LegCo Paper No. CB(1)1270/96-97
(These minutes have been seen
by the Administration)
Ref : CB1/PL/MP/1

LegCo Panel on Manpower

Minutes of meeting
held on Tuesday, 18 March 1997, at 2:30 p.m.
in the Chamber of the Legislative Council Building

Members present :

    Hon LAU Chin-shek (Chairman)
    Hon CHAN Yuen-han (Deputy Chairman)
    Hon CHEUNG Man-kwong
    Hon Michael HO Mun-ka
    Hon LEE Cheuk-yan
    Hon CHAN Wing-chan
    Hon LEE Kai-ming
    Hon LEUNG Yiu-chung
    Hon MOK Ying-fan
    Hon TSANG Kin-shing

Members absent :

    Hon NGAI Shiu-kit, OBE, JP
    Hon SZETO Wah
    Hon Ronald ARCULLI, OBE, JP
    Dr Hon LEONG Che-hung, OBE, JP
    Hon Frederick FUNG Kin-kee
    Hon Henry TANG Ying-yen, JP
    Hon James TIEN Pei-chun, OBE, JP
    Hon CHENG Yiu-tong
    Hon LAW Chi-kwong
    Hon Bruce LIU Sing-lee

Public officers attending :

Items IV to VII
Mr Matthew CHEUNG, JP
Deputy Secretary for Education and Manpower
Miss Esther LEUNG
Principal Assistant Secretary for Education and Manpower

Item IV
Mrs Jennie CHOR
Assistant Commissioner for Labour (Employment Services)

Item V
Mr TSANG Kin-woo
Assistant Commissioner for Labour
(Labour Relations)

Item VI
Mrs Clare SIU
Assistant Commissioner for Labour
(Rights and Benefits)

Clerk in attendance :

Miss Polly YEUNG
Chief Assistant Secretary(1)3

Staff in attendance :

Miss Anita HO
Assistant Legal Adviser 5
Mr George CHAN
Senior Assistant Secretary(1)8

I Confirmation of minutes of meeting and matters arising

(LegCo Paper No. CB(1)1082/96-97)

The minutes of the Panel meeting held on 20 January 1997 were confirmed.

II Date and items for discussion for next meeting

2. Members agreed to discuss the following items at the next Panel meeting scheduled for 28 April 1997 at 2:30 p.m.-

  1. Consultative document on "Practical Guidelines for Employers - Eliminating Age Discrimination in Employment";
  2. Briefing on Immigration (Amendment) (No. 2) Bill 1997 (Member’s Bill proposed by Miss CHAN Yuen-han); and
  3. Review on the Occupational Deafness Compensation Scheme.

III Information papers issued since last meeting

(LegCo Paper No. CB(1) 1019/96-97)

3. The Panel noted LegCo Paper No. CB(1) 1019/96-97 which re-circulated an extract from the minutes of the Finance Committee meeting held on 14 February 1997 on the subject of the New Technology Training Scheme.

IV Implementation of the Supplementary Labour Scheme

(LegCo Paper No. CB(1) 1070/96-97(01))

4. The Deputy Secretary for Education and Manpower (DS for E&M) presented the Administration’s paper and members raised concerns on the following issues.

Vetting of applications

5. Members said that the Labour Advisory Board (LAB) should stop vetting applications for importing labour under the Supplementary Labour Scheme (SLS) when the number of approved entry visas reached 2,000. Mr LEE Kai-ming recalled that when the SLS was first proposed, the Administration had set a figure of 5,000 which was later reduced to 2,000 due to opposition from the labour sector. He and some members expected that no more workers would be admitted under the SLS when the number of approved entry visas reached 2,000.

