

LC Paper No. ESC5/10-11 (These minutes have been cleared with the Chairman)

Ref : CB1/F/3/2

## **Establishment Subcommittee of the Finance Committee**

# Minutes of the 1<sup>st</sup> meeting held in Conference Room A of Legislative Council Building on Thursday, 14 October 2010, at 2:00 pm

#### Members present:

Dr Hon Margaret NG (Chairman) Dr Hon PAN Pey-chyou (Deputy Chairman) Ir Dr Hon Raymond HO Chung-tai, SBS, S.B.St.J., JP Hon LAU Kong-wah, JP Hon LI Fung-ying, SBS, JP Hon IP Wai-ming, MH Hon Mrs Regina IP LAU Suk-yee, GBS, JP

#### Members absent:

Dr Hon David LI Kwok-po, GBM, GBS, JP Hon CHEUNG Man-kwong Hon WONG Yung-kan, SBS, JP Hon WONG Ting-kwong, BBS, JP Prof Hon Patrick LAU Sau-shing, SBS, JP Hon WONG Sing-chi Hon Alan LEONG Kah-kit, SC Hon WONG Yuk-man

**Clerk in attendance:** 

Mr Stephen LAM

Chief Council Secretary (1)4

### **Staff in attendance:**

Mrs Constance LI	Assistant Secretary General 1
Mr Simon CHEUNG	Senior Council Secretary (1)1
Ms Sharon CHUNG	Senior Council Secretary (1)5
Ms Alice CHEUNG	Senior Legislative Assistant (1)1
Mr Frankie WOO	Senior Legislative Assistant (1)3
Ms Christy YAU	Legislative Assistant (1)1
Miss Mandy LAM	Legislative Assistant (1)2
Ms Clara LO	Legislative Assistant (1)3

Action

As Mr WONG Yung-kan, Chairman of the Establishment Subcommittee (ESC) in office was unable to attend the meeting, <u>Dr Margaret NG</u>, Deputy Chairman, presided over the meeting. She informed members that the meeting was held for the election of the Chairman and Deputy Chairman of ESC for the 2010-2011 session.

## **Election of Chairman**

2. <u>Dr Margaret NG</u> invited nominations for the chairmanship. Dr Margaret NG was nominated by <u>Ms LI Fung-ying</u>, and the nomination was seconded by <u>Ir Dr Raymond HO</u> and <u>Dr PAN Pey-chyou</u>. <u>Dr NG</u> accepted the nomination.

3. Since Dr NG was nominated, <u>Ir Dr Raymond HO</u>, the Member with the highest precedence at the meeting, presided at the election of the Chairman of ESC for the 2010-2011 session.

4. There being no other nomination for the chairmanship, Dr Margaret NG was declared Chairman of ESC for the 2010-2011 session.

## **Election of Deputy Chairman**

5. <u>Dr Margaret NG</u> took over the chair of the meeting and called for nominations for the deputy chairmanship. Dr PAN Pey-chyou was nominated by <u>Mr IP Wai-ming</u>, and the nomination was seconded by <u>Ms LI Fung-ying</u> and <u>Mrs Regina IP</u>.

6. There being no other nomination, Dr PAN Pey-chyou was declared Deputy Chairman of ESC for the 2010-2011 session.

# Any other business

#### Schedule of meetings for the 2010-2011 session

7. <u>The Chairman informed members that ESC meetings would usually start</u> either at 8:30 am or 9:00 am on Wednesday mornings. As far as 2010-2011 session was concerned, six meetings had been scheduled for the following dates:

- (a) 10 November 2010
- (b) 8 December 2010
- (c) 5 January 2011
- (d) 16 February 2011
- (e) 4 May 2011
- (f) 8 June 2011

(*Post-meeting note*: As suggested by the Administration, the meeting on 10 November 2010 has been cancelled.)

8. There being no other business, the meeting ended at 2:05 pm.

Council Business Division 1 Legislative Council Secretariat 29 October 2010