立法會 Legislative Council

LC Paper No. CB(2)1253/14-15 (These minutes have been cleared with the Chairman)

Ref: CB2/BC/1/14

Bills Committee on Interception of Communications and Surveillance (Amendment) Bill 2015

Minutes of meeting held on Friday, 27 March 2015, at 2:00 pm in Conference Room 2B of the Legislative Council Complex

Members : Hon IP Kwok-him, GBS, JP (Chairman)
present Hon YIU Si-wing (Deputy Chairman)

Hon James TO Kun-sun

Hon CHAN Kam-lam, SBS, JP Hon Emily LAU Wai-hing, JP Hon Cyd HO Sau-lan, JP Hon CHAN Kin-por, BBS, JP Hon Paul TSE Wai-chun, JP

Hon WONG Yuk-man

Hon NG Leung-sing, SBS, JP Hon Frankie YICK Chi-ming Hon MA Fung-kwok, SBS, JP Hon Charles Peter MOK, JP

Hon LEUNG Che-cheung, BBS, MH, JP

Hon KWOK Wai-keung Hon Dennis KWOK

Hon SIN Chung-kai, SBS, JP Dr Hon CHIANG Lai-wan, JP Hon Tony TSE Wai-chuen, BBS

Members : Hon WONG Kwok-kin, SBS

absent Hon Claudia MO

Dr Hon Elizabeth QUAT, JP Hon CHUNG Kwok-pan

Hon Christopher CHUNG Shu-kun, BBS, MH, JP

Clerk in :

: Miss Betty MA

attendance Chief Council Secretary (2) 1

Staff in attendance

Mr KAU Kin-wah

Senior Assistant Legal Adviser 3

Mr Raymond LAM

Senior Council Secretary (2) 7

Ms Mina CHAN

Council Secretary (2)1

Ms Kiwi NG

Legislative Assistant (2) 1

I. Election of Chairman and Deputy Chairman

Election of Chairman

Mr James TO, member who had the highest precedence in Council among members of the Bills Committee present, presided over the election of the Chairman. He invited nominations for the chairmanship of the Bills Committee.

- 2. Mr James TO was nominated by Mr SIN Chung-kai and the nomination was seconded by Ms Cyd HO. Mr James TO accepted the nomination. Mr CHAN Kam-lam, member of the next highest precedence among members present, took over from Mr James TO to preside over the election. Mr CHAN Kam-lam called for other nominations.
- 3. Mr IP Kwok-him was nominated by Mr MA Fung-kwok and the nomination was seconded by Mr Tony TSE. Mr IP Kwok-him accepted the nomination.
- 4. As there was no other nomination, <u>Mr CHAN Kam-lam</u> then proceeded to the election and announced that voting be conducted by secret ballot. After all the members present had cast their votes, <u>Mr CHAN</u> invited Mr SIN Chung-kai and Mr MA Fung-kwok, who had nominated the two candidates respectively, to monitor the counting of votes.

5. After the votes were counted, <u>Mr CHAN Kam-lam</u> announced that five members voted for Mr James TO and 10 members voted for Mr IP Kwok-him respectively. <u>Mr CHAN</u> declared Mr IP Kwok-him elected as the Chairman of the Bills Committee. <u>Mr IP Kwok-him</u> then took the chair.

Election of Deputy Chairman

- 6. Members agreed that a deputy chairman should be elected. The Chairman called for nominations for the deputy chairmanship of the Bills Committee. Mr James TO was nominated by Ms Emily LAU and the nomination was seconded by Ms Cyd HO. Mr James TO accepted the nomination. The Chairman called for other nominations.
- 7. Mr YIU Si-wing was nominated by Mr Tony TSE and the nomination was seconded by Mr NG Leung-sing. Mr YIU Si-wing accepted the nomination.
- 8. As there was no other nomination, <u>the Chairman</u> announced a vote by secret ballot. After all members had cast their votes, <u>the Chairman</u> invited Ms Emily LAU and Mr Tony TSE who had nominated the two candidates to monitor the counting of votes.
- 9. After the votes were counted, <u>the Chairman</u> announced that 6 and 11 members voted for Mr James TO and Mr YIU Si-wing respectively. <u>The Chairman</u> declared Mr YIU Si-wing elected as Deputy Chairman of the Bills Committee.

II. Date of next meeting

- 10. The Bills Committee deliberated (index of proceedings attached at **Annex**).
- 11. <u>Members</u> agreed that the next meeting would be held on 9 April 2015 at 10:45 am for discussion of the Bill with the Administration.
- 12. <u>Members</u> agreed that a meeting would be scheduled to receive the views of the public on the Bill. <u>Members</u> also agreed that Mr Justice WOO, former Commissioner on Interception of Communications and Surveillance, would be invited to give his views on the Bill at a meeting of the Bills Committee, if necessary.

(*Post-meeting note*: With the concurrence of the Chairman, the meeting to receive the views of the public on the Bill was scheduled for 2 May 2015 from 9:00 am to noon.)

13. There being no other business, the meeting ended at 2:17 pm.

Council Business Division 2 <u>Legislative Council Secretariat</u> 14 April 2015

Proceedings of meeting of the Bills Committee on Interception of Communications and Surveillance (Amendment) Bill 2015 held on Friday, 27 March 2015, at 2:00 pm in Conference Room 2B of the Legislative Council Complex

Time marker	Speaker(s)	Subject(s)	Action Required
000000 - 000818	Mr James TO Mr SIN Chung-kai Mr CHAN Kam-lam Mr MA Fung-kwok Mr IP Kwok-him	Election of Chairman	Requireu
000819 - 001430	Chairman Ms Emily LAU Mr James TO Mr Tony TSE Mr YIU Si-wing	Election of Deputy Chairman	
001431 - 001834	Chairman Ms Cyd HO Ms Emily LAU	Date of next meeting. Scheduling of a meeting to receive the views of the public on the Bill. Invitation of Mr Justice WOO, former Commissioner on Interception of Communications and Surveillance, to give his views on the Bill at a meeting of the Bills Committee, if necessary.	

Council Business Division 2 <u>Legislative Council Secretariat</u> 14 April 2015