For discussion EC(96-97)36
on 9 July 1996


Subhead 001 Salaries

Members are invited to recommend to Finance Committee the creation of the following supernumerary post for a period of a period of two yearsfrom 19 July 1996 -

1 Administrative Officer Staff Grade C

(D2) ($95,550 - $101,450)


The Secretary for Planning, Environment and Lands (SPEL) needs The existing dedicated structure and directorate support structure input of the Lands and Planning Division (LPD) of the Planning, Environment and Lands Branch (PELB) are is to cope with the additional workload associated with the new urban renewal proposalsarising from the increasing scope and pace of re-development of ofaddress the Government urban renewal propgramme matters relating to of the Governmentand to assist the Land Development Corporation (LDC) in expediting its urban renewal projects. the Land Development Corporation (LDC).renewal.


2. We proposes to create one supernumerary post of Administrative Officer Staff Grade C (AOSGC) (D2) to head a dedicated urban renewal team in the Lands and Planning Division (LPD) of the Planning, Environment and Lands Branch (PELB) for a period of two years from 19 July 1996.


3. SPEL has recently completed a review of the current urban renewal policy and issued a Policy Statement : "Urban Renewal in Hong Kong". The review sets out a package of immediate measures to facilitate and speed up urban renewal schemes, and some proposed fundamental changes to the the existing arrangements of the urban renewal process. Most of the measures/changes concern LDC, which has played a major role in urban renewal. For example, we intend to introduce a linked site approach, which involves the granting of Government land by private treaty at full market value premium to LDC to enable it to carry out urban renewal projects site which will otherwise not be viable on their own. We will also also propose to consider a proposal to upgrade LDC into an Urban Renewal Authority, which would be established by statute, financially independent, and be empowered to carry out urban renewal work on a larger scale and more quickly.

4. These These proposals will generate a large volume of workload foron LPD of PELB, including public consultation, the working out of the implementation details of the various measures to expedite urban renewal, the preparation ing of the enactment of new legislation, and as well as liaisoning withbetween LDC,, the Government Administration and other Government departments and publicindependent statutory bodies.

5. Under the existing establishment of PELB, one Principal Assistant Secretary (PAS) and one Assistant Secretary currently oversee matters relating urban renewal policies amongst other areas of work. They are primarily responsible for policy matters and the legislative proposals on bills relating to buildings and land. Some of the major and urgent issues for them to tackle in the short/medium term include the review of the small house policy, land related matters arising from the proposed Western Corridor Railway, the control of the display of publicity materials in public places, the proposed mandatory building inspection scheme and the revision of the "Design Manual : Access for the Disabled 1984", etc. Because of the importance, urgency and large volume of these other duties, they do not have any spare capacity to take on the additional workload which as will arise from the new urban renewal proposals, and in particular the increasingly important role in coordinating between the Government and LDC in relation to the increase in scope and pace of the redevelopment programme of LDC.

6. SPEL therefore sees the need to proposes to set up a dedicated urban renewal team in LPD of PELB responsible for the following duties -

  1. advising on the urban renewal programme matters relating to LDC;
  2. formulating new policies, institutional arrangements and an implementation plan to facilitate LDC's urban renewal work;
  3. co-ordinating the efforts of LDC, various Government departments and public bodies on urban renewal; and
  4. sorting out any major problems faced by LD.

7. The creation of a dedicated team in PELB is both urgent and necessary to achieve a more focused and integrated approach to deal with these matters. urban renewal. It will facilitate the implementation, co-ordination, programming and monitoring aspects of LDC's urban renewal activities in a more pro-active, expeditious and comprehensive manner. We will review the need to extend the term of the dedicated team in early 1998, when there will be a recommendation on whether or not to upgrade the LDC into an Urban Renewal Authority.

