LegCo Paper No. CB(1)358/96-97
(These minutes have been seen by the Administration)
Ref : CB1/PL/MP/1

LegCo Panel on Manpower

Minutes of special meeting held on Friday, 1 November 1996 at 11:00 a.m. in the Chamber of the Legislative Council Building

Members present :
    Hon LAU Chin-shek (Chairman)
    Hon CHEUNG Man-kwong
    Hon James TIEN Pei-chun, OBE, JP
    Hon LEUNG Yiu-chung
Members absent :
    Hon CHAN Yuen-han (Deputy Chairman)
    Hon NGAI Shiu-kit, OBE, JP
    Hon SZETO Wah
    Hon Ronald ARCULLI, OBE, JP
    Dr Hon LEONG Che-hung, OBE, JP
    Hon Frederick FUNG Kin-kee
    Hon Michael HO Mun-ka
    Hon Henry TANG Ying-yen, JP
    Hon LEE Cheuk-yan
    Hon CHAN Wing-chan
    Hon CHENG Yiu-tong
    Hon LAW Chi-kwong
    Hon LEE Kai-ming
    Hon Bruce LIU Sing-lee
    Hon MOK Ying-fan
    Hon TSANG Kin-shing
Public officers attending :
Item I

    Mr Matthew K C CHEUNG, JP
    Deputy Secretary for
    Education and Manpower
    Mr Tony Reynalds
    Principal Assistant Secretary for Education and Manpower
Item II
    Miss Esther LEUNG
    Acting Principal Assistant Secretary
    for Education and Manpower
    Mr TSANG Kin-woo
    Assistant Commissioner for Labour
Clerk in attendance :
    Miss Polly YEUNG
    Chief Assistant Secretary(1)3
Staff in attendance :
    Ms Connie SZE-TO
    Senior Assistant Secretary(1)5

1. Since no quorum was present, members agreed that the meeting would proceed as an informal meeting. The Chairman directed that the meeting would discuss the second item on the agenda first.

I.Outcome of public consultation on discrimination in employment on the ground of age

(LegCo Paper No. CB(1)178/96-97(04), LegCo Brief Ref: EMBCR 1/3231/95 IX)

2.2 At the Chairman’s invitation, Mr Matthew CHEUNG briefed members on the outcome of the public consultation exercise on age discrimination in employment and the way forward for dealing with the issue. He advised that the Administration had decided not to proceed with the legislative approach for the present but would introduce a sustained programme of publicity, public education and self-regulation.

3. Responding to the Chairman’s enquiry about the number of submissions expressing objection to the legislative option, Mr CHEUNG undertook to provide the Panel with a detailed breakdown on the 11 submissions which indicated support for public education. On the 25 submissions which supported the legislative option, Hon James TIEN requested the Administration to provide information on the number of submissions from employer groups, if any, which expressed support for this option.

(Post-meeting note: The breakdown on the 11 submissions for public education was circulated to members vide LegCo Paper No. CB(1)268/96-97)EMB

4.4 While recognising the importance of publicity and education, Hon LEUNG Yiu-chung queried the Administration’s rationale for deferring consideration of the legislative option. He opined that legislation on age discrimination in employment would provide sanctions against discrimination and help to bring about attitudinal change in the community towards employing older persons. Considering the problem of age discrimination in employment pressing and most common in sales/service-oriented occupations, he urged the Administration to conduct independent and objective surveys on an occupational basis to gauge the problem instead of deciding the way ahead purely with reference to the results of the public consultation exercise.

In response, Mr CHEUNG made the following points:

  1. The Administration had not ruled out the legislative option. After considering public views expressed and overseas experience, it had decided to adopt a more prudent approach to first launch an extensive programme of publicity, public education and self-regulation to deal with the matter. The effectiveness of the programme would be reviewed after implementation for a reasonable period of time and the need for legislative measures would then be examined in deciding the way forward.
  2. The public consultation paper was prepared having regard to the findings of the Administration’s surveys, the fact-finding visit to Australia and New Zealand, as well as an independent survey conducted by a tertiary institution. Little evidence of pure age discrimination by employers due to personal prejudice had been found. Although no detailed study on an occupational basis had been carried out, the three surveys on newspaper job advertisements undertaken by the Labour Department (LD) revealed that over 80% of the advertisements did not mention age as a job requirement.
  3. The relatively low response rate to the public consultation paper also suggested that age discrimination in employment was not a pressing issue to the community.

