# 立法會 Legislative Council

LC Paper No. CB(1)61/20-21 (These minutes have been cleared with the Chairman)

Ref: CB1/PL/HG/1

## **Panel on Housing**

# Minutes of meeting held on Friday, 16 October 2020, at 9:00 am in Conference Room 2 of the Legislative Council Complex

**Members present**: Hon Tommy CHEUNG Yu-yan, GBS, JP (Chairman)

Hon James TO Kun-sun

Hon Abraham SHEK Lai-him, GBS, JP Prof Hon Joseph LEE Kok-long, SBS, JP Hon Starry LEE Wai-king, SBS, JP

Hon CHAN Hak-kan, BBS, JP Hon CHAN Kin-por, GBS, JP

Dr Hon Priscilla LEUNG Mei-fun, SBS, JP

Hon WONG Kwok-kin, SBS, JP

Hon Mrs Regina IP LAU Suk-yee, GBS, JP

Hon Paul TSE Wai-chun, JP

Hon Claudia MO

Hon Michael TIEN Puk-sun, BBS, JP Hon Frankie YICK Chi-ming, SBS, JP

Hon WU Chi-wai, MH

Hon Charles Peter MOK, JP Hon CHAN Han-pan, BBS, JP

Hon LEUNG Che-cheung, SBS, MH, JP

Hon Kenneth LEUNG

Hon Alice MAK Mei-kuen, BBS, JP

Dr Hon KWOK Ka-ki

Hon KWOK Wai-keung, JP

Dr Hon Fernando CHEUNG Chiu-hung

Dr Hon Helena WONG Pik-wan

Hon IP Kin-yuen

Dr Hon CHIANG Lai-wan, SBS, JP Ir Dr Hon LO Wai-kwok, SBS, MH, JP

Hon Alvin YEUNG

Hon Andrew WAN Siu-kin

Dr Hon Junius HO Kwan-yiu, JP

Hon LAM Cheuk-ting Hon SHIU Ka-fai, JP Hon SHIU Ka-chun

Hon Wilson OR Chong-shing, MH

Hon YUNG Hoi-yan, JP Hon CHAN Chun-ying, JP

Hon CHEUNG Kwok-kwan, JP

Hon HUI Chi-fung

Hon LUK Chung-hung, JP Hon LAU Kwok-fan, MH Dr Hon CHENG Chung-tai Hon KWONG Chun-yu Hon Jeremy TAM Man-ho

Hon Vincent CHENG Wing-shun, MH, JP

Hon Tony TSE Wai-chuen, BBS, JP

**Members absent** : Hon LEUNG Yiu-chung

Hon Dennis KWOK Wing-hang

**Clerk in attendance**: Mr Derek LO

Chief Council Secretary (1)5

**Staff in attendance**: Ms Anita SIT

Assistant Secretary General 1

Mr Fred PANG

Senior Council Secretary (1)5

Mr Joey LO

Senior Council Secretary (1)8

Miss Queenie LAM

Senior Legislative Assistant (1)2

Ms Christy YAU Legislative Assistant (1)8

Ms Haley CHEUNG Legislative Assistant (1)10

Ms Michelle NIEN Legislative Assistant (1)5

Ms Michelle LEE Clerical Assistant (1)5

#### Action

## I. Election of Chairman and Deputy Chairman

#### Election of Chairman

Mr Wilson OR, Chairman in office, invited nominations for the chairmanship. He drew members' attention to the letters sent to the Secretariat by 26 Members indicating that they would not accept nominations for chairmanship or deputy chairmanship of the Panel. Members had been informed via email of the letters on 15 October 2020 and the relevant information had been tabled at the meeting.

2. After the nomination process was completed, <u>Mr Wilson OR</u> stated that there were 15 valid nominations, namely:

Nominees		Nominated by	Seconded by
1.	Mr Andrew WAN	Dr KWOK Ka-ki	Mr Alvin YEUNG
2.	Mr Tommy CHEUNG	Mr LEUNG Che-cheung	Ms Starry LEE
3.	Mr LEUNG Yiu-chung	Ms Claudia MO	Mr Alvin YEUNG
4.	Mr IP Kin-yuen	Dr KWOK Ka-ki	Mr Alvin YEUNG
5.	Mr WU Chi-wai	Ms Claudia MO	Mr Alvin YEUNG
6.	Mr Kenneth LEUNG	Mr LAM Cheuk-ting	Mr Alvin YEUNG
7.	Dr Fernando CHEUNG	Dr Helena WONG	Mr Alvin YEUNG
8.	Dr Helena WONG	Mr HUI Chi-fung	Mr Alvin YEUNG
9.	Dr CHENG Chung-tai	Ms Claudia MO	Mr Alvin YEUNG
10.	Mr Jeremy TAM	Mr WU Chi-wai	Mr Alvin YEUNG
11.	Prof Joseph LEE	Mr Kenneth LEUNG	Mr Alvin YEUNG
12.	Mr HUI Chi-fung	Ms Claudia MO	Mr Alvin YEUNG
13.	Mr Dennis KWOK	Mr Kenneth LEUNG	Mr Alvin YEUNG
14.	Mr Charles MOK	Mr WU Chi-wai	Mr Alvin YEUNG
15.	Mr LAM Cheuk-ting	Mr HUI Chi-fung	Mr Alvin YEUNG

- 3. There being no other nomination, <u>Mr Wilson OR</u> announced that the voting be conducted by secret ballot and instructed the staff to distribute a ballot paper to each of the members present.
- 4. After members present had cast their votes, Mr Wilson OR invited the nominators to monitor the counting of votes, and Mr LEUNG Che-cheung and Mr WU Chi-wai came forward to the Chairman's podium to monitor the counting of votes. Of the members present, one member voted for Mr Andrew WAN, 26 members voted for Mr Tommy CHEUNG, 15 members voted for Mr HUI Chi-fung and no one voted for the other 12 nominees. Mr Wilson OR declared that Mr Tommy CHEUNG was elected as the Chairman of the Panel for the 2020-2021 legislative session. Mr CHEUNG then took over the chair.
- 5. <u>The Chairman</u> said that owing to time constraint, the election of the Deputy Chairman would be held at the next regular meeting scheduled for 2 November 2020.

## II. Schedule of meetings for the 2020-2021 session

6. The Chairman referred members to the proposed schedule of regular meetings of the Panel for the 2020-2021 session prepared by the Clerk, which was tabled at the meeting. Members agreed that the monthly regular meetings of the Panel would be held on the first Monday of each month at 2:30 pm, except for the meeting in April 2021 which would be held on Monday, 29 March 2021 at 2:30 pm.

(*Post-meeting note*: The schedule of Panel meetings for the 2020-2021 session was issued to members vide LC Paper No. CB(1)12/20-21 on 16 October 2020.)

## III. Items for discussion at next meeting

(Appendix V to LC Paper No. CB(1)5/20-21 — List of outstanding items for discussion

Appendix VI to LC Paper No. CB(1)5/20-21 — List of follow-up actions)

#### Action

7. The Chairman advised that the next regular meeting of the Panel would be held on Monday, 2 November 2020, at 2:30 pm, and the Secretariat would inform members of the Administration's proposed items for discussion for the meeting in due course.

(*Post-meeting note*: The notice of meeting and agenda for the meeting on 2 November 2020 were issued to members vide LC Paper No. CB(1)27/20-21 on 20 October 2020.)

## IV. Any other business

8. There being no other business, the meeting ended at 9:28 am.

Council Business Division 1
<u>Legislative Council Secretariat</u>
27 October 2020