8. Given the level of responsibility and the importance of the duties involved, we consider that the head of the team should be an AOSGC (D2), to be designated PAS/Urban Renewal (UR). Therefore, we propose the creation of a supernumerary post of AOSGC (D2) for two years. To provide professional and secretarial support to the team, we will create four posts of one Senior Estate Surveyor, one Senior Town Planner, one Personal Secretary I, and one Personal Secretary II through the normal Departmental Establishment Committee machinery. .

9. The existing and proposed organisation chart of PELB is at Enclosure 1. AThe job descriptions for the post of PAS(UR) isare at Enclosure 2.


10. The additional notional annual salary cost of this proposal at mid-point is $1,182,600. The full annual average staff cost of the proposal, including salaries and staff on-costs, is $2,187,240.

11. In addition, this proposal will necessitate the creation of four additional non-directorate posts (see paragraph above) at a notional annual mid-point salary cost of $2,003,880 and a full annual average staff cost of $3,755,484.

12. We shall recover the full staff costs of the proposed new AOSGC(D2) post and the dedicated team from LDC which has agreed to this funding arrangement.


13. A large portion of the urban areas is ageing and there are various associated problems such as overcrowding, poor environmental conditions and under-utilisation of land. About 81 hectares of the urban area with about 59 000 households merit priority redevelopment. Records of the Rating and Valuation Department indicate that about 20% (113 000 units) of the domestic premises in the urban area are over 30 years old. It is likely that these properties willmay approach the end of their useful life within a decade or so. If the rate of replacement/redevelopment slows down, the situation will inevitably worsen.

14. To tackle these problems, the Administration aims to renew the areas by large-scale redevelopment projects and expects to improve the environmental and living conditions as well as utilisation of land in the areas.

15. LDC was set up in 1988 to promote urban redevelopment. It is an independent statutory body established under the LDC Ordinance to improve the standard of housing and the living environment by undertaking, encouraging, promoting and facilitating urban renewal. LDC implements the urban renewal programme by preparing development schemes/proposals and negotiating with affected owners regarding the purchase of properties identified for redevelopment.

16. On 29 July 1995, Finance Committee approved the creation of a supernumerary post of Chief Estate Surveyor (D1) in the Lands Department for an initial period of five years to head a dedicated land resumption team. LDC undertakes to reimburse the Government the full cost of this dedicated team.

17. The Planning Department will also require additional staff to expedite the processing of LDC's redevelopment proposals of LDC. We will seek Members' approval separately as appropriate.


18. The Civil Service Branch supports the ranking and grading of this proposed post as it carries responsibilities and policy input appropriate for the D2 level.


19. As we are proposing the AOSGC (D2) post on a supernumerary basis, we shall report its creation, if approved, to the Standing Committee on Directorate Salaries and Conditions of Service in accordance with the agreed procedure.

Planning, Environment and Lands Branch
July 1996

Enclosure 1 to EC(96-97)36

Existing and Proposed Organisation Chart of the Planning, Environment and Lands Branch

Enclosure 2 to EC(96-97)36

Job Descriptions of Principal Assistant Secretary (Urban Renewal)

Planning, Environment and Lands Branch (PELB)

Rank : Administrative Officer Staff Grade C (D2)

Major Duties and Responsibilities

Responsible to Deputy Secretary (Lands and Planning) of PELB for the urban renewal programme policy matters relating to the LDC. Duties include -

  1. advising on the urban renewal programmematters relating to LDC;
  2. formulating new policies, institutional arrangements and an implementation plan to facilitate LDC's urban renewal work;
  3. coordinating the efforts of LDC, various Government departments and public bodies on urban renewal;
  4. sorting out any major problems faced by LDCurban renewal agencies in implementing its redevelopment schemes; and
  5. attending meetings of the Executive Council, the Legislative Council, and District Boards as necessary.


