Press Releases

繁豐版 | 简件版 | Email this article | news.gov.bk

Appointments to Working Group on Regulation of Private Hospitals

The Working Group on Regulation of Private Hospitals under the auspices of the Steering Committee on Review of the Regulation of Private Healthcare Facilities has been formally set up and came into operation today (December 18).

"It is tasked with reviewing the scope of the existing legislation and the regulatory regime for private hospitals, and formulating recommendations for enhanced control of different aspects related to the provision of healthcare services by private hospitals," said the Secretary for Food and Health, Dr Ko Wing-man.

The Working Group will be chaired by the Permanent Secretary for Food and Health (Health). Members of the Working Group shall include representatives from private hospitals, academia, professional organisations, and patient and consumer groups.

Dr Ko said that in response to the Audit recommendations on strengthening the regulatory control of private hospitals, there was room for improvement in the provision of healthcare services by private hospitals, in particular, price transparency, clinical standards and management and reporting of adverse incidents.

"The Working Group will gather views of stakeholders concerned and make reference to overseas regulatory frameworks that are applicable to local circumstances when undertaking its duties.

"We look forward to fruitful and productive deliberation at the Working Group. The review will be a crucial step forward in strengthening the regulatory control over private hospitals so as to safeguard people's health and consumer rights," he said.

The working group would submit its findings to the Steering Committee in the second half of 2013, with recommendations on the regulatory framework that should be adopted for private hospitals.

Following is the membership list of the Working Group:

Chairman

Permanent Secretary for Food and Health (Health)

Members Steering Committee members: Ms Jasminia Kristine Cheung Professor Fok Tai-fai Dr Samuel Kwok Po-yin Mr Andy Lau Kwok-fai Ms Connie Lau Yin-hing Dr Anthony Lee Kai-yiu Professor Lee Sum-ping Professor Raymond Liang Hin-suen Dr Susie Lum Shun-sui Professor Samantha Pang Mei-che Dr Homer Tso Wei-kwok Dr Yeung Chiu-fat Director of Health/representative Chief Executive, Hospital Authority/representative Head of Healthcare Planning and Development Office, Food and Health Bureau/representative Co-opted members: Ms Elaine Chan Sau-ho Ms Vera Tam Sau-ngor

Ends/Tuesday, December 18, 2012 Issued at HKT 11:30