PLC Paper No. CB(2)85
(These minutes have been seen
by the Administration and cleared
with the Chairman)
Ref: CB2/BC/12/96

Bills Committee on Employment (Amendment) (No.4) Bill 1996

Minutes of the Second Meeting on Tuesday, 18 March 1997 at 8:30 am in Conference Room A of the Legislative Council Building

Members Present :

    Hon LEE Cheuk-yan (Chairman)
    Hon Michael HO Mun-ka
    Hon James TIEN Pei-chun, OBE, JP
    Hon CHAN Wing-chan
    Hon LEUNG Yiu-chung

Members Absent :

    Hon MOK Ying-fan
    Hon TSANG Kin-shing

Public Officers Attending :

    Ms Esther LEUNG
    Principal Assistant Secretary for Education and Manpower
    Mr TSANG Kin-woo
    Assistant Commissioner for Labour

Attendance by Invitation :

    Representatives of Employers

    Hong Kong General Chamber of Commerce

    Mr Poon YUN
    Chairman - Human Resource Committee
    Mr Alan LUNG
    Human Resources Committee member

    Federation of Hong Kong Industries

    Mr Andrew LEUNG
    Deputy Chairman
    Mr Roger TAM
    Administrative Officer

    The Chinese Manufacturers’ Association of Hong Kong

    Mr Joseph LAU
    Executive Committee Member
    Mr Francis LAU
    Executive Secretary

    Employers’ Federation of Hong Kong

    LAM Pik-yu, Margaret
    Assistant Manager

    Hong Kong Construction Association

    Patrick CHAN
    Secretary General

    Textile Council of Hong Kong

    Mr S K CHAN
    Honorary Chairman

    Mr Kenneth FANG

    Federation of HK Garment Manufacturers

    Mr CHAN Wing-kee

    HK Garment Manufacturers Association

    Dr Harry LEE

    HK Knitwear Exporters & Manufacturers Association

    Mr Willy LIN

    HK Woolen & Synthetic Knitting Manufacturers’ Association

    Mr Michael CHAN

    The HK Association of Textile Bleachers, Dyers, Printers and Finishers

    Mr KWAN Kon-wah

    The HK Cotton Spinners Association

    Mr Clement CHEN

    The Federation of HK Cotton Weavers

    Mr Sam T S CHEN
    Vice Chairman

    HK Cotton Made-up Goods Manufacturers Association

    Mr Peter PANG
    Vice Chairman

    The HK Weaving Mills Association

    Mr LUI Chun-fan
    Vice President

    HK Chinese Textile Mills Association

    Mr PANG Woon-tong

    Hong Kong Electroplating Trade Merchants Association

    Mr LAM Kit-to
    Representatives of Employees

    The Neighbourhood and Workers Service Center

    LEE Wing-ka
    Executive Officer

    Clothing Industry Clerical and Retail Trade Employees’ General Union

    CHEUNG Lai-hai
    Executive Officer

    CHAN Ka-lan

    CHAN Wai-ling

Clerk in Attendance :

    Mrs Mary TANG
    Chief Assistant Secretary (2)4

Staff in Attendance :

    Miss Anita HO
    Assistant Legal Adviser 2
    Miss Joanne MAK
    Senior Assistant Secretary 2(4)

I. Matters arising

The Chairman informed that the Administration had been unable to provide information on the distribution of the 125 lay-off cases by nature of employment and number of lay-off days as requested by members at the last meeting.

II. Meeting with employer/employee groups

Views of employers’ groups

2. On behalf of the Bills Committee, the Chairman welcomed the representatives from 17 trade associations and also those from the employees’ groups to the meeting.

3. Representatives of the 17 trade associations were unanimously opposed to the Bill and made the following points -

  1. Representatives stated that the problem of underemployment was only confined to the "sunset" industries. The proposed legislative amendment would only polarize the relationship between the employers and employees and have an adverse impact on the financial viability of the small manufacturing industries. In the end it would speed up the closing down of the "sunset" industries and jeopardize the employment opportunities in Hong Kong;

  2. The long-term solution to help workers suffering from underemployment should be by re-training;

  3. Production from time to time was forced to suspend temporarily due to unforeseen circumstances or seasonal fluctuations. By the current lay-off provision, flexibility had been provided for employers to tide over these periods without having to dismiss their workers;

  4. Based on Government information, the underemployment rate had been declining since 1990 and the problem was not so serious to call for amendment of the lay-off provision;

  5. There had been much concern about the lack of consultation with the Labour Advisory Board (LAB) where the interests of both the employers and employees’ groups were represented. This had discredited the well-established tripartite system of LAB which provided a forum for discussion amongst employers, employees and the Government; and

  6. The existing lay-off provision which ensured an income of two-thirds of the monthly wages during a period of 26 weeks for the workers had stricken a balance of interest between them and the employers and thus should be upheld.

