For discussion
on 5 June 1996


Subhead 003 Recoverable Salaries and Allowances

Members are invited to recommend to Finance Committee the creation of the following permanent post in the Housing Department -

1 Assistant Principal Training Officer

(D1) ($80,450 - $85,400)


The existing establishment of the Training and Development Centre (T&D Centre), Administration Division of the Housing Department (the Department) is in need of additional professional support at the directorate level to cope with the increasing complexity and volume of work.


2. We propose to create a post of Assistant Principal Training Officer (APTO) (D1) in the Administration Division of the Housing Department to meet the requirement.


3. Headed by an Assistant Director/Administration (AD/A) (Senior Principal Executive Officer at D2 level), the Administration Division is responsible for the provision, coordination and control of personnel and departmental administration services to the whole Department. It currently comprises the Personnel and General Administration SectionsS, a Committees Section, a Translation Section and a T&D Centre.

4. There has been a significant increase in the workload and responsibilities of the Division arising from the need to strengthen human resource management (HRM), and in particular, human resource development (HRD) in the Department. This is elaborated below.

Unified Training Structure

5. The Housing Department completed a training reviewcompleted by the Housing Department in March 1995 which has formulated a new training strategy for the Department. Under the new strategy, we envisaged an expanded training and development programme supported by a revised training structure underwe propose to establish a T&D Centre formed from amalgamating the previous Training Section and the Works Group Training Unit.

6. We created six training officer and three clerical officer postscreated in September 1995 to help set up the T&D Centre. In January 1996, we have deployed Senior Training Manager/Construction, previously under Assistant Director/Construction Services, to the Centre for reportingreports to AD/A direct. Moreover, we have also created a Senior Housing Manager post in April 1996 to oversee the vocational training for the Housing Class. With an expanded training structure, we require an officer with expertise and experience in training to assist AD/A in overseeing the Centre and drawing up the training strategies and programmes.

Human Resource Management Policy and Strategy Planning

7. At present, various sections in the Personnel Subdivision carry out HRM functions whilst the T&D Centre is responsible for HRD. Whilst supervising the activities of various sections and the T&D Centre, AD/A also chairs a HRM Development Team to integrate the HRM and HRD functions. In addition, he has to examine and recommend to the senior directorate the priority areas for determining longer term policy on HRM. With the increasing emphasis nowadays on developing human resources, there is a need for a directorate officer with the required expertise to co-ordinate and take these strategic management initiatives forward.

Core Competence Development

8. We have appointed a consultant to identify the core competencies for the Housing Manager grade. We envisage , with the experience gained in this project, to develop competencies for other grades. These competence profiles will then be used in other HR functions such as recruitment, training and development, performance management, career development and succession planning. We need to properly steer, coordinate and monitor these processes steered, coordinated and monitored, and to develop in-house staff to maintain the competencies. The anticipated workload will far exceed the capacity of the HRD Manager(Chief Training Officer) of the T&D Centre.

Customer Oriented Culture

9. The Department has commissioned a study to advise on the most appropriate approach to cultivate a customer oriented culture among its staff, improve service delivery, enhance the corporate image and improve its relationship with tenants. The study involved a full scale employee survey and a customer survey. Initial findings from the employee survey have revealed that customer service training is insufficient. It is necessary to develop a clearly defined, systematic and focused training strategy to disseminate the vision, mission and core values of the Department and to develop staff to carry them through in their work. We expectrequire massive training to achieve the desired culture and to maintain continuous improvement in service delivery. We should also devise overall HRD strategies to support a culture of excellent customer service. It requires a D1 officer to lead the work in devising and executing appropriate HRD strategies.

Expanded Scope of AD/A's Duties

10. Since April 1995, the Committees Section has been placed under the supervision of AD/A. At present, he is required to supervise eight senior professionals, as compared with three in 1994. Also, he is required to assist the senior management in the development of an overall strategic plan on ways to improve the efficiency and the standards of service delivery. The volume of work is so heavy that AD/A has not been able to devote as much time and input on some of the major policies as he would like.

11. We therefore propose to create an APTO post to alleviate the workload of AD/A. The proposed post will head the T&D Centre and assist AD/A in integrating the various HRM and HRD functions. A job description for the post, to be designated as Chief Manager/Human Resource, is at Enclosure 1. The proposed organization chart of the Administration Division is at Enclosure 2.


