LC Paper No. CB(3) 307/03-04

# LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

## MINUTES

No. 14

Minutes of the meeting held on Thursday 8 January 2004 at 3:00 pm

### Present:

The Hon TUNG Chee-hwa, JP The Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region

## Members present:

President

The Hon Mrs Rita FAN HSU Lai-tai, GBS, JP

The Hon Kenneth TING Woo-shou, JP

The Hon James TIEN Pei-chun, GBS, JP

The Hon Cyd HO Sau-lan

The Hon Albert HO Chun-yan

Ir Dr the Hon Raymond HO Chung-tai, JP

The Hon LEE Cheuk-yan

The Hon Martin LEE Chu-ming, SC, JP

Dr the Hon Eric LI Ka-cheung, GBS, JP

Dr the Hon David LI Kwok-po, GBS, JP

The Hon Fred LI Wah-ming, JP

Dr the Hon LUI Ming-wah, JP

The Hon Mrs Selina CHOW LIANG Shuk-yee, GBS, JP

The Hon James TO Kun-sun

The Hon CHEUNG Man-kwong The Hon HUI Cheung-ching, JP The Hon CHAN Kwok-keung, JP The Hon CHAN Yuen-han, JP The Hon Bernard CHAN, JP The Hon CHAN Kam-lam, JP The Hon LEUNG Yiu-chung The Hon Andrew WONG Wang-fat, JP Dr the Hon Philip WONG Yu-hong, GBS The Hon WONG Yung-kan The Hon Jasper TSANG Yok-sing, GBS, JP The Hon Howard YOUNG, SBS, JP Dr the Hon YEUNG Sum The Hon YEUNG Yiu-chung, BBS The Hon LAU Chin-shek, JP The Hon LAU Kong-wah, JP The Hon Miriam LAU Kin-yee, JP The Hon Ambrose LAU Hon-chuen, GBS, JP The Hon Emily LAU Wai-hing, JP The Hon CHOY So-yuk The Hon Andrew CHENG Kar-foo The Hon SZETO Wah The Hon Timothy FOK Tsun-ting, SBS, JP The Hon TAM Yiu-chung, GBS, JP Dr the Hon TANG Siu-tong, JP The Hon Abraham SHEK Lai-him, JP The Hon LI Fung-ying, JP

The Hon Henry WU King-cheong, BBS, JP The Hon Tommy CHEUNG Yu-yan, JP The Hon Michael MAK Kwok-fung The Hon Albert CHAN Wai-yip The Hon LEUNG Fu-wah, MH, JP Dr the Hon LO Wing-lok, JP The Hon WONG Sing-chi The Hon Frederick FUNG Kin-kee The Hon IP Kwok-him, JP The Hon Audrey EU Yuet-mee, SC, JP

#### Members absent:

Dr the Hon David CHU Yu-lin, JP

- The Hon NG Leung-sing, JP
- The Hon Margaret NG
- The Hon Mrs Sophie LEUNG LAU Yau-fun, SBS, JP
- The Hon SIN Chung-kai
- The Hon LAU Wong-fat, GBS, JP
- Dr the Hon LAW Chi-kwong, JP
- The Hon LAU Ping-cheung
- The Hon MA Fung-kwok, JP

## Public officers attending:

The Hon Donald TSANG Yam-kuen, GBM, JP The Chief Secretary for Administration

The Hon Henry TANG Ying-yen, GBS, JP The Financial Secretary

The Hon Elsie LEUNG Oi-sie, GBM, JP The Secretary for Justice The Hon Michael SUEN Ming-yeung, GBS, JP Secretary for Housing, Planning and Lands

Prof the Hon Arthur LI Kwok-cheung, GBS, JP Secretary for Education and Manpower

Dr the Hon YEOH Eng-kiong, JP Secretary for Health, Welfare and Food

The Hon Joseph WONG Wing-ping, GBS, JP Secretary for the Civil Service

Dr the Hon Patrick HO Chi-ping, JP Secretary for Home Affairs

The Hon Stephen IP Shu-kwan, GBS, JP Secretary for Economic Development and Labour

Dr the Hon Sarah LIAO Sau-tung, JP Secretary for the Environment, Transport and Works

The Hon Frederick MA Si-hang, JP Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury

The Hon Stephen LAM Sui-lung, JP Secretary for Constitutional Affairs

The Hon Ambrose LEE Siu-kwong, IDSM, JP Secretary for Security

The Hon John TSANG Chun-wah, JP Secretary for Commerce, Industry and Technology

Prof LAU Siu-kai, JP Head, Central Policy Unit

## Clerk in attendance:

Mr Ricky FUNG Choi-cheung, JP, Secretary General

## The Chief Executive's Question and Answer Session on the Policy Address

The Chief Executive attended the Council to reply to questions on matters relating to his policy address.

Three Members asked questions and the Chief Executive replied.

At 3:15 pm, while Hon LEUNG Fu-wah was asking a question, there was an uproar in the Public Gallery caused by a man yelling noisily and continuously. The President ordered that the man be removed. Security staff escorted him away from the Chamber accordingly.

Hon LEUNG Fu-wah continued to ask his question and the Chief Executive replied.

Another 12 Members asked questions and the Chief Executive replied.

## Next meeting

The President declared that the next meeting of the Council would be held on 14 January 2004 at 2:30 pm.

The Council was adjourned at 4:08 pm.

(Mrs Rita FAN HSU Lai-tai) President

Council Chamber Hong Kong