Last Updated on 3 December 1998

討論文件EC(96-97)36
一九九六年七月九日

財務委員會
人事編制小組委員會

總目56-布政司署:規劃環境地政科 及工務科
分目001 薪金

請各委員向財務委員會建議,由一九九六年七月十九日起開 設下述編外職位,為期兩年 -

1個首長級丙級政務官

( 首長薪級第2點)(95,550元至101,450元)



問題

規劃環境地政司需要有專責的首長級人手,應付有關為推行 新的市區重建方案而增加的工作量,以及協助土地發展公司 (以下簡稱「土發公司」)加快進行其市區重建計劃。

建議

2. 我們建議由一九九六年七月十九日起,開設一個首長級丙 級政務官(首長薪級第2點)編外職位,為期兩年,負責掌管規 劃環境地政科轄下地政及規劃部一個市區重建專責小組。

理由

3. 規劃環境地政司最近已就現行的市區重建政策完成一項檢 討,並發表了一份名為「香港市區重建」的政策文件。這次 檢討擬訂了一套即時措施,以促進和加快實施市區重建的計 劃,並建議將現行市區重建的基本安排,作出一些更改。這 些措施/更改,大部分都涉及土發公司,即負責市區重建的 主要機構。舉例來說,我們打算採用連繫地盤的方法,以私 人協約方式,按十足市價批出政府用地予土發公司,俾能實 施那些在經濟上不適宜單獨進行的市區重建計劃。我們亦會 考慮另一項建議,以決定是否將土發公司提升為市區重建局 ,成為一個財政獨立的法定機構,獲授權加快進行規模更大 的市區重建工作。

4. 上述建議會為規劃環境地政科轄下地政及規劃部帶來大量 工作,其中包括公眾諮詢、就各項加速市區重建的措施擬訂 實施細節、擬備新法例,以及與土發公司、其他政府部門和 公營機構聯絡。

5. 根據規劃環境地政科目前的編制,現有一名首席助理規劃 環境地政司和一名助理規劃環境地政司在執行其他職務之餘 ,監督市區重建政策方面的事務。這兩名人員主要負責有關 屋宇和地政的政策事宜及立法建議。其中一些急需由他們處 理的短期/中期事務,主要包括小型屋宇政策的檢討、因建 議興建西北鐵路而引起的土地事宜、在公眾地方展示宣傳物 料的管制事務、建議的強制樓宇檢查計劃,以及「一九八四 年傷殘人士通道設計手冊」的修訂工作等。由於這些職務相 當重要和迫切,而且數量甚多,這兩名人員實在沒有餘力應 付新的市區重建方案所帶來的額外工作量,特別是土發公司 加快進行規模更大的重建計劃後,為協調政府和土發公司的 工作而日益重要的統籌職務。

6. 因此,規劃環境地政司認為有需要在規劃環境地政科轄下地 政及規劃部設立一個市區重建專責小組,負責執行下述職務 -

  1. 就涉及土發公司的市區重建計劃,提供意見;
  2. 制訂新的政策、體制安排及實施計劃,以促進土發公司的市區 重建工作;
  3. 統籌土發公司、各政府部門和公機構在市區重建方面的工作 ;及
  4. 為土發公司解決其重建計劃實施時所面對的重大難題。

7. 在規劃環境地政科開設上述專責小組的安排,實屬迫切而 必要,務求能以更妥善的方式,由專人集中處理這些事務。 藉着設立這個專責小組,我們也能以更積極和迅速的方式, 更全面地實施、統籌、編排和監察土發公司的市區重建工作 。我們將於一九九八年年初,檢討是否需要將這個專責小組 的開設期延長,而屆時應已決定會否建議將土發公司提升為 市區重建局。

8. 鑑於當中所涉及的責任和職務極為繁重和重要,我們認為 這個專責小組應由一名首長級丙級政務官(首長薪級第2點)掌 管,其職銜為首席助理規劃環境地政司(市區重建)。因此, 我們建議開設一個首長級丙級政務官(首長薪級第2點)編外職 位,為期兩年。同時,為向這個專責小組提供專業及秘書輔 助,我們將會透過部門編制委員會慣常的審理程序,開設四 個職位,包括一個高級產業測量師、一個高級城市規劃師、 一個一級私人秘書和一個二級私人秘書。

