PLC Paper No. CB(1)23/97-98
(These minutes have been seen by the
Administration and cleared with the Chairman)
Ref : CB1/PL/MP/1

LegCo Panel on Manpower

Minutes of meeting
held on Friday, 20 June 1997,
at 9:00 am in the Chamber of
the Legislative Council Building

Members present :
    Hon LAU Chin-shek (Chairman)
    Hon CHAN Yuen-han (Deputy Chairman)
    Hon CHEUNG Man-kwong
    Hon Michael HO Mun-ka
    Hon LEE Cheuk-yan
    Hon CHAN Wing-chan
    Hon LEE Kai-ming
    Hon MOK Ying-fan

Members absent :

    Hon NGAI Shui-kit, OBE, JP
    Hon SZETO Wah
    Hon Ronald ARCULLI, OBE, JP
    Dr Hon LEONG Che-hung, OBE, JP
    Hon Frederick FUNG Kin-kee
    Hon Henry TANG Ying-yen, JP
    Hon James TIEN Pei-chun, OBE, JP
    Hon CHENG Yiu-tong
    Hon LAW Chi-kwong
    Hon LEUNG Yiu-chung
    Hon Bruce LIU Sing-lee
    Hon TSANG Kin-shing

Public officers attending :

For Items II and III

Mr Matthew CHEUNG
Deputy Secretary for Education and Manpower
Ms Esther LEUNG
Principal Assistant Secretary for Education and Manpower
Mr Tony Reynalds
Principal Assistant Secretary for Education and Manpower

For Item III

Mr TSANG Kin-woo
Assistant Commissioner for Labour
Miss Michelle TSANG
Senior Assistant Solicitor General
Basic Law Unit
Attorney General’s Chambers

Clerk in attendance :

Miss Polly YEUNG
Chief Assistant Secretary (1)3

Staff in attendance :

Miss Connie FUNG
Assistant Legal Adviser 3
Ms Karen WONG
Senior Assistant Secretary (1)9

I Information papers issued since the last meeting

The Panel noted that no paper on general subjects had been issued since the last meeting.

II Review on vocational training and retraining services

(LegCo Paper No. CB(1)1805/96-97(01) and (02))

2. The Deputy Secretary for Education and Manpower (DS for E&M) presented the paper on the Review of the Employees Retraining Scheme (ERS). In the ensuing meeting, members deliberated on the following issues.

Strategic manpower planning and training development

3. Ms CHAN Yuen-han anticipated a significant manpower demand in the construction industry in the next few years upon commencement of a number of infrastructural and housing projects. She enquired on the Administration’s strategic planning, if any, for future manpower supply and the training/retraining policies on helping the unemployed or those who were employed in declining trades to transfer to the construction industry.

4. In reply, DS for E&M said that a detailed study was being conducted to estimate the manpower requirements for the next five years in respect of the construction industry. Moreover, the Joint Working Group mentioned in LegCo Paper No. CB(1)1805/96-97(01) would look into the collaboration of work between the Vocational Training Council (VTC) and the Employees Retraining Board (ERB).

5. Ms CHAN Yuen-han was of the view that the Administration should set up a centralized body to plan and coordinate the transfer of manpower from declining trades to trades with a significant manpower demand. In response, DS for E&M cautioned against possible interference with the free-market economy of Hong Kong and explained that as the labour demand in different skill sectors varied from time to time, it was important to devise a flexible and robust mechanism to respond to the changing needs of the market. Such a mechanism should provide different training opportunities for workers. In the Review of the ERS, it was recommended that the ERB would provide General Skills Courses while the VTC would conduct Skills Upgrading Courses. In addition, follow-up work including counselling would also be offered.

6. Mr LEE Cheuk-yan commented that the two reviews were mainly management reviews and did not contain any recommendation on the strategy on future manpower planning. Referring to the Administration’s five-year manpower forecast up to the year 2001, he urged the Administration to conduct similar forecasts on different trades so that the ERB and the VTC could plan their future training on the basis of the forecast information.

7. In reply, DS for E&M said that manpower surveys on various industries were conducted by the relevant training boards of the VTC on a biennial basis. On the basis of the survey reports, the ERB would plan their training courses accordingly. In fact, in the Review of the VTC, it was recommended that the VTC’s ability to conduct manpower surveys should be strengthened. He said that the "Manpower Revisited" document compiled by the Education & Manpower Branch would be updated according to the latest population survey and this was expected to be completed early next year.