6. On the appropriateness of legislative measures, Hon James TIEN stressed that the issue must be approached with great care. Before contemplating the legislative approach, reference should be made to overseas systems, especially neighbouring Asian countries to which Hong Kong should be broadly comparable. He was concerned about possible over-regulation which would deter foreign investment and undermine Hong Kong’s competitiveness.

7. Sharing the member’s concern, Mr CHEUNG explained the Administration’s views as follows:

  1. It was apparent that discrimination on the ground of age was not considered as such a serious human rights issue as illustrated by the fact that it was not one of the common forbidden grounds in international instruments and a significant number of countries, including the European Community countries, Japan, the Republic of Korea and Singapore did not have specific age discrimination legislation.
  2. Actual experience in some overseas countries had indicated that legislation against age discrimination in employment was not as effective as expected and would neither create nor guarantee jobs. Moreover, there was a real risk of over-regulation and unnecessary litigation. The legislative approach therefore might not work in the interest of employees.
  3. It was very clear from the visits to Australia and New Zealand that legislation was not regarded as a substitute for public education. The Administration considered that for the time being, publicity and education would be a more prudent and effective option in bringing about changes in attitude and perception towards equal opportunities in employment.

8. In reply to members’ enquiries about the publicity, public education and self-regulation programme, Mr CHEUNG advised that a working group established under the Education and Manpower Branch had been entrusted with the task. The programme was expected to commence in early 1997 and the strategy would be worked out very soon. The proposed programme would be substantive and sustained, and consist of promotional and educational activities catering for various sectors of the community. Non-statutory guidelines for employers on how to deal with recruitment and employment issue in a non-age-discriminatory manner would be drawn up following full consultation with employer and employee groups. The Administration was aware of the importance of tripartite participation from employers, employees and the Administration in implementing the programme in order to achieve its objectives and would enlist the support from all parties concerned.

9. The Chairman pointed out that legislation on age discrimination in employment in the USA apparently had no adverse impact on its economy. Summing up the discussion, the Chairman said that since the Administration had taken the non-legislative option, he would proceed with his Member’s Bill on equal opportunities covering family responsibility, sexuality and age which was now awaiting scrutiny by a Bills Committee.

II. Briefing on legislative proposal

Employment (Amendment) (No.4) Bill 1996 - Member’s Bill by Hon LEUNG Yiu-chung

(LegCo Paper No. CB(1) 178/96-97(02) and (03))

10. Since this was an informal meeting, members discussed whether the briefing on the Bill should proceed. Members noted that a Bills Committee had been set up to study the Bill and in order to exchange preliminary views with the Administration, it was agreed that the briefing should proceed and the notes of discussion would be circulated to Panel members for reference.

11. Upon invitation by the Chairman, Hon LEUNG Yiu-chung highlighted the following salient points of his Member’s Bill:

  1. The object of the Bill was to amend the definition of lay-off under the Employment Ordinance (EO). According to existing provisions, an employee was taken to be laid off and with two years’ service, would be entitled to claim severance payment (SP) if the employer failed to provide work or pay on more than half of the total number of normal working days in a period of four consecutive weeks or on more than one-third of the total number of normal working days in a period of 26 consecutive weeks. The Bill proposed that the period of under-provision of work be reduced to one-third and one-fourth for the four-week and 26-week work period respectively.
  2. The Bill aimed at increasing protection for workers, particularly those low-wage earners in the manufacturing industry, to provide them with a reasonable income during a long period of under-provision of work; and to deter employers from evading their obligation to pay SP by providing insufficient work for a prolonged period in an attempt to force workers to resign on their own accord.
  3. Under-provision of work in excess of the statutory requirement per se was not a prosecutable offence under the EO. However, it would trigger off a lay-off situation which would give rise to a right to claim SP. In practice, subject to mutual consent between the employer and the employee, the latter might choose not to exercise his right in which case his employment could continue despite the excessive under-provision of work.

12. The Chairman and some members observed that the arrangement mentioned in para. 11(c) had not been explicitly stated in the Bill and they expressed reservation on whether such an arrangement , which might have the effect of reducing an employee’s rights, was permissible under the EO.

13. Responding to members’ enquiries, Mr TSANG Kin-woo provided the following clarifications:

  1. Under the EO, any term in an employment contract which sought to provide a lower level of benefits would be void.
  2. Under existing provisions of the EO, an employee with not less than two years’ service was entitled to claim SP from the employer under certain situations including lay-off. The LD would remind the employee of his right to claim SP when a lay-off situation arose. In the event of a legitimate claim and an employer who without reasonable excuse failed to pay SP would commit an offence under the EO, the maximum penalty for which was a fine of $100,000 upon conviction.
  3. In case the employee forfeited his right to claim SP and continued working for his employer despite the under-provision of work, it might be difficult for the Administration to take out prosecution against the employer for failure to pay SP because the employee concerned would probably decline to act as prosecution witness.