4. Some representatives also considered that the Bill did not take into account the difficulties faced by their respective industries. Mr Patrick CHAN of the Hong Kong Construction Association explained that the construction industry was specially prone to inclement weather such as rainy days and typhoons. With the passage of the proposed Bill, Mr CHAN believed that more workers would ask for lay-off during periods of prolonged inclement weather, or when there was suspension of work caused by delayed supply of construction materials. The anticipated increase in claims for severance payments would add on to the construction cost and would in turn push up property prices. Overall speaking, it would have an adverse impact on the Hong Kong economy.

5. In response to Mr LEUNG Yiu-chung’s question, Mr CHAN explained that although sub-contracting system was generally adopted in the construction industry, employment on a monthly salary basis was also common especially for large construction projects.

6. As regards the Hong Kong garment industry, Dr Harry LEE of the Hong Kong Garment Manufacturers Association explained that in order to keep up the competitiveness of the industry, it was essential to keep a pool of skilled workers at all times. Dr LEE stressed the need for quick response and flexibility in upkeeping the competitiveness of the Hong Kong garment industry, where the workers’ wage rate (HK$160 to $200 per day) was much higher than that in the nearby countries (US$1.5 per day). As the Bill would increase the labour cost, it would be difficult to maintain the pool of workers at all times to meet operational needs.

7. Mr Jay LEUNG of the same Association added that there had already been extra costs incurred by various legislative amendments made to labour laws from time to time. He opined that members should take these into account in considering the financial implications of the Bill.

8. Mr Clement CHEN of the Hong Kong Cotton Spinners Association pointed out that once the staff were laid off at slack seasons, it would be difficult to recruit them again at peak seasons. Therefore, the enactment of the Bill would bring about operational problems to the employers.

9. Mr Willy LIN of Hong Kong Knitwear Exporters & Manufacturers Association explained that the textile industry was so closely connected with the manufacturers in China that their protracted holidays of the Lunar year would hold up to a large extent the local production. Therefore, if the Bill was passed, most of these knitwear factories would have to close down during the Chinese New Year since suspension of work was quite common then.

10. Mr Peter PANG of the Hong Kong Cotton Made-up Goods Manufacturers Association reiterated that under-provision of work was due to many factors beyond the employers’ control. He pointed out that medium and small scale entrepreneurs, making up of over 90% of the manufacturing sector in Hong Kong, were already facing very heavy fixed overhead costs. Mr John YUNG of the same Association quoted that the number of bleachers and dyers factories had dropped from eight to one since 1983. Passage of the Bill would further increase their production cost and lead to their closedown.

11. Mr LAM Kit-to of the Hong Kong Electroplating Trade Merchants Association pointed out that business of the industry was already on the decline and it would not be able to cope with the increased financial burden posed by the Bill.

12. The representatives of employers’ groups criticized not only the undesirable impact of the Bill but also Mr LEUNG Yiu-chung, Member in charge of the Bill, for not informing the Textile Council of Hong Kong of this meeting since Mr LEUNG was the representative of the textile and clothing sector in the Legislative Council. The Chairman clarified that it was the decision of the Bills Committee to invite only the five major trade associations in the belief that they would further inform their members of this meeting. However, Mr S K CHAN of the Textile Council of Hong Kong opined that Mr LEUNG Yiu-chung had the responsibility of directly informing the Textile Council himself instead of routing information through the Hong Kong General Chamber of Commerce.

13. Mr Andrew LEUNG of the Federation of Hong Kong Industries was of the view that the length of notice of the meeting given to the Federation was too short for it to fully consult its members’ views prior to this meeting. Mr LEUNG requested to reserve the right of expressing opinions of the Federation’s members in writing afterwards.

Views of employees’ group

14. Representatives of workers and labour unions expressed full support to the Bill. In response to the criticisms raised by representatives of the employers’ group on the Bill, Mr LEE Wing-ka of the Neighbourhood and Workers Service Centre rebutted by saying that any labour legislation aimed at improving workers’ welfare would inevitably increase production cost. He pointed out that many piece-rated workers had suffered from prolonged periods of under-provision of work and were unable to meet the cost of living. Under existing legislation, workers could only receive half the normal monthly wage equivalent to 12 days’ pay. However, under the proposed provisions of the Bill, workers would at least have 16 days of paid work each month. He considered that employers should not be only concerned about maintaining their competitiveness but should also review the situation from the perspective of employees.

