PLC Paper No. CB(1)78
(These minutes have been seen by the
Administration and cleared with the Chairman)
Ref: CB1/BC/14/96

Bills Committee on
Copyright Bill

Minutes of meeting
held on Wednesday, 14 May 1997,
at 8:30 am in the Chamber of
the Legislative Council Building

Members present :

    Hon Mrs Selina CHOW, OBE, JP (Chairman)
    Hon Ambrose LAU Hon-chuen, JP (Deputy Chairman)
    Dr Hon HUANG Chen-ya, MBE
    Hon Fred LI Wah-ming
    Dr Hon Philip WONG Yu-hong
    Hon Howard YOUNG, JP
    Hon CHAN Kam-lam
    Hon Margaret NG

Members absent :

    Hon Ronald ARCULLI, OBE, JP
    Hon Mrs Miriam LAU Kin-yee, OBE, JP
    Hon Henry TANG Ying-yen, JP
    Dr Hon LAW Cheung-kwok
    Hon SIN Chung-kai

Public officers attending :

Mr Augustine CHENG
Deputy Secretary for Trade and Industry
Mr Stephen SELBY
Director of Intellectual Property
Deputy Director of Intellectual Property
Mr Vincent Y K POON
Assistant Commissioner of Customs and Excise
Ms Elizabeth TSE
Principal Assistant Secretary for Trade and Industry
Mrs Spring FUNG
Deputy Principal Crown Counsel
Mr Johann WONG
Assistant Secretary for Trade and Industry

Clerk in attendance:

Miss Odelia LEUNG,
Chief Assistant Secretary (1)1

Staff in attendance :

Ms Kitty CHENG,
Assistant Legal Adviser 2
Ms Sarah YUEN,
Senior Assistant Secretary (1)1

Clause-by-clause examination of the Bill

Members continued with the clause-by-clause examination of the Bill.

Clause 123

2. The Deputy Secretary for Trade and Industry (DS/T&I) advised that the Administration intended to add a new clause 123A to provide for the protection of informers in criminal proceedings. The Assistant Commissioner of Customs and Excise (AC of CE) supplemented that the Administration had the responsibility to protect informers and many laws contained a similar provision.

Clause 124

3. Members were concerned about the lack of a statutory time limit for the return of articles seized for inspection by the Commissioner of Customs and Excise. AC of CE explained that in recognition of the need to give the copyright owner sufficient opportunity to inspect the seized article for the purpose of ascertaining whether it was an infringing copy, it was difficult to set a time limit for the return of the article. Seized articles would normally be returned within a few months. To address members’ concern, DS/T&I agreed to consider adding the words "within a reasonable period" to the clause for the purpose of completing inspection of articles detained by the Commissioner.

4. Members had reservations about the wording of subclause (4) which provided that the "Government is not liable to the person from whom the article was seized or detained for any loss or damage" incurred during the inspection. In response, AC of CE pointed out that enforcement officers were normally protected from claims for damages arising from the exercise of duty. He assured members that recognizing the delicacy of copyright works, enforcement officers always handled such products with care. The Administration might consider claims for damages on the merits of individual cases.

Clause 130

5. In reply to members’ questions, the Deputy Director of Intellectual Property (DD of IP) explained that clause 130 sought to specify the jurisdiction of district courts, in particular their power to issue orders for delivery up of infringing copies or other articles.


Clauses 131 to 140

Clause 132

6. In reply to members’ questions, the Administration clarified that under the Agreement on Trade Related Aspects of Intellectual Property Rights (the TRIPS Agreement), border measures had to be provided for imported or trans-shipped copyright articles to facilitate copyright owners and exclusive licensees in taking civil proceedings against infringers by applying to the court for a detention order to detain suspected imports of pirated copyright products. However, there was no obligation to apply such measures to articles in transit, hence non-application of detention orders for such goods as specified in clause 132(4). Patented goods in transit were treated likewise in the Patents Bill. The Bills Committee on Patents Bill recommended that the issue should be left to the common law to decide on a case-by-case basis as to whether importation of patented goods had taken place.

