LegCo Paper No. HB 26/95-96
Ref : HB/H/5

Legislative Council House Committee
(1995/96 Session)

Minutes of 1st meeting held in the LegCo Chamber
of the Legislative Council Building
on Wednesday, 11 October 1995 at 11:00 a.m.

Present :

    Hon Allen LEE, CBE, JP
    Hon Mrs Selina CHOW, OBE, JP
    Hon Martin LEE, QC, JP
    Dr Hon David K P LI, OBE, LLD (Cantab), JP
    Hon NGAI Shiu-kit, OBE, JP
    Hon SZETO Wah
    Hon LAU Wong-fat, OBE, JP
    Hon Edward S T HO, OBE, JP
    Hon Ronald ARCULLI, OBE, JP
    Hon Mrs Miriam LAU Kin-yee, OBE, JP
    Dr Hon LEONG Che-hung, OBE, JP
    Hon Albert CHAN Wai-yip
    Hon CHEUNG Man-kwong
    Hon CHIM Pui-chung
    Hon Frederick FUNG Kin-kee
    Hon Michael HO Mun-ka
    Dr Hon HUANG Chen-ya, MBE
    Hon Emily LAU Wai-hing
    Hon LEE Wing-tat
    Hon Eric LI Ka-cheung, JP
    Hon Henry TANG Ying-yen, JP
    Hon James TO Kun-sun
    Dr Hon Samuel WONG Ping-wai, MBE, FEng, JP
    Dr Hon Philip WONG Yu-hong
    Dr Hon YEUNG Sum
    Hon Howard YOUNG, JP
    Hon Zachary WONG Wai-yin
    Hon Christine LOH Kung-wai
    Hon James TIEN Pei-chun, OBE, JP
    Hon LEE Cheuk-yan
    Hon CHAN Kam-lam
    Hon CHAN Wing-chan
    Hon CHAN Yuen-han
    Hon Andrew CHENG Kar-foo
    Hon Paul CHENG Ming-fun
    Hon CHENG Yiu-tong
    Hon Anthony CHEUNG Bing-leung
    Hon CHEUNG Hon-chung
    Hon CHOY Kan-pui, JP
    Hon David CHU Yu-lin
    Hon Albert HO Chun-yan
    Hon IP Kwok-him
    Hon LAU Chin-shek
    Hon Ambrose LAU Hon-chuen, JP
    Dr Hon LAW Cheung-kwok
    Hon LAW Chi-kwong
    Hon LEE Kai-ming
    Hon LEUNG Yiu-chung
    Hon Bruce LIU Sing-lee
    Hon LO Suk-ching
    Hon MOK Ying-fan
    Hon Margaret NG
    Hon NGAN Kam-chuen
    Hon SIN Chung-kai
    Hon TSANG Kin-shing
    Dr Hon John TSE Wing-ling
    Hon Mrs Elizabeth WONG, CBE, ISO, JP
    Hon Lawrence YUM Sin-ling

Absent :

    Hon Fred LI Wah-ming

In attendance :

    ASG2 (Clerk to the House Committee)


LA (Atg)







Election of chairman

In accordance with the election procedures circulated to Members on
5 October 1995 under LegCo Paper No. HB 2/95-96, Mr Allen LEE, the Member who had the longest continuous service in the Council, took the chair. He then called for nominations for the chairmanship of the House Committee for the 1995/96 session.

2. Dr LEONG Che-hung was nominated by Mr Eric LI and seconded by
Dr YEUNG Sum, and accepted the nomination. Mr Ronald ARCULLI was nominated by Mr Howard YOUNG and seconded by Dr Philip WONG, and accepted the nomination.

3. As there were two nominations, Mr Allen LEE ordered a vote by secret ballot. Members then proceeded to vote. After counting and checking the ballot papers, Mr LEE announced that there were 34 votes for Dr LEONG Che-hung and 24 votes for Mr Ronald ARCULLI. He therefore declared
Dr LEONG Che-hung elected as chairman of the House Committee.

Election of deputy chairman

4. Dr LEONG Che-hung took the chair and called for nominations for the deputy chairmanship of the House Committee for the 1995/96 session.

5. Mr Ronald ARCULLI was nominated by Mr Martin LEE and seconded by Dr David LI, and accepted the nomination. There being no other nomination, the chairman therefore declared Mr Ronald ARCULLI elected as deputy chairman of the House Committee.

Any Other Business

"Request to speak" system

6. With the permission of the chairman, the Secretary General and the Deputy Secretary General advised Members that a "Request to speak" system had been installed in the Chamber to enable Members to indicate their intention to speak. While Members would still be required, under the Standing Orders, to rise or raise their hands to catch the President or chairmen’s eyes, this system would facilitate the President or the chairmen to note Members’ intention to speak during proceedings of the Council or committees.

Additional seats in LegCo Chamber

7. In response to some Members and with the chairman’s permission, the Secretary General said that The Legislative Council Commission had considered

a number of options for providing additional seats for Members in the new Council before approving the existing layout. A few Members considered the existing layout unsatisfactory and asked that urgent remedial action be taken. Members agreed that the matter should be further considered by The Legislative Council Commission as soon as possible.

8. The chairman advised Members that the next meeting of the House Committee would be held on Friday, 13 October 1995 at 2:30 p.m. The meeting was adjourned at 11:25 a.m.

Legislative Council Secretariat
12 October 1995

Last Updated on {{PUBLISH AUTO[[DATE("d mmm, yyyy")]]}}