Skip to content Skip to Quick Links



Sixth Legislative Council (2016 - 2020)

  The Government is primarily responsible for proposing new legislation or amendments to existing legislation, in the form of bills which are considered by the Council for enactment. Subject to meeting certain conditions, Members of the Council may also introduce bills into the Council.

Passage of a bill

A bill is first published in the Gazette before it is introduced into the Council. It has to be given three readings for its passage by the Council. The First Reading is a formality, with the Clerk reading the short title of a bill at a Council meeting. The Second Reading of the bill starts with the government official or Member who introduces the bill moving the motion "That the bill be read the second time" and explaining the purpose of the bill. Usually, after the motion has been moved, the debate on it is adjourned and the bill is referred to the House Committee to allow Members more time to study it, either in the House Committee or in a bills committee set up by the House Committee specifically for it.

The debate on the Second Reading resumes at a subsequent Council meeting after the bill has been studied by the House Committee or a bills committee. During the debate, Members present their views on the general merits and principles of the bill and may indicate their support or otherwise. A vote is then taken by the Council on the motion "That the bill be read the second time". If the motion is not passed, the bill cannot proceed further. If it is passed, the bill is given the Second Reading, and the Council will then sit as a "Committee of the whole Council" during which the Committee goes through the clauses of the bill, making amendments where agreed to by the Committee. After the bill has passed through the Committee of the whole Council with or without amendments, it is reported back to the Council for it to consider whether to support the passage of the bill by giving it the Third Reading. Usually, the resumption of the Second Reading debate and the Third Reading (if the bill has been given the Second Reading) take place at the same Council meeting.

When a bill has been given three readings, it becomes an Ordinance enacted by the Legislative Council. Unless a later date is specified, it may take effect after it has been signed by the Chief Executive and published in the Gazette.




Information note on presentation of bills by Members of the Legislative Council

跳至主要內容 跳至快速連結



第六屆立法會 (2016至2020年)

  政府主要負責以法案的形式,將新訂法例或現行法例的修訂建議提交立法會審議,以制定成為法例。議員只要符合若干條件,亦可向立法會提交法案。

法案的通過

法案在提交立法會之前,會先在憲報上刊登。法案如要獲立法會通過,必須經首讀、二讀及三讀的程序。進行首讀時,立法會秘書會在立法會會議席上宣讀法案的簡稱,這是法案提交立法會的正式程序。提交有關法案的政府官員或議員繼而會動議"‍法案予以二讀"的議案,並會發言解釋法案的目的,法案二讀隨之展開。在動議議案後,有關的辯論通常會中止待續,以便把法案交付內務委員會,讓議員有更充裕的時間,在內務委員會或由內務委員會專為法案而成立的法案委員會詳加研究。

法案經內務委員會或法案委員會審議後,便會在其後舉行的立法會會議席上恢復二讀辯論。在辯論時,議員會就法案的整體優劣及原則表達意見,並可表明他們是否支持法案。立法會繼而會就"‍法案予以二讀"的議案進行表決。若議員否決有關議案,法案的立法程序便會終止。若議員通過有關議案,法案獲得二讀通過,立法會全體議員便會在委員會審議階段以"‍全體委員會‍"名義,審議法案各條文,並在委員會同意下作出修正。法案不論是否有所修正,經全體委員會通過後,便會向立法會作出報告,以便立法會考慮是否支持進行三讀並通過法案。恢復二讀辯論和三讀(若法案獲得二讀通過)通常會在同一次立法會會議進行。

法案如通過首讀、二讀及三讀程序,便獲制定成為法例。除非法案訂明較後的生效日期,否則有關法例經行政長官簽署並在憲報刊登後便可生效。




立法會議員提交法案資料文件