6. In response, DS for E&M stated categorically that the figure of 2,000 was not a ceiling but the trigger point for review and that when the review was being conducted, applications would continue to be processed. He disagreed with some members’ remarks that the Administration had misled them into believing that 2,000 would be the ceiling for the SLS. Referring members to the documents and pamphlets introducing the scheme as well as speeches by the Secretary for Education & Manpower (SEM) at LegCo, DS for E&M said that there had been no indication from the outset that the figure of 2,000 would operate as a ceiling for the SLS.

7. In reply to members’ question on the LAB’s processing of applications, DS for E&M advised that:

  1. although the LAB had supported 509 applications for importing 2,733 workers since the inception of the scheme in February 1996, the actual number of entry visas granted was only 781. There was a time lag between application for imported workers was approved and the relevant visas were approved as employers would need time to recruit the workers; and
  2. LAB had a clearly defined and well established vetting mechanism with high transparency, and each application was considered on its merits. The LAB had all along adhered to two important principles: that priority in employment must be given to local workers and that employers’ needs for imported labour must be realistic and justified.

The review

8. Some members remained skeptical about the review to be conducted. Mr LEE Cheuk-yan warned that chaos might result if employers could continue to submit applications to import labour while the review was in progress. Mr LEUNG Yiu-chung asked if the review could be advanced.

9. DS for E&M clarified as follows:

  1. the review would not take long and was expected to be completed in six weeks or less;
  2. it would be a comprehensive review and would address inter alia members’ concerns about the impact of the scheme on the employment opportunities of local workers, as well as its effect, if any, on wage trends; and
  3. the Administration would abide by its undertaking to review the SLS when 2,000 entry visas were granted. On the basis of the current pace of processing and approving applications, it was estimated that the figure of 2,000 would be reached in a few months and the review would commence there and then.

Other concerns

10. The Chairman considered that the present process of scrutinising and approving visa applications was satisfactory. Nevertheless, he wished to discuss with the LAB on whether there should be a temporary halt on processing applications since pressure was mounting. At his request, the Administration

agreed to provide information on the time lag between endorsement by the LAB and the subsequent visa approval by the Immigration Department in respect of the 781 visas granted since the inception of the SLS up to 28 February 1997, or a more updated figure, if available.

(Post-meeting note: Pursuant to the Chairman’s advice, the Administration has also been requested to provide information on the job types, positions and wages in respect of the visas approved.)

V Briefing on legislative proposals by the Administration :

- Labour Relations (Amendment) Bill 1997

- Trade Unions (Amendment) (No. 2) Bill 1997

- Employment (Amendment) (No. 2) Bill 1997

(LegCo Brief ref EMBCR 6/3051/81 V )

11. DS for E&M introduced salient provisions of the three Bills which formed a legislative package to improve the labour relations system in Hong Kong and statutory protection for employees. He added that many of the proposed provisions sought to give effect to the results of the review conducted by the Administration following the Cathay Pacific Airways strike in 1993. Mr CHAN Wing-chan welcomed the three Bills as a step forward in improving employment protection, particularly the Employment (Amendment) (No. 2) Bill 1997 which would help to reduce unscrupulous manoeuvring by employers.

Labour Relations (Amendment) Bill 1997

12. Members noted that under the proposed amendments, the Commissioner for Labour (C for L) would have greater flexibility in submitting a report on a trade dispute to the Governor in Council and in referring a trade dispute to mediation. Mr. LEE Kai-ming however pointed out that the Administration’s proposal had not included employees’ right to strike whereas this right was provided for in the Basic Law. The Assistant Commissioner for Labour (Labour Relations) (AC for L) (LR) explained that such a provision had not been included due to objection from trade unions and employee representatives at the LAB to the proposed requirement to give prior notice to the employer of the intention to strike. Mr LEE clarified in response, that the employees’ objection was only on the requisite notice of seven days. The Chairman requested the Administration to further consider Mr LEE’s view.


Employment (Amendment) (No. 2) Bill 1997

13;. DS for E&M took the opportunity to clarify that the qualifying service for long service payment (LSP) had not been reduced across the board to two years. The two-year requirement was only the qualifying period for lodging a claim entitlement for remedies in the event of unreasonable dismissal.

