# 立法會 Legislative Council

LC Paper No. FC7/13-14 (These minutes have been cleared with the Chairman)

Ref: CB1/F/1/1

## **Finance Committee of the Legislative Council**

## Minutes of the meeting held at Conference Room 1 of the Legislative Council Complex on Friday, 4 October 2013, at 3:32 pm

## **Members present:**

Hon Tommy CHEUNG Yu-yan, SBS, JP (Chairman)

Hon Emily LAU Wai-hing, JP (Deputy Chairman)

Hon Albert HO Chun-yan

Hon James TO Kun-sun

Hon CHAN Kam-lam, SBS, JP

Hon LEUNG Yiu-chung

Dr Hon LAU Wong-fat, GBM, GBS, JP

Hon TAM Yiu-chung, GBS, JP

Hon Frederick FUNG Kin-kee, SBS, JP

Hon Vincent FANG Kang, SBS, JP

Hon WONG Kwok-hing, BBS, MH

Dr Hon Joseph LEE Kok-long, SBS, JP, PhD, RN

Hon Jeffrey LAM Kin-fung, GBS, JP

Hon Andrew LEUNG Kwan-yuen, GBS, JP

Hon WONG Ting-kwong, SBS, JP

Hon Ronny TONG Ka-wah, SC

Hon Cyd HO Sau-lan

Hon Starry LEE Wai-king, JP

Dr Hon LAM Tai-fai, SBS, JP

Hon CHAN Hak-kan, JP

Hon CHAN Kin-por, BBS, JP

Dr Hon Priscilla LEUNG Mei-fun, SBS, JP

Dr Hon LEUNG Ka-lau

Hon CHEUNG Kwok-che

Hon WONG Kwok-kin, BBS

Hon IP Kwok-him, GBS, JP

Hon Mrs Regina IP LAU Suk-yee, GBS, JP

Hon Paul TSE Wai-chun, JP

Hon Alan LEONG Kah-kit, SC

Hon LEUNG Kwok-hung

Hon Albert CHAN Wai-yip

Hon Claudia MO

Hon Michael TIEN Puk-sun, BBS, JP

Hon James TIEN Pei-chun, GBS, JP

Hon NG Leung-sing, SBS, JP

Hon Steven HO Chun-yin

Hon Frankie YICK Chi-ming

Hon WU Chi-wai, MH

Hon YIU Si-wing

Hon Gary FAN Kwok-wai

Hon MA Fung-kwok, SBS, JP

Hon Charles Peter MOK

Hon CHAN Chi-chuen

Hon CHAN Han-pan

Dr Hon Kenneth CHAN Ka-lok

Hon LEUNG Che-cheung, BBS, MH, JP

Hon Kenneth LEUNG

Hon Alice MAK Mei-kuen, JP

Dr Hon KWOK Ka-ki

Hon KWOK Wai-keung

Hon Dennis KWOK

Hon Christopher CHEUNG Wah-fung, JP

Dr Hon Fernando CHEUNG Chiu-hung

Hon SIN Chung-kai, SBS, JP

Dr Hon Helena WONG Pik-wan

Hon IP Kin-yuen

Dr Hon Elizabeth QUAT, JP

Hon Martin LIAO Cheung-kong, JP

Hon POON Siu-ping, BBS, MH

Hon TANG Ka-piu

Dr Hon CHIANG Lai-wan, JP

Ir Dr Hon LO Wai-kwok, BBS, MH, JP

Hon CHUNG Kwok-pan

Hon Christopher CHUNG Shu-kun, BBS, MH, JP

## Hon Tony TSE Wai-chuen

#### **Members absent:**

Hon LEE Cheuk-yan Hon Abraham SHEK Lai-him, GBS, JP Hon WONG Yuk-man Hon CHAN Yuen-han, SBS, JP

#### **Clerk in attendance:**

Mr Andy LAU Assistant Secretary General 1

#### **Staff in attendance:**

Mr Derek LO Chief Council Secretary (1)5 Mr Daniel SIN Senior Council Secretary (1)7 Senior Council Secretary (1)5 Mr Ken WOO Ms Alice CHEUNG Senior Legislative Assistant (1)1 Senior Legislative Assistant (1)2 Miss Oueenie LAM Mr Frankie WOO Senior Legislative Assistant (1)3 Ms Michelle NIEN Legislative Assistant (1)5 Legislative Assistant (1)7 Ms Christy YAU Ms Clara LO Legislative Assistant (1)9 Miss Michelle LEE Clerical Assistant (1)5

Mr Tommy CHEUNG Yu-yan, the incumbent Chairman of the Finance Committee (FC), presided at the election of Chairman of the Finance Committee (FC) for the 2013-2014 session. He advised members that with effect from 4 October 2013, simultaneous Putonghua interpretation service would be provided to FC meetings.

#### **Election of Chairman**

2. <u>Mr Tommy CHEUNG</u> invited nominations for the chairmanship for the 2013-2014 session.

- 3. Mr NG Leung-sing was nominated by <u>Mr James TIEN Pei-chun</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr WONG Kwok-kin</u>. <u>Mr NG Leung-sing</u> accepted the nomination.
- 4. <u>Mr Tommy CHEUNG</u> asked if there were other nominations. Ms Emily LAU Wai-hing was nominated by <u>Dr Helena WONG</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Albert HO Chun-yan</u>. <u>Ms Emily LAU</u> accepted the nomination. There was no other nomination.
- 5. <u>Mr NG Leung-sing</u> and <u>Ms Emily LAU</u> responded to a question put forward by <u>Mr Albert CHAN Wai-yip</u>.
- 6. <u>Mr Tommy CHEUNG</u> announced a vote by secret ballot. Of the members present for voting, 40 voted for Mr NG Leung-sing and 23 voted for Ms Emily LAU. <u>Mr Tommy CHEUNG</u> declared that Mr NG Leung-sing was elected Chairman of FC for the 2013-2014 session.

## **Election of Deputy Chairman**

- 7. <u>Mr Tommy CHEUNG</u> continued to preside over the election of Deputy Chairman. He invited nominations for the deputy chairmanship for the 2013-2014 session.
- 8. Ms Emily LAU was nominated by Ms Cyd HO Sau-lan. The nomination was seconded by Mr Ronny TONG Ka-wah. Ms Emily LAU accepted the nomination. There being no other nomination, Mr Tommy CHEUNG declared that Ms Emily LAU was elected Deputy Chairman of FC for the 2013-2014 session.

## Any other business

9. <u>The Chairman</u> informed members that the newly elected FC Chairman would work out the schedule of FC meetings for the 2013-2014 session with the Secretariat and issue it to members separately.

(*Post-meeting note*: The schedule of FC meetings for the 2013-2014 session has been sent to members vide LC Paper No. FC3/13-14 on 10 October 2013.)

10. The meeting was adjourned at 3:50 pm.

<u>Legislative Council Secretariat</u> 25 October 2013