For discussion PWSC(96-97)33
on 1 July 1996


Civil Engineering - Drainage and erosion protection
44CD - Shenzhen River improvement works, stage II - advance works

Members are invited to recommend to Finance Committee the upgrading of 44CD, retitled “Regulation of Shenzhen River, Stage II, Phase I - Reprovisioning of border road between Lok Ma Chau and Tam Kon Chau”, to Category A at an estimated cost of $200 million in money-of-the-day prices.


We need to relocate a section of the existing border road and its security facilities between Lok Ma Chau and Tam Kon Chau before we can implement the main stage II improvement works to Shenzhen River (the River) to alleviate the problem of flooding in the northern New Territories and Shenzhen city.


2. The Director of Drainage Services, with the support of the Secretary for Planning, Environment and Lands, proposes to upgrade 44CD to Category A at an estimated cost of $200 million in money-of-the-day (MOD) prices for reprovisioning a section of the border road between Lok Ma Chau and Tam Kon Chau along with its security facilities and the implementation of ecological mitigation measures. The location plan is at Enclosure I.


3. The scope of the project comprises the following -

  1. construction of about 3.6 kilometres of border road;
  2. provision of border security facilities which include security fencing and lighting along the border road;
  3. construction of ancillary drainage works including reinforced concrete culverts (about 55 metres long) and drain pipes (about 600 metres long);
  4. ecological mitigation measures which include tree planting, reinstatement of 24 hectares of fishponds within the site and the temporary enhancement of 15 hectares of fishponds at Mai Po; and
  5. environmental monitoring and audit during construction.


4. Rapid developments in both the northern New Territories and Shenzhen in recent years have aggravated the inadequacy of the hydraulic capacity of the River and aggravated flooding problems in the northern New Territories. Several flooding incidents in the past have disrupted transport, communication, social and commercial activities causing economic losses in both Shenzhen and Hong Kong. There is an urgent need to implement the Shenzhen River regulation project1 to reduce the risk of flooding.

5. We started the stage I improvement works to the River under 24CD “Regulation of Shenzhen River, stage I - improvement to river bends at Lok Ma Chau and Liu Pok” in May 1995. We plan to start the main stage II improvement works in 1997. To provide adequate space for the stage II improvement works, we have to demolish the existing border road and security fence and reprovide them elsewhere. The proposed works under 44CD will provide a new border road with lighting and security fence to the south to maintain the normal border security functions.

6. The new border road will run across existing streamcourses and drainage paths. We need to construct ancillary drainage works under the new road which will include box culverts and drain pipes. These will enable stormwater from the southern side to flow under and across the new road to Shenzhen River.

7. We will carry out ecological mitigation measures under 44CD to compensate for the loss of fishponds due to the relocation of the border road. We will reinstate the remaining fishponds within the site. We will also carry out improvement works to existing fishponds at Mai Po to allow for the expected increase in the use of the fishponds by wild life during the construction of this project. We will plant trees of mangrove-related species along the southern embankment of the new border road so as to partially compensate the loss of mangroves due to the stage II river training works. We have incorporated the tree planting works under this project because the area involved is on the south side of the new border fence and will be difficult to access once we have erected the new fence.


8. We estimate the capital cost of the project to be $200 million in MOD prices, made up as follows -

$ million

(a) Construction of border road


(i) geotechnical works for embankment foundation


(ii) earthworks for embankment


(iii) roads works


(b) Border security facilities


(i) fence


(ii) lighting


(iii) watch towers


(c) Ancillary drainage works


(d) Ecological mitigation measures


(e) Environmental monitoring and audit


(f) Contingencies


(at December 1995 prices)


(g) Inflation allowance


(in MOD prices)


9. Subject to approval, we will phase expenditure as follows -


$ million
(Dec 1995)


$ million

1996 - 97




1997 - 98




1998 - 99




1999 - 00




2000 - 01






10. We have derived the MOD estimate on the basis of the Government’s forecasts of trend labour and construction prices for the period 1996 to 2001.

