For discussion EC(96-97)33
on 9 July 1996


Subhead 001 Salaries

Members are invited to recommend to Finance Committee the creation of the following permanent post in the Health and Welfare Branch of the Government Secretariat -

1 Administrative Officer Staff Grade C

(D2)($95,550 - $101,450)


The Secretary for Health and Welfare (SHW) needs an additional officer at the appropriate level in the Health and Welfare Branch (HWB) to cope with the increase in complexity and volume of work relating to the medical and health policy issues.


2. SHW proposes to create a permanent post of Administrative Officer Staff Grade C (AOSG'C')(D2) to formulate and review policies on healthcare reform, human organ donation and transplant, reproductive technology, smoking and health, food hygiene and other medico-ethical matters.


3. SHW is currently underpinned by two deputy secretaries, viz. the Deputy Secretary for Health and Welfare (1) and Deputy Secretary for Health and Welfare (2) in charge of the medical and health policies and the welfare and rehabilitation policies respectively. On the medical and health side, the deputy secretary supervises three AOSG'C's, designated as Principal Assistant Secretary (Health and Welfare) Medical 1 (PAS(HW)M1), PAS(HW)M2 and PAS(HW)M3.

4. At present, PAS(HW)M3 is on loan from the Civil Service Branch. He is responsible for the following policy issues -

  1. healthcare reform and related issues such as healthcare funding and financing, medical insurance, private hospitals, and fees & charges at public hospitals;
  2. reproductive technology, human organ donation, trading and transplant and medico-ethical issues like euthanasia and brain death;
  3. smoking and health; and
  4. other matters including food health and food hygiene, control of pesticides and the medical implications of toxic substances, the Academy of Medicine and review of existing laws in the context of adaptation and localisation.

5. Healthcare reform is a very complex and contentious issue. We need to uphold our policy commitment that we deprive no one of adequate medical treatment due to his financial difficulties. We must also ensure our healthcare system is one which the community as a whole can afford. The complex intricacies of the healthcare system in Hong Kong warrants a review with due regard to funding and financing arrangements, interface between the public and private sectors, the interests of the various parties at stake as well as the need for a continuum of primary, secondary and tertiary care. This requires considerable policy input to chart the way forward for the development of a system that is fair, equitable and transparent. PAS(HW)M3 is currently conducting a comprehensive review of the present system. This may necessitate the development of an entirely new philosophy and an overhaul of the whole system. We expect the process to be long, involving policy formulation, consultation with parties concerned, implementation, close monitoring, evaluation and necessary adjustments.

6. Human organ transplant, donation and trading, and reproductive technology are relatively new areas of medical concern. Their rapid development over the past decade or so has necessitated legislative control to regulate service providers and to safeguard the interests of service users and others concerned. The Legislative Council passed the Human Organ Transplant Ordinance in February 1995, and we established a Statutory Board in February 1996. We set up a Provisional Council in December 1995 to advise on the draft Reproductive Technology Bill and to formulate a Code of Practice. We will replace the Provisional Council with a statutory one upon enactment of the legislation. These subject areas as well as other medico-legal issues such as euthanasia, brain death and trading in human embryos involve policy considerations that cut across not only medical, but also legal, ethical, social and religious boundaries. All these require constant review and monitoring to keep the policy abreast of the latest development. Given that these issues are only at their developmental stage, there has been a heavy demand on PAS(HW)M3 to cope with the workload on those subjects which will increase substantially in the years to come.

7. Government's long-term policy commitment is to discourage smoking. Therefore, Government needs to constantly review statutory and other control measures on smoking and tobacco in the light of local development and overseas trend. During the process, PAS(HW)M3 needs to maintain regular liaison with the Hong Kong Council on Smoking and Health and hold frequent discussions with the tobacco institutes and the advertising and publishing industries. He has to weigh and balance the competing claims among non-smokers, smokers and commercial enterprises. At present, he is working on measures to tighten controls over tobacco advertising.

8. Having regard to the complexity and long-term policy implications of the work set out in paragraphs 5 - 7 above, SHW proposes to create a permanent post of AOSG'C', designated as PAS(HW)M3, to take charge of the duties. A job description of the proposed post is at Enclosure 1. The existing and proposed organisation chart of HWB is at Enclosure 2.

9. It would be impossible for PAS(HW)M1 and PAS(HW)M2 to absorb PAS(HW)M3's duties. PAS(HW)M1 is already heavily involved in policy matters on primary health care, student health service, traditional Chinese medicine, AIDS and registration of professionals, clinics and other medical institutions, whilst PAS(HW)M2 has a full schedule on the funding and performance of the Hospital Authority, supply and demand of public hospital beds, hospital development projects, and manpower planning of healthcare professionals.


10. The additional notional annual salary cost of this proposal at Mid-Point is -


No. of Post

New permanent post



The full annual average staff cost of the proposal, including salaries and staff on-costs, is $2,187,240.

11. In addition, this proposal will necessitate the creation of one additional post of Personal Secretary I at a notional annual mid-point salary cost of $239,880 and a full annual average staff cost of $387,252.