7. Miss Margaret NG drew members’ attention to the definitions of "article in transit" in clause 193 of the Bill and clause 73(2) of the Patents Bill. Since the Administration’s intention was to exempt goods in transit from infringement of patent rights as shown in clause 73(2) of the Patents Bill, she enquired whether deletion of the subclause would result in different treatment of articles in transit in the two bills. The Administration agreed to provide a paper to compare clause 132 of the Bill with clause 73 of the Patents Bill in relation to goods in transit and to explain the reasons for different treatment, if any.

Clause 133

8. In reply to members’ questions, DD of IP explained that there was no international norm as regards the issuance of detention orders. Having regard to the effect of detention orders on legitimate trade, the Administration considered it appropriate to designate the High Court to handle such applications. The provisions in the Bill concerning detention orders followed closely those in the Intellectual Property (World Trade Organisation Amendment) Ordinance (Ordinance No. 11 of 1996).

Clause 139

9. In reply to the Chairman’s question, DS/T&I clarified that clause 139 related to the right of importer, consignee or owner of the seized or detained article to apply for compensation for any loss or damage suffered by him by reason of the seizure or detention from the applicant of a detention order, not from the Government.


Clause 141

10. DS/T&I advised that the Administration intended to propose a Committee stage amendment (CSA) to subclause (4) to narrow the definition of licensing bodies. The amendment would have the effect that only large collecting societies which represented a certain percentage of the market of works would be defined as licensing bodies and regulated as such. Large collective copyright administration societies were singled out for regulation because of public concern about possible abuse of their monopolistic position. By bringing them under the jurisdiction of the Copyright Tribunal, a third-party dispute settlement mechanism to adjudicate on royalty charges would be available. As small societies could not monopolise the market, these were deliberately excluded from the regulatory regime to minimise government intervention in the administration of private rights.

11. The Administration further advised that existing collective copyright administration societies operated smoothly in Hong Kong but were keen for official recognition. To better monitor their operation, the Administration had proposed a voluntary registration system under which collective copyright administration societies might register by filing the necessary information essential for prospective copyright users, such as scales of royalty charges. To be eligible for registration, a licensing body had to fall within the definition in subclause 141(4) and meet the criteria set out in clause 145.

12. Some members were concerned that a narrow definition of licensing bodies might inadvertently give preferential treatment to large collecting societies as only such bodies could register for official recognition. To make the registration procedures more transparent, clear and specific criteria for registration should be laid down and an appeal mechanism established.

13. In response, the Director of Intellectual Property (D of IP) said that it was not the Administration’s intention to register established societies only. In fact, it was looking forward to registering new collecting societies that might be established as a result of development of the Internet. He emphasised that registration had no bearing on the legitimacy of a licensing body.

14. Some members opined that if legitimacy was not an issue, licensing bodies might hesitate to register voluntarily as they would be subject to regulation. To achieve the purpose of regulation, a compulsory rather than a voluntary registration system should be considered.

15. In response, the Administration made the following points -

(a) A compulsory registration system was considered inappropriate because under the TRIPS Agreement, copyright owners should not be required to go through any type of formalities to assert their rights.

(b) The proposed voluntary registration system would be an effective regulatory mechanism for Hong Kong as existing collective copyright administration societies had indicated support for it. The Administration expected that most licensing bodies would come forward to register for official recognition given that unregistered societies would find themselves at a distinct disadvantage in the market. It should be noted that whether registered or not, collective copyright administration societies which fell within the definition of a licensing body would be subject to the jurisdiction of the Copyright Tribunal.

16. DD of IP supplemented that as the definition of licensing bodies would be narrowed to catch relatively large collective administration bodies, the Administration would prescribe a certain percentage of market share of copyright works represented by these bodies for such purpose.

17. Members agreed to further discuss the subject upon receiving the draft CSAs. At members’ request, the Administration agreed to provide a paper to explain the rationale for introducing a voluntary but not a compulsory copyright licensing scheme.

Clauses 142 to 149 - Registration of licensing bodies

Clause 144

18. In reply to the Chairman’s question, D of IP advised that since less than ten licensing bodies were expected to come forward to register, a very simple paper registration system involving limited financial resources would serve the purpose. The fee payable for application for registration and renewal under clause 144 should be minimal.

