LegCo Paper No. CB(1)747/96-97
Ref: CB1/BC/54/2 (These minutes have been seen by the Administration)

Bills Committee on Patents Bill

Minutes of meeting
held on Tuesday, 7 January 1997 at 4:30 pm
in Conference Room A of the Legislative Council Building

Members present :

    Hon Ambrose LAU Hon-chuen, JP (Chairman)
    Hon NGAI Shiu-kit, OBE, JP
    Dr Hon HUANG Chen-ya, MBE
    Hon Margaret NG

Members absent :

    Hon Mrs Selina CHOW, OBE, JP
    Hon Ronald ARCULLI, OBE, JP
    Hon CHAN Kam-lam
    Hon Paul CHENG Ming-fun
    Dr Hon LAW Cheung-kwok
    Hon SIN Chung-kai

Public officers attending :

Mr Augustine L S CHENG
Deputy Secretary for Trade and Industry
Mr Stephen SELBY
Director of Intellectual Property
Mr Patrick NIP
Principal Assistant Secretary for Trade and Industry
Mrs Flora CHENG
Assistant Director of Intellectual Property
Assistant Secretary for Trade and Industry
Miss Magdalene LING
Chief Intellectual Property Examiner

Clerk in attendance :

Miss Odelia LEUNG
Chief Assistant Secretary (1)1

Staff in attendance :

Ms Kitty CHENG
Assistant Legal Advisor 2
Ms Sarah YUEN
Senior Assistant Secretary (1)1

I Confirmation of minutes of meeting and matters arising

(LegCo paper Nos. CB(1)611/96-97 (01) to (03) and CB(1)631/96-97)

The minutes of the meeting held on 18 December 1996 were confirmed.

2. The Chairman drew members’ attention to the following papers provided by the Administration at members’ request -

  1. Two checklists setting out the major issues raised by the consultees on the Bill (LegCo Paper No. CB(1)611/96-97(01));
  2. A list of costs items to be incurred in applying for a standard patent and a short-term patent (LegCo Paper No. CB(1)611/96-97(02)); and
  3. A flowchart on how to obtain a standard patent (LegCo Paper No. CB(1)611/96-97(03)).

3. Members noted the papers.

II. Discussion on the submission of the Hong Kong Bar Association (the Bar)

(LegCo Paper No. CB(1)611/96-97(04))

4. The Administration’s response to the Bar’s submission was tabled at the meeting (circulated to members not present vide LegCo Paper No. CB(1)654/96-97).

5. Miss Margaret NG briefed members on the Bar’s submission entitled "Comments of the Hong Kong Bar Association’s ‘ad hoc’ Committee on the Patents Bill". Members noted that the Bar had reservations regarding the need for the introduction of a short-term patent and in particular the system recommended in the Report of the Patent Steering Committee (PSC). The Bar had identified the following major problems -

  1. Standards of patentability

    The Bar was concerned about the consequences of creating, alongside standard patents, short-term patents which protected the same subject matters and had the same standards of patentability, notwithstanding that the term was shorter in the case of short-term patents. It felt that if the proposed short-term patent system for Hong Kong (the proposed system) could not be kept separate and distinct from the standard patent system, applicants could obtain the same protection and rights of a standard patent by applying for a short-term patent. The end result would be that a person would most likely take the short-cut by applying for a short-term patent. This would save the cost and the time required in applying for a standard patent. In the Bar’s view, the level of inventiveness and the subject matters of short-term patents should be different from those of standard patents, and that the scope of patentability of the former should be more restricted and should not cover processes.

  2. Potential burden on the court

    As standard patents and short-term patents could co-exist for the same invention under the Bill(clause 9), an applicant for a standard patent, by applying for a short-term patent for the same invention, would effectively be given an immediate right to sue on the invention which was yet to be examined as to its substantive merits by the designated patent office. This would be tantamount to granting a right to sue on an application for a standard patent before examination and grant and could lead to a lot of litigation. Furthermore, contrary to the scheme proposed for the standard patent whereunder respectable designated patent offices would effectively be the examining offices for the invention according to a set of criteria, the court would be asked instead to examine the patentability of the invention in an action for infringement of the short-term patent. This was obviously undesirable and unfair because the court was not equipped to deal with this. The Bar suggested that a possible solution was to avoid granting a short-term patent when there was a concurrent application for a standard patent for the same invention.