12. The additional notional annual salary cost of this proposal at MID-POINT is $994,200. The full annual average staff cost of the proposal, including salaries and staff on-costs, is $ 1,789,416. There are no other additional staffing and financial implications.

13. We shall recover the full staff cost of this proposal from the Housing Authority.


14. The ranking and grading of the proposed post are appropriate having regard to its duties and responsibilities.


15. The Standing Committee on Directorate Salaries and Conditions of Service has advised that the grading proposed for the post of Assistant Principal Training Officer would be appropriate if the post were to be created.

Housing Department
May 1996

Enclosure 1 to EC(96-97)17

Job Description -- Chief Manager/Human Resource

Rank : Assistant Principal Training Officer (D1)

Duties and Responsibilities

(1) To oversee the activities of the Training & Development Centre and to monitor the overall expenditure on training.

(2) To advise AD/A on the integration of HRD and HRM functions and to
co-ordinate implementation of development plans, including the analysis of human resource needs and to devise strategies to satisfy those needs.

(3) To advise senior management on HRD strategies in response to new management initiatives and to advise on strategic choices on the basis of staff strengths and weaknesses.

(4) To direct the preparation of training plans and coordinate resource allocation between vocational and non-vocational training.

(5) To conduct regular reviews to ensure that HRD strategies are supporting departmental objectives.

(6) To maintain close contact with local and overseas academic and training institutes and to ensure that departmental HRD practices are on a par with international best practices.

Enclosure 2 to EC(96-97)17

Proposed Organisation Chart of Administration Division

Warning : The chart is quite large and may take a while to load.

Last Updated on 3 December 1998

討論文件EC(96-97)17

一九九六年六月五日

財務委員會
人事編制小組委員會

總目62 - 房屋署
分目003可收回的薪金及津貼

請各委員向財務委員會建議,在房屋署開設下述常額職位 -

1個助理首席訓練主任

(首長薪級第1點)(80,450元至85,400元)



問題

房屋署行政科轄下培訓中心的現行編制,需要增添首長級專 業輔助人手,以應付日益繁重和複雜的工作。

建議

2. 我們建議在房屋署行政科開設一個助理首席訓練主任(首長 薪級第1點)的職位,以應付上述需求。

理由

3. 由助理署長(行政)(屬首長薪級第2點級別的高級首席行政主 任)執掌的行政科,負責提供、統籌及管理整個部門的人事及 內部行政服務。該科現時設有人事及一般行政組別,另有會 議事務組、翻譯組和培訓中心。

4. 由於有需要加強房屋署的人力資源管理,特別是人力資源 的發展,故該科的工作量和職責已大幅增加,詳情將於下文 闡述。

統一訓練架構

5. 房屋署已於一九九五年三月完成對訓練工作的檢討,為該 署制訂了新的訓練策略。根據這套新策略,先前的訓練組和 工務部訓練股將會合併為一個培訓中心。預料這個經修訂的 訓練架構,會有助推行更廣泛的培訓計劃。

6. 我們於一九九五年九月開設了六個訓練主任和三個文員職 位,以協助成立培訓中心。一九九六年一月,我們將先前在 助理署長(建築事務)轄下的高級訓練經理 (建築事務) 調派至 該中心,直接向助理署長(行政)負責。此外,我們亦於一九 九六年四月開設了一個高級房屋事務經理職位,負責監管房 屋職類人員的職務訓練。由於訓練架構已經擴大,我們必需 有一名具備專門的訓練知識和經驗的人員,協助助理署長(行 政)監管該中心及制訂訓練策略和計劃。

人力資源管理政策和策略規劃工作

7. 目前,人事分科轄下各組均負責執行人力資源管理職務, 而培訓中心則負責人力資源發展工作。助理署長(行政)在監 督各組和培訓中心的工作之餘,亦擔任人力資源管理發展小 組的主席,負責統籌人力資源管理和人力資源發展方面的職 務,使兩能相輔相成。此外,他須進行研究,並向高層首 長級人員建議優先處理的範疇,以便訂定較長遠的人力資源 管理政策。由於人力資源的發展越來越受重視,故需要一名 具備所需專門知識的首長級人員,統籌和推展這些策略性的 管理新措施。

