LC Paper No. CB(3) 587/05-06

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

MINUTES

No. 28

Minutes of the meeting held on Thursday 18 May 2006 at 3:00 pm

Present:

The Hon Donald TSANG Yam-kuen, GBM The Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region

Members present:

President The Hon Mrs Rita FAN HSU Lai-tai, GBS, JP

The Hon James TIEN Pei-chun, GBS, JP

The Hon Albert HO Chun-yan

Ir Dr the Hon Raymond HO Chung-tai, S.B.St.J., JP

The Hon LEE Cheuk-yan

The Hon Martin LEE Chu-ming, SC, JP

Dr the Hon David LI Kwok-po, GBS, JP

The Hon Fred LI Wah-ming, JP

Dr the Hon LUI Ming-wah, SBS, JP

The Hon Margaret NG

The Hon Mrs Selina CHOW LIANG Shuk-yee, GBS, JP

The Hon James TO Kun-sun

The Hon CHEUNG Man-kwong

The Hon CHAN Yuen-han, JP The Hon Bernard CHAN, JP The Hon CHAN Kam-lam, SBS, JP The Hon Mrs Sophie LEUNG LAU Yau-fun, SBS, JP The Hon LEUNG Yiu-chung The Hon SIN Chung-kai, JP Dr the Hon Philip WONG Yu-hong, GBS The Hon WONG Yung-kan, JP The Hon Jasper TSANG Yok-sing, GBS, JP The Hon Howard YOUNG, SBS, JP Dr the Hon YEUNG Sum The Hon LAU Chin-shek, JP The Hon LAU Kong-wah, JP The Hon LAU Wong-fat, GBM, GBS, JP The Hon Miriam LAU Kin-yee, GBS, JP The Hon Emily LAU Wai-hing, JP The Hon CHOY So-yuk, JP The Hon Andrew CHENG Kar-foo The Hon TAM Yiu-chung, GBS, JP The Hon Abraham SHEK Lai-him, JP The Hon LI Fung-ying, BBS, JP The Hon Tommy CHEUNG Yu-yan, JP The Hon Albert CHAN Wai-yip The Hon Frederick FUNG Kin-kee, JP The Hon Audrey EU Yuet-mee, SC, JP The Hon Vincent FANG Kang, JP The Hon WONG Kwok-hing, MH

The Hon LEE Wing-tat Dr the Hon Joseph LEE Kok-long The Daniel LAM Wai-keung, BBS, JP The Hon Jeffrey LAM Kin-fung, SBS, JP The Hon Andrew LEUNG Kwan-yuen, SBS, JP The Hon Alan LEONG Kah-kit, SC Dr the Hon Alan LEONG Kah-kit, SC Dr the Hon Fernando CHEUNG Chiu-hung The Hon Fernando CHEUNG Chiu-hung The Hon CHEUNG Hok-ming, SBS, JP The Hon WONG Ting-kwong, BBS The Hon Ronny TONG Ka-wah, SC The Hon CHIM Pui-chung The Hon Patrick LAU Sau-shing, SBS, JP The Hon Albert Jinghan CHENG The Hon KWONG Chi-kin

The Hon TAM Heung-man

Members absent:

- The Hon Timothy FOK Tsun-ting, GBS, JP
- The Hon LI Kwok-ying, MH
- The Hon MA Lik, GBS, JP
- The Hon LEUNG Kwok-hung

Public officers attending:

The Hon Rafael HUI Si-yan, GBS, JP The Chief Secretary for Administration

The Hon Henry TANG Ying-yen, GBS, JP The Financial Secretary

The Hon WONG Yan-lung, SC, JP The Secretary for Justice

The Hon Michael SUEN Ming-yeung, GBS, JP Secretary for Housing, Planning and Lands

Prof the Hon Arthur LI Kwok-cheung, GBS, JP Secretary for Education and Manpower

The Hon Stephen IP Shu-kwan, GBS, JP Secretary for Economic Development and Labour

The Hon Frederick MA Si-hang, JP Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury

The Hon Stephen LAM Sui-lung, JP Secretary for Constitutional Affairs

The Hon Ambrose LEE Siu-kwong, IDSM, JP Secretary for Security

Dr the Hon York CHOW Yat-ngok, SBS, JP Secretary for Health, Welfare and Food

The Hon Denise YUE Chung-yee, GBS, JP Secretary for the Civil Service

Prof LAU Siu-kai, JP Head, Central Policy Unit

Clerk in attendance:

Mr Ricky FUNG Choi-cheung, JP, Secretary General

The Chief Executive's Question and Answer Session

The Chief Executive addressed the Council.

17 Members asked questions and the Chief Executive replied.

Next Meeting

The President declared that the next meeting of the Council would be held on 24 May 2006 at 11:00 am.

The Council was adjourned at 4:35 pm.

(Mrs Rita FAN HSU Lai-tai) President

Council Chamber Hong Kong