  3. Risk of abuse inherent in a non-examination system

    The Bar was concerned that without proper procedural safeguards, the proposed short-term patent system, basically a non-examination system, would be open to abuse against third-party use. Small businesses would be the main victims since they could not afford to defend against allegations of infringement in court. The potential abuse was particularly serious if summary judgement and interlocutory injunction applications were available. To balance the need to provide protection for inventions and to avoid abuse, it should be expressly provided that interlocutory relief in the form of interlocutory injunction should not be available to a plaintiff suing only on a short-term patent. Special provisions should be included in the Rules of the Supreme Court to ensure that trials of short-term patent actions could be expedited.

  4. Inconsistent decisions on patentability

    As the proposed level of inventiveness for short-term patents was the same as that for standard patents, it would not be inconceivable that a patentee would apply for a short-term patent whilst awaiting the outcome of his pending application for a standard patent. The trial of short-term patent actions might proceed before grant of a standard patent. As such, there was the possibility that the court and the designated patent office might arrive at different conclusions on the patentability of the same invention, hence causing confusion.

Need for a short-term patent system

6. Members noted the Administration’s advice that the results of the public consultation exercise had indicated substantial commercial support for the idea of a short-term patent and that the primary purpose for introducing short-term patents was not to bridge any gap between the filing and grant of a standard patent.

Standard of patentability

7. In substantiating the proposal in the Bill for protecting the same subject matters under short-term patents and full patents, the Deputy Secretary for Trade and Industry (DS for T&I) and the Director of Intellectual Property (D of IP) made the following points -

  1. Most utility model systems, as against standard patent systems, only protected physical products because of two reasons. Firstly, historically the concept of a utility model had arisen out of the concept of a design. The concept of providing protection for processes did not develop until later and this was mainly covered under standard patents. Secondly, the more restricted subject matters under short-term patents were a trade-off for a simpler system of examination. However, recent changes to the German utility model system had indicated that protection might no longer be restricted to the shape, form, structure and construction of a product. Although the German system still did not protect processes, it seemed that all types of products were now capable of being protected under the German utility model law. It also appeared that utility model protection was now offered to inventions that were new, involved an inventive step and were susceptible of industrial application, and that the same level of inventiveness was required for a short-term patent as for a standard patent. In fact, the proposed system in Hong Kong was not the unique short-term patent system in the world that intended to protect processes as well. The Australian petty patent system also protected the same subject matter as that for standard patents (Ref: page 157 of PSC’s Report).
  2. Notwithstanding the utility-model-type systems used elsewhere, the Administration believed that in recognition of the needs of local businesses, which frequently worked with products with a short-term market, the most flexible arrangement for Hong Kong business was to have the widest possible range of matters which could be protected by a short-term patent, hence the decision to adopt the same standard of patentability for short-term patents and standard patents. The Government also felt that if Hong Kong was to adopt a lower level of patentability for short-term patents, users of the system would have difficulty in distinguishing between the different levels of patentability.
  3. It was envisaged that applications for standard patents would largely come from major international pharmaceutical, manufacturing, engineering and computer companies and patent applications for their inventions would largely already have been made in other countries. Registration in Hong Kong would be but one small element of their world-wide patent strategy. As for short-term patents, applications would mainly be filed for inventions covering a product or process intended for a fast-changing market, such a short marketable life might not justify the expense and lengthy processing of a standard patent. It was envisaged that few people would apply for both types of patents. Instead of creating problems, the introduction of two types of patents covering the same subject matters would be a solution to the above two types of demands identified by the PSC during their deliberations. Moreover, as the applicant for a short-term patent would be required to file a search report upon application, the short-term patent system in Hong Kong would not be perceived as a lower grade of patent protection.

