時,委員在會議席上對支線的發展表示關注。[會議紀要]
10.11.00 - 九鐵就環保署不批准支線的環評報告,以及不會簽發環境許可證予支線工程的決定,向環境影響評估上訴委員會(下稱"上訴委員會")提出上訴。
15.12.00 FC代表財務委員會 財委會批准在總目92"律政司"分目"僱用法律服務及有關的專業費用"項下的3,500萬元追加撥款。當中200萬元用於有關支線的九鐵訴環保署署長一案。[文件]
2.1.01 EA代表環境事務委員會 事務委員會討論政府當局提出的建議,要求批准獲行政長官委任聆訊支線工程計劃上訴個案的上訴委員會主席的建議酬金方案。[文件]
5.1.01 FC代表財務委員會 財委會考慮獲行政長官委任聆訊支線工程計劃上訴個案的上訴委員會主席的酬金方案。[文件]

鑒於委員的關注,政府當局撤回有關建議。[會議紀要]

19.1.01 FC代表財務委員會 財委會批准當局重新提交的獲行政長官委任聆訊支線工程計劃上訴個案的上訴委員會主席酬金方案。[文件]
27.6.01 CM代表立法會議案 劉江華議員動議議案,促請政府當局考慮可否開辦一條來往上水至深圳的特快火車線,以及一條來往紅磡至深圳的直通火車線。他關注到,支線未必可以紓緩在羅湖站過分擠塞的問題。該議案經黃成智議員修訂後獲立法會通過。[議事錄"第190頁"]
30.7.01 PRESS代表新聞稿 上訴委員會確認環保署不批准支線的環評報告,以及不簽發環境許可證予有關工程的決定。[新聞稿]
18.9.01 PRESS代表新聞稿 自上訴委員會否決有關上訴後,政府當局及九鐵致力研究最佳的方案,所得結論是鑽挖隧道比原先建議興建高架橋的方式更實際可行,因為鑽挖隧道從環境角度而言,可接受程度更高,故新的環評程序可早日完成。

政府當局在2001年9月18日宣布,行政長官會同行政會議通過九鐵的建議,以鑽挖隧道方式進行支線的興建工程。有關工程定於2007年年中前完成。[新聞稿]

26.10.01 TP代表交通事務委員會 事務委員會討論九鐵就支線工程計劃建議採用的隧道方案。 [立法會參考資料摘要]
13.12.01 EA,TP代表環境事務委員會與交通事務委員會 因應支線計劃的最新發展,事務委員會與政府當局討論保護塱原濕地的事宜,並就此事與團體代表會晤。 [環境食物局提供的文件] [運輸局提供的文件] [立法會秘書處擬備的背景資料摘要]
24.1.02 EA,TP代表環境事務委員會與交通事務委員會 兩個事務委員會因應支線計劃的最新發展繼續討論保護塱原濕地的事宜,並就此事與團體代表會晤。 [在2001年12月13日會議上提出的意見摘要] [政府當局的回應]
22.5.02 CQ代表立法會質詢 黃成智議員就支線所經路段的工程對塱原濕地的影響提出質詢[議事錄"第54頁"]
14.6.02 PRESS代表新聞稿 行政長官會同行政會議根據《鐵路條例》批准支線計劃。有關批准方案的公告刊登於憲報。 [新聞稿]
9.10.02 CM代表立法會議案 考慮到有關支線不能解決東鐵超出負荷的問題,鄧兆棠議員動議議案,促請政府當局加快興建北環線。該議案經陳偉業議員修訂後獲得通過。[議事錄"第83頁"]
27.11.02 SUBC代表鐵路事宜小組委員會 小組委員會討論有關支線主要基建工程的財務建議文件。該項工程按付款當日價格計算,估計費用為6億5,650萬元。 [文件] [跟進文件]
29.1.03 PWSC代表工務小組委員會 工務小組委員會通過一筆承擔款額,把46TR號工程計劃提升為甲級。按付款當日價格計算, 估計所需費用為6億5,650萬元,用以為支線進行主要基建工程。[文件]
21.2.03 FC代表財務委員會 財委會批准工務小組委員會於2003年1月29日通過的承擔額。[文件]
7.5.04 SUBC代表鐵路事宜小組委員會 小組委員會討論有關撥款建議的文件,當中載述進行上水至支線落馬洲總站公共運輸交匯處的設計及建造工程。有關工程按付款當日價格計算,估計費用為9,310萬元。[文件]
9.6.04 PWSC代表工務小組委員會 工務小組委員會通過一筆承擔款額,把75TI號工程計劃提升為甲級;按付款當日價格計算,估計所需費用為9,310萬元,用以設計及建造上水至支線落馬洲總站的公共運輸交匯處。[文件]
25.6.04 FC代表財務委員會 財委會批准工務小組委員會於2004年6月9日通過的承擔額。[文件]
26.1.07 TP代表交通事務委員會 政府當局向委員簡介上水至落馬洲支線新過境通道的公共運輸交匯處提供的公共交通安排。[文件]

秘書處擬備背景資料簡介,載述有關的最新發展情況。[背景資料摘要]

2.3.07 TP代表交通事務委員會 事務委員會與運輸業界舉行會議,聽取他們對上水至落馬洲支線通車後的交通及運輸安排的意見。

政府當局向委員提供有關上水至落馬洲支線通車後的交通及運輸安排的補充資料。[文件]

25.5.07 TP代表交通事務委員會 政府當局及九鐵向各委員簡介將於2007年年中投入服務的支線的營運前準備和票價資料。[文件]


往頁首