立法會 Legislative Council

LC Paper No. CB(2)160/19-20 (These minutes have been cleared with the Chairman)

Ref: CB2/PL/HS

Panel on Health Services

Minutes of meeting held on Thursday, 17 October 2019, at 4:30 pm in Conference Room 3 of the Legislative Council Complex

Members : Dr Hon CHIANG Lai-wan, SBS, JP (Chairman)

present Hon Tommy CHEUNG Yu-yan, GBS, JP

Prof Hon Joseph LEE Kok-long, SBS, JP

Hon WONG Ting-kwong, GBS, JP Hon Starry LEE Wai-king, SBS, JP

Hon CHAN Hak-kan, BBS, JP Hon CHAN Kin-por, GBS, JP

Dr Hon Priscilla LEUNG Mei-fun, SBS, JP Hon Mrs Regina IP LAU Suk-yee, GBS, JP

Hon Steven HO Chun-yin, BBS

Hon YIU Si-wing, BBS

Hon MA Fung-kwok, SBS, JP

Hon CHAN Chi-chuen

Hon CHAN Han-pan, BBS, JP

Hon LEUNG Che-cheung, SBS, MH, JP Hon Alice MAK Mei-kuen, BBS, JP

Dr Hon KWOK Ka-ki

Dr Hon Helena WONG Pik-wan Hon Elizabeth QUAT, BBS, JP Hon POON Siu-ping, BBS, MH Dr Hon Junius HO Kwan-yiu, JP

Hon HO Kai-ming Hon SHIU Ka-fai, JP Hon SHIU Ka-chun

Hon Wilson OR Chong-shing, MH

Hon YUNG Hoi-yan, JP Dr Hon Pierre CHAN Hon LUK Chung-hung, JP Hon LAU Kwok-fan, MH

Hon Kenneth LAU Ip-keung, BBS, MH, JP

Hon KWONG Chun-yu

Hon Vincent CHENG Wing-shun, MH, JP

Hon CHAN Hoi-yan

Member attending

Hon Martin LIAO Cheung-kong, GBS, JP

Members absent

Hon Abraham SHEK Lai-him, GBS, JP

Hon WONG Kwok-kin, SBS, JP

Dr Hon Fernando CHEUNG Chiu-hung

Hon CHU Hoi-dick

Clerk in attendance

Ms Maisie LAM

Chief Council Secretary (2) 5

Staff in attendance

Miss Flora TAI

Assistant Secretary General 2

Miss Kay CHU

Senior Council Secretary (2) 5

Ms Priscilla LAU

Council Secretary (2) 1

Mr Ronald LAU

Council Secretary (2) 5

Miss Maggie CHIU

Legislative Assistant (2) 5

Ms Louisa YU

Legislative Assistant (2) 10

I. Election of Chairman and Deputy Chairman for the 2019-2020 session

[Appendices III and IV to LC Paper No. CB(2)2/19-20]

<u>Dr Pierre CHAN</u>, Chairman of the Panel in office, called for nominations for the chairmanship of the Panel for the 2019-2020 session. Dr Pierre CHAN was nominated by <u>Mr CHAN Chi-chuen</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Dr KWOK Ka-ki</u>. <u>Dr Pierre CHAN</u> accepted the nomination. As Dr Pierre CHAN was nominated for the office, Prof Joseph LEE, Deputy Chairman of the Panel in office, took over from Dr Pierre CHAN to preside over the election.

- 2. <u>Prof Joseph LEE</u> invited other nominations for the chairmanship of the Panel. Dr CHIANG Lai-wan was nominated by <u>Mr Vincent CHENG</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Steven HO</u>. <u>Dr CHIANG Lai-wan</u> accepted the nomination.
- 3. Dr Helena WONG was nominated by Mr CHAN Chi-chuen and the nomination was seconded by Dr KWOK Ka-ki. Dr Helena WONG accepted the nomination.
- 4. Dr Fernando CHEUNG was nominated by Mr SHIU Ka-chun and the nomination was seconded by Mr CHAN Chi-chuen. As Dr Fernando CHEUNG was absent, Mr SHIU Ka-chun confirmed that the nomination was accepted by Dr Fernando CHEUNG. No further valid nominations were made.
- 5. <u>Mr CHAN Chi-chuen</u> proposed that the candidates be given time to present their election platforms. Apart from Dr Junius HO and Mr Steven HO, no other members raised objection to the proposal. After seeking the views of the three candidates present at the meeting, <u>Prof Joseph LEE</u> suggested that each candidate be given one minute to present his or her election platform. <u>Members</u> agreed. <u>Dr Pierre CHAN</u>, <u>Dr CHIANG Lai-wan and Dr Helena WONG made their respective presentations.</u>

[At 4:58 pm, Prof Joseph LEE suggested and members agreed to extend the meeting time for 15 minutes for the purpose of completing the election of Chairman.]

6. <u>Prof Joseph LEE</u> then announced a vote by secret ballot. The result of the vote was that six members voted for Dr Pierre CHAN, 22 members voted for Dr CHIANG Lai-wan, one member voted for Dr Helena WONG and no member voted for Dr Fernando CHEUNG. <u>Prof Joseph LEE</u> declared Dr CHIANG Lai-wan elected as the Chairman of the Panel for the 2019-2020 session. Dr CHIANG Lai-wan then took the chair.

Action

7. <u>The Chairman</u> announced that she would close the meeting at this juncture to facilitate members' attendance at the meeting of the Panel on Public Services being held concurrently.

(*Post-meeting note*: On the instruction of the Chairman, members were consulted on the proposed meeting slot for election of the Deputy Chairman of the Panel for the 2019-2020 session vide LC Paper No. CB(2)21/19-20 issued on 18 October 2019. Having regard to members' returns, the Chairman directed that a special meeting be scheduled for 21 October 2019 from 4:30 pm to 5:00 pm to elect the Deputy Chairman and deal with other unfinished business on the agenda for the Panel meeting on 17 October 2019.)

8. The meeting ended at 5:06 pm.

Council Business Division 2
<u>Legislative Council Secretariat</u>
6 November 2019