Potential burden on the court

8. On the Bar’s proposal to avoid granting a short-term patent when there was an application for a standard patent for the same invention, D of IP provided the following comments -

  1. As the proposed short-term patent system was a non-examination system, it would be difficult for the Administration to follow through and check whether an application for a standard patent in respect of the same invention was made at the same time.
  2. If an analogy was drawn between non-examined patents and Hong Kong’s experience on copyrights which required no formality, the possibility of the courts being flooded with litigation as a result of the co-existence of standard patents and short-term patents was not demonstrated. A short-term patent owner would not resort to court proceedings for infringement lightly as he would be required to bear the burden of proof of the validity of his patent.

9. At members’ request, the Administration would provide information on the features of the French and Australian petty patent systems including the subject matters being protected, the scope of patentability and the procedures involved for grant of patent, etc. It would also advise on the number of litigation cases involving petty patents in these two countries in the past few years.


10. Dr HUANG Chen-ya disagreed with the Administration’s views at point (a) above. He opined that if the Administration was prepared to take forward the Bar’s proposal, there could be ways to implement it, for example, by automatically disqualifying an application for a standard patent for the same invention which was the subject of a short-term patent.

Risk of abuse inherent in a non-examination system

11. On the Bar’s concern about the risk of abuse inherent in unexamined short-term patents and its proposal to restrict owners of such patents from seeking interlocutory injunctions, DS for T&I and D of IP made the following points -

  1. Many products made in Hong Kong were intended for a fast-changing market. A non-examination short-term patent system was the best way to offer speedy and inexpensive protection for these products. Full patent protection was not a cost-effective option.
  2. As a safeguard against abuse to restrict third-party use, a search report on the state of art would be required at the point of application to ensure that both the applicant and competitors could as soon as possible form an opinion as to whether the product sought to be patented was genuinely patentable. In this way, applicants for a short-term patent would have to go through certain procedures and commit certain costs in seeking grant of patent protection.
  3. To maintain the value of the short-term patent system, short-term patent owners should not be deprived of the right to institute interlocutory actions. The Administration had to consider both the interests of small businesses and of owners of inventions. The Government would need to consider whether, in the absence of interlocutory injunction, the requirement under the Agreement on Trade-Related Aspects of Intellectual Property Rights (TRIPS) of the World Trade Organisation to provide effective enforcement of rights could be effectively implemented.
  4. Hong Kong would not be the first place having a non-examination short-term patent system. Many major patent offices had unexamined petty patents and some even had unexamined standard patents. Unexamined petty patents were indeed important pieces of intellectual property with their own significance.
  5. To address the Bar’s concerns, the Administration had already revised clause 128 to provide for speedy trial and for proprietors to establish prima facie validity of short-term patents.

12. Miss Margaret NG considered it an unsatisfactory arrangement to provide under clause 128 a legislative directive to the court to order speedy trial instead of granting an interlocutory injunction. To prevent abuse, Mr NGAI Shiu-kit considered it appropriate to impose stringent requirements for short-term patents to encourage more people to use the standard patent system. Members supported the requirement to file a search report and opined that the Bill should provide clear and specific guidelines on the contents of the search report to ensure that it would provide maximum information to the public for search. They also opined that as the short-term patent system would be a non-examination system involving simpler procedures and lesser costs, the rights enjoyed by short-term patent owners should accordingly be restricted as a fair and proper balance. A member further proposed to impose stricter requirements for short-term patents so as to encourage more people to use the standard patent system instead.

13. In response, D of IP stated that in practical terms there were difficulties in imposing more stringent requirements since the next step after the international search report would be a formal full search. In fact, by requiring a search report, the proposed system in Hong Kong was already more stringent than most other short-term patent systems in the world. The Administration would welcome any suggestions from members on the contents of the search report. The Administration would provide the Bills Committee with information on the protection and rights conferred by other jurisdictions on unexamined short-term patents.