14. In explaining the Administration’s views on the Bill, Miss Esther LEUNG and Mr TSANG made the following points:

  1. It had been a well-established practice of the Government to draw up legislative proposals on the basis of consensus reached through tripartie discussion amongest employers, employees and Government at the Labour Advisory Board (LAB). The Administration would not support the Bill as it had not gone through this process of tripartite consultation.
  2. The existing lay-off provisions under the EO had assured employees with work or pay for at least two-thirds of the total number of working days in any consecutive period of 26 weeks when there was insufficient work for them to do. Employers were also given sufficient flexibility to tide over difficult periods without having to dismiss their workers. Hence a reasonable balance was struck between the interests of employees and employers.
  3. The Bill would incur additional labour costs to employers and might force them to scale down or even cease their business at times of economic downturn. This would jeopardise the overall employment opportunities for workers.
  4. The Administration would be proposing amendments to the EO to protect employees against unreasonable dismissal and unreasonable variation of contract by employers. Deliberate prolonged under-provision of work by employers might constitute an unreasonable variation of contract for which terminal compensation including SP was payable.
  5. The Law Reform Commission was also exploring legislative proposals under which employers with financial difficulties could seek to retain their staff without having to dismiss them.

15. Members held different views on the Bill. Hon James TIEN expressed concern that the Bill might increase the financial burden of small employers and accelerate the closing down of their business during difficult periods. He urged that the LAB should be consulted on the Bill so that employer and employee groups could have an opportunity to discuss the proposal. Hon CHEUNG Man-kwong commented that the additional labour costs to be borne by employers appeared to be marginal. While he disagreed that only those legislative proposals endorsed by the LAB would merit support, he suggested that when scrutinising the Bill in due course, the Bills Committee should also invite both employer and employee groups to give their views. Concluding the discussion, the Chairman suggested that as the Bills Committee was yet to commence work, Mr LEUNG could give further thought to members’ comments and consult the parties concerned if necessary.

16. The meeting ended at 12:30 p.m.
Legislative Council Secretariat
19 November 1996

Last Updated on 21 August 1998

立法局CB(1)358/96-97號文件
(此份會議紀要業經政府當局審閱)
檔 號:CB1/PL/MP/1


立法局
人力事務委員會
特別會議會議紀要

日  期:一九九六年十一月一日(星期五)
時  間:上午十一時
地  點:立法局會議廳

出席委員 :

    劉千石議員(主席)
    張文光議員
    田北俊議員
    耀忠議員

缺席委員 :

    陳婉嫻議員(副主席)
    倪少傑議員
    司徒華議員
    夏佳理議員
    梁智鴻議員
    馮檢基議員
    何敏嘉議員
    唐英年議員
    李卓人議員
    陳榮燦議員
    鄭耀棠議員
    羅致光議員
    李啟明議員
    廖成利議員
    莫應帆議員
    曾健成議員

出席公職人員 :

項目I

副教育統籌司
張建宗先生
首席助理教育統籌司
李樂善先生

項目II

署理首席助理教育統籌司
梁悅賢小姐
勞工處助理處長
曾健和先生

列席秘書 :

總主任(1)3
楊少紅小姐

列席職員 :

高級主任(1)5
司徒少華女士



由於會議法定人數不足,議員同意會議會以非正式會議 形式進行。主席作出指示,會議會首先討論議程第二項。

I. 有關就業方面的年齡歧視所進行公眾諮
詢的結果

(立法局CB(1)178/96-97(04)號文件,編號為
EMBCR 1/3231/95 IX
的立法局參考資料摘要)

2. 應主席邀請,張建宗先生向議員簡介有關就業方面的 年齡歧視問題公眾諮詢工作的結果及政府日後處理此事 所採取的方針。他表示,政府當局決定暫時不採用立法 方式,但會進行一項持續的宣傳、公眾教育及自我規管
的計劃。

3. 主席詢問反對立例禁止年齡歧視的意見書的數目, 張先生承諾就11份支持公眾教育的意見書向事務委員 會提供詳細的分項資料。至於25份支持立例禁止年齡 歧視的意見書,田北俊議員要求政府當局就支持此方 案的僱主團體(如有的話)的意見書數目提供資料。

(會後補註: 有關支持公眾教育的11份意見書的分項 資料已隨立法局CB(1)268/96-97號文件送 交議員參閱)