14. Mr LEE Cheuk-yan held the view that the five "valid reasons" for dismissal as proposed might provide more excuses for employers to justify the dismissal of their employees, and that there would be practical difficulties for the Labour Tribunal when adjudicating disputed cases. Referring to "the employee’s conduct" being one of the "valid reasons", Mr LEE recalled that the Chinese phrase in the original proposal was "misconduct", and not "conduct". The Chairman agreed that there was substantial difference between the two expressions and suggested that Committee stage amendments should be proposed in due course to remove the ambiguity.


15. AC for L (LR), in response, assured members that practical guidelines would be issued to give examples on what might constitute reasonable/unreasonable termination. However, Mr LEUNG Yiu-chung anticipated greater predicament for workers because of the five "valid reasons". He suggested that as practical guidelines were not legally binding, the C for L should prescribe a code of practice similar to the one under the Sex Discrimination Ordinance. At the Chairman’s request, ALA5 would confirm whether the C for L was empowered under the Employment Ordinance (EO) to issue codes of practice with legal effect.


16. On reinstatement, Mr CHEUNG Man-kwong suggested that the court should be empowered to order for reinstatement even in the absence of mutual consent. Where an employer refused to reinstate the employee, he should be required to pay a higher level of terminal payments. In reply, AC for L (LR) explained the Administration’s proposals as follows:

  1. mutual consent was necessary for reinstatement because of the need to maintain good labour relations;
  2. a court order on reinstatement could serve to preserve the continuity of employment;
  3. in the UK, reinstatement had been ordered in respect of only 1% of the cases adjudicated by the Industrial Relations Tribunal; and
  4. the Administration would consider the need for imposing penalties on employers for non-compliance of a re-instatement or re-engagement order in the light of operational experience.

In this connection, the Chairman reminded members that issues related to compulsory versus voluntary reinstatement had been discussed at length by the Panel at the last meeting.

VI Review of sex discriminatory protective provisions under the

Women and Young Persons ( Industry ) Regulations

(LegCo Paper No. CB(1) 1091/96-97(01)

LegCo Paper No. CB(1) 1091/96-97(02))

17. The Deputy Chairman introduced her paper and expressed dissatisfaction on the lack of public consultation on the Administration’s proposal to remove the protective provisions under the Women and Young Persons (Industry) Regulations (WYP(I)R). She also stressed that protection of women was one of the important objectives of the Sex Discrimination Ordinance (SDO) and that this positive element of the SDO must not be overlooked.

18. In reply, DS for E&M and Assistant Commissioner for Labour (Rights and Benefits) (AC for L) (RB) elaborated the Administration’s position as follows:

  1. women workers’ well being would not be jeopardised as a result of removal of the restrictive provisions under the WYP(I)R as there were existing and forthcoming statutory provisions to accord general protection to both men and women workers. In fact, some women’s groups held the view that certain provisions under the WYP(I)R were too restrictive and had barred women from jobs which they were capable of performing;
  2. consultation with the medical profession had revealed that apart from pregnancy, women were not particularly susceptible; and
  3. pending availability of information on overseas practices and the Government Economist’s analysis, the Administration had not decided whether there were justifications for extending regulation on hours of work to cover both sexes in some or all economic sectors. There would be wide consultation should any proposals be formulated.

19. Mr LEE Cheuk-yan felt that the proposed repeal of the protective provisions under the WYP(I)R was regressive and that the Administration’s study should precede any decision to remove these provisions. In reply, AC for L (RB) explained that the proposed legislative amendments and the major study had been undertaken concurrently, though the latter necessarily took more time. She also informed members that the Equal Opportunities Commission (EOC) took the view that the restrictive provisions under the WYP(I)R should be removed.

20. In this connection, Mr LEUNG Yiu-chung urged that protection should be provided to men as well as women, citing a complaint from male workers for having to work continuously for 72 hours. He suggested that in the WYP(I)R, where reference was made to women in the context of protection, the reference could be extended to workers generally. He sought sight of the advice of the EOC referred to by AC for L (RB). The Chairman advised that the Panel would approach the EOC direct for a written statement on its stand. If possible, the EOC would also be requested to provide the Panel with a copy of its written advice given to the Labour Department.


VII Any Other Business

Briefing on Employment (Amendment) (No. 4) Bill 1997

21. Mr MOK Ying-fan briefed members on his Member’s Bill. DS for E&M advised that on the subject of paternity leave, there were neither provisions nor standards under the International Labour Conventions. The proposed bill would entail a drastic and fundamental change to the EO and would have costs implications for employers. Even in Malaysia, which Mr MOK had referred to, paternity leave was only available to civil servants and was subject to more stringent restrictions. Moreover, as a matter of principle, the Administration would not support legislative proposals which had not been considered by the LAB. In this connection, the Chairman suggested and Mr MOK agreed to refer his bill to the LAB for deliberation.

Mr. MOK/

Employment (Amendment) (No. 3) 1997

22. The Chairman tabled for members’ information a copy of his brief on the captioned Bill which sought to include 1 May as a statutory holiday. Commenting on the Bill, DS for E&M advised that the Administration had reservations in view of the imminence of the date of 1 May and that the private sector would be affected in the areas of production plans, operating schedules and business costs, etc. He pointed out that even without the Chairman’s proposed amendments, an employer could still designate 1 May as one of the floating holidays currently provided for under the EO. He further reminded the meeting that the LAB had not been consulted on the proposal.

23. In reply to Mr LEE Cheuk-yan, DS for E&M confirmed that 1 and 2 July and 1 October would be statutory holidays under the EO. As regards some members’ enquiry on the legislative timetable, he said that the Administration would introduce the necessary legislative amendments at the appropriate time.

24. The meeting ended at 4:50 pm.

Legislative Council Secretariat
24 April 1997

Last Updated on 21 August 1998

立法局CB(1)1270/96-97號文件
(此份會議紀要業經政府當局審閱)
檔 號:CB1/PL/MP/1


立法局
人力事務委員會
會議紀要

日  期:一九九七年三月十八日(星期二)
時  間:下午二時三十分
地  點:立法局大樓會議廳

出席委員 :

    劉千石議員(主 席)
    陳婉嫻議員(副主席)
    張文光議員
    何敏嘉議員
    李卓人議員
    陳榮燦議員
    李啟明議員
    梁耀忠議員
    莫應帆議員
    曾健成議員

缺席委員 :

    倪少傑議員
    司徒華議員
    夏佳理議員
    梁智鴻議員
    馮檢基議員
    唐英年議員
    田北俊議員
    鄭耀棠議員
    羅致光議員
    廖成利議員

出席公職人員:

議程項目IV至VII

副教育統籌司
張建宗先生
首席助理教育統籌司
梁悅賢小姐

議程項目IV

勞工處助理處長(就業服務)
左陳翠玉女士

議程項目V

勞工處助理處長(勞資關係)
曾健和先生

議程項目VI

勞工處助理處長(僱員權益)
蕭何嘉玉女士

列席秘書 :

總主任(1)3
楊少紅小姐

列席職員 :

助理法律顧問5
何瑩珠小姐
高級主任(1)8
陳權森先生



I. 確認通過會議紀要及續議事項

(立法局CB(1)1082/96-97號文件)

事務委員會一九九七年一月二十日的會議紀要獲得確認
通過。

II. 下次會議日期及討論事項

2. 議員同意於一九九七年四月二十八日下午二時三十分 擧行的下次事務委員會會議討論以下事項:

  1. 《僱傭實務指引 消除就業方面的年齡歧視》
    諮詢文件;

  2. 簡介1997年人民入境(修訂)(第2號)條例草案
    (由陳婉嫻議員提交的議員條例草案);及

  3. 檢討職業性失聰補償計劃。

III. 自上次會議擧行至今發出的資
料文件

(立法局CB(1)1019/96-97號文件)

3. 事務委員會察悉,立法局CB(1)1019/96-97號文件再度 發出一九九七年二月十四日財務委員會會議紀要有關新 科技培訓計劃的摘錄,供議員參閱。

IV. 補充輸入勞工計劃的實施情況

(立法局CB(1)1070/96-97(01)號文件)

4. 副教育統籌司介紹政府當局的文件,議員對下列事項
表示關注。

申請的審批

5. 議員稱,勞工顧問委員會(下稱「勞顧會」)應在經批 核的入境簽證數目達到2 000時,停止審批根據補充輸入 勞工計劃(下稱「該計劃」)提出的申請。李啟明議員記 起當該計劃最初提出時,政府當局將有關數字訂為5 000, 其後因勞工界的反對減為2 000。他及部分議員預計, 當已批核的入境簽證數目達到2 000時,不會再有工人 按照該計劃被准許入境。

6. 副教育統籌司在回應時強烈否認2 000的數字是一個上 限,該數字只是引發檢討的起點。即使檢討在進行中, 當局亦會繼續處理申請個案。他不同意部分議員的意見, 該等議員認為政府當局誤導他們,使他們相信2 000的數 目是該計劃的上限。副教育統籌司向議員提及介紹該計 劃的文件及小冊子,以及教育統籌司在立法局的演辭, 他表示,從開始便沒有跡象顯示,2 000的數目會作為該
計劃的上限。

7. 有議員問及勞顧會處理申請的情況,副教育統籌司在
回答時表示:

  1. 雖然勞顧會自該計劃於一九九六年二月開始實施 以來,共支持509宗申請,所涉及輸入工人有2 733 名,但當局實際上發出的簽證數目只有781份。批 准輸入工人的申請和簽發有關簽證兩者之間存有時 間差距,因為僱主需要時間招聘工人;及

  2. 勞顧會的審核機制清明確,並行之以久,亦具高 透明度。該會會按照每宗申請的個別情況予以考慮。 勞顧會一直以來均遵守兩大原則:將就業優先權給 予本地工人,而僱主對輸入勞工的需求必須實際而
    合理。

檢討

8. 部分議員對將會進行的檢討表示有所懷疑。李卓人議 員作出警告,謂當檢討進行時,倘僱主可繼續提交輸入 工人的申請,這會導致混亂的情況。梁耀忠議員詢問可 否將檢討提前進行。

9. 副教育統籌司提出以下數點,以作澄清:

  1. 此項檢討不會耗時太久。當局初步估計此項 檢討會於六個星期或少於六個星期內完成;

  2. 此項檢討將會是全面的檢討,亦針對多項問 題,包括議員的關注事項,即該計劃對本地 工人就業機會的影響;以及該計劃對薪酬趨 勢的影響(若有的話);及

  3. 政府當局會遵守其承諾,當批出2 000張入境 簽證後,對該計劃進行檢討。根據現時處理 及批准申請的速度,估計在數月內會達到2 000
    的數字,而該項檢討會隨即展開。

其他關注事項

10. 主席認為現時審查及批出簽證申請的程序令人滿意。 然而,鑑於反對壓力增加,他希望與勞顧會討論應否暫 停處理申請。應主席要求,政府當局同意就以下事項提 供資料:就該計劃開始後截至一九九七年二月二十八日 止批出的781張簽證(又或當局備有的較新數字)而言,自 勞顧會通過申請後至入境處批出簽證之間的時間距離。

(會後補註: 按主席指示,已要求政府當局提供有關 已批出的簽證的工作類別、職位及工資
的資料。)

V. 政府當局簡介立法建議:

── 1997年勞資關係(修訂)條例草案

── 1997年職工會(修訂)(第2號)條例草案

── 1997年僱傭(修訂)(第2號)條例草案

(立法局參考資料摘要 檔號:EMBR 6/3051/81V)

11. 副教育統籌司介紹該三條條例草案的主要條文,該三 條條例草案是當局提出的一套立法建議,旨在改善本港 的勞資關係制度及對僱員的法定保障。他補充,一九九 三年國泰航空公司發生罷工事件後,政府當局作出檢討, 現時多項擬議的條文旨在落實該項檢討所得的結果。陳 榮燦議員對該三條條例草案有助改善僱傭保障表示歡迎。 特別是1997年僱傭(修訂)(第2號)條例草案,陳議員認為 該條例草案可減少不良僱主的違法行為。

1997年勞資關係條例草案

12. 議員察悉,根據擬議的修訂,容許勞工處處長在向總 督會同行政局提交勞資糾紛報告,及將勞資糾紛轉介進行 調停方面,具有更大的靈活性。然而,李啟明議員指出, 政府當局的建議未有包括僱員罷工的權利,而《基本法》 卻已訂明此項權利。勞工處助理處長(勞資關係)解釋,當 局未有包括此項條文,是因職工會及勞顧會的僱員代表的 反對。他們反對僱員在意圖罷工前須預先通知僱主的建議。 李議員回應時作出澄清,謂僱員只是反對規定的七天通知 期。主席要求政府當局進一步考慮李議員的意見。

1997年僱傭(修訂)(第2號)條例草案

13. 副教育統籌司藉此機會澄清謂,合資格申領長期服 務金的服務年期並未一律減至兩年。在不合理解僱的情 況下,此項兩年的規定只是符合提出申索補救的合資格
年期。

14. 李卓人議員認為,擬議的五個解僱的「正當理由」 可能會為僱主製造更多藉口,為解僱其僱員提供支持理 由;而勞資審裁處對有爭議的個案作出裁決時,可能會 遇到實際困難。李議員提到「該僱員的行為」屬其中一 個「正當理由」時,記起原先的建議所用的中文字眼為 「不當行為」,而不是「行為」。主席同意該兩詞有實 質上的差別,他並建議應在適當時候提出委員會審議階 段修正案,以消除此含糊之處。

15. 勞工處助理處長(勞資關係)回應時向議員保證,當局 會發出實務指引,擧例解釋構成合理/不合理終止僱傭 合約的可能情況。然而,梁耀忠議員預期此五個「正當 理由」會使工人陷入更大困境。他建議,鑑於實務指引 並無法律約束力,所以勞工處處長應訂出一套實務守則, 類似根據《性別歧視條例》所訂的實務守則。應主席請 求,助理法律顧問5會核實按照《僱傭條例》勞工處處長 是否獲授權訂出具法律效力的實務守則。

16. 有關復職的問題,張文光議員建議,法院應獲授權, 即使在沒有雙方同意的情況下,亦可發出復職命令。倘 僱主拒絕准許該僱員復職,應規定僱主須支付更多的終 止僱傭金。勞工處助理處長(勞資關係)回答時對政府當 局的建議作出如下的解釋:

  1. 復職須獲雙方同意的原因是為維持良好的勞
    資關係;

  2. 法院發出的復職命令可保持就業的延續性;

  3. 在英國,經由勞資審裁處裁決的個案中,只 有約1%的個案涉及發出復職命令;及

  4. 政府當局會根據實施情況,考慮應否需要對 不遵從復職或再次聘用的命令的僱主施加更
    重刑罰。

就此方面,主席提醒議員,有關強制或自願的復職所涉 及的問題,已於事務委員會上次會議中詳細討論。

VI. 檢討《婦女及青年(工業)規例》
中帶有歧視成份的保障條文

(立法局CB(1)1091/96-97(01)號文件)
(立法局CB(1)1091/96-97(02)號文件)

17. 副主席介紹她所擬備的文件,她表示不滿政府當局 在提出建議,撤銷《婦女及青年(工業)規例》(下稱「該 規例」)中的保障條文時,沒有充分徵詢公眾的意見。她 強調,保障婦女是《性別歧視條例》中重要的目的之一, 而該條例中此項正面的成份實不容忽視。

18. 副教育統籌司及勞工處助理處長(僱員權益)回應時詳 述政府當局的立場如下:

  1. 撤銷該規例中的限制性條文不會損害婦女的 福利,因為本港現有及行將制定的法定條文 可為男性及女性僱員提供一般的保障。其實, 某些婦女團體的意見是該規例下的某些條文 限制性過大,以致防礙婦女從事她們可以勝
    任的工作;

  2. 諮詢醫學界的結果顯示,除懷孕外,婦女並
    非特別容易受傷;及

  3. 政府當局仍等待外國慣例的資料及政府經濟 師的分析,所以尚未決定倘擴大工作時間的 規管範圍,以涵蓋男性及女性,並在若干或 所有經濟界別中實施,是否合理。倘制訂任
    何建議,當局會進行廣泛諮詢。

19. 李卓人議員認為擬議廢除該規例的保障性條文是倒 退的做法,而政府當局在作出決定撤銷該等條文前,應 進行研究。勞工處助理處長(僱員權益)回答時解釋,建 議的立法修訂及大型研究是同時進行的,雖然後者所需 時間會較多。她亦告知議員,平等機會委員會的意見是 該規例下的限制性條文應予撤除。

20. 就此方面,梁耀忠議員促請當局對男性及女性工人均 應給予保障。他引述一宗投訴個案,當中男性工人投訴 須連續工作72小時。他建議在該規例中凡有關保障的條 文,倘提到女性時,應將涵蓋範圍擴大至所有工人。他 希望可以閱覽勞工處助理處長提到有關平等機會委員會 的書面意見,主席表示會直接聯絡該委員會並要求該委 員會提交立場書。如有可能的話,事務委員會要求該委 員會提供曾給予勞工處的意見書的副本。

VII. 其他事項

簡介1997年僱傭(修訂)(第4號)條例草案

21. 莫應帆議員向議員簡介其議員條例草案。副教育統籌 司表示,《國際勞工公約》內並無載有關於侍產假這方 面的條文或標準。建議的條例草案會對《僱傭條例》造 成急劇及重大的改變,對僱主亦有成本影響。即使在莫 議員提及的馬來西亞,只有公務員才可享有侍產假,他 們並須接受若干更為嚴格的限制。此外,基於原則問題, 政府當局不會支持任何未經勞顧會考慮的立法建議。就 此方面,主席作出建議,並獲得莫議員同意,將該條例 草案交由勞顧會商議。

1997年僱傭(修訂)(第3號)條例草案

22. 主席在席上提交其為上述條例草案擬備的參考資料摘 要,供議員參閱。該條例草案旨在將五月一日列為法定 假期。副教育統籌司評論此條例草案時表示政府當局有 所保留,原因是五月一日的日子迫近,私營機構的生產 計劃、經營時間及商業成本等方面均會受到影響。他指 出,即使沒有主席所提出的修訂,僱主仍可將五月一日 指定為《僱傭條例》現時所訂的浮動假期之一。他再向 與會人士指出,此項建議並未諮詢勞顧會。

23. 副教育統籌司回答李卓人議員的詢問時證實,根據 《僱傭條例》,七月一日及二日,並十月一日,都是法 定假期。至於部分議員詢問立法時間表的問題,他表示 政府當局會於適當時間提出所需的立法修訂。

24. 會議於下午四時五十分結束。


立法局秘書處
一九九七年四月二十四日




Last Updated on 18 August 1998