Inconsistent decisions on patentability

14. Addressing the Bar’s concern over possible inconsistent decisions on patentability for the same invention, D of IP made the following points -

  1. Two designated offices might arrive at different decisions on the same patent. Inconsistent conclusions on patentability therefore should not be a concern. As Hong Kong patents were independent patents, the question of patent validity was always a matter to be decided in the Hong Kong court, although a patent was registered in Hong Kong on the basis of a patent in a designated patent office.
  2. In any proceedings brought by a short-term patent owner, it would be open to either party to ask for a stay of proceedings pending the outcome of the search and examination in the designated patent office.

15. Miss Margaret NG opined that as it was up to the court to refuse or grant a stay of proceedings, this might not resolve the problem of inconsistent decisions on patentability. A better arrangement would be to have such a stay provided for in the Bill.

Other comments

16. Mr NGAI Shiu-kit expressed the following views on the proposed patent systems in Hong Kong -

  1. The term of a short-term patent should be as short as possible.
  2. The concept of infringement under the Bill should not be extended to cover goods in transit as this would jeopardise Hong Kong’s position in the international trading community.

17. In response, D of IP emphasised that the Administration had offered specific amendments so that the question of whether patented products in transit should be excluded from Hong Kong protection would be left to be decided by the Courts.

18. Pending supplementary information from the Administration, members would further discuss the proposed short-term patent system. The next meeting was scheduled for 23 January 1997 at 8:30 am to discuss other aspects of the Bill.

19. The meeting ended at 6:15 pm.

Legislative Council Secretariat
23 January 1997

Last Updated on 16 December 1998

立法局CB(1)747/96-97號文件
(此份會議紀要業經政府當局審閱)
檔 號: CB1/BC/54/2


專利條例草案委員會
會議紀錄


日  期:一九九七年一月七日(星期二)
時  間:下午四時三十分
地  點:立法局大樓會議室A

出席委員:

    劉漢銓議員(主席)
    倪少傑議員
    黃震遐議員
    吳靄儀議員

缺席委員:

    周梁淑怡議員
    夏佳理議員
    陳鑑林議員
    鄭明訓議員
    羅祥國議員
    單仲偕議員

出席公職人員 :

副工商司
鄭陸山先生
知識產權署署長
謝肅方先生
首席助理工商司
聶德權先生
知識產權署助理署長
鄭張德秀女士
助理工商司
梁麟祥先生
總知識產權審查主任
凌友薇女士

列席秘書:

總主任(1)1
梁慶儀小姐

列席職員:

助理法律顧問2
鄭潔儀女士
高級主任(1)1
袁家寧女士



I. 通過會議紀要及續議事項

(立法局CB(1)611/96-97(01)至(03)號文件及立法局
CB(1)631/96-97號文件)

一九九六年十二月十八日的會議紀要獲得確認通過。

2. 主席請議員注意,政府當局已應議員要求,提交以下
文件:

  1. 列出當局就條例草案所諮詢組織提出的主要事 項的兩份清單(立法局CB(1)611/96-97(01)
    號文件);

  2. 申請標準專利及短期專利的各項收費一覽表(立 法局CB(1)611/96-97(02)號文件);及

  3. 申請標準專利的流程表(立法局CB(1)611/96-97(03)
    號文件)

3. 議員備悉上述文件。

II. 就香港大律師公會提交的意見書
進行討論

(立法局CB(1)611/96-97(04)號文件)

4. 政府當局就香港大律師公會的意見書所作的回應,已 於席上提交與會者省覽,並已隨立法局CB(1)654/96-97 號文件發出予缺席議員傳閱。

5. 吳靄儀議員向議員簡述標題為「香港大律師公會『專 責』委員會就專利條例草案提出的意見」的意見書內容。 議員察悉,大律師公會對是否需要採用短期專利的做法, 特別是專利權事務指導委員會所建議的制度,有所保留。 大律師公會已鑑定以下的重大問題:

  1. 授予專利的標準

    大律師公會對既製訂標準專利又同時製訂短期 專利這種做法的後果,表示關注,因為儘管短 期專利的有效期較短,但兩種專利既保障同一 標的事項,授予專利的標準亦屬一樣。大律師 公會認為,倘擬在本港訂立的短期專利制度(以 下簡稱「擬議制度」)未能獨立於標準專利制度 以外及與之截然不同,則申請人只須申請短期 專利,即可獲得標準專利的同等保障及權利; 結果是,申請人很可能為求快捷而只申請短期 專利,因為這比申請標準專利節省時間和費用。 大律師公會認為,短期專利和標準專利在標的 事項及創造程度方面應有不同要求,短期專利 的保護範圍應受到更大程度的限制,而且不應
    涵蓋方法。

  2. 可能對法院帶來的負擔

    由於根據條例草案第9條,同一項發明的標準 專利及短期專利可同時存在,標準專利的申請 人只須為同一發明申請短期專利,實際上便會 即時獲賦予權利,可就該項發明提出起訴,儘 管該項發明的實際優點,仍未經指定的專利當 局審查。這等如標準專利的申請一經提出,雖 未經審查及批予,即給予申請人提出起訴的權 利,並可能引起很多訴訟個案。再者,跟擬議 的標準專利計劃所不同的是,根據擬議的標準 專利計劃,每一個指定的專利當局實際上將成 為某項發明的審查當局,並有既定的一套準則 作為依據,而短期專利的做法,卻要求法院在 有關短期專利的侵犯版權個案中,審查某項發 明是否可註冊為專利。這種做法顯然是不可取 及不公平的,因為法院並無處理此等事宜的設 備。大律師公會建議,其中一個可行的解決方 法是,倘某項發明已提出申請標準專利,則應
    避免為同一項發明批予短期專利。

  3. 非審查制度內在的濫用風險

    大律師公會關注到,由於擬議的短期專利制度 基本上屬非審查的制度,倘其在程序上沒有適 當的保障措施,可能會被濫用為限制第三者使 用某項產品的手段。小型企業會是主要的受害 者,因為這些企業無法負擔在法院上為侵犯專 利的指控作辯護所需的費用。倘法院可經簡易 程序作出裁判,或法院接受臨時禁制令申請, 則更容易出現濫用的情況。為了在保障發明及 避免濫用兩者間取得平衡,當局應明確訂明, 只就短期專利提出訴訟的原告人,不應獲法院 以頒發臨時禁制令的形式給予臨時濟助。當局 應在《最高法院規則》增訂若干特別條文,以
    確保有關短期專利的訴訟可及早審理。

  4. 就是否批予專利出現不一致的決定

    由於短期專利對發明品在創造性方面的擬議要 求,與標準專利相同,因此,不難想像正在等 候批予標準專利的申請人,會在等候申請結果 期間,同時提出申請短期專利。有關短期專利 的訴訟個案,可能在標準專利仍未批授的情況 下已經開始審理,因此,有可能導致一種情況, 就是法院與指定的專利當局就是否為同一項發 明批予專利的問題,得出不同結論,並因此而
    造成混亂。

是否需要設立短期專利制度

6. 政府當局表示,公眾諮詢結果顯示,商界甚為支持短 期專利的概念,而設立短期專利的主要目的,並非為填 補標準專利在提交申請至批予專利期間的空隙。議員對
政府提供的資料表示備悉。

授予專利的標準

7. 副工商司及知識產權署署長提出以下數點,以支持條 例草案中有關短期專利及標準專利保障同一標的事項的
建議:

  1. 相對於標準專利制度,基於兩個原因,大部分實 用型號(短期專利)制度只保障實質的產品。首先, 一貫以來實用型號的概念是源於設計的概念。保 障方法的概念在較後期才發展,並主要納入標準 專利的涵蓋範圍。其次,短期專利在標的事項方 面受到更大程度的限制,這是換取一個較為簡單 的審查制度的代價。然而,最近德國在實用型號 制度上作出了改變,這改變顯示出,現時產品所 受到的保護,已不再僅限在形狀、外形、結構及 構造方面。儘管德國的制度仍未對方法提供保障, 但根據德國的實用型號法律,似乎所有類型的產 品現時均可得到保障。實用型號現時所提供的保 障,似乎亦已包括新穎的、需採用創造性工序, 以及可用作工業用途的發明;而短期專利對創造 性所要求的程度,與標準專利所要求者亦相同。 事實上,擬在香港採用的制度,並非唯一把方法 亦列入保障範圍的短期專利制度。澳洲的小專利 制度(短期專利制度)亦保障標準專利所保障的相 同標的事項。(參閱專利權事務指導委員會報告第
    157頁)