Placement-tied payment system

8. Mr CHAN Wing-chan opined that the placement-tied payment system might be unfair to training bodies as placement results were contingent on many factors which were not within their control. Besides, he cautioned that in order to achieve the requisite placement rate, training bodies might set stringent admission criteria to screen out applicants who might stand a low chance of placement. DS for E&M stressed the importance of setting appropriate performance indicators and confirmed that the Employees Retraining Board would devise flexible and viable arrangements in consultation with training bodies. Mr CHAN suggested that reference to the attendance rates of the trainees could be used as one of the yardsticks in determining funding. DS for E&M agreed to convey this to the ERB for consideration.

Retraining allowance and fee-charging system

9. Mr LEE Cheuk-yan stressed that the retraining allowance should not be reduced or cancelled as this would remove the incentive for retraining. He also pointed out that the fee-charging system was not cost-effective as he was aware that some retrainees who had enrolled had subsequently withdrawn because of the imposed fees. In reply, DS for E&M said that the fee-charging system was actually proposed by some retraining bodies with a view to preventing possible abuse of the allowance. He said that the fee-charging system would not create hardship on retrainees as the unemployed or low-income earners could claim refund of fees after they had attained an attendance rate of 80%.

Other concerns

10. Members enquired whether the Joint Working Group would become a standing working group and expressed concerns about future coordination between the ERB and the VTC. They also sought clarifications on the long-term financing arrangements of the ERB. DS for E&M replied that the Joint Working Group was intended to be a standing working group tasked with the bridging-over arrangements between the ERB and the VTC. He also informed the meeting that there was overlapping membership of the VTC and the ERB which would hopefully enhance smooth coordination of the work of the two bodies. On the financing of the ERB, DS for E&M agreed that a long-term plan had to be worked out but said that at present, the ERB had sufficient funds to meet its running costs for the next two to three years.

11. In reply to members’ question on the difference between the On-the-job Training Scheme (OJT) and Skills Upgrading Courses (SUC), DS for E&M explained that the OJT aimed at encouraging employers to employ retrainees by making financial reimbursements to employers. On the other hand, the SUC aimed at providing training for workers already in employment so as to upgrade their skills. Members noted that the OJT was currently under review with a view to including ‘on-the-job attachment’ as part of the retraining programs to tie in with the proposed phasing out of the OJT.

III Employees’ right to strike

(LegCo Paper No. CB(1)1805/96-97(03) & (04), CB(1)1654/96-97(02) and Chinese version of the Administration’s paper tabled at the meeting and subsequently circulated vide CB(1)1897/96-97)

12. Members noted that according to the Administration’s paper, employees already enjoyed a de facto right to strike. However, in reality, employees who went on strike would lose their entitlement to all terminal compensation. They argued that under the existing provisions, employees only had the freedom but not the right to strike. In response, the Senior Assistant Solicitor General (SASG) explained that at present, there was no law prohibiting or restricting the freedom and liberty to strike. In other words, it could be said that the right to strike being enjoyed by employees was almost unrestricted. However, members argued that if such a right was not formally legislated, employees could not enjoy the right in full.

13. At the invitation of the Chairman, Assistant Legal Adviser 3 (ALA3) advised as follows:

  1. according to Article 27 of the Basic Law, Hong Kong residents should have the right and freedom to strike. Freedom of strike should be distinguished from the right to strike. Despite their freedom of strike, employees were not exempted from the legal consequences of strike action. On the other hand, the right to strike would confer on employees greater employment protection and the right to seek remedies if necessary;

  2. Article 27 of the Basic Law did not require implementation of the right to strike through legislation. This was different from Articles 23 and 39 of the Basic Law which required certain acts and relevant provisions in human rights covenants be implemented through legislation. As such, the absence of legislation on the right to strike might not constitute contravention of Article 27 of the Basic Law; and

  3. employees might rely on Article 27 of the Basic Law to exercise their right to strike but the ultimate authority in determining the lawfulness or otherwise of certain strike action rested with the court.

14. Noting that according to Article 39 of the Basic Law, the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (ICESCR) and International Labour Conventions as applied to Hong Kong should remain in force and be implemented through the laws of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, Mr LEE Cheuk-yan considered that legislation should be made to implement workers’ right to strike as stated in Article 8 of the said Covenant. In response, ALA3 clarified that the provision on the right to strike in Article 8 of the ICESCR was not applicable to Hong Kong. However, Mr LEE further pointed out that the provisions which were applicable to Hong Kong in the International Labour Convention No. 87 contained implied provision on the right to strike. Nevertheless, he would conduct further research on the implementation of the right to strike in different countries and continue to urge the Administration to enact relevant laws.

15. Ms CHAN Yuen-han expressed support for the proposal to legislate on the right to strike. Mr CHEUNG Man-kwong and Mr Michael HO Man-ka, on behalf of the Democratic Party, also supported the proposal of Mr LEE Cheuk-yan. They were of the view that employees’ right to strike should be protected by law and employees should not face any adverse legal consequences as a result of strike action.

16. The meeting ended at 10:40 am.

Provisional Legislative Council Secretariat
10 July 1997

Last Updated on 21 August 1998

臨立會CB(1)23/97-98號文件
(此份會議紀要業經政府當局審閱並經主席核正)
檔 號: CB1/PL/MP


立法局
人力事務委員會
會議紀要

日  期:一九九七年六月二十日(星期五)
時  間:上午九時
地  點:立法局會議廳

出席委員 :

    劉千石議員(主席)
    陳婉嫻議員(副主席)
    張文光議員
    何敏嘉議員
    李卓人議員
    陳榮燦議員
    李啟明議員
    莫應帆議員

缺席委員  :

    倪少傑議員
    司徒華議員
    夏佳理議員
    梁智鴻議員
    馮檢基議員
    唐英年議員
    田北俊議員
    鄭耀棠議員
    羅致光議員
    梁耀忠議員
    廖成利議員
    曾健成議員

出席公職人員:

議程項目II及III

副教育統籌司
張建宗先生
首席助理教育統籌司
梁悅賢女士
首席助理教育統籌司
李樂善先生

議程項目III

勞工處助理處長
曾健和先生
律政署高級助理律政專員
曾憲薇小姐

列席秘書  :

總主任(1)3
楊少紅小姐

列席職員  :

助理法律顧問3
馮秀娟小姐
高級主任(1)9
黃穗雲女士



I. 自上次會議擧行至今發出的資料
文件

事務委員會察悉,自上次會議擧行至今並無就一般事項
發出任何文件。

II. 職業訓練及再培訓服務的檢討

(立法局CB(1)1805/96-97(01)及(02)號文件)

2. 副教育統籌司簡介有關僱員再培訓計劃檢討的文件。 議員在隨後的會議商議下列事項:

策略人力規劃及培訓發展

3. 陳婉嫻議員預料,由於多項基建及房屋計劃即將展開, 在未來數年,建造業的人力需求會甚為殷切。她詢問政 府當局有否任何策略規劃,針對未來的人力供應及制訂 培訓/再培訓政策,幫助失業人士或受僱在沒落行業的
人士,轉至建造業工作。

4. 副教育統籌司回覆謂當局正進行一項詳細的研究,評 估建造業在未來五年間的人力需求。此外,立法局
CB(1)1805/96-97(01)號文件所提及的聯合工作小組會研 究職業訓練局與僱員再培訓局在工作上的合作事宜。

5. 陳婉嫻議員認為政府當局應該成立一個中央機構,負 責策劃及統籌將沒落行業的人力轉移至具有大量人力需 求的行業上。助理教育統籌司提醒議員,此擧可能會干 預本港的自由巿場經濟。他並解釋,由於不同技術行業 的勞工需求不斷改變,所以應著重制訂一個靈活及健全 的機制,以適應巿場不斷改變的需要,此機制可為工人 提供不同的培訓機會。僱員再培訓計劃檢討建議僱員再 培訓局應開辦基本技術性課程,而職業訓練局應擧辦技 術提升課程。此外,當局會進行跟進工作,包括輔導工
作。

6. 李卓人議員認為,該兩項檢討主要是管理方面的檢討, 並無包括有關日後人力規劃策略的建議。他提到政府當 局所作出的一項截至2001年的五年人力預測,並促請當 局在不同行業進行類似的預測,以便僱員再培訓局及職 業訓練局可根據預測所得的資料,策劃日後的培訓工作。

7. 副教育統籌司回答稱,在各行業進行的人力調查是由 職業訓練局的有關訓練委員會每隔兩年進行。僱員再培 訓局會根據該等調查報告,訂立有關的培訓計劃。事實 上,職業訓練局的檢討報告建議應加強該局進行人力調 查方面的能力。他又表示,由教育統籌科編訂的《人力 再探》會按照最新的人口調查更新所載資料,預料此方
面的工作會於明年初完成。

按學員就業率發放培訓費用的制度

8. 陳榮燦議員表示,按學員就業率發放培訓費用的制度 可能對培訓機構不公平,因為學員的就業率往往受到很 多培訓機構不能控制的因素影響。他提醒與會者,在另 一方面,培訓機構為達到所規定的學員就業率,可能訂 定嚴格的收生準則,把在再培訓後獲僱用機會不大的申 請人拒諸門外。副教育統籌司強調訂定恰當的表現準則 的重要性,他並證實僱員再培訓局會諮詢各培訓機構, 制定靈活及可行的安排。陳議員建議可參照培訓學員的 出席率,作為釐定撥款的準則之一。副教育統籌司答應 將此項意見轉達僱員再培訓局予以考慮。

再培訓津貼及收費辦法

9. 李卓人議員強調不應減少或取消再培訓津貼,因為此 擧會撤銷鼓勵接受培訓的效用。他亦指出,收費辦法並 無成本效益,因為他知道部分已報名的再培訓學員因繳 付課程的學費問題而後來退學。副教育統籌司回答,收 費辦法其實是由某些再培訓機構建議的,目的是防止有 人濫用再培訓津貼。他表示,收費辦法不會對接受再培 訓的人士造成困難,因為失業或低收入人士參加再培訓 課程的出席率若達到80%,他們可申請發還學費。

其他關注事項

10. 議員詢問,聯合工作小組會否成為常設工作小組。 他們關注僱員再培訓局及職業訓練局日後的統籌工作。 他們亦要求有關方面就僱員再培訓局長遠的經費問題作 出澄清。副教育統籌司回答謂,設立聯合工作小組的原 意是作為常設工作小組,負責僱員再培訓局及職業訓練 局之間的銜接安排。他亦告知與會人士,由於上述兩間 機構的成員中有部分同時在該兩間機構任職,相信可加 強該兩間機構之間的協調工作。有關再培訓局的經費問 題,副教育統籌司同意應制訂長遠計劃,但他表示,現 時該局的經費充裕,足可以應付未來兩三年的經常性開
支。

11. 議員問及在職培訓計劃及技術提升課程之間的分別。 副教育統籌司解釋,前者向僱主發還有關開支,以鼓勵 僱主僱用再培訓學員。但後者則旨在幫助工人提升其技 術水平。議員察悉,有關方面現正檢討該項計劃,探討 在再培訓計劃中加入「在職實習」部分,以配合逐步取
消在職培訓計劃的建議。

III. 僱員的罷工權利

(立法局CB(1)1805/96-97(03)及(04)號文件,立法局
CB(1)1654/96-97(02)號文件;及於會議席上提交的
政府當局文件的中文本,該份文件其後隨立法局
CB(1)1897/96-97號文件送交議員傳閱。)

12. 議員察悉,根據政府當局的文件所述,僱員實際上 已擁有罷工的權利。但事實上,曾參加罷工的僱員會失 去取得任何終止僱用補償金的權利。他們辯稱,根據現 行條文,僱員只有罷工的自由,而無罷工的權利。高級 助理律政專員解釋,現時本港並無法例禁止或限制罷工 的自由。換言之,僱員現時可享有的罷工權利可謂是幾 乎不受限制的。然而,議員認為,倘此項權利未經正式 立法,僱員是不能完全享有此項權利的。

13. 助理法律顧問3應主席邀請作出以下解釋:

  1. 根據《基本法》第二十七條,香港居民應有罷 工的權利及自由。罷工自由與罷工權利不同, 兩者應予以區別。雖然僱員享有罷工的自由, 但他們不能獲得豁免,無須承擔因罷工行動而 引致的法律後果。此外,罷工權利可給予僱員 更大的就業保障,並使他們在有需要時尋求補
    救的辦法;

  2. 《基本法》第二十七條並無規定須以立法形式 實施罷工的權利。這點與《基本法》第二十三 條及第三十九條不同,該等條文規定人權公約 所載明的若干行為及有關條文應透過立法予以 實施。因此,未有制定罷工權利的法例亦未必 會構成違反《基本法》第二十七條;及

  3. 僱員可根據《基本法》第二十七條行使其罷工 權利,但決定某些罷工行為是否合法的最終權
    威則屬於法院。

14. 李卓人議員察悉,根據《基本法》第三十九條,《經 濟、社會、文化權利國際公約》和國際勞工公約適用於 香港的有關規定均繼續有效,並通過香港特別行政區的 法律予以實施,他因此認為應制定法律,落實上述公約 第8條所訂明的工人罷工權利。助理法律顧問3回應時作 出澄清,《經濟、社會、文化權利國際公約》內第8條有 關罷工權利的條文並不適用於本港。然而,李議員進一 步指出,《國際勞工公約第87號》適用本港的條文載有 關於罷工權利的隱含條文。不過,他會進一步研究不同 國家落實罷工權利的情況,他並會繼續促請當局制定此
方面的法例。

15. 陳婉嫻議員表示支持就罷工權利立法的建議。張文 光議員及何敏嘉議員代表民主黨,對李卓人議員的建議 亦表示支持。他們認為僱員的罷工權利應由法律保障, 僱員亦不應因為罷工行動而須承受任何對其不利的法律
後果。

16. 會議於上午十時四十分結束。


臨時立法會秘書處
1997年7月10日




Last Updated on 18 August 1998