15. Ms CHAN Ka-lan and Ms CHAN Wai-ling, representatives of workers, gave accounts of their experiences of under-provision of work. They claimed that they were generally provided work for only 12 days in a month for the past few years, which had posed great problems to their livelihood. Ms CHAN Ka-lan said that in the past six years, full provision of work had not ever lasted for more than three months. Miss CHEUNG Lai-hai, representative of the Clothing Industry Clerical and Retail Trade Employees’ General Union, supplemented that the problem of under-provision of work was particularly serious in the textile and clothing sector, where the workers generally worked for only five or six hours a day and were idle for most of the time. For the piece-rated workers, their wages earned were inadequate to cover their cost of living. Therefore, many workers preferred to claim for severance payments and look for another job which could provide them with a stable income. She also pointed out that the under-provision of work was mainly due to the relocation of the manufacturing base to China rather than due to delayed supply of raw materials or for any other reasons. She opined that the employers should improve the terms for Hong Kong workers and provide better protection for them since there had been much savings with the relocation of part of the production process to China.

Consultation with LAB

16. The Assistant Commissioner for Labour (Labour Relation) (AC(LR)) explained that the Administration would take the active role of submitting a bill to LAB for discussion only when it was introduced by the Administration. Since the Bill under discussion was introduced by Mr LEUNG Yiu-chung, it would be up to Mr LEUNG, as Member in charge of the Bill to decide whether the Bill should be referred to LAB. With consent given by Mr LEUNG and the Bills Committee, the Administration would make the necessary arrangements for LAB to discuss the Bill.

17. Mr LEUNG Yiu-chung pointed out that at the meeting of the LegCo Panel on Manpower on 1 November 1996, Mr TIEN Pei-chun had already requested the Administration to refer the Bill to LAB. Mr LEUNG said that since he was also present at that meeting and did not raise any objection, his agreement to Mr TIEN’s proposal was clear. However, the Principal Assistant Secretary (Education and Manpower) (PAS(EM) and AC(LR) reiterated that the Bill was a Member’s Bill. The initiative of consulting LAB on the Bill rested with the proposer of the Bill. Therefore, Mr LEUNG had to make a request direct to the Administration or LAB regarding the referral of the Bill to LAB in the first place.

18. Mr Michael HO was dissatisfied with the explanation of the Administration. In particular, he failed to see why the Bills Committee had to deliberate on whether the Bill should be discussed by LAB. He was of the view that the Bills Committee was only responsible for scrutinizing the Bill. After some discussion, AC(LR) agreed that the Bills Committee’s consent was not required. In response to Mr Michael HO, AC(LR) confirmed that the consent of the Member in charge was required if the Bill was to be referred to LAB for deliberation.Adm

19. Upon Mr LEUNG Yiu-chung’s confirmation that he wished LAB to discuss the Bill, AC(LR) undertook to make the arrangements.

III. Legislative timetable

20. Members agreed that further discussions on the Bill should be withheld pending deliberations on the Bill by LAB at its next meeting scheduled for 21 April 1997.

21. The meeting ended at 10:40 am.

Provisional Legislative Council Secretariat
23 July 1997

Last Updated on {{PUBLISH AUTO[[DATE("d mmm, yyyy")]]}}

臨立會CB(2)85號文件
(此份會議紀要業經政府當局審閱並經主席核正)
檔號:CB2/BC/12/96


1996年僱傭(修訂)(第4號)
條例草案委員會
第2次會議紀要

日  期:1997年3月18日(星期二)
時  間:上午8時30分
地  點:立法局大樓會議室B

出席委員 :

    李卓人議員(主席)
    何敏嘉議員
    田北俊議員
    陳榮燦議員
    梁耀忠議員

缺席委員  :

    莫應帆議員
    曾健成議員

出席公職人員:

首席助理教育統籌司
梁悅貿女士
勞工處助理處長
曾健和先生

應邀出席人士:

僱主代表

香港總商會

人力資源委員會主席
潘潤先生
人力資源委員會會員
龍家麟先生

香港工業總會

副主席
梁君彥先生
主任
譚佐平先生

香港中華廠商聯合會

常務會董
劉文煒先生
執行幹事
劉達明先生

香港僱主聯合會

助理經理
林璧瑜女士

香港建造商會

秘書長
陳永桐先生

香港紡織業聯會

榮譽主席
陳瑞球先生
主席
方鏗先生

香港製衣業總商會

主席
陳永棋先生

香港製衣廠同業公會

主席
李乃嬉博士

香港毛織出口商會

主席
林宣武先生

香港羊毛化纖針織業廠商會

主席
陳鴻基先生

香港漂染印整理業總會

主席
關幹華先生

香港棉紡業同業公會

主席
陳鎮仁先生

香港棉織業同業公會

副主席
陳通生先生

香港棉織製成品廠商會

副主席
彭顯璋先生

香港布廠商會

副主席
雷振範先生

香港華商織造總會

主席
彭煥棠先生

港九電鍍業商會

林傑滔先生

僱員代表

街坊工友服務處

幹事
李泳嘉先生

成衣業、文聯及零售業聯工總會

幹事
張麗霞小姐
工人
陳家蘭女士
工人
陳慧玲女士

列席秘書  :