  2. 政府當局認為,不論其他國家/地區是採用何種 實用型號制度,既然本地企業經常生產只有短期 市場壽命的產品,為顧及本地企業的需要,對本 港而言,最靈活的安排是令短期專利盡可能為最 廣泛的事項提供保障;因此,當局遂決定在可授 予專利的標準方面,短期專利會採用跟標準專利 同樣的準則。政府方面亦認為,倘本港在授予短 期專利方面降低準則,有關制度的使用者會難以 區分在授予專利方面的各項不同準則。

  3. 當局預料,標準專利的申請主要會來自具規模的 國際醫藥用品製造商、製造業、工程界,以及電 腦公司,而此類公司為其發明品提出的專利申請, 多數已在其他國家作出。在香港註冊專利,只是 此等公司的全球專利策略的一小部分。至於短期 專利的申請,主要會是擬在瞬息萬變的市場中推 出,一項產品或方法的發明;由於產品在市場上 只有很短的壽命,未必值得耗費申請標準專利所 需的開支及時間。當局估計,很少人會同時申請 兩種專利。專利權事務指導委員會在研討有關事 宜時發現,制訂兩套同一標的事項的專利制度, 不但不會造成問題,還可以滿足上述兩類需求。 再者,由於短期專利的申請人在提出申請時必須 提交查檢報告,本港的短期專利制度不會被視為
    較次等的專利保障。

可能對法院帶來的負擔

8. 大律師公會建議,倘同一項發明已提出申請標準專利 ,應避免批予該產品短期專利,知識產權署署長就此 建議表示了以下意見:

  1. 由於擬議的短期專利制度屬非審查制度,政府 當局難以追查到底,並查核同一項發明有否同
    時申請標準專利。

  2. 若把非審查的專利權和香港毋須特別手續即予 批出的版權作一比較,則可見標準專利和短期 專利同時存在,會導致大量訴訟個案湧入法院 的可能性並不大。短期專利的持有人不會隨便 提出有關侵犯版權的訴訟,因為他有證明其專
    利是有效的擧證責任。

9. 應議員要求,政府當局會提供有關法國及澳洲小專利 (短期專利)制度特點的資料,包括受到保障的標的事項, 專利的保護範圍,以及批予專利所涉及的程序等。當局 亦會列出過去數年來,該兩個國家涉及小專利的訴訟個
案數字。

10. 黃震遐議員不同意政府當局在上文(a)項所表達的 意見。他認為,若政府當局願意採納大律師公會的建議, 自然有實施建議的方法,例如已屬短期專利標的事項的 同一項發明,將自動喪失申請標準專利的資格。

非審查制度內在的濫用風險

11. 就大律師公會對非審查制度有內在濫用風險的關注, 以及該公會有關限制該等專利持有人向法院申請頒發臨 時禁制令的建議,副工商司及知識產權署署長提出了下
列數點:

  1. 本港很多產品,都是為迎合轉變迅速的市場而 製造的。若要以快捷和廉宜的方式為此類產品 提供保障,非審查的短期專利制度是最佳的方 法。全面的專利保障並非具有成本效益的方案。

  2. 為免短期專利可能被濫用為限制第三者使用某 項產品的手段,申請人須在提出申請時提交一 份有關該項發明的查檢報告,以確保申請人及 其競爭對手可以盡快判斷擬申請專利的產品是 否真正可享專利。如此一來,短期專利的申請 人若要獲得批予專利保障,就必須通過若干程
    序,並負擔若干費用。