12. We have included sufficient provision in the 1996-97 Estimates to meet the cost of this proposal.


13. The grading and ranking of the proposed post are considered appropriate having regard to the complexity and scope of work.


14. The Standing Committee on Directorate Salaries and Conditions of Service has advised that the grading proposed for the post would be appropriate if the post were to be created.

Health and Welfare Branch
June 1996

Enclosure 1 to EC(96-97)33

Duty list of the Principal Assistant Secretary (Health and Welfare) Medical 3 (Administrative Officer Staff Grade C (D2))

Responsible to Deputy Secretary for Health and Welfare (1) for the following main responsibilities -

  1. formulating, implementing and monitoring policies on healthcare reform, with special consideration on funding and financing arrangements ;
  2. monitoring the development of private hospitals and medical insurance;
  3. overseeing the policy on human organ donation, transplant and trading, including the introduction of legislative control, the operation of a statutory Human Organ Transplant Board; and constant review and monitoring to keep abreast of the latest developments;
  4. overseeing the policy on reproductive technology procedures, including the introduction of legislative controls, the operation of a provisional and later a statutory Council on Reproductive Technology and constant review and monitoring to keep abreast of the latest developments;
  5. overseeing the policy on other medico-legal issues including euthanasia, brain death and trading in human embryos and keeping in view the developments of these issues;
  6. overseeing the policy on smoking and health, and tobacco control including devising strategies and legislative measures to prohibit tobacco advertising and promotion, and promulgation of smoke-free workplaces and public enclosed places;
  7. overseeing food health and hygiene matters, control of pesticides and the medical implications of toxic substances, and the Hong Kong Academy of Medicine; and
  8. co-ordinating inter-divisional matters including the adaptation and localisation of laws exercise.

Enclosure 2 to EC(96-97)33

Existing and Proposed Organisation of the Health and Welfare Branch

Warning : The chart is quite large and may take some time to download.

Last Updated on 3 December 1998

討論文件EC(96-97)33
一九九六年七月九日

財務委員會
人事編制小組委員會

總目149-布政司署:衞生福利科
分目001 薪金

請各委員向財務委員會建議,在布政司署衞生福利科開設下 述常額職位-

1個首長級丙級政務官

(首長薪級第2點)(95,550元至101,450元)



問題

衞生福利司需要在衞生福利科增添一名職級恰當的人員,以 應付該科在處理醫務衞生政策事宜方面日益複雜和繁重的 工作。

建議

2. 衞生福利司建議開設一個首長級丙級政務官(首長薪級 第2點)常額職位,專責制訂及檢討健康醫護改革、人體 器官捐贈和移植、生殖科技、吸煙與健康、食物衞生和 其他醫學道德事宜方面的政策。

理由

3. 衞生福利司現由兩名副衞生福利司提供輔助,分別為主 管醫務衞生政策的副衞生福利司(1)和主管福利及康復政策 的副衞生福利司(2)。就醫務衞生方面的人手而言,副衞生 福利司轄下設有三個首長級丙級政務官,職銜分別為首席 助理衞生福利司(醫務)(1)、首席助理衞生福利司(醫務)(2) 和首席助理衞生福利司(醫務)(3)。

4. 目前,首席助理衞生福利司(醫務)(3)是由公務員事務科 借調過來,負責處理下述政策事宜-

  1. 健康醫護改革及有關的事宜,例如健康醫護服務方 面的經費及財務安排、醫療保險、私家醫院,以及 公立醫院的收費;
  2. 生殖科技;人體器官的捐贈、買賣和移植事宜;以 及醫學上的道德問題,例如安樂死和腦部死亡的問
    題;
  3. 吸煙與健康;及
  4. 其他事宜,包括食物健康和食物衞生、除蟲劑的管 制和有毒物質在醫學上的影響、香港醫學專科學院 等事宜,以及現行法例的檢討,以便進行法例適應 化和本地化工作。

5. 健康醫護改革是一項十分複雜和具爭論性的問題。我們 必須秉承一貫的政策,確保沒有人會因經濟困難而得不到 足夠的醫療服務。我們亦須確保本港的健康醫護制度,是 整個社會所能負擔的。本港的健康醫護制度錯綜複雜,實 在需要進行檢討,以便妥善地顧及有關的經費和財務安排 、公營和私營機構的配合、各有關方面所涉及的利益,以 及提供連貫的基層、第二層和第三層護理服務的需要。這 方面涉及很多政策上的工作,以定出未來的路向,從而制 訂一套公平、合理和清晰的制度。首席助理衞生福利司(醫 務)(3)正全面檢討現行的制度,其後可能要制訂一套全新的 方針,並須全面改革這個制度。預料整個過程十分漫長,並 且涉及政策制訂、與有關方面磋商、落實執行、密切監察、 評估及作出所需修訂等工作。

