立法會 Legislative Council

LC Paper No. FC74/14-15 (These minutes have been cleared with the Chairman)

Ref : FC/1/1(1)

Finance Committee of the Legislative Council

Minutes of the 1st meeting held at Conference Room 1 of the Legislative Council Complex on Friday, 10 October 2014, at 5:56 pm

Members present:

Hon Tommy CHEUNG Yu-yan, SBS, JP (Chairman)

Hon CHAN Kin-por, BBS, JP (Deputy Chairman)

Hon Albert HO Chun-yan

Hon LEE Cheuk-yan

Hon James TO Kun-sun

Hon CHAN Kam-lam, SBS, JP

Dr Hon LAU Wong-fat, GBM, GBS, JP

Hon Emily LAU Wai-hing, JP

Hon TAM Yiu-chung, GBS, JP

Hon Abraham SHEK Lai-him, GBS, JP

Hon Frederick FUNG Kin-kee, SBS, JP

Hon WONG Kwok-hing, BBS, MH

Hon Jeffrey LAM Kin-fung, GBS, JP

Hon Andrew LEUNG Kwan-yuen, GBS, JP

Hon WONG Ting-kwong, SBS, JP

Hon Ronny TONG Ka-wah, SC

Hon Cyd HO Sau-lan, JP

Hon Starry LEE Wai-king, JP

Hon CHAN Hak-kan, JP

Dr Hon Priscilla LEUNG Mei-fun, SBS, JP

Hon CHEUNG Kwok-che

Hon WONG Kwok-kin, SBS

Hon IP Kwok-him, GBS, JP

Hon Mrs Regina IP LAU Suk-yee, GBS, JP

Hon Paul TSE Wai-chun, JP

Hon Alan LEONG Kah-kit, SC

Hon Albert CHAN Wai-yip

Hon WONG Yuk-man

Hon Claudia MO

Hon Michael TIEN Puk-sun, BBS, JP

Hon NG Leung-sing, SBS, JP

Hon Steven HO Chun-yin

Hon WU Chi-wai, MH

Hon YIU Si-wing

Hon Gary FAN Kwok-wai

Hon MA Fung-kwok, SBS, JP

Hon Charles Peter MOK, JP

Hon CHAN Chi-chuen

Hon CHAN Han-pan, JP

Dr Hon Kenneth CHAN Ka-lok

Hon CHAN Yuen-han, SBS, JP

Hon Alice MAK Mei-kuen, JP

Hon KWOK Wai-keung

Hon Dennis KWOK

Hon Christopher CHEUNG Wah-fung, SBS, JP

Dr Hon Fernando CHEUNG Chiu-hung

Hon SIN Chung-kai, SBS, JP

Dr Hon Helena WONG Pik-wan

Hon IP Kin-yuen

Dr Hon Elizabeth QUAT, JP

Hon Martin LIAO Cheung-kong, SBS, JP

Hon POON Siu-ping, BBS, MH

Hon TANG Ka-piu, JP

Dr Hon CHIANG Lai-wan, JP

Ir Dr Hon LO Wai-kwok, BBS, MH, JP

Hon CHUNG Kwok-pan

Hon Christopher CHUNG Shu-kun, BBS, MH, JP

Hon Tony TSE Wai-chuen, BBS

Members absent:

Hon LEUNG Yiu-chung

Hon Vincent FANG Kang, SBS, JP

Prof Hon Joseph LEE Kok-long, SBS, JP, PhD, RN

Dr Hon LAM Tai-fai, SBS, JP

Dr Hon LEUNG Ka-lau

Hon LEUNG Kwok-hung Hon James TIEN Pei-chun, GBS, JP Hon Frankie YICK Chi-ming Hon LEUNG Che-cheung, BBS, MH, JP Hon Kenneth LEUNG Dr Hon KWOK Ka-ki

Clerk in attendance:

Mr Andy LAU Assistant Secretary General 1

Staff in attendance:

Mr Derek LO Chief Council Secretary (1)5 Mr Daniel SIN Senior Council Secretary (1)7 Mr Ken WOO Senior Council Secretary (1)5 Council Secretary (1)5 Mr Raymond SZETO Ms Alice CHEUNG Senior Legislative Assistant (1)1 Miss Queenie LAM Senior Legislative Assistant (1)2 Senior Legislative Assistant (1)3 Mr Frankie WOO Legislative Assistant (1)5 Ms Michelle NIEN Legislative Assistant (1)7 Ms Christy YAU Ms Clara LO Legislative Assistant (1)9 Miss Yannes HO Legislative Assistant (1)10

Action

Mr NG Leung-sing, the incumbent Chairman of the Finance Committee ("FC"), presided at the election of the FC Chairman for the 2014-2015 session.

Election of Chairman

- 2. <u>Mr NG Leung-sing</u> invited nominations for the chairmanship. Ms Emily LAU was nominated by <u>Mr IP Kin-yuen</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr WU Chi-wai</u>. <u>Ms Emily LAU</u> accepted the nomination.
- 3. <u>Mr NG Leung-sing</u> asked if there were other nominations. Mr Tommy CHEUNG was nominated by <u>Mr IP Kwok-him</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr WONG Ting-kwong</u>. <u>Mr Tommy CHEUNG</u> accepted the nomination. There was no other nomination.

- 4. At Mr Frederick FUNG's request, Mr NG Leung-sing invited Ms Emily LAU and Mr Tommy CHEUNG to introduce their election platforms before voting was conducted and directed that each candidate be given two minutes to speak. Ms Emily LAU and Mr Tommy CHEUNG made their respective presentations.
- 5. <u>Mr NG Leung-sing</u> announced a vote by secret ballot. Following the collection of ballot papers from members present, the Chairman invited <u>Mr IP Kin-yuen</u> and <u>Mr IP Kwok-him</u>, who had nominated the two candidates, to oversee the counting of votes. Of the 57 members present for voting, 21 members voted for Ms Emily LAU and 36 members voted for Mr Tommy CHEUNG. <u>Mr NG Leung-sing</u> declared that Mr Tommy CHEUNG was elected Chairman of FC for the 2014-2015 session.

Election of Deputy Chairman

- 6. <u>Mr Tommy CHEUNG</u> presided over the election of Deputy Chairman. He invited nominations for the deputy chairmanship. Ms Emily LAU was nominated by <u>Dr Helena WONG</u>. The nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Alan LEONG</u>. <u>Ms Emily LAU</u> accepted the nomination.
- 7. <u>Mr Tommy CHEUNG</u> asked if there were other nominations. Mr CHAN Kin-por was nominated by <u>Mr WONG Ting-kwong</u>. The nomination was seconded by <u>Mr YIU Si-wing</u>. <u>Mr CHAN Kin-por</u> accepted the nomination. There was no other nomination.
- 8. <u>Mr Tommy CHEUNG</u> announced a vote by secret ballot. Following the collection of ballot papers from members present, the Chairman invited <u>Dr Helena WONG</u> and <u>Mr WONG Ting-kwong</u>, who had nominated the two candidates, to oversee the counting of votes. Of the 57 members present for voting, 23 members voted for Ms Emily LAU and 34 members voted for Mr CHAN Kin-por. <u>Mr Tommy CHEUNG</u> declared that Mr CHAN Kin-por was elected Deputy Chairman of FC for the 2014-2015 session.
- 9. <u>Mr Tommy CHEUNG</u> informed members that he would work out the schedule of FC meetings for the 2014-2015 session with the Secretariat and would issue the meeting schedule to members separately.

(*Post-meeting note*: The schedule of FC meetings for the 2014-2015 session has been sent to members vide LC Paper No. FC4/14-15 on 10 October 2014.)

10. The meeting was adjourned at 6:23 pm.

Legislative Council Secretariat
19 December 2014