  3. 為了維護短期專利制度本身的價值,不應剝奪 短期專利持有人循非正審法律程序提出訴訟的 權利。政府當局必須顧及小型企業及發明品擁 有人兩方面的利益。政府將需考慮,倘不能要 求法院頒發臨時禁制令,世界貿易組織的《與 貿易有關的知識產權協議》內對有關權利提供 有效保護的規定,能否切實執行。

  4. 香港不會是首個採用非審查制度短期專利制度 的地方。很多主要的專利當局均設有不經審查 的小專利,部分更設有不經審查的標準專利。 實際上,不經審查的小專利是本身有其重要性
    的重要知識產權。

  5. 因應大律師公會所表達的關注,政府當局已修 改條例草案第128條,令法院可以及早展開審 訊工作,並令專利的所有人可以表面證據證明
    其短期專利的有效性。

12. 吳靄儀議員認為,第128條,以立法指令的形式下 令法院及早展開審訊工作,以代替頒發臨時禁制令的做 法,並不是令人滿意的安排。倪少傑議員認為,為防止 短期專利遭濫用,應就短期專利作出嚴格規定,以鼓勵 更多人使用標準專利制度。議員支持須提交查檢報告的 規定,並認為條例草案須就查檢報告的內容,訂定清 明確的指引,以確保查檢報告備有最詳盡的資料,供公 眾檢查。他們又認為,既然短期專利制度將會屬非審查 制度,所涉程序較為簡單,費用亦較廉宜,為公平起見, 亦為了達到適當的平衡,短期專利持有人所得的權利亦 應受到相應限制。一位議員更建議對短期專利施加更為 嚴格的規定,以鼓勵更多人士轉而使用標準專利制度。

13. 知識產權署署長回應時表示,實際而言,如要把提 交國際性查檢報告的要求收緊,則下一步將會是全面的 規格檢索,因此,要施行更嚴格的規定會有困難。事實 上,香港規定提交查檢報告的做法,已令其擬議制度比 世界上大部分其他地方的短期專利制度更為嚴格。政府 當局歡迎議員對查檢報告的內容表示意見。政府當局會 向條例草案委員會提供資料,闡釋其他司法管轄地區對 未經審查的短期專利所賦予的保障和權利。

就是否可批予專利出現前後不一致的決定

14. 就為同一項發明批予專利的問題上可能出現前後不 一致的決定一事,知識產權署署長因應大律師公會的此 項關注提出了以下數點:

  1. 兩個指定的專利當局也有可能就同一項專利得 出不同決定;因此,在是否批予專利的問題出 現前後不一致的結論應不足為憂。雖然在本港 註冊的專利是以指定專利當局的註冊專利為基 礎,但由於香港的專利屬獨立專利,專利有效 與否的問題,是由本港法院決定的。

  2. 在任何由短期專利持有人提出的訴訟個案中, 雙方均可以提出要求擱置有關的法律程序的請 求,以等候指定專利當局的檢索及審查結果。

15. 吳靄儀議員認為,拒絕或批予擱置有關的法律程序, 是法院的決定,不一定可解決在批予專利出現前後不一 致決定的問題。較佳的安排是在條例草案內訂明可擱置 有關的法律程序。

其他意見

16. 倪少傑議員就本港擬議的專利制度表達了以下意見:

  1. 短期專利的有效期應愈短愈好。

  2. 條例草案中有關侵犯版權的概念,不應擴大至 涵蓋過境貨品,否則對本港國際貿易中心的地
    位會有不良影響。

17. 知識產權署署長回應時強調,政府當局已提議對條 例草案作出特定的修正,把享有專利的過境產品應否不 受本港法例保障的問題,交由法院決定。

18. 在等候政府當局提供補充資料期間,議員會就擬議 的短期專利制度再作討論。下次會議訂於一九九七年一 月二十三日上午八時三十分擧行,討論條例草案其他方 面的事宜。

19. 會議於下午六時十五分結束。



立法局秘書處
一九九七年一月二十三日


Last Updated on {{PUBLISH AUTO[[DATE("d mmm,yyyy")]]}}