Clause 148

19. Members noted that consequent to the CSA to subclause 141(4), the Administration would add a new subclause (c) to clause 148 to stipulate that the Secretary for Trade and Industry would prescribe a percentage of the market of works exceeding which a collecting society would be subject to the jurisdiction of the Copyright Tribunal.

Clauses 150 to 156 - References and applications with respect to licensing schemes

20. Members noted these clauses.

Clauses 157 to 162 - References and applications with respect to licensing by licensing bodies

Clause 160

21. Members noted the Administration’s proposed CSA to subclause (1).

Clause 163 - Factors to be taken into account in certain classes of case

22. Members noted this clause.

Clause 164 - Implied indemnity in schemes or licenses

23. Members noted this clause.


Clauses 165 to 168 - The Tribunal

24. In reply to members’ questions, the Administration provided the following information about the Copyright Tribunal -

(a) Upon commencement of the Intellectual Property (World Trade Organisation Amendments) Ordinance on 20 December 1996, the Performing Rights Tribunal which had three members was renamed the Copyright Tribunal. At present, the Chairman was a High Court Judge.

(b) The new Tribunal to be appointed after enactment of the Bill should consist of seven members including a Chairman and a Deputy Chairman. The members would be drawn from different sectors of the community to ensure a balance of interests.

(c) The Copyright Tribunal would determine disputes arising from licensing by the collective copyright administration societies under licensing schemes or in individual cases. Similar to other tribunals, the Copyright Tribunal would normally conduct hearings in public. There would be detailed rules governing its operation. Due to time constraints, the new Tribunal would continue to use the existing rules and the updated rules would be ready by August 1997. At members’ request, the Administration would provide the Bills Committee with a copy of the existing rules.

25. Noting that the jurisdiction of the Tribunal would be expanded to deal with different uses of copyright works, members considered it necessary to appoint members with suitable expertise to make informed judgements in the interests of the public. In response, the Administration emphasised that appointments would be made on the basis of the merits of the individuals concerned, taking into consideration their personal ability, expertise, experience, integrity, commitment to public service and their overall suitability for appointment. The objective was to ensure that the persons so appointed would render the best judgement and advice to the functioning of the Tribunal. At members’ request, the Administration agreed to provide a paper to explain the criteria for appointing members to the Copyright Tribunal.

Clauses 169 to 171 - Jurisdiction and procedure

26. Members noted these clauses.

Clause 172 - Appeals

27. A member was concerned about the availability of expertise in the High Court in dealing with copyright appeals. In response, DD of IP advised that where necessary, the court would call for expert advice.


Clauses 173 to 177

Clause 176

28. Some members expressed concern about subclause (1) which stated that if "Hong Kong works ....... are not adequately protected in a country, territory or area as a result of any prejudicial treatment given to those works by that country, territory or area, the Governor in Council may by regulation" deny protection for copyright goods originating from such countries. They were particularly concerned about the expression "if it appears to" as this would involve subjective judgement.

29. In response, D of IP and DD of IP explained that Hong Kong proposed to adopt an open system under which any original copyright work created by any person anywhere in the world would qualify for protection in Hong Kong. There was a need to include a safeguard provision in the Bill to empower Hong Kong to take action to protect itself against any country which breached its international obligations and discriminated Hong Kong economically. Such a provision would be invoked under exceptional circumstances and with justifiable reasons. The Administration assured members that Hong Kong would not lightly deny copyright protection to people of other countries unless Hong Kong works were treated prejudicially.

Clause 177

30. In reply to members’ questions, D of IP and DD of IP clarified that first release meant the first fixation of the intangible property in a medium, be it sound recording or film.


Clauses 178 to 182 - Government and Legislative Council copyright

3. 31. Members noted these clauses.

Clauses 183 to 185 - Other miscellaneous provisions

4. 31. Members noted these clauses.

Clauses 186 and 187 - Transitional provisions and savings

5. Members noted these clauses.

Clauses 188 to 194 - Interpretation

Clause 193

Members noted the Administration’s proposed CSA.

The next meeting of the Bills Committee would be held on 16 May 1997 at 12:30 pm.

The meeting ended at 10:40 am.