11. We will tender the civil engineering contract as a standard re-measurement contract. We have chosen the re-measurement type of contract because the proposed works involve large quantities of earth works which we cannot accurately determine beforehand. The contract will allow for adjustments to the tender prices due to inflation as the contract period will extend beyond 21 months. We will tender the supply, installation, testing and commissioning of the security lighting as a fixed price lump-sum contract.

12. We estimate the annually recurrent expenditure to be $483,000. This includes an annual cost of $20,000 to maintain the trees planted under this project. We will need to provide for the upkeep of the trees for a period of eight years, after which time they will beome self-maintaining.


13. We presented the proposed works to the Yuen Long District Board on 24 August 1995. Members of the District Board supported the proposal. We gazetted the road works ancillary to this project under the Roads (Works, Use and Compensation) Ordinance in November 1995 and received no objections.


14. An Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) was carried out in October 1995 to address the potential environmental impacts of stage II of the Shenzhen River regulation project, including the advance work under this item. Apart from measures to minimise construction noise, dust, spoil disposal, the increase in sedimentation in Deep Bay and water quality impacts from sediment releases during construction, the EIA also recommended measures to mitigate ecological impacts which include short term disturbance from construction activities and a long-term loss of mangroves and fishponds. The EIA study report concluded that with the application of the recommended mitigation measures, the environmental impacts of the stage II works will be controlled within established standards and guidelines.

15. The Advisory Council on the Environment endorsed the EIA report on 20 November 1995 on condition that we implement all the mitigation measures proposed in the report, including an environmental monitoring and audit programme.

16. We will implement part of the ecological mitigation measures recommended in the EIA report under this project. In particular, we will reinstate 24 hectares of fishponds within the site and we will plant trees along the southern embankment of the new border road to act as an ecological corridor. We will also undertake temporary enhancement of about 15 hectares of fishponds at Mai Po to compensate for the loss of fishponds due to the relocation of the new road.

17. We will also include relevant mitigation measures in the works contract under this item to control noise, dust, spoil disposal and other possible nuisances resulting from the advance works. We will set up an environmental team to carry out an environmental monitoring and audit programme during the construction period and we have included funding for this item in the project costs.


18. We will clear 460 900 square metres of Government land for the proposed works and charge the land clearance costs, estimated at about $27 million, under Head 701 - Land Acquisition. The clearance will affect 61 temporary non-domestic structures. There is no requirement for rehousing. We plan to complete the clearance by October 1996.


19. We upgraded 44CD to Category B in October 1994. We have substantially completed the detailed design and the preparation of drawings for the border road relocation project. The proposed works are scheduled to start in November 1996 for completion in November 1998.

20. We upgraded 31CD “Shenzhen River improvement works, stage II - remaining works” to Category B in November 1991. We plan to start 31CD in the first half of 1997 for completion in late 2000.

1 -- The Shenzhen River regulation project comprises three stages. Stage I (24CD) covers the realignment, widening and deepening of two stretches of the River at Lok Ma Chau and Liu Pok. Stage II (31CD) covers the widening and deepening of sections of the River from Lok Ma Chau bend to Deep Bay and from Lok Ma Chau bend to the Liu Pok bend. Stage III covers the widening and deepening of the River from Lo Wu upstream to Muk Wu. A map showing areas covered by stages I, II and III is at Enclosure II.

