LC Paper No. PWSC76/12-13(01)

政府總部 發展局 工務科 香港添馬添美道2號 政府總部西翼



本局網址 Our Website: 本局檔號 Our Ref.: 來函檔號 Your Ref.:

http://www.devb.gov.hk DEVB(W) 216/26/CEDD/6 CB1/F/2/6(III)

## Works Branch Development Bureau Government Secretariat

West Wing, Central Government Offices, 2 Tim Mei Avenue, Tamar, Hong Kong

電話 Tel No.: 3509 8277 傳真 Fax No.: 2801 5034 電郵 E-mail: Jimmy\_pm\_chan @devb.gov.hk

27 June 2013

Clerk to the Public Works Subcommittee Legislative Council Complex 1 Legislative Council Road, Central, Hong Kong (Attn: Mr Derek LO)

Dear Mr LO,

## Public Works Subcommittee Follow-up to meeting on 5 June 2013 PWSC(2013-14)16

I refer to your letter of 10 June 2013 to the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury regarding the captioned subject.

During the discussion on the funding application for PWP Item 259RS "Cycle Tracks Connecting North West New Territories with North East New Territories" at the Public Works Subcommittee meeting on 5 June 2013, the Administration informed Members that the Transport Department (TD) had commissioned the Traffic and Transport Consultancy Study on Cycling Networks and Parking Facilities in Existing New Towns in Hong Kong in May 2010 and undertook to provide more information of the study. The study aims to improve the existing cycle tracks and bicycle parking facilities, and covers the cycle track networks and related facilities within nine new towns<sup>1</sup>. An executive summary of

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The nine new towns are Shatin (including Ma On Shan), Tai Po, Fanling/Sheung Shui, Yuen Long, Tin Shui Wai, Tuen Mun, Tsuen Wan, Tung Chung and Tseung Kwan O.

the study can be downloaded from the following webpage of TD: <u>http://www.td.gov.hk/filemanager/en/publication/td\_194\_2009\_es\_eng.pdf</u>

ł

Yours sincerely,

( Jimmy PM Chan ) for Secretary for Development

cc Chairman of the Public Works Subcommittee, Hon CHAN Kam-lam, SBS, JP Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury (Attn.: Ms Joyce HO) Director of Civil Engineering and Development Commissioner for Transport (Attn.: Mr T F LEUNG)