Provisional Legislative Council Secretariat
23 July 1997

Last Updated on {{PUBLISH AUTO[[DATE("d mmm,yyyy")]]}}

臨立會CB(1)78文件
(此份會議紀要業經政府當局審閱並經主席核正)
檔號:CB1/BC/14/96


版權條例草案委員會
會議紀要

日  期:1997年5月14日(星期三)
時  間:上午8時30分
地  點:立法局會議廳

出席委員 :

    周梁淑怡議員(主席)
    劉漢銓議員(副主席)
    黃震遐議員
    李華明議員
    黃宜弘議員
    楊孝華議員
    陳鑑林議員
    吳靄儀議員

缺席委員  :

    夏佳理議員
    劉健儀議員
    唐英年議員
    羅祥國議員
    單仲偕議員

出席公職人員:

副工商司
鄭陸山先生
知識產權署署長
謝肅方先生
知識產權署副署長
張錦輝先生
助理海關總監
潘楊光先生
首席助理工商司
謝曼怡女士
副首席檢察官
馮岑苑貞女士
助理工商司
黃宗殷先生

列席祕書  :

總主任(1)1
梁慶儀女士

列席職員  :

助理法律顧問2
鄭潔儀女士
高級主任(1)1
袁家寧女士



逐項審議條例草案的條文

議員繼續逐項審議條例草案的條文。

草案第123條

2. 副工商司表示,政府當局有意增訂新的第123A條,就 保障刑事法律程序中的告發人的事宜作出規定。助理海 關總監補充,政府當局有責任保護告發人,很多法例亦
載有類似條文。

草案第124條

3. 議員關注到,有關被海關總監檢取以作檢查的物品, 條文並無訂定發還該等物品的法定時限。助理海關總監 解釋,由於版權擁有人需要有充分機會檢查檢取的物品, 以確定其是否侵犯版權複製品,因此當局難以定出發還 物品的時限。檢取的物品一般會在數個月內發還。因應 議員的關注事項,就完成檢查海關總監所扣留的物品而 言,副工商司同意考慮在條文內加入「在合理時間內」
的字眼。

4. 議員對第(4)款的措詞有所保留。根據該款,「凡物品 自某人處檢取或扣留......」,對在查檢時所招致「使該某 人蒙受的任何損失或損害......政府無須負上任何責任」。 助理海關總監回應時指出,一般而言,執法人員均毋須 承擔因執行職務而導致的損害賠償申索。他向議員保證, 由於版權作品精細,執法人員一定會小心處理此等產品。 同時,政府當局也或會因應個別個案的情況,考慮損害
賠償的申索。

草案第130條

5. 知識產權署副署長回答議員的問題時解釋,草案第
130條旨在訂明各地方法院的司法管轄權,特別是該等
法院頒發侵犯版權複製品或其他物品的交付令的權力。

第VII分部 ── 關乎輸入侵犯版權物品的
法律程序

草案第131至140條

草案第132條

6. 政府當局回答議員的問題時澄清,根據《與貿易有關 的知識產權協議》(下稱《知識產權協議》),當局須制 訂有關進口或轉運的版權物品的邊境措施,以便版權擁 有人及專用特許持有人可透過向法院申請扣留令,扣留 涉嫌屬翻版產品的貨品進口,藉以向侵犯版權者採取民 事的法律程序。然而,當局並無責任向過境物品施行此 等措施,因此草案第132(4)條訂明扣留令不適用於該等 貨品。專利條例草案亦以類似方法處理過境的專利貨品。 專利條例草案委員會建議,關於專利貨品有否進口的問 題,應由普通法按個別個案決定。

7. 吳靄儀議員請議員注意條例草案第193條及專利條例 草案第73(2)條有關「過境物品」的定義。如專利條例草 案的第73(2)條所顯示,政府當局的用意是對過境貨品給 予侵犯專利權方面的豁免,她詢問,刪除此一款會否導 致兩項條例草案對過境物品有不同的處理。政府當局同 意提交一份文件,比較條例草案第132條及專利條例草 案第73條有關過境貨品的規定,若發現有不同的處理,
會解釋其原因。

草案第133條

8. 知識產權署副署長回答議員的問題時解釋,國際上並 無有關發出扣留令的慣常做法。考慮到扣留令對合法貿 易造成的影響,政府當局認為宜指定由高等法院負責處 理該等申請。條例草案中有關扣留令的條文,與《知識 產權(世界貿易組織修訂)條例》(1996年第11號條例)的該
等條文十分相近。

