Our ref :
 ITBB/IT 117/2 (02) Pt 5

 Your ref :
 CB1/PL/ITB

 Tel No. :
 (852) 2189 2287

 Fax No. :
 (852) 2511 1458

 E-mail address :
 joycetam@citb.gov.hk

10 March 2003

Miss Polly Yeung Clerk to Panel on Information Technology and Broadcasting Legislative Council Hong Kong [Fax : 2121 0420]

Dear Miss Yeung,

Establishment of Information Technology Management Units in Government Bureaux and Departments

I refer to the Panel meeting of 10 February 2003 in which Members requested for a report on the formation of Information Technology Management Units (ITMUs) in bureaux and departments. This is to provide the requested information.

As at end February 2003, there were 27 established ITMUs covering 33 bureaux and departments. The 27 ITMUs comprise 26 dedicated ITMUs and one shared ITMU. There are also firm plans for six more ITMUs to be set up by end April 2003. A list of these ITMUs is in the Annex.

The pace and outcome of formation of ITMUs in the past year has been satisfactory. Bureaux and departments have also found the availability of ITMUs beneficial to their business planning and delivery of e-government services. We plan to accelerate the establishment of ITMUs in 2003/04. The Information Technology Services Department has written to heads of the bureaux/departments who have not yet established ITMUs requesting them to do so by April 2004. It is envisaged that by April 2004 most of the larger bureaux/departments will be served by ITMUs. The Information Technology Services Department will also formulate a plan that attends to the IT needs of those bureaux/departments which may not justify the establishment of a departmental ITMU on cost-effectiveness grounds, or those bureaux/departments which for one reason or another are unable to set up their own ITMUs.

We will further update Members on this subject in the next E-government progress report.

Yours sincerely,

Signed

(Ms Joyce Tam) for Secretary for Commerce, Industry and Technology

Encl.

<u>Annex</u>

List of Information Technology Management Units in Government Bureaux and Departments

(As at end February 2003)

- 1. Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department
- 2. Company Registry
- 3. Census and Statistics Department
- 4. Department of Justice
- 5. Education and Manpower Bureau
- 6. Food and Environmental Hygiene Department
- 7. Government Supplies Department
- 8. Housing Department
- 9. Hong Kong Police Force
- 10. Immigration Department
- 11. Intellectual Property Department
- 12. Inland Revenue Department
- 13. Information Services Department
- 14. Information Technology Services Department
- 15. Judiciary
- 16. Post Office
- 17. Legal Aid Department
- 18. Leisure and Cultural Services Department
- 19. Radio Television Hong Kong
- 20. Rating and Valuation Department
- 21. Security Bureau (including Auxiliary Medical Service, Civil Aid Service, Correction Services Department, Fire Services Department, Government Flying Service and Independent Police Complaints Council)
- 22. Student Financial Assistance Agency
- 23. Social Welfare Department
- 24. Trade and Industry Department
- 25. Transport Department
- 26. Territory Development Department
- 27. Treasury

List of Planned Information Technology Management Units (To be Established by April 2003)

- 1. Customs and Excise Department
- 2. Drainage Services Department
- 3. Electrical and Mechanical Services Department
- 4. Hong Kong Observatory
- 5. Highways Department
- 6. Labour Department (including Labour Branch of the Economic Development and Labour Bureau)