Skip to content Skip to Quick Links

The main functions of the Legislative Council are to enact, amend or repeal laws; examine and approve budgets, taxation and public expenditure; and raise questions on the work of the government. The Legislative Council is also given the power to endorse the appointment and removal of the judges of the Court of Final Appeal and the Chief Judge of the High Court, as well as the power to impeach the Chief Executive.

Composition of the Legislative Council

The Legislative Council has 70 Members for the fifth term, with 35 Members returned by geographical constituencies through direct elections, and 35 Members by functional constituencies.

The election for the fifth term of the Legislative Council was held on 9 September 2012. According to the Basic Law and the Legislative Council Ordinance (Cap. 542), the term of office of the fifth term of the Legislative Council is four years. The term started from 1 October 2012.

The President of the Legislative Council is elected by and from among Members of the Legislative Council.

Legislative Council Elections

For information on Legislative Council elections, please visit the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Electoral Affairs Commission homepage.

Functions and Powers of the Legislative Council

As provided for in Article 73 of the Basic Law, the Legislative Council exercises the following powers and functions:

  1. To enact, amend or repeal laws in accordance with the provisions of the Basic Law and legal procedures;
  2. To examine and approve budgets introduced by the Government;
  3. To approve taxation and public expenditure;
  4. To receive and debate the policy addresses of the Chief Executive;
  5. To raise questions on the work of the Government;
  6. To debate any issue concerning public interests;
  7. To endorse the appointment and removal of the judges of the Court of Final Appeal and the Chief Judge of the High Court;
  8. To receive and handle complaints from Hong Kong residents;
  9. If a motion initiated jointly by one-fourth of all the Members of the Legislative Council charges the Chief Executive with serious breach of law or dereliction of duty and if he or she refuses to resign, the Council may, after passing a motion for investigation, give a mandate to the Chief Justice of the Court of Final Appeal to form and chair an independent investigation committee. The committee shall be responsible for carrying out the investigation and reporting its findings to the Council. If the committee considers the evidence sufficient to substantiate such charges, the Council may pass a motion of impeachment by a two-thirds majority of all its Members and report it to the Central People's Government for decision; and
  10. To summon, as required when exercising the above-mentioned powers and functions, persons concerned to testify or give evidence.
Meetings of the Legislative Council

The Council normally meets every Wednesday in the Chamber of the Legislative Council Complex to conduct its business while in session. Its business includes: tabling of subsidiary legislation and other papers; reports and addresses; statements; questions; bills; and motion debates. From time to time, the Chief Executive attends a special Council meeting to brief Members on policy issues and to answer questions from Members. All Council meetings are open to the public. The proceedings of the meetings are recorded verbatim in the Official Record of Proceedings of the Legislative Council (Hansard).

Committee System

Through a committee system, Members of the Legislative Council perform the important functions of scrutinizing bills, controlling public expenditure and monitoring Government's performance. There are three standing committees under the Council, namely Finance Committee, Public Accounts Committee and the Committee on Members' Interests. Bills Committees are formed by the House Committee, as the need arises, to study legislative proposals. Besides, there are also 18 Panels under the Council which receive regular briefings from the Government and examine the effectiveness of Government policies and measures.

Redress System

The Legislative Council Redress System is a system operated by the Legislative Council to receive and handle complaints from members of the public who are aggrieved by Government actions or policies. It also deals with public representations on Government policies and legislation as well as other matters of public concern.

In groups of seven, Members take turns to be on duty each week to oversee the system and to give guidance to staff of the Public Complaints Office of the Legislative Council Secretariat in processing cases. In addition, Members take turns to be on "ward duty" during their duty week to meet complainants with appointments (including individual clients and deputations) who wish to discuss their complaints with Members in person.

跳至主要內容 跳至快速連結

立法會的主要職能是制定、修改和廢除法律;審核及通過財政預算、稅收和公共開支;以及對政府的工作提出質詢。立法會亦獲授權同意終審法院法官和高等法院首席法官的任免,並有權彈劾行政長官。

立法會的組成

第六屆立法會由 70位議員組成,其中35位議員經分區直接選舉產生,其餘35位議員經功能團體選舉產生。

第六屆立法會的選舉已於2016年9月4日擧行。根據《基本法》及《立法會條例》(第542章),除了第一屆立法會,立法會的任期為4年。第六屆立法會的任期由2016年10月1日開始。

立法會主席由立法會議員互選1人出任。

立法會選舉

有關立法會選舉的資料,請瀏覽香港特別行政區選舉管理委員會網頁。

立法會的職權

根據《基本法》第七十三條,立法會負責行使下列職權:

  1. 根據《基本法》規定並依照法定程序制定、修改和廢除法律;
  2. 根據政府的提案,審核、通過財政預算;
  3. 批准稅收和公共開支;
  4. 聽取行政長官的施政報告並進行辯論;
  5. 對政府的工作提出質詢;
  6. 就任何有關公共利益問題進行辯論;
  7. 同意終審法院法官和高等法院首席法官的任免;
  8. 接受香港居民申訴並作出處理;
  9. 如立法會全體議員的四分之一聯合動議,指控行政長官有嚴重違法或瀆職行為而不辭職,經立法會通過進行調查,立法會可委托終審法院首席法官負責組成獨立的調查委員會,並擔任主席。調查委員會負責進行調查,並向立法會提出報告。如該調查委員會認為有足夠證據構成上述指控,立法會以全體議員三分之二多數通過,可提出彈劾案,報請中央人民政府決定;及
  10. 在行使上述各項職權時,如有需要,可傳召有關人士出席作證和提供證據。
立法會的會議

立法會在會期內通常每星期三在立法會綜合大樓會議廳舉行會議,處理立法會事務,包括:提交附屬法例及其他文件;提交報告及發言;提出質詢、審議法案,以及進行議案辯論。行政長官亦會不時出席立法會的特別會議,向議員發表施政報告及解答議員提出的質詢。立法會所有會議均公開進行,讓市民旁聽。會議過程內容亦以中英文逐字記錄,載於《立法會會議過程正式紀錄》內,亦會進行即時網上廣播。

委員會制度

立法會議員透過委員會制度,履行研究法案、審核及批准公共開支及監察政府施政等重要職能。立法會轄下有3個常設委員會,分別是財務委員會政府帳目委員會議員個人利益監察委員會內務委員會在有需要時,會成立法案委員會,研究由立法會交付的法案。此外,立法會轄下設有18個事務委員會,定期聽取政府官員的簡報,並監察政府執行政策及措施的成效。

申訴制度

立法會申訴制度是由立法會運作的制度。透過這制度,議員接受並處理市民對政府措施或政策不滿而提出的申訴。申訴制度亦處理市民就政府政策、法例及公眾所關注的其他事項提交的意見書。

每周有7位議員輪流當值,監察申訴制度的運作,並向處理申訴個案的立法會秘書處公共申訴辦事處職員作出指示。同時,議員亦輪流於當值的一周內"值勤",接見已預約的申訴人(包括個別人士及申訴團體),討論其申訴事項。