4. 雖然梁耀忠議員察悉宣傳及教育的重要性,但他質疑 政府當局有何理據拖延考慮立法禁止年齡歧視的方案。 他認為,有關就業方面的年齡歧視的法例會制裁歧視行 為,並有助改變社會人士對僱用年長人士的態度。梁議 員認為,在銷售/以服務為主的職業中,就業方面的年 齡歧視問題需要急切處理,並且最普遍,他促請當局以 職業為基礎,進行獨立客觀的調查,以便評估該項問題, 而非單靠參考公眾諮詢工作的結果來決定日後採取的方
針。

5. 張先生在回應時提出以下幾點:

  1. 政府當局並未排除有關立法禁止年齡歧視的 方案。當局經考慮公眾人士所表達的意見及 海外國家的經驗後,決定採取較謹慎的做法, 首先推行範圍廣泛的宣傳、公眾教育及自我 規管計劃,以處理此事。計劃實施一段時間 後,當局便會檢討其成效,然後在決定日後 採取的方針時,研究是否有需要採取立法措
    施。

  2. 政府當局根據其進行各項調查的結果、前往 澳洲及新西蘭實地考察及一所高等院校所進 行的獨立調查,擬備該份公眾諮詢文件。調 查結果找到很少證據,證明僱主純粹基於本 身偏見歧視年長人士。雖然當局未以職業為 基礎進行詳細的研究,但勞工處就報章的招 聘廣告進行了三項調查,調查結果顯示,超 過80%的廣告沒有將年齡列為工作條件。

  3. 對於此份諮詢文件,公眾人士的反應頗為冷 淡,顯示本港社會並不認為就業方面的年齡 歧視是一項迫切的問題。

6. 就立法措施是否適當的問題,田北俊議員強調,當局 處理此問題時必須十分謹慎。在考慮採用立法方式前, 當局應參考海外國家的制度,尤其是應參考與香港大致 上類似的鄰近亞洲國家的制度。他關注到,倘作出過分 規管,則會使外國投資者卻步,並會損害香港的競爭力。

7. 張先生同意該位議員所關注的事項,並解釋政府當局
的意見:

  1. 顯然,年齡歧視並未視為嚴重的人權問題, 以下情況可說明此點:國際文件普遍沒有列 明年齡歧視是禁止歧視的項目之一,很多國 家(包括歐洲共同體國家、日本、南韓及新加 坡)均沒有具體的年齡歧視法例。

  2. 部分海外國家的實際經驗顯示,禁止就業方 面年齡歧視的法例未能取得預期成效,同時 亦不能增加或確保就業機會。此外,立法禁 止就業方面的年齡歧視,可能導致過份規管, 並帶來不必要的訴訟。因此,立法方式未必 對僱員有利。

  3. 考察澳洲及新西蘭所得結果清楚顯示,法例 不能取代公眾教育。政府當局認為,在現階 段,宣傳及教育會是較謹慎及有效的方案, 令社會人士對就業方面的平等機會問題改變
    態度及看法。

8. 議員詢問有關宣傳、公眾教育及自我規管計劃的詳情, 張先生在回答時表示,教育統籌科已成立一個工作小組, 並委派該小組負責此計劃。預期計劃將於一九九七年年 初展開,有關策略亦會在短期內予以制訂。擬議計劃內 容充實,並會持續進行,包括宣傳及教育活動,迎合社 會各界的需要。當局經全面諮詢勞資雙方的團體後,會 為僱主訂出一套不具法律效力的指引,說明怎樣招聘及 僱用員工,才可避免出現年齡歧視的情況。政府當局察 悉,為達致其目標,僱主、僱員及當局三方共同參與實 施計劃的工作,是很重要,當局並會爭取有關各方的支
持。

9. 主席指出,美國的禁止就業方面年齡歧視法例顯然對 其經濟沒有負面影響。主席在總結討論時表示,由於當 局採用非立法方案,他會繼續處理其就平等機會(包括家 庭責任、性傾向及年齡)擬備的議員條例草案,該條例草 案會稍後由條例草案委員會審議。

II. 有關立法建議的簡介

1996年僱傭(修訂)(第4號)條例草案 由梁耀忠議員提 出的議員條例草案
(立法局CB(1)178/96-97(02)及(03)號文件)

10. 由於是次會議屬非正式性質,議員商議有關條例草 案的簡介應否繼續進行。議員備悉條例草案委員會業已 成立,以便審議該條例草案,同時,為與政府當局交換 初步意見,議員同意簡介應繼續進行,討論摘錄會送交 事務委員會委員參閱。