總主任(2)4
鄧曾藹琪女士

列席職員  :

助理法律顧問2
何瑩珠小姐
高級主任(2)4
麥麗嫻小姐



I. 續議事項

主席表示,政府當局未能應議員在上次會議的要求提供 資料,就125個停工過案,按行業性質及停工日數列出
分佈情況。

II. 與僱主/僱員團體會商

僱主團體的意見

2. 主席代表條例草案委員會,歡迎17個行業組織的代表 及僱員團體的代表出席這次會議。

3. 17個行業組織的代表一致反對條例草案,並提出以下
各點 ──

  1. 代表指出只有「夕陽」工業才有就業不足的問題。 擬議的法例修訂只會分化僱主及僱員的關係,並 對小規模製造商的財政狀況造成不利影響,最終 會使「夕陽」工業加快結業,從而危害香港工人
    的就業機會;

  2. 解決問題的長遠方法應是透過再培訓,協助開工
    不足的工人;

  3. 由於有無法預知的情況或季節性的波動,生產有 時被迫暫時停止。根據現行有關停工的條文,僱 主可靈活處理問題,在此期間渡過難關,無須解
    僱員工;

  4. 根據政府的資料,開工不足率自1990年已持續下 降,而問題並非嚴重至有必要修訂有關停工的條
    文;

  5. 代表勞資雙方利益的勞工顧問委員會(下稱「勞顧 會」)並未就此事獲得諮詢,這引起莫大關注。此 擧實不尊重勞顧會行之已久,並讓僱主、僱員及
    政府三方有機會彼此協商的制度;及

  6. 現行有關停工的條文確保工人在26個星期的期間 內,可賺取相等於月薪三分之二的工資。此規定
    已平衡勞資雙方的利益,故此應予以維護。

4. 部分代表亦認為,條例草案並無顧及他們所屬行業所 面對的困難。香港建造商會陳永桐先生解釋,建造業特 別容易受惡劣天氣如下雨及颱風的影響。擬議的條例草 案如獲通過,陳先生相信會有更多工人在天氣持續惡劣 的期間,或在因建築材料供應延誤而有需要暫停工作時 向僱主要求停工。預期申索遣散費的個案會增加,有關 開支會加入建築成本內,從而會推高物業價格。整體而 言,條例草案會對香港經濟造成不利影響。

5. 陳先生回應梁耀忠議員的詢問時解釋,雖然建造業普 遍採用承包制,但僱員按月支薪的情況亦很普遍,尤以
大規模的建築工程為然。

6. 有關香港的成衣業,香港製衣廠同業公會李乃嬉博士 解釋,為使該行業保侍競爭力,實有必要時常保留一批 熟練勞工。李博士強調有需要迅速應變,靈活行事,以 保持香港成衣業的競爭力。現時,業內工人的工資(日薪 160至200港元),遠較鄰近國家工人的工資(日薪1.5美元) 高。由於條例草案會增加勞工成本,因此難以時常保留
一批熟練勞工以應付業務需要。

7. 同一公會的梁軒銘先生補充謂,不時對勞工法例作出 的多項法例修訂已招致額外成本。他認為議員研究條例
草案的財政影響時,應考慮此點。

8. 香港棉紡業同業公會陳鎮仁先生指出,如工人一旦在 淡季被僱主停工,要在旺季再招聘他們將不容易。因此, 條例草案一經制定成為法例,會對僱主帶來經營上的問
題。

9. 香港毛織出口商會林宣武先生解釋,紡織業與中國的 製造商關係非常密切,而他們在農曆新年期間的長假在 很大程度上會令本地生產受阻。因此,如條例草案獲得 通過,大多數此類針織廠會被迫在農曆新年期間結業, 因為停工在此段期間屬相當普遍。

