立法會 Legislative Council

LC Paper No. CB(4)91/14-15 (These minutes have been seen by the Chairman)

Ref: CB4/PL/ITB/1

Panel on Information Technology and Broadcasting

Minutes of meeting held on Thursday, 9 October 2014, at 4:20 pm in Conference Room 1 of the Legislative Council Complex

Members present: Dr Hon Elizabeth QUAT, JP (Chairman)

Ir Dr Hon LO Wai-kwok, BBS, MH, JP (Deputy Chairman)

Hon Emily LAU Wai-hing, JP Hon TAM Yiu-chung, GBS, JP Hon WONG Ting-kwong, SBS, JP Hon Ronny TONG Ka-wah, SC

Hon Cyd HO Sau-lan, JP

Dr Hon Priscilla LEUNG Mei-fun, SBS, JP Hon Mrs Regina IP LAU Suk-yee, GBS, JP

Hon Paul TSE Wai-chun, JP Hon LEUNG Kwok-hung Hon WONG Yuk-man Hon Claudia MO

Hon NG Leung-sing, SBS, JP Hon Steven HO Chun-yin

Hon YIU Si-wing

Hon MA Fung-kwok, SBS, JP Hon Charles Peter MOK, JP

Hon CHAN Chi-chuen

Hon Christopher CHEUNG Wah-fung, SBS, JP

Hon SIN Chung-kai, SBS, JP Dr Hon CHIANG Lai-wan, JP

Hon Christopher CHUNG Shu-kun, BBS, MH, JP

Clerk in attendance: Ms YUE Tin-po

Chief Council Secretary (4)3

Staff in attendance: Mr Matthew LOO

Assistant Secretary General 4

Mr Joey LO

Senior Council Secretary (4)3

Ms Anki NG

Council Secretary (4)3

Miss Winnie CHENG

Senior Legislative Assistant (4)1

Ms Carmen HO

Senior Legislative Assistant (4)2

Miss Mandy LAM

Legislative Assistant (4)3

Miss Doris HUNG Clerical Assistant (4)2

Action

I. Election of Chairman and Deputy Chairman

Election of Chairman

Mr WONG Yuk-man, Chairman of the Panel in office, invited nominations for the chairmanship for the 2014-2015 session.

- 2. Mr Charles Peter MOK was nominated by Mr SIN Chung-kai and the nomination was seconded by Ms Claudia MO. Mr Charles Peter MOK accepted the nomination. Mr WONG Yuk-man called for other nominations.
- 3. Dr Elizabeth QUAT was nominated by <u>Ir Dr LO Wai-kwok</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr WONG Ting-kwong</u>. <u>Dr Elizabeth QUAT</u> accepted the nomination. <u>Mr WONG Yuk-man</u> called for other nominations.

- 4. As there was no other nomination, <u>Mr WONG Yuk-man</u> announced a vote by secret ballot. After all members had cast their votes, <u>Mr WONG Yuk-man</u> invited Mr SIN Chung-kai and Ir Dr LO Wai-kwok who had nominated the two candidates to monitor the counting of votes.
- 5. Mr WONG Yuk-man announced that 8 and 14 members voted for Mr Charles Peter MOK and Dr Elizabeth QUAT respectively, and one vote was invalid as the ballot paper was blank. Mr WONG Yuk-man declared Dr Elizabeth QUAT elected as the Chairman of the Panel for the 2014-2015 session. The Chairman presided over the election of the Deputy Chairman of the Panel.

Election of Deputy Chairman

- 6. <u>The Chairman</u> called for nominations for the deputy chairmanship of the Panel. Mr Charles Peter MOK was nominated by <u>Ms Cyd HO</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Ronny TONG</u>. <u>Mr Charles Peter MOK</u> accepted the nomination. <u>The Chairman</u> called for other nominations.
- 7. Ir Dr LO Wai-kwok was nominated by Mr WONG Ting-kwong and the nomination was seconded by Mr Steven HO. <u>Ir Dr LO Wai-kwok</u> accepted the nomination. The Chairman called for other nominations.
- 8. As there was no other nomination, <u>the Chairman</u> announced a vote by secret ballot. After all members had cast their votes, <u>the Chairman</u> invited Ms Cyd HO and Mr WONG Ting-kwong who had nominated the two candidates to monitor the counting of votes.
- 9. <u>The Chairman</u> announced that 9 and 13 members voted for Mr Charles Peter MOK and Ir Dr LO Wai-kwok respectively, and one vote was invalid as the ballot paper was blank. <u>The Chairman</u> declared Ir Dr LO Wai-kwok elected as Deputy Chairman of the Panel for the 2014-2015 session.

II. Schedule of meetings for the 2014-2015 session

10. <u>Members</u> agreed to hold the regular meetings of the Panel for the 2014-2015 session on the second Monday of each month at 2:30 pm. As there was no agenda item proposed by the Administration for the October meeting,

members agreed that the October meeting would not be held and the next regular meeting would be held on 10 November 2014 at 2:30 pm.

III. Items for discussion at the next meeting

(List of outstanding items for — Appendix V to LC Paper No.

discussion CB(4)3/14-15

List of follow-up actions — Appendix VI to LC Paper No.

CB(4)3/14-15)

Regular Panel meeting on 10 November 2014

- 11. <u>Members</u> noted that the next regular meeting would be held on 10 November 2014 to discuss the following items proposed by the Administration:
 - (a) Renewal of analogue sound broadcasting licences;
 - (b) Capital Works Reserve Fund Head 710 Computerization Subhead A007GX (Block Allocation) New administrative computer systems; and
 - (c) Amendment of Schedule 1 of the Electronic Transactions Ordinance (Cap. 553).

Work plan for the 2014-2015 session

- 12. The Chairman said that she and the Deputy Chairman would hold a meeting with the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development to discuss the work plan of the Panel for the 2014-2015 session. She invited members to notify the Secretariat in writing as soon as possible if they wished to propose further discussion items for Panel meetings to be held from December 2014 to July 2015.
- 13. Mr Charles Peter MOK proposed to discuss issues relating to the regulation of person-to-person telemarketing calls as soon as practicable. The Panel should also follow up the progress of the Administration's processing of the applications for domestic free television programme service ("free TV") licence and the licence renewal applications of the two existing free TV licencees. Mr Paul TSE proposed to discuss issues relating to complaints against and regulation of the telecommunications industry on termination of contracts and recovery of service fees in the 2014-2015 session.

Action - 5 -

(*Post-meeting note*: With the concurrence of the Chairman, the work plan meeting was held on 23 October 2014 at 4:00 pm in Room 502 of the Legislative Council Complex.)

IV. Any other business

14. There being no other business, the meeting ended at 4:40 pm.

Council Business Division 4
<u>Legislative Council Secretariat</u>
30 October 2014