The Composition of the Legislative Council (1985-2008)

Composition of the Legislative Council	1985	1988	1991	1995	1998	2000	2004 and 2008
Geographical Constituency seats	-	-	18	20	20	24	30
Functional Constituency seats	12	14	21	30	30	30	30
Electoral College Constituency seats (a)+(b)+(c)	12	12	-	-	-	-	-
(a) District Board Constituency seats (There were 10 constituencies. Both appointed and elected District Board members could vote in their respective constituency)	10	10	-	-	-	-	-
(b) Urban Council Constituency seats	1	1	-	-	-	-	-
(c) Provisional Regional Council Constituency*/Regional Council Constituency seats**	1*	1**	-	-	-	-	-
Election Committee seats	-	-	-	10 (Composed of all elected District Board members)	10 (Composed of 800 members in four sectors)	6 (Composed of 800 members in four sectors)	-
Appointed non-official seats	22	20	18	-	-	-	-
Official seats	7	7	-	-	-	-	-
Ex-officio seats (Chief Secretary, Financial Secretary and Attorney General)	3	3	3				
President (The Governor) Total number of seats	57	57	1 61/60 ¹	60	60	60	60

-

The Governor had been the President of the Legislative Council until February 1993 when the then Governor handed over the presidency to a Non-official Member elected to that office by all Non-official Members, with the total number of Members down to 60 since then.