10. 香港棉織製成品廠商會彭顯璋先生重申,由於有種 種僱主無法控制的因素,因此有開工不足的情況。他指 出,香港製造業中,逾九成為中型及小型企業;此等企 業一直面對非常高昂的間接成本。同一廠商會的容可尊 先生引述,本港漂染廠的數目自1983年已由8間減至1間。 條例草案如獲通過,漂染廠的生產成本會進一步增加,
從而促使廠商結業。

11. 港九電鍍業商會林傑滔先生指出,該行業的生意已 漸趨不景,條例草案所帶來的額外財政負擔將使該行業
難以應付。

12. 僱主團體的代表不只批評條例草案所造成的不良影 響,亦批評負責條例草案的梁耀忠議員,謂梁議員身為 代表紡織及製衣業的立法局議員,竟不通知香港紡織業 聯會有此次會議。主席澄清,條例草案委員會決定只邀 請該行業的5大組織出席是次會議,並相信此等組織會 進一步通知轄下成員有關是次會議。香港紡織業聯會陳 瑞球先生認為,梁耀忠議員本身有責任直接通知紡織業
聯會,而非透過香港總商會傳達信息。

13. 香港工業總會梁君彥先生認為,該會在倉猝的情況 下接獲會議預告,以至未能在是次會議前充分徵詢轄下 成員的意見。梁先生要求保留在會後以書面表達該會成
員意見的權利。

僱員團體的意見

14. 工人及勞工團體的代表全力支持條例草案。街坊工 友服務處李泳嘉先生回應僱主團體代表所作批評時反 駁,任何旨在改善工人福利的勞工法例均難免會增加生 產成本。他指出,不少件工長期開工不足,因而無法維 持生計。根據現行法例,工人只可賺取正常月薪一半, 相等於12天的工資。然而,根據條例草案中的擬議條 文,工人每月最少會獲提供16天的有薪工作。他認為, 僱主不應只顧保持其競爭力,亦應從僱員的角度檢討情
況。

15. 工人代表陳家蘭女士及陳慧玲女士講述其開工不足 的經歷。她們聲稱,在過往數年內,每月普遍僅獲提供 12天的工作,因而對其生計帶來莫大問題。陳家蘭女士 表示,在過往6年內,他們從未連續工作超過3個月。成 衣業、文聯及零售聯工總會代表張麗霞小姐補充謂,開 工不足的情況在紡織及製衣業尤為嚴重。業內工人普遍 每天只工作5至6小時,大部分時間均無所事事。至於件 工,他們所賺取的工資不足應付其生活開支。因此,不 少工人屬意申領遣散費,並另覓可以提供固定收入的工 作。她亦指出,工人開工不足,主要因為廠房已遷往中 國,而非因為原料供應延誤或其他因素所致。她認為, 由於部分生產工序已遷往中國,從而節省不少開支,因 此僱主應改善香港工人的待遇,並為他們提供更佳保障。

諮詢勞顧會

16. 助理勞工處處長(勞資關係)解釋,政府當局只會積極 安排將本身提出的條例草案送交勞顧會討論。由於該條 例草案由梁耀忠議員提出,故應否將條例草案送交勞顧 會須由負責條例草案的梁議員決定。經梁議員及條例草 案委員會同意,政府當局會作出所需安排,以便勞顧會
討論該條例草案。

17. 梁耀忠議員指出,1996年11月1日立法局人力事務委 員會會議上,田北俊議員已要求政府當局將條例草案送 交勞顧會。梁議員表示,由於當時他亦在場,又並無提 出反對,故顯然他是贊同田議員的建議。然而,首席助 理教育統籌司及助理勞工處處長(勞資關係)重申,該條 例草案為議員條例草案,就條例草案諮詢勞顧會的主動 權在於條例草案的提出者。因此,梁議員須首先直接向 政府當局或勞顧會提出要求,將條例草案轉交勞顧會商
議。

18. 何敏嘉議員不滿政府當局的解釋,尤其是他不理解 為何條例草案委員會須商討應否由勞顧會討論條例草案。 他認為,條例草案委員會只負責審議條例草案。經若干 時間的討論後,助理勞工處處長(勞資關係)同意無須經 條例草案委員會同意。助理勞工處處長(勞資關係)回應 何敏嘉議員時證實,如條例草案要交由勞顧會商議,則 須先經負責條例草案的議員同意。

19. 經梁耀忠議員證實他希望勞顧會討論條例草案,助 理勞工處處長(勞資關係)答允作出安排。

III. 立法時間表

20. 鑑於勞顧會已編排在1997年4月21日舉行下次會議, 議員同意該會在席上就該條例草案得出商議結論前,條 例草案委員會應暫停進一步討論該條例草案。

21. 會議於上午10時40分結束。


臨時立法會秘書處
1997年7月23日




Last Updated on 9 December 1998