PLC Paper No. CB(1)182
(These minutes have been seen by the
Administration and cleared with the Chairman)
Ref : CB1/BC/13/96

Bills Committee on Employment (Amendment) Bill 1997

Minutes of Meeting
held on Tuesday, 10 June 1997,
at 2:30 p.m. in Conference Room B
of the Legislative Council Building

Members present :

    Hon CHAN Yuen-han (Chairman)
    Hon Michael HO Mun-ka
    Hon LEE Cheuk-yan
    Hon Ambrose LAU Hon-chuen, JP

Member absent :

    Hon Ronald ARCULLI, OBE, JP

Public officers attending :

Ms Esther LEUNG
Principal Assistant Secretary for
Education and Manpower
Mr TSANG Kin-woo
Assistant Commissioner for Labour

Clerk in attendance :

Miss Odelia LEUNG
Chief Assistant Secretary (1)1

Staff in attendance :

Miss Connie FUNG
Assistant Legal Adviser 3
Ms Connie SZETO
Senior Assistant Secretary (1)5

I. Election of Chairman

Miss CHAN Yuen-han was elected Chairman of the Bills Committee.

II. Briefing by Hon LEE Cheuk-yan

(LegCo Paper No. CB(1)1794/96-97(01))

2. Mr LEE Cheuk-yan explained that the object of the Employment (Amendment) Bill (the Member’s Bill) was to amend the Employment Ordinance (Cap. 57) (the EO) to bring it in line with requirements of the International Labour Convention No. 98 in enhancing employees’ protection against discrimination on the ground of trade union membership and activities. The Bill allowed employees to bring civil proceedings against their employers for such discrimination and provided for remedies including re-employment and monetary compensation.

3. Members noted that the Member’s Bill overlapped to some extent with the Employment (Amendment) (No. 2) Bill 1997 (the No. 2 Bill) introduced by the Administration which would resume Second Reading debate at the Sitting of the Legislative Council on 17 June 1997. Mr LEE Cheuk-yan highlighted major differences of the two Bills as follows -

  1. the ambit of the No. 2 Bill was confined to dismissal while the Member’s Bill dealt with any anti-union discriminatory acts including but not limited to dismissal;

  2. the scope of civil remedies available under both Bills were different. The provisions on civil liabilities in the Member’s Bill were modelled on the Equal Opportunities (Religious or Political Conviction, Trade Union Activities and Spent Conviction) Bill and were wider than those in the No. 2 Bill;

  3. albeit the provision for re-employment as a remedy in both Bills, the No. 2 Bill stipulated that reinstatement be subject to the consent of both the employer and the employee, whereas under the Member’s Bill, this decision rested solely with the court. In addition to re-employment, the court might also order promotion of the employee concerned under the Member’s Bill; and

  4. the No. 2 Bill imposed a ceiling of an award of compensation of $150,000 in a substantiated case of unlawful dismissal, whereas the Member’s Bill did not provide for the maximum amount of compensation and punitive/exemplary damages to be awarded by the court.

4. Mr LEE Cheuk-yan also briefed members on his proposed amendments to the Member’s Bill as follows -

  1. to delete the proposed increase in penalties for offences relating to acts of anti-union discrimination so that the Member’s Bill would focus on civil remedies;

  2. to change all references to District Court as the adjudicating body in the Member’s Bill to the Labour Tribunal (LT) in view of the Administration’s proposal in the No. 2 Bill to designate the LT for handling cases relating to unlawful dismissal; and

  3. to add a transitional provision to clarify that the Member’s Bill should not apply to detriment suffered by an employee before its commencement.

III. Meeting with the Administration

(LegCo Paper Nos. CB(1)1794/96-97(02) and 1818/96-97)

The Administration’s views on the Member’s Bill

5. The Administration stated its strong opposition to the Member’s Bill. The Administration explained that it had introduced the No. 2 Bill which, amongst other objectives, sought to strengthen protection of employees against unlawful dismissals including the ground of anti-union discrimination. The Labour Advisory Board (LAB) had discussed the Member’s Bill but did not support it. The Administration considered that the proposed remedies of the Member’s Bill, such as re-employment and promotion of the affected employee without the employer’s consent, would not be conducive to the maintenance of harmonious labour relations. It was inappropriate for the court to interfere with staffing decisions taken by private companies.