Last Updated on 8 December 1998

討論文件 PWSC(96-97)33
一九九六年七月一日

財務委員會
工務小組委員會

總目704-渠務
土木工程-排水設施及防止侵蝕工程
44CD-深圳河改善工程第II階段- 前期工程

請各委員向財務委員會建議,將44CD工程計劃提升為甲級, 稱為「治理深圳河計劃第II階段第I期-遷建落馬洲與担竿洲 之間的邊境道路」,按付款當日價格計算,估計費用為2億元



問題

深圳河改善工程第II期主要工程旨在紓緩新界北部及深圳市 的水浸問題。不過,在進行有關工程之前,我們需要遷移落 馬洲與担竿洲之間一段現有邊境道路及有關保安設施。

建議

2.渠務署署長建議將44CD工程計劃提升為甲級,以便遷建落 馬洲與担竿洲之間一段邊境道路及有關保安設施,並實施生 態保護措施。按付款當日價格計算,估計費用2億元。這項 建議獲規劃環境地政司支持。有關的位置圖載於附件I。

工程計劃的範圍及性質

3.這項工程計劃的範圍包括下述工程-

  1. 興建一條長約3.6公里的邊境道路;
  2. 提供邊境保安設施,包括沿邊境道路設置保安圍欄及 照明設施;
  3. 進行附屬的排水系統工程,包括建造鋼筋混凝土暗渠 (長約55米)及排水管(長約600米);
  4. 實施生態保護措施,包括植樹、修復工地範圍內的24 公頃魚塘和暫時改善米埔的15公頃魚塘;及
  5. 在施工期間,進行環境監測和審核。

理由

4.新界北部及深圳近年發展迅速,使深圳河水流容量更形不 足,以及令新界北部的水浸問題更趨嚴重。過去多次水浸事 件對交通、通訊、社會及商業活動造成影響,為深圳及香港 帶來經濟損失。因此,當務之急是實施治理深圳河工程計劃1
,以減低水浸的風險。

5.我們已在一九九五年五月根據24CD「治理深圳河計劃第I 階段工程-落馬洲及料壆河曲的改善工程」展開深圳河第I 階段改善工程。我們計劃於一九九七年展開第II階段的主要 改善工程。為提供足夠地方以進行第II階段的改善工程,我 們須拆卸現有的邊境道路和保安圍欄,並將之遷建別處。44 CD工程計劃項下的建議工程是要提供一條新的邊境道路, 並在河道以南的地方裝置照明設施和保安圍欄,以維持正 常的邊境保安工作。

6.新邊境道路會橫跨現有河道及排水徑。因此,我們需在新 道路之下建造附屬排水設施,包括箱形暗渠及排水渠。這樣 可使南面的雨水沿新道路的上下兩方流入深圳河。

7.我們會在44CD項下進行生態保護措施,以補償因邊境道路 遷移而引致魚塘減少的問題。我們會修復工地範圍內的餘下 魚塘,此外,亦會為米埔的現有魚塘進行改善工程,以顧及 野生生物在工程計劃施工期間預料會增加使用這些魚塘。我 們會沿新邊境道路的南堤種植屬紅樹品種的樹木,俾能補償 因進行第II階段治河工程而失去的部分紅樹林。我們將植樹 工程列入本工程計劃項下,是因為植樹範圍是位於新邊境圍 欄的南面。如果我們先築新圍欄,然後將來才進行植樹, 則出入該處便會有困難。

財政影響

8.按付款當日價格計算,估計這項工程計劃的建設費用為2 億元,分項數字如下-

百萬元

(a) 建造邊境道路


100.3

(i) 路堤地基土力工程

30.7


(ii) 路堤土力工程

60.5


(iii) 道路工程

9.1


(b) 邊境保安設施


18.7

(i) 圍欄

11.9


(ii) 照明設施

5.5


(iii) 瞭望塔

1.3


(c) 附屬排水系統工程


19.4

(d) 生態保護措施


3.8

(e) 環境監測及審核


3.1

(f) 應急費用


14.0

小計
(按1995年12月 價格計算)


159.3

(g) 通脹準備金


40.7

總計
(按付款當日價格 計算)


200.0

9.如獲批准,有關開支將會分期支付如下-

年度

百萬元
(1995年12月價格)

價格調整
因數

百萬元
(付款當日價格)