9. 規劃環境地政科現行及建議的組織圖,載於附件1。首席助
理規劃環境地政司(市區重建)職位的職責說明,則載於附件2

財政影響

10. 按薪級中點薪額估計,實施上述建議會令年薪開支增加 1,182,600元。這項建議每年平均的員工開支總額為2,187,240 元,其中包括薪金和有關的員工費用。

11. 此外,實施這項建議亦需增設四個非首長級職位(見上文 第8段),按薪級中點薪額估計,有關的年薪開支為2,003,880 元,而每年平均的員工開支總額則為3,755,484元。

12. 我們會向土發公司收回這個擬設的首長級丙級政務官(首 長薪級第2點)新職位和上述專責小組的全部員工開支,而該 公司亦已同意這項經費安排。

背景資料

13. 市區很多地方都正在老化,產生了種種問題,例如居住 環境擠迫、四周環境惡劣和土地未盡其用等等。市區內約
有 81 公頃的土地,需要優先進行重建,受影響的住戶約有
59 000 戶。差餉物業估價署的紀錄顯示,市區內約有20%的 住宅樓宇(共113 000個單位),樓齡超過30年,而在未來十年 左右,這些樓宇可能不再適合居住。假如重置/重建工作 的步伐放緩,情況難免會惡化。

14. 為解決這些問題,政府有意進行大規模的重建計劃,藉此 重建有關地區,從而改善這些地區的環境和居住質素,以及 善用區內的土地。

15. 土發公司於一九八八年成立,負責促進市區的重建工作。 該公司是一個獨立的法定機構,根據土地發展公司條例而設 立,負責進行、鼓勵、推廣和促進市區重建,以提高房屋的 水準和改善居住環境。土發公司負責推行市區重建計劃,包 括擬備發展計劃/建議,以及就收購須予重建的物業事宜, 與受影響的業主磋啇。

16. 一九九五年七月二十九日,財務委員會批准在地政總署開 設一個總產業測量師(首長薪級第1點)編外職位,初步為期五 年,負責掌管一個收地專責小組。至於這個專責小組的一切 開支,則須由土發公司付還給政府。

17. 此外,規劃署亦需增添人手,以加快處理土發公司的重建 建議。我們會按情況所需,另行向各委員申請批准增添該署 的人手。

公務員事務科的意見

18. 鑑於上述擬設的職位須肩負的責任和參與的決策工作,均 符合首長薪級第2點的水平,故公務員事務科支持這個職位的 職級和職系安排。

首長級薪俸及服務條件常務 委員會的建議

19. 由於我們擬設的首長級丙級政務官(首長薪級第2點)職位屬 於編外性質,故若獲准開設這個職位,我們會按照議定程序 ,向首長級薪俸及服務條件常務委員會報告。 -----------------------------

規劃環境地政科
一九九六年七月
(E4839/WIN81)


EC(96-97)36 附件1

規劃環境地政科現行及建議的組織圖

Warning : The chart is quite large, it may take some time to load.


EC(96-97)36 附件2

規劃環境地政科首席助理規劃環境
地政司(市區重建)職責說明

職級:首長級丙級政務官(首長薪級第2點)

主要職務和責任

就涉及土發公司的市區重建計劃,向副規劃環境地政司(地 政及規劃)負責。有關職務包括 -

  1. 就涉及土發公司的市區重建計劃,提供意見;
  2. 制訂新的政策、體制安排及實施計劃,以促進土發公司 的市區重建工作;
  3. 統籌土發公司、各政府部門和公營機構在市區重建方面 的工作;
  4. 為土發公司解決其重建計劃實施時所面對的重大難題; 及
  5. 在有需要時出席行政局、立法局及區議會的會議。

(E4839/WIN81)


Last Updated on 2 December 1998