6. On the issue of the right of "reinstatement", Mr LEE Cheuk-yan stressed the need to provide for such a remedy. He explained that where a union leader was victimised and dismissed, it would be justifiable to make such an order even at the expense of harmonious labour relations as union activities would otherwise be stifled. In response, the Principal Assistant Secretary for Education and Manpower (PAS/E&M) advised that the LAB had agreed that the issue should be further examined by its Committee on Labour Relations at a later stage.

Clause-by-clause examination of the Member’s Bill

Proposed section 21D

7. The Assistant Commissioner for Labour (AC/L) explained that the No.2 Bill imposed a limit of 12 months between the exercise by an employee of his rights under section 21B(1) of the EO and the occurrence of a discriminatory act for initiating civil proceedings against an employer as it would be unreasonable to expect an employer to provide information on an alleged discriminatory act which took place long ago. Mr LEE Cheuk-yan noted the Administration’s suggestion and would consider imposing such a time limit in the Member’s Bill.

Proposed section 21E

8. Members noted that whilst the LT was the designated authority to handle claims relating to anti-union discriminatory acts, it might transfer the case to the District Court or the High Court for adjudication where appropriate.

Proposed section 21F

9. Responding to AC/L’s enquiry, Mr LEE Cheuk-yan clarified that the term "status quo" in subclause (a) referred to the situation which existed prior to the detriment suffered by an employee and that a similar provision was enshrined in the Sex Discrimination Ordinance (Cap. 480) and Disability Discrimination Ordinance (Cap. 487). The Assistant Legal Adviser 3 (ALA3) advised that in making an interim order to preserve the "status quo", such as to prohibit dismissal of an employee, the LT would consider urgency of the case and other relevant factors.

Proposed section 21G

10. On the Administration’s concern about the absence of a prescribed maximum amount of compensation and punitive damages in subclause (2)(e) and (f), Mr LEE Cheuk-yan said that the court would take into account the loss or damage suffered by the affected employee in determining the amount of compensation and punitive damages to be awarded.

11. On the meaning of subclause (2) (h), Mr LEE Cheuk-yan clarified that it intended to provide for non-application of any laws which were inconsistent with the protection of employees against anti-union discriminatory acts in civil proceedings brought under the proposed section 21D. He would seek further legal advice and consider amending the provision to convey this meaning.

Proposed section 21H

12. Members noted that both the Member’s Bill and the No. 2 Bill placed the onus of proof on the employer in proceedings. While members had no objection to this principle, they and the Administration considered the present drafting of the proposed section 21H too stringent since it might bind the court in making a verdict that whenever the two stated conditions were satisfied, the employee suffered detriment on account of his union membership status in the absence of evidence to the contrary. These conditions were the exercise of any of the rights relating to union activities vested in an employee under existing section 21B(1) of the EO and the suffering of detriment in his employment. AC/L advised that the No.2 Bill provided for five valid reasons upon which an employer could rely to prove that the employee was not dismissed on ground of his exercising any of the rights vested by section 21B(1) of the EO. The court would consider the circumstances of the case and the evidence provided by the employer before making a judgement. Mr LEE Cheuk-yan explained that the drafting was intended to cover such cases where an employer dismissed an employee on a number of grounds including anti-union discrimination. Nevertheless, he noted members’ concern and agreed to review the drafting.

13. The ALA3 advised that as both the Member’s Bill and the No. 2 Bill provided for civil remedies for dismissal on the ground of trade union membership and activities, members might consider specifying non-application of certain provisions in Part VIA of the EO relating to dismissal on the ground of union activities in contravention of section 21B(2)(b). Mr LEE Cheuk-yan noted the advice.


14. Mr Ambrose LAU stated that he did not support the Bill. The Chairman and Mr Michael HO had not indicated their position. In summing up, the Chairman concluded that members of the Bills Committee had different views on the Bill. Mr LEE Cheuk-yan said that he had given notice to resume Second Reading debate on the Bill at the Sitting of the Legislative Council on 23 June 1997. Members agreed that a report on the deliberations of the Bills Committee be submitted to the House Committee for consideration on 13 June 1997. Mr LEE would inform the House Committee of his finalized amendments to the Bill.