草案第139條

9. 副工商司回答主席的問題時澄清,草案第139條是關 乎被檢取或扣留的物品的輸入者、收貨人或擁有人向扣 留令的申請人,而非政府,申請因該項檢取或扣留而使 他蒙受的任何損失或損害的補償的權利。

第VIII分部 ── 版權特許

草案第141條

10. 副工商司表示,政府當局有意就第(4)款提出一項委 員會審議階段修正案,以縮窄特許機構的定義。由於該 項修訂,只有其作品在市場上佔有一定比率的集體行使 版權大型社團,才會被界定為特許機構,並受到有關的 規管。特別規定集體行使版權的大型社團須受規管,是 因為公眾人士關注到該等社團可能濫用其壟斷地位。把 該等機構納入版權審裁處的司法管轄範圍,可建立一個 由第三者解決爭議的機制,就版權收費作出仲裁。由於 小型社團無法壟斷市場,當局故意令該等社團免除於規 管機制以外,以盡量減少政府對行使私人權利的干預。

11. 政府當局進一步表示,現有的集體行使版權社團在 本港的運作良好,但該等社團渴望得到官方的認可。為 了更佳地監察其運作,政府當局建議採用一套自願性質 的註冊制度。根據該制度,集體行使版權的社團只需提 交準版權使用者基本上需要的資料,例如版權收費表等, 即可註冊。特許機構須符合第141(4)款的定義,並符合 草案第145條所訂定的準則,才符合註冊的資格。

12. 部分議員關注到,為特許機構訂定較狹窄的定義, 可能會無意中令大型的集體社團得到較優厚的待遇,因 為只有此等機構才可註冊以取得官方認可。為令註冊程 序具有更高的透明度,當局應定出清晰及具體的註冊準 則,並設立一個上訴機制。

13. 知識產權署署長回應時表示,政府當局的用意並非 只為具規模的社團註冊。事實上,當局希望為一些可能 由於互聯網的發展而成立的新集體社團註冊。他強調, 註冊並不影響特許機構的合法性。

14. 部分議員認為,既然合法性不成問題,特許機構對 自願註冊或會有所遲疑,因為註冊後將受到規管。為達 到規管的目的,當局應考慮採用強制性而非自願性質的
註冊制度。

15. 政府當局回應時提出以下論點:

  1. 當局認為不宜採用強制性的註冊制度,因為根 據《知識產權協議》,版權擁有人應無須經由
    任何正式手續來肯定其權利。

  2. 對本港而言,擬議的自願性質的註冊制度會是 一套有效的規管機制,原因是現有的集體行使 版權社團已表示會支持註冊制度。政府當局預 期,若未經註冊的社團發現他們在市場上會陷 於極為不利的情況,大部分特許機構均會主動 登記,以取得官方認可。值得注意的是,不論 是否經已註冊,屬於特許機構定義涵蓋範圍的 集體行使版權社團,均在版權審裁處的司法管
    轄範圍內。

16. 知識產權署副署長補充說,由於特許機構的定義將予 收窄,以把相對較大型的集體行使版權機構納於其中, 政府當局將為該目的訂明此等機構的版權作品所應佔的
特定市場佔有率。

17. 議員同意在接獲委員會審議階段修正案初稿後進一步 討論此項目。應議員的要求,政府當局同意提供文件, 解釋採用自願性質的版權特許計劃而非強制性質的計劃
的原因。

草案第142至149條 ── 特許機構的註冊

草案第144條

18. 知識產權署署長回答主席的問題時表示,由於預計 主動申請註冊的特許機構會少於10個,施行註冊制度只 須成立一個涉及有限財政資源的極簡單文件系統。根據 草案第144條申請註冊及續期的所需費用也屬有限。

草案第148條

19. 議員察悉,因應當局就草案第141(4)款提出的委員 會審議階段修正案,政府當局會就草案第148條增訂新 的第(c)款,規定工商司可就集體行使版權社團的版權 作品所佔的市場佔有率訂定一個百分率,超出該個百 分率的社團,即屬版權審裁處的司法管轄範圍。