6. 人體器官的移植、捐贈和買賣,以及生殖科技的事宜, 都是醫學界較新的關注焦點。過去十多年,上述幾方面均 發展迅速,因而需要採取立法措施,管制服務提供及保 障服務使用和其他有關人士的利益。立法局已在一九九 五年二月通過人體器官移植條例,而我們亦已於一九九六 年二月成立一個法定委員會。此外,我們在一九九五年十 二月設立了一個臨時管理局,就草擬生殖科技條例草案的 工作提供意見,並負責制訂有關的工作守則。待上述條例 制定後,我們會成立一個法定管理局,來取代該臨時管理 局。當我們為上述專門範疇及其他醫學上的法律問題(例如 安樂死、腦部死亡和買賣胚胎等)制訂政策時,不單要顧及 醫學上的問題,還要從法律、道德、社會和宗教等角度去 考慮。我們必須經常檢討和監察這些問題,使有關政策能 追隨最新的發展趨勢。由於這些問題尚在發展階段,有關 工作量在日後將會大增。所以我們十分需要首席助理衞生 福利司(醫務)(3)處理這方面的工作。

7. 政府的長遠政策,是忠告市民切勿吸煙。因此,政府需 按照本港和海外的發展趨勢,經常檢討各項管制吸煙和煙 草的法定措施及其他有關措施。其間,首席助理衞生福利 司(醫務)(3)不但要與香港吸煙與健康委員會保持密切聯絡 ,還須經常與煙草商、廣告界和出版界商討。由於吸煙 、非吸煙及商營企業提出的要求互有利益衝突,他必須 權衡輕重,兼顧各方面的利益。目前,他正制訂措施,收 緊對煙草廣告的管制。

8.鑑於上文第5至第7段所述的工作甚為複雜,而且涉及長遠 政策,衞生福利司建議開設一個首長級丙級政務官常額職位 ,職銜為首席助理衞生福利司(醫務)(3),以負責上述職務。 這個擬設職位的職責說明,載於 附件1。 衞生福利科現行及建議的組織圖,則載於 附件2

9. 首席助理衞生福利司(醫務)(3)的職務,並不能由首席助理 衞生福利司(醫務)(1)和首席助理衞生福利司(醫務)(2)兼顧。 首席助理衞生福利司(醫務)(1)正就基層健康護理服務、學生 保健服務、傳統中藥、愛滋病,以及醫護專業人員、診療所 和其他醫療機構的註冊問題,埋首處理有關的政策事宜。首 席助理衞生福利司(醫務)(2)亦分身不暇,負責醫院管理局的 經費安排和表現、公立醫院病床的供求情況、醫院發展計劃 ,以及醫護專業人員的人力策劃事務。

財政影響

10. 按薪級中點薪額估計,因實施這項建議而增加的年薪開支 如下-


$

職位數目

新設常額職位

1,182,600

1

這項建議每年平均的員工開支總額為2,187,240元,其中包括 薪金和有關的員工費用。

11. 此外,實施這項建議亦需增設一個一級私人秘書職位; 按薪級中點薪額估計,有關的年薪開支為239,880元,而 每年平均的員工開支總額則為387,252元。

12. 我們已在一九九六至九七年度的預算內預留足夠款項, 以支付這項建議的開支。

公務員事務科的意見

13. 公務員事務科認為,就有關工作的範圍和複雜程度而言 ,上述擬設職位的職系和職級安排,均屬恰當。

首長級薪俸及服務條件常務委員會的建議

14. 首長級薪俸及服務條件常務委員會表示,如開設上述職 位,建議的職級實屬恰當。

---------------------------

衞生福利科
一九九六年六月
(E4801/WIN80)


EC(96-97)33 附件1

首席助理衞生福利司(醫務)(3) (首長級丙級政務官(首長薪級第2點)) 職責表

就下述主要職務,向副衞生福利司(1)負責-

  1. 制訂、執行及監察有關健康醫護改革的政策,並特 別考慮有關的經費和財務安排;
  2. 監察私家醫院和醫療保險的發展;
  3. 監管有關人體器官捐贈、移植和買賣的政策,包括 法例管制的實施和法定的人體器官移植委員會的運 作;並經常進行檢討和監察,以確保能追隨最新的 發展情況;
  4. 監管有關生殖科技程序的政策,包括法例管制的實 施,以及生殖科技臨時管理局(稍後會成為法定機構) 的運作;並經常進行檢討和監察,以確保能追隨最 新的發展情況;
  5. 監管醫學上其他有關法律問題的政策,包括安樂死 、腦部死亡和買賣人體胚胎,並留意這些問題的進
    展;
  6. 監管有關吸煙與健康,以及煙草管制等方面的政策 ,包括制訂策略和立法措施,以禁止煙草廣告和宣 傳,以及劃定不准吸煙的工作間和公眾室內密封場
    所;
  7. 監管食物健康和衞生事務、除蟲劑的管制和有毒物 質在醫學上的影響,以及香港醫學專科學院的事務
    ;及
  8. 統籌有關的跨組事務,包括法律適應化和本地化的 工作。

EC(96-97)33 附件2

衞生福利科現行及建議的組織

Warning : The chart is quite large and may take some time to download.

Last Updated on 2 December 1998