LegCo Paper No. CB(1)1613/96-97
(These minutes have been seen
by the Administration)
Ref: CB1/PL/MP/1

LegCo Panel on Manpower

Minutes of meeting held on Monday, 28 April 1997, at 2:30 p.m. in the Chamber of the Legislative Council Building

Members present :

    Hon LAU Chin-shek (Chairman)
    Hon CHAN Yuen-han (Deputy Chairman)
    Hon SZETO Wah
    Hon CHEUNG Man-kwong
    Hon Frederick FUNG Kin-kee
    Hon Michael HO Mun-ka
    Hon Henry TANG Ying-yen, JP
    Hon James TIEN Pei-chun, OBE, JP
    Hon LEE Cheuk-yan
    Hon CHAN Wing-chan
    Hon CHENG Yiu-tong
    Hon LEE Kai-man
    Hon LEUNG Yiu-chung
    Hon MOK Ying-fan

Members absent :

    Hon Ronald ARCULLI, OBE, JP
    Hon NGAI Shiu-kit, OBE, JP
    Dr Hon LEONG Che-hung, OBE, JP
    Hon LAW Chi-kwong
    Hon Bruce LIU Sing-lee
    