草案第150至156條 ── 關於特許計劃的轉介
及申請

20. 議員察悉此等條文。

草案第157至162條 ── 就特許機構批出的特
許而作出的轉介及申請

草案第160條

21. 議員察悉政府當局就第(1)款所提出的擬議委員會審
議階段修正案。

草案第163條 ── 在某些種類的個案中須考
慮的因素

22. 議員察悉此項條文。

草案第164條 ── 計劃或特許中的隱含彌償

23. 議員察悉此項條文。

第IX分部 ── 版權審裁處

草案第165至168條 ── 審裁處

24. 政府當局回答議員的問題時提供以下有關版權審裁
處的資料 ──

  1. 《知識產權(世界貿易組織修訂)條例》自1996 年12月20日生效以來,原本由3名成員組成的 播演權審裁處已易名為版權審裁處。目前該處
    的主席為一位高等法院法官。

  2. 條例草案通過成為法例後,新委任的審裁處將 由7名成員組成,其中包括一名主席和一名副 主席。審裁處成員將來自社會不同界別,以確
    保平衡各方利益。

  3. 版權審裁處就特許計劃下集體行使版權的社團 發出的特許或個別個案所引起的爭議作出決定。 版權審裁處與其他審裁處相若,聆訊一般是公 開進行,其運作將有詳細的規則作出規定。由 於時間方面的限制,新審裁處將繼續沿用現有 的規則,重新修訂的規則將於1997年8月前備 妥。應議員要求,政府當局會向條例草案委員
    會提供一份現有規則的副本。

25. 在察悉審裁處的司法管轄範圍將擴大至包括處理版 權作品的不同用途後,議員認為當局有需要委任具有適 當專業知識的成員,以便作出符合公眾利益的正確判斷。 政府當局回應時強調,當局會根據有關人選的優點,考 慮到其能力、專長、經驗、品格、是否熱心公益,以及 整體而言是否適合擔任該職,才作出有關委任。目的是 確保被委任的人選,會就版權審裁處的運作,提供最佳 的判斷和意見。應議員要求,政府當局答應提供一份資 料文件,解釋委任版權審裁處成員的準則。

草案第169至171條 ── 司法管轄權和程序

26. 議員察悉此等條文。

草案第172條 ── 上訴

27. 一位議員關注到高等法院是否有處理有關版權上訴 事宜的專業知識。知識產權署副署長回應時表示,若有 需要,法院會要求專家提供意見。

第X分部 ── 享有版權保護所須具備的
資格

草案第173至177條

草案第176條

28. 部分議員對第(1)款表示關注。第(1)款載述:「香港 作品......因受到某國家、地區或地方不利的待遇而在該 國家、地區或地方沒有得到足夠的保護,則總督會同行 政局藉規例」拒絕保護來自該等國家的版權貨品。他們 尤其關注「如覺得」此一語句,因為這會涉及主觀的判
斷。

29. 知識產權署署長及副署長回應時解釋,香港建議採用 一個開放的制度,讓任何人士在世界任何地方創造的原 創持版權作品,均有資格在本港獲得保障。條例草案亦 有需要訂定保障條文,授權香港對任何違反其國際責任 並在經濟上歧視香港的國家採取自我保護的行動。此一 條文只在特殊並在有充分理據的情況下才會援用。政府 當局向議員保證,除非香港作品受到具損害性的對待, 香港不會輕率地拒絕給予其他國家的人民版權保障。

草案第177條

30. 知識產權署署長及副署長回應議員的問題時澄清, 首次發表的涵義是指首次將不具實物形態的產權固定在
某種媒體上,不論是錄音還是影片。

第XI分部 ── 雜項及一般條文

草案第178至182條 ── 政府及立法局版權

31. 議員察悉此等條文。

草案第183至185條 ── 其他雜項條文

32. 議員察悉此等條文。

草案第186至187條 ── 過渡性條文及保留條文

33. 議員察悉此等條文。

草案第188至194條 ── 釋義

草案第193條

34. 議員察悉政府當局提交的擬議委員會審議階段修正
案。

35. 條例草案委員會下次會議將在1997年5月16日下午
12時30分擧行。

36. 會議於上午10時40分結束。


臨時立法會秘書處
1997年7月23日




Last Updated on 4 December 1998