# 立法會 Legislative Council

LC Paper No. ESC5/08-09 (These minutes have been cleared with the Chairman)

Ref: CB1/F/3/2

#### **Establishment Subcommittee of the Finance Committee**

Minutes of the 1st meeting held in the Chamber of Legislative Council Building on Tuesday, 14 October 2008, at 2:00 pm

# **Members present:**

Hon WONG Yung-kan, SBS, JP (Chairman)
Dr Hon Margaret NG (Deputy Chairman)
Ir Dr Hon Raymond HO Chung-tai, SBS, S.B.St.J., JP
Hon LI Fung-ying, BBS, JP
Hon WONG Ting-kwong, BBS
Hon IP Wai-ming, MH
Hon Mrs Regina IP LAU Suk-yee, GBS, JP
Dr Hon PAN Pey-chyou

#### **Members absent:**

Dr Hon David LI Kwok-po, GBM, GBS, JP Hon CHEUNG Man-kwong Hon LAU Kong-wah, JP Hon Abraham SHEK Lai-him, SBS, JP Prof Hon Patrick LAU Sau-shing, SBS, JP Hon WONG Sing-chi Hon WONG Yuk-man

# **Clerk in attendance:**

Miss Polly YEUNG

Chief Council Secretary (1)5

#### **Staff in attendance:**

Mrs Constance LI
Ms Debbie YAU
Senior Council Secretary (1)1
Mr Noel SUNG
Senior Council Secretary (1)4
Ms Guy YIP
Senior Council Secretary (1)5

Mr Simon CHEUNG

Ms Angel SHEK

Council Secretary (1)1

Council Secretary (1)2

Mr KWONG Kam-fai

Council Secretary (1)3

Ms Alice CHEUNG Senior Legislative Assistant (1)1
Miss Queenie LAM Senior Legislative Assistant (1)2

Miss Christy YAU

Mr Frankie WOO

Ms Clara LO

Ms Sharon CHAN

Legislative Assistant (1)2

Legislative Assistant (1)3

Legislative Assistant (1)8

Action

<u>Ir Dr Raymond HO</u>, the Member with the highest precedence among those who had joined the Establishment Subcommittee (ESC), presided at the election of the Chairman of ESC for the 2008-2009 session.

2. <u>Ir Dr Raymond HO</u> informed the meeting that Mr Alan LEONG had withdrawn his membership of ESC.

### **Election of Chairman**

- 3. <u>Ir Dr Raymond HO</u> invited nominations for the chairmanship. <u>Mr WONG Yung-kan</u> was nominated by Mr WONG Ting-kwong and the nomination was seconded by Ms LI Fung-ying. <u>Mr WONG</u> accepted the nomination.
- 4. There being no other nomination, <u>Mr WONG Yung-kan</u> was declared Chairman of ESC for the 2008-09 session.

#### **Election of Deputy Chairman**

- 5. <u>Mr WONG Yung-kan</u> took the chair and called for nominations for the deputy chairmanship. <u>Dr Margaret NG</u> was nominated by Ms LI Fung-ying and the nomination was seconded by Mr WONG Ting-kwong. <u>Dr NG</u> accepted the nomination.
- 6. There being no other nomination, <u>Dr Margaret NG</u> was declared Deputy Chairman of ESC for the 2008-2009 session.

# Any other business

7. The Chairman informed members that subject to further notification, the next ESC meeting would be held on 29 October 2008. He also said that the schedule of ESC meetings for the 2008-2009 session would be forwarded to members after the meeting. Members noted that monthly meetings of ESC usually started at 9:00 am on Wednesday mornings. However, subject to the number of items scheduled for discussion, the Chairman might suitably adjust the starting time so that the meeting could be concluded before the commencement of the Council meeting at 11:00 am.

(*Post-meeting note*: The schedule of ESC meetings for the 2008-2009 session was circulated to members vide LC Paper No. ESC3/08-09 on 15 October 2008. The Administration has subsequently advised that there was no proposed items for the scheduled meeting on 29 October 2008. With the concurrence of the Chairman, the meeting scheduled for 29 October 2008 has been cancelled and members have been notified vide LC Paper No. ESC4/08-09 on 17 October 2008.)

8. There being no other business, the meeting ended at 2:04 pm.

Council Business Division 1 <u>Legislative Council Secretariat</u> 28 October 2008