11. 應主席邀請,梁耀忠議員重點提及其議員條例草案:

  1. 條例草案的目的在於修訂《僱傭條例》中有 關停工的定義。根據現行條文,如僱主在連
    續4星期內有超過這段期間正常工作日總數 一半的日子,或在連續26個星期內有超過 這段期間正常工作日總數三分之一的日子, 沒有為僱員提供工作或薪酬,則該僱員可視 為被停工,如其服務期滿兩年,他會有權申 索遣散費。條例草案建議,分別將4個星期 內開工不足的時間減至三分之一,以及26個
    星期內開工不足的時間減至四分之一。

  2. 條例草案旨在增加對工人的保障,尤以製造業 內的低入息人士為甚,令他們在長期開工不足 的情況下得到合理的入息,並防止僱主藉長期 沒有提供足夠的工作,企圖逼使僱員自動離職, 因而逃避其支付遣散費的責任。

  3. 倘開工不足的日數比法定規定的日數為多,在 本質上,根據《僱傭條例》,這並非屬可檢控 的罪行。不過,此事會導致停工情況,而停工 的情況會產生申索遣散費的權利。事實上,倘 勞資雙方同意,即使嚴重開工不足,後者也可 選擇不行使其權利,而繼續為其僱主工作。

12. 主席及部分議員留意到,第11(c)段所提及的安排並 未在條例中明確訂明,他們對於《僱傭條例》是否容許 此項可能削減僱員權利的安排,持保留意見。

13. 曾健和先生在回應議員的詢問時澄清以下幾點:

  1. 根據《僱傭條例》,僱傭合約內任何條款如 旨在提供較低水平的利益,則該條款會屬無
    效。

  2. 根據《僱傭條例》的現有條文,在若干情況 (包括停工情況)下,倘僱員工作不少於兩年, 則有權向其僱主申索遣散費。勞工處會提醒 僱員,在停工的情況下,他有權申索遣散費。 倘申索的情況合法,而僱主無法支付遣散費, 亦沒有合理理由,則根據《僱傭條例》,即 屬犯罪,如被定罪,最高刑罰為罰款10萬元。

  3. 即使開工不足,倘僱員自動放棄其申索遣散 費的權利,而繼續為其僱主工作,政府當局 如就僱主無法支付遣散費提出檢控,或會遇 到困難,原因是有關僱員可能婉拒擔任控方
    證人。

14. 梁悅賢小姐及曾先生在解釋政府當局對條例草案的 意見時提出以下幾點:

  1. 政府已有一套行之有效的做法,就是所制訂 的立法建議必須以勞工顧問委員會勞資雙方 及政府經三方討論後達成的共識為依歸。由 於該條例草案是在未經三方協商的情況下, 由議員單方面提出的,故政府當局不會支持
    條例草案。

  2. 《僱傭條例》現時有關停工的條文確保僱員 在任何26個星期的期間內沒有足夠工作的 情況下,可獲提供至少相等於其工作日總數 三分之二的工作或薪酬。有關條文亦給予僱 主足夠的靈活性去渡過難關,而無須解僱其 僱員。因此,當局認為有關條文已適當地兼 顧勞資雙方的利益。

  3. 條例草案會增加僱主在工資方面的負擔,並 可能逼使他們在經濟不景時,縮少營業規模, 甚至結束營業。此情況會損害工人的整體就
    業機會。

  4. 政府當局會就《僱傭條例》提出修訂,保障 僱員,令其不會被僱主不合理解僱及不合理 地更改合約。倘僱主故意長期不提供足夠工 作,則可能構成不合理更改合約的情況,僱 主最終須支付的賠償會包括遣散費。

  5. 法律改革委員會亦正在研究各項立法建議, 根據有關建議,財政上出現困難的僱主可繼 續僱用其職員,而無須解僱他們。

15. 議員對該條例草案各持不同意見。田北俊議員關注 到,條例草案可能加重小型公司的財政負擔,並令該等 公司更容易在困境中結束營業。他促請當局就條例草案 諮詢勞工顧問委員會,以便勞資雙方的團體有機會討論 該建議。張文光議員認為,僱主在工資方面負擔的額外 費用似乎很輕微。雖然他不同意只有勞工顧問委員會通 過的立法建議才會值得支持,但他建議,條例草案委員 會稍後審議該條例草案時,亦應邀請勞資雙方的團體表 達意見。主席在總結討論時建議,由於條例草案委員會 尚未展開工作,梁先生可進一步考慮議員的意見,並在 有需要時諮詢有關各方。

16. 會議於下午十二時三十分結束。




Last Updated on 18 August 1998