1996 - 97

4.0

1.07500

4.3

1997 - 98

68.7

1.18250

81.2

1998 - 99

73.3

1.30075

95.3

1999 - 00

12.0

1.43083

17.2

2000 - 01

1.3

1.54708

2.0


159.3


200.0

10.我們按照政府對一九九六至二零零一年期間工資及建造價 格趨勢所作的預測,制訂按付款當日價格計算的預算。

11.由於建議工程涉及大量土方工程,而我們未能於事前確定 有關數量,故這份土木工程合約將以重新計算工程數量的標 準合約方式批出。鑑於合約為期超過21個月,合約將載有可 因應通脹調整投標價格的條文。我們將以一份固定總價合約 ,為保安照明設施的供應、安裝、測試和啟用招標。

12.估計每年的經常開支為483,000元,其中包括為本工程計 劃項下所種植樹木提供護養,每年開支為20,000元。我們須 為這些樹木提供八年的護養期,之後便不再需要人工護養。

公眾諮詢

13.我們曾於一九九五年八月二十四日將有關工程建議提交元 朗區議會。區議員均支持這項建議。我們已於一九九五年十 一月根據道路(工程、使用及補償)條例在憲報刊登這項工程 計劃項下的附屬道路工程,並無接獲反對意見。

環境影響

14.有關方面已於一九九五年十月進行環境影響評估,以處理 治理深圳河計劃第II期工程,包括44CD工程計劃項下的前期 工程可能引致的環境影響。該環境影響評估建議一些措施, 以減輕施工期間的建築噪音、塵埃和廢土;后海灣沉澱物的 增加,以及施工期間釋放的沉澱物對水質造成的影響。除此 之外,還就工程所造成的短期滋擾,及紅樹林和魚塘的長期 損失等生態影響,建議一些紓解措施。該環境影響評估研究 報告的結論是,倘採取建議的紓解措施,第II階段工程的環 境影響將受到控制,可符合既定的標準和準則。

15.環境問題諮詢委員會已於一九九五年十一月二十日通過該 份環境影響評估報告,惟我們須推行報告所建議的所有紓解 措施,包括環境監測和審核工作。

16.我們會根據這項工程計劃的環境影響評估報告,推行所建 議的部分生態保護措施。我們會特別在工地範圍內修復24公 頃魚塘,並沿新邊境道路的南堤種植樹木,使之成為一個生 態保護地帶。我們並會暫時改善米埔約15公頃的魚塘,以便 就遷移新道路所損失的魚塘作出補償。

17.我們亦會將有關減輕污染措施納入這項工程合約內,俾控 制前期工程所引致的噪音、塵埃、廢土,以及其他滋擾。我 們將成立一支環保隊伍,以便在施工期間進行一項環境監測 和審核工作,並已在工程費用預留款項,以支付這項目所需 的開支。

土地徵用

18.我們將清理460 900平方米政府土地,俾進行建議工程, 並會在總目701土地徵用項下支付清理土地的費用,估計需 款約2,700萬元。這項清理工作將影響61間臨時非住宅搭建 物,故無須進行安置工作。清理工作預計於一九九六年十 月完成。

背景資料

19.我們在一九九四年十月將44CD工程計劃提升為乙級。邊 境道硌遷建工程的詳細設計和擬備圖則的工作已大致完成。 工程預定於一九九六年十一月動工,一九九八年十一月竣工

20.我們在一九九一年十一月將31CD「深圳河改善工程,第II 期-餘下工程」提升為乙級。31CD工程計劃預定於一九九七 年上半年動工,二零零零年年底竣工。

1--治理深圳河計劃分三個階段進行。第I階段(24CD)包括改道、擴濶和加深深圳河在落馬洲 及料壆的兩段河道。第II階段(31CD)包括擴濶及加深深圳河由落馬洲至深灣及由落馬洲河曲
至料壆河曲兩段。第III階段則是擴濶及加深該河由羅湖上游至木湖一段。展示第I、II及III階
段所涉及範圍的地圖載於附件II。


Last Updated on 3 December 1998