立法會 Legislative Council

LC Paper No. CB(1)1104/12-13 (These minutes have been cleared with the Chairman)

Ref : CB1/BC/5/12

Bills Committee on Stamp Duty (Amendment) Bill 2013

Minutes of first meeting on Friday, 3 May 2013, at 2:00 pm in Conference Room 3 of the Legislative Council Complex

Members present :	Hon Starry LEE Wai-king, JP (Chairman) Hon James TO Kun-sun (Deputy Chairman) Hon Abraham SHEK Lai-him, SBS, JP Hon Tommy CHEUNG Yu-yan, SBS, JP Hon Andrew LEUNG Kwan-yuen, GBS, JP Hon WONG Ting-kwong, SBS, JP Hon WONG Ting-kwong, SBS, JP Hon Charles Peter MOK Hon Charles Peter MOK Hon LEUNG Che-cheung, BBS, MH, JP Hon Kenneth LEUNG Hon Dennis KWOK Hon SIN Chung-kai, SBS, JP Hon Tony TSE Wai-chuen
Members absent :	Dr Hon LAM Tai-fai, SBS, JP Hon Paul TSE Wai-chun, JP Hon James TIEN Pei-chun, GBS, JP
Clerk in attendance:	Ms Annette LAM Chief Council Secretary (1)3
Staff in attendance :	Miss Kitty CHENG Assistant Legal Adviser 5

Mr Ken WOO Council Secretary (1)5

Ms May LEUNG Legislative Assistant (1)3

Ms Yvonna HO Clerical Assistant (1)3

Action I. Election of Chairman and Deputy Chairman

Election of Chairman

<u>Mr James TO</u>, the member who had the highest precedence among members of the Bills Committee present at the meeting, presided at the election of the chairmanship of the Bills Committee. <u>Mr James TO</u> invited nominations for the chairmanship of the Bills Committee.

2. Ms Starry LEE was nominated by <u>Mr WONG Ting-kwong</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Abraham SHEK</u>. <u>Ms Starry LEE</u> accepted the nomination.

3. <u>Mr James TO</u> asked if there were other nominations. Mr SIN Chung-kai was nominated by <u>Mr Charles MOK</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Dennis KWOK</u>. <u>Mr SIN Chung-kai</u> accepted the nomination. There was no other nomination.

4. <u>Mr Abraham SHEK</u>, <u>Mr WONG Ting-kwong</u>, <u>Mr Tommy CHEUNG</u>, <u>Ms Starry LEE</u> and <u>Mr Tony TSE</u> made declaration of interests respectively.

5. <u>Mr James TO</u> announced that voting be conducted by secret ballot. After members present had cast their votes, <u>Mr James TO</u> invited Mr WONG Ting-kwong and Mr Charles MOK, who had nominated the two candidates, to monitor the counting of votes. Of the members present, six voted for Ms Starry LEE and five voted for Mr SIN Chung-kai. <u>Mr James TO</u> declared that Ms Starry LEE was elected Chairman of the Bills Committee. <u>Ms Starry LEE</u> then took the chair.

Election of Deputy Chairman

6. <u>The Chairman</u> called for nominations for the deputy chairmanship of the Bills Committee. Mr James TO was nominated by <u>Mr SIN Chung-kai</u>

- 2 -

Action

and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Kenneth LEUNG</u>. <u>Mr James TO</u> accepted the nomination.

7. <u>The Chairman</u> asked if there were other nominations. Mr SIN Chung-kai was nominated by <u>Mr Tommy CHEUNG</u>. <u>Mr SIN-Chung kai</u> declined the nomination. There being no other nominations, Mr James TO was declared Deputy Chairman of the Bills Committee.

II.	Way forward (LC Paper No. CB(3)471/12-13		The Bill
	File Ref: TsyB R 183/700-6/5/0 (C)		Legislative Council Brief issued by the Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau
	LC Paper No. LS40/12-13		Legal Service Division Report
	LC Paper No. CB(1)960/12-13(01) (English version only)		Submission from The Law Society of Hong Kong dated 30 April 2013
	LC Paper No. CB(1)971/12-13(01) (English version only) (tabled at the meeting and subsequently issued on 6 May 2013)	2	Submission from Cordells dated 2 May 2013)

8. <u>The Bills Committee</u> deliberated (Index of proceedings attached at **Appendix**).

Invitation of views

9. <u>Members</u> agreed to invite views on the Bill from interested parties and members of the public by placing an invitation on the website of the Legislative Council (LegCo) and issuing invitation letters to the 18 District Councils. <u>The Chairman</u> drew members' attention to the proposed list of organizations to be invited to give views which was tabled at the meeting, and invited members to inform the Secretariat any specific organizations they wished to invite. (*Post-meeting note*: An invitation for public submissions on the Bill was uploaded onto the LegCo website on 8 May 2013. Letters inviting views of the District Councils and relevant organizations endorsed by the Bills Committee were also issued on the same day.)

10. <u>The Chairman</u> advised that the Bills Committee had received submissions from The Law Society of Hong Kong and Cordells.

(*Post-meeting note*: The submissions had been forwarded to the Administration on 2 May 2013 for a written response.)

Date of next meeting

11. <u>The Chairman</u> reminded members that the next meeting would be held on Friday, 31 May 2013 at 10:45 am.

III. Any other business

12. There being no other business, the meeting ended at 2:10 pm.

Council Business Division 1 Legislative Council Secretariat 23 May 2013

Proceedings of the first meeting of the Bills Committee on Stamp Duty (Amendment) Bill 2013 on Friday, 3 May 2013, at 2:00 pm in Conference Room 3 of the Legislative Council Complex

Time marker	Speaker	Subject(s)	Action required
000000 - 000626	Mr James TO Mr WONG Ting-kwong Ms Starry LEE Mr Abraham SHEK Mr Charles MOK Mr SIN Chung-kai Mr Dennis KWOK Mr Tommy CHEUNG Mr Tony TSE	Election of Chairman Ms Starry LEE was elected Chairman of the Bills Committee.	
000627 – 000740	Chairman	Invitation of views	
000741 – 000846	Chairman Mr SIN Chung-kai Mr James TO Mr Kenneth LEUNG Mr Tommy CHEUNG	Election of Deputy Chairman Mr James TO was declared Deputy Chairman of the Bills Committee.	
000847 - 000910	Chairman	The Chairman advised that the Bills Committee had received submissions from The Law Society of Hong Kong and Cordells.	
000911 - 001025	Chairman	Meeting arrangements	

Council Business Division 1 Legislative Council Secretariat 23 May 2013