制訂基本任職條件

8. 我們已委聘顧問,為房屋事務經理職系界定基本的任職 條件。我們預期可根據這項顧問工作所得的經驗,制訂其 他職系的任職條件,繼而根據這些任職條件的模式,執行 其他人力資源職務,例如招聘、培訓、工作表現管理、職 業前途發展和策劃接任安排等。我們須妥善地督導、統籌 和監察這些工作程序,並培訓內部人員,以維持良好的工 作能力。估計有關的工作量,會遠遠超出培訓中心的人力 資源發展經理(總訓練主任)的能力範圍。

以客為本的工作方式

9. 房屋署已展開一項研究,以尋求最適當的方法,來培養 員工以客為本的工作方式、改善服務水準、提高機構形象 ,並改善與租戶之間的關係。這項研究包括全面的員工調 查和客戶調查。員工調查的初步結果顯示,客戶服務方面 的訓練不足,因而須制訂明確、有系統和專門的訓練策略 ,使員工了解房屋署的目標、任務和主要價值,並培訓員 工,使他們能夠順利執行工作。為培養理想的工作方式, 並持續改善服務水準,預料要進行大量訓練工作。我們亦 須制訂整體的人力資源發展策略,以助建立優良的客戶服 務風氣。有關制訂和執行適當人力資源發展策略的工作, 實需要一名首長薪級第1點的人員來作領導。

助理署長(行政)已予擴大的職責範圍

10. 自一九九五年四月起,助理署長(行政)已負責監督會議 事務組的工作。在一九九四年的時候,他須監督三名高級 專業人員,而現在則須監督八名高級專業人員。此外,助 理署長 (行政) 亦須協助管理高層制訂整體策略綱領,設法 改善服務效率和水準。由於工作十分繁重,助理署長 (行 政)未能按照意願,付出所需的時間和精力來處理一些重大 政策。

11.因此,我們建議開設一個首席助理訓練主任職位,以減 輕助理署長 (行政) 的工作量。擔任該建議職位的人員,將 掌管培訓中心,並協助助理署長 (行政) 統籌各項人力資源 管理與人力資源發展的職務,使兩能相輔相成。該職位 將定名為總經理(人力資源),其職責說明載於附件1;而行
政科的建議組織圖,則載於附件2

財政影響

12. 按薪級中點薪額估計,實施這項建議會令年薪開支增加 994,200元。上述建議平均每年的員工開支總額為1,789,416 元,其中包括薪金和有關的員工費用。除此之外,這項建 議不會涉及其他額外的人手編制和財政負擔。

13. 我們會向房屋委員會收回這項建議的全部員工開支。

公務員事務科的意見

14. 就建議中的職位須承擔的職務和責任而言,上述職級和 職系安排均屬恰當。

首長級薪俸及服務條件常務委員會的建議

15. 首長級薪俸及服務條件常務委員會表示,如開設上述助 理首席訓練主任職位,建議的職級實屬恰當。

房屋署
一九九六年五月
(E4664/WIN77)


EC(96-97)17 附件1

總經理(人力資源)職責說明

職級:助理首席訓練主任(首長薪級第1點)

職務和責任

(1) 監管培訓中心的事務,並監察整體的訓練開支。

(2) 就統籌人力資源發展和人力資源管理的職務,使兩能相 輔相成的事宜,向助理署長 (行政) 提供意見,並統籌各項培 訓計劃的實施工作,包括分析人手需求和制訂能滿足此等需 求的策略。

(3) 就針對新管理建議而制訂的人力資源發展策略,向管理高 層提供意見,並就如何根據員工的優點和缺點來選擇策略性 訓練方案的事宜,提供意見。

(4) 指導訓練計劃的籌備工作,並協調有關為職務訓練和非職 務訓練兩個範疇分配資源的工作。

(5) 經常進行檢討,以確保人力資源發展策略有助達致部門所 訂的目標。

(6) 與本地和海外的學術及訓練機構保持緊密聯絡,並確保部 門的人力資源發展措施,可媲美國際的最佳典範。


EC(96-97)17 附件2

行政科建議組織圖

Warning : The chart is quite large and may take a while to load.


Last Updated on 2 December 1998