15. The meeting ended at 4:15 pm.

Provisional Legislative Council Secretariat
28 August 1997

Last Updated on {{PUBLISH AUTO[[DATE("d mmm, yyyy")]]}}

臨立會CB(1)182號文件
(此份會議紀要業經政府當局
審閱並經主席核正)
檔號:CB1/BC/13/96


1997年僱傭(修訂)條例
草案委員會
會議紀要

日  期:1997年6月10日(星期二)
時  間:下午2時30分
地  點:立法局大樓會議室B

出席委員 :

    陳婉嫻議員(主席)
    何敏嘉議員
    李卓人議員
    劉漢銓議員

缺席委員 :

    夏佳理議員

出席公職人員:

首席助理教育統籌司
梁悅賢女士
勞工處助理處長
曾健和先生

列席秘書 :

總主任(1)1
梁慶儀小姐

列席職員 :

助理法律顧問3
馮秀娟小姐
高級主任(1)5
司徒少華女士



I. 選擧主席

陳婉嫻議員獲選為條例草案委員會主席。

II. 由李卓人議員作出簡介

(立法局CB(1)1794/96-97(01)號文件)

2. 李卓人議員解釋,1997年僱傭(修訂)條例草案(下稱
"議員條例草案" )旨在修訂《僱傭條例》(第57章),給予 僱員更佳保障,使他們不會因職工會會員身分或活動而 遭受歧視,從而使該條例與《國際勞工公約》第98號的 規定一致。議員條例草案准許僱員就此種歧視向其僱主 提出民事法律程序,並訂明法律補救,包括重新僱用及
作出金錢補償。

3. 議員察悉,議員條例草案所涵蓋的範圍在某程度上與 1997年僱傭(修訂)第2號條例草案(下稱 "第2號條例草案" )
重疊。此條條例草案由政府當局提出,並會在1997年6月 17日立法局會議席上恢復二讀辯論。李卓人議員特別指 出兩條條例草案有以下主要不同之處:

  1. 第2號條例草案所涵蓋的範圍僅限於解僱的事 宜,而議員條例草案則處理任何歧視職工會 的行為,包括解僱但不僅限於此方面的行為;

  2. 根據該兩條條例草案作出的民事補救的範圍 亦不相同。議員條例草案中有關民事責任的 條文,是參照《平等機會(宗教或政治信念、 職工會活動及已喪失時效的定罪)條例草案》 而訂定,而其涵蓋範圍亦較第2號條例草案相
    關條文的範圍更為廣泛;

  3. 雖然兩條條例草案均將重新僱用訂為一種補 救辦法,但第2號條例草案規定必須獲得僱主 及僱員雙方同意才可復職,而根據議員條例 草案,此項決定純屬法庭的決定。根據議員 條例草案,法庭除可命令重新僱用外,亦可
    命令擢升有關僱員;及

  4. 第2號條例草案就經證實為不合法解僱的個案 而判給的補償,規定最高的補償款額為150,000 元,但議員條例草案則未有就法庭可判給的補 償款額及懲罰性/懲戒性的損害賠償款額訂定
    最高限額。

4. 李卓人議員亦向議員簡介其擬議就議員條例草案提出
的以下修正案──

  1. 撤銷原先建議加重與歧視職工會行為有關的罪 行的罰則,使議員條例草案集中處理民事補救
    的事宜;

  2. 將議員條例草案內指定地方法院作為審裁機關 的提述更改為勞資審裁處,此點是考慮到政府 當局在第2號條例草案作出的建議,即指定勞 資審裁處負責處理涉及不合法解僱的個案;及

  3. 加入一項過渡性條文,申明議員條例草案不適 用於僱員在此條草案生效前所遭受的損害。

III. 與政府當局會商

(立法局CB(1)1794/96-97(02)及1818/96-97號文件)

政府當局對議員條例草案的意見

5. 政府當局表示強烈反對議員條例草案。政府當局解釋, 其提交第2號條例草案的目的之一,是為僱員提供更佳的 保障,使他們免受不合法的解僱,包括基於歧視職員會 而作出的解僱。勞工顧問委員會(下稱 "勞顧會")曾討論議 員條例草案,但並不給予支持。政府當局認為,議員條 例草案中有關補救的建議(例如未經僱主同意重新僱用或 擢升受影響的僱員等),不會有助勞資雙方維持融洽的關 係,而由法庭干預私人公司所作的人事決定亦不適宜。

6. 有關 "復職" 權的問題,李卓人議員強調有必要提供此 項補救。他解釋,倘職工會的領導人蒙受迫害或遭受解 僱,即使會損害融洽的勞資關係,亦有理由支持如此作 出命令,因為若不如此,職工會活動會遭受壓制。首席 助理教育統籌司回應時表示,勞顧會已同意此問題應於 稍後時間交由其轄下的勞資關係委員會再作研究。

逐條研究議員條例草案的條文

擬議條例第21D條

7. 勞工處助理處長解釋,根據第2號條例草案,僱員必 須在歧視行為作出後的12個月內,行使《僱傭條例》第 21B(1)條所賦予的權利,向其僱主提出民事法律程序。 施加此時限的原因是,倘期望僱主就涉嫌在很久以前作 出的歧視行為提供資料,是不合理的。李卓人議員察悉 政府當局的建議,並會考慮在議員條例草案中訂定此種
時限。

擬議條例第21E條

8. 議員察悉,雖然勞資審裁處為當局指定的機關,負責 處理與歧視職工會行為有關的申索,但勞資審裁處如認 為適宜,亦可將案件轉交地方法院或高等法院審理。

擬議條例第21F條

9. 李卓人議員回應勞工處助理處長的詢問時申明,(a)款 中 "現狀 "一詞是指在僱員遭受損害前的情況,而《性別 歧視條例》(第480章)及《殘疾歧視條例》(第487章)亦訂 有類似條文。助理法律顧問3表示,勞資審裁處為保持
"現狀" 而作出臨時命令(例如命令禁止解僱某僱員)時,
會考慮有關案件的迫切性及其他相關的因素。

擬議條例第21G條

10. 有關政府當局關注到第2(e)及(f)款並無訂明補償及懲 罰性損害賠償的最高款額,李卓人議員就此表示,法庭 在決定判給補償及懲罰性損害賠償款額時,會考慮受影
響僱員所蒙受的損失或損害。

11. 有關第(2)(h)款的涵意,李卓人議員申明,此條款旨 在訂明,凡任何法律,倘牴觸保障僱員免受基於職工會 的歧視此規定,概不予運用於根據擬議條例第21D條進 行的民事法律程序。他會進一步徵詢法律意見,並考慮 修正此條文,以表達此涵意。

擬議條例第21H條

12. 議員察悉,議員條例草案及第2號條例草案均將在法 律程序中的舉證責任加諸僱主身上。雖然議員不反對此 原則,但他們及政府當局均認為現時按建議草擬的條例 第21H條過於嚴苛,因為此條文可使法庭受到約束而須 作出以下的裁決:在符合兩項訂明的條件而又無相反證 據的情況下,僱員便是基於其職工會會員身分而遭受損 害。此等條件是行使任何根據現行《僱傭條例》第21B(1)
條賦予僱員有關職工會活動的權利,以及僱員在受僱中 遭受損害。勞工處助理處長表示,第2號條例草案提供5 個合理的理由,僱主可根據該等理由,證明某僱員遭解 僱並非因其行使任何根據《僱傭條例》第21B(1)條賦予 僱員的權利所致。法庭在作出裁決前,會考慮案件的情 況及僱主所提供的證據。李卓人議員解釋,該條文的草 擬方式是要涵蓋諸如以下的情況:僱主基於多個理由, 包括歧視職工會,而解僱一名僱員。然而,他察悉議員 的關注,並同意檢討該項條文的草擬方式。

13. 助理法律顧問3表示,由於議員條例草案及第2號條 例草案均就基於職工會會員身分及活動而作出的解僱訂 定民事補救,議員可考慮指明《僱傭條例》第VIA部的 若干條文不予運用;該等條文是關於違反條例第21B(2)(b)
條所訂基於職工會活動而作出解僱的規定。李卓人議員 察悉此意見。

結論

14. 劉漢銓議員表明不支持議員條例草案,而主席及何 敏嘉議員則尚未表明立場。主席總結時指出,條例草案 委員會的委員對條例草案意見分歧。李卓人議員表示, 他已作出預告,表明擬於1997年6月23日的立法局會議 席上恢復二讀辯論條例草案。議員同意提交有關條例草 案委員會商議工作的報告,供內務委員會在1997年6月13
日研究。李議員會向內務委員會匯報其就條例草案作出
的最後修正。

15. 會議於下午4時15分結束。


臨時立法會秘書處
1997年8月28日




Last Updated on 4 December 1998