## 立法會 Legislative Council

LC Paper No. CB(2)89/20-21 (These minutes have been cleared with the Chairman)

Ref: CB2/PL/FE

#### Panel on Food Safety and Environmental Hygiene

## Minutes of meeting held on Friday, 16 October 2020, at 10:30 am in Conference Room 1 of the Legislative Council Complex

**Members** Hon Steven HO Chun-yin, BBS (Chairman) present

Hon James TO Kun-sun

Hon Tommy CHEUNG Yu-yan, GBS, JP Prof Hon Joseph LEE Kok-long, SBS, JP Hon WONG Ting-kwong, GBS, JP

Hon Starry LEE Wai-king, SBS, JP

Hon CHAN Hak-kan, BBS, JP

Dr Hon Priscilla LEUNG Mei-fun, SBS, JP

Hon WONG Kwok-kin, SBS, JP

Hon Claudia MO

Hon Frankie YICK Chi-ming, SBS, JP

Hon WU Chi-wai, MH

Hon Charles Peter MOK, JP Hon CHAN Han-pan, BBS, JP

Hon LEUNG Che-cheung, SBS, MH, JP

Hon Kenneth LEUNG

Hon Alice MAK Mei-kuen, BBS, JP

Dr Hon KWOK Ka-ki

Hon KWOK Wai-keung, JP

Hon Christopher CHEUNG Wah-fung, SBS, JP

Dr Hon Helena WONG Pik-wan

Hon IP Kin-yuen

Hon Elizabeth OUAT, BBS, JP

Dr Hon CHIANG Lai-wan, SBS, JP

Ir Dr Hon LO Wai-kwok, SBS, MH, JP

Hon Alvin YEUNG

Hon Andrew WAN Siu-kin

Hon LAM Cheuk-ting

Hon Holden CHOW Ho-ding

Hon SHIU Ka-fai, JP

Hon Wilson OR Chong-shing, MH

Hon YUNG Hoi-yan, JP Dr Hon Pierre CHAN

Hon CHEUNG Kwok-kwan, JP

Hon HUI Chi-fung

Hon LAU Kwok-fan, MH

Hon Kenneth LAU Ip-keung, BBS, MH, JP

Dr Hon CHENG Chung-tai Hon KWONG Chun-yu Hon Jeremy TAM Man-ho

Hon Vincent CHENG Wing-shun, MH, JP

Hon Tony TSE Wai-chuen, BBS, JP

Member attending

Hon Martin LIAO Cheung-kong, GBS, JP

Members absent

: Hon Dennis KWOK Wing-hang

Dr Hon Fernando CHEUNG Chiu-hung

Hon SHIU Ka-chun

Clerk in attendance

Miss Josephine SO

Chief Council Secretary (2) 2

Staff in attendance

Miss Flora TAI

Assistant Secretary General 2

Ms Wendy LO

Senior Council Secretary (2) 2

Mr Clement HAU

Council Secretary (2) 2

Miss Cally LAI

Legislative Assistant (2) 2

Ms Camy YOONG Clerical Assistant (2) 2

# I. Election of Chairman and Deputy Chairman for the 2020-2021 session

#### Election of Chairman

Mr Tommy CHEUNG, the incumbent Chairman, called for nominations for the chairmanship of the Panel for the 2020-2021 session. A total of 12 valid nominations, as follows, were made:

- (a) Mr KWONG Chun-yu was nominated by Ms Claudia MO and the nomination was seconded by Mr Jeremy TAM.

  Mr KWONG Chun-yu accepted the nomination;
- (b) Mr Steven HO was nominated by Mr Holden CHOW and the nomination was seconded by Mr WONG Ting-kwong.

  Mr Steven HO accepted the nomination;
- (c) Dr Helena WONG was nominated by <u>Dr KWOK Ka-ki</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr James TO</u>. <u>Dr Helena WONG</u> accepted the nomination;
- (d) Dr KWOK Ka-ki was nominated by Mr Andrew WAN and the nomination was seconded by Ms Claudia MO.

  Dr KWOK Ka-ki accepted the nomination;
- (e) Dr CHENG Chung-tai was nominated by Ms Claudia MO and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG.

  Dr CHENG Chung-tai accepted the nomination;
- (f) Mr WU Chi-wai was nominated by Ms Claudia MO and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG.

  Mr WU Chi-wai accepted the nomination;
- (g) Mr SHIU Ka-chun was nominated by Mr HUI Chi-fung and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG. Mr SHIU Ka-chun was absent, but Mr HUI Chi-fung confirmed that the nomination was accepted by Mr SHIU Ka-chun;
- (h) Prof Joseph LEE was nominated by <u>Dr KWOK Ka-ki</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Kenneth LEUNG</u>. <u>Prof Joseph LEE</u> accepted the nomination;
- (i) Dr Fernando CHEUNG was nominated by Mr HUI chi-fung and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG. Dr Fernando CHEUNG was absent, but Mr HUI Chi-fung

- confirmed that the nomination was accepted by Dr Fernando CHEUNG;
- (j) Mr Kenneth LEUNG was nominated by Ms Claudia MO and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG.

  Mr Kenneth LEUNG accepted the nomination;
- (k) Mr James TO was nominated by <u>Dr KWOK Ka-ki</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Alvin YEUNG</u>.

  <u>Mr James TO</u> accepted the nomination; and
- (1) Mr Charles MOK was nominated by Mr James TO and the nomination was seconded by Mr Andrew WAN.

  Mr Charles MOK accepted the nomination.
- 2. <u>Mr Tommy CHEUNG</u> announced a vote by secret ballot. The result of the vote was that 24 members voted for Mr Steven HO and 16 members voted for Mr Charles MOK. One ballot paper was declared void and was not counted for the purpose of determining the number of valid votes obtained by individual candidates. <u>Mr Tommy CHEUNG</u> declared Mr Steven HO elected as the Chairman of the Panel for the 2020-2021 session. <u>Mr Steven HO</u> then took the chair.

### Election of Deputy Chairman

3. Owing to time constraint, <u>the Chairman</u> said that the election of the Deputy Chairman would be held at the regular meeting scheduled for 10 November 2020.

(At this juncture, the Chairman ordered that the meeting be extended for a couple of minutes in order to deal with agenda items II and III.)

## II. Schedule of meetings for the 2020-2021 session

- 4. <u>Members</u> agreed to hold regular meetings on the second Tuesday of each month at 2:30 pm. <u>Members</u> agreed that as the special meetings of the Finance Committee would be held from 12 to 16 April 2021, the regular meeting in April would be re-scheduled to Tuesday, 20 April 2021 at 2:30 pm.
- 5. The Chairman informed members that taking into consideration that some of the Panel meetings held in previous sessions had been extended to last for more than two hours as a number of items were discussed at those meetings, the Secretariat had reserved a three-hour timeslot (from 2:30 pm to 5:30 pm) for each of the regular meetings scheduled for the months of December 2020 as well as January and February 2021. Members noted that

the Chairman might adjust or change the end time of those meetings having regard to the number of discussion items on the agenda of respective meetings.

(*Post-meeting note*: The schedule of the regular meetings of the Panel for the 2020-2021 session was issued to members vide LC Paper No. CB(2)31/20-21 on 16 October 2020.)

#### III. Items for discussion at the next meeting

(Appendices V and VI to LC Paper No. CB(2)6/20-21)

- 6. <u>Members</u> agreed to discuss the following two items proposed by the Administration at the next regular meeting scheduled for Tuesday, 10 November 2020 at 2:30 pm:
  - (a) Construction of a joint-user building for reprovisioning a refuse collection point and setting up a community recycling centre at the junction between Hung Yuen Road and Hung Ping Road, Yuen Long (3189GK); and
  - (b) Implementation of the Public Health (Animals and Birds) (Trading and Breeding) Regulations (Cap. 139B).

(*Post-meeting note*: Members were informed vide LC Paper No. CB(2)43/20-21 issued on 19 October 2020 that as the Panel would hold the election of Deputy Chairman and consider Hon CHAN Han-pan's proposal for appointment of a subcommittee on policy issues (Mr CHAN's proposal was issued after the meeting vide LC Paper No. CB(2)32/20-21) at the November meeting, the Chairman had decided to defer the discussion of "Implementation of the Public Health (Animals and Birds) (Trading and Breeding) Regulations (Cap. 139B)" to the regular meeting in December 2020.)

## IV. Any other business

7. There being no other business, the meeting ended at 11:02 am.

Council Business Division 2
<a href="Legislative Council Secretariat">Legislative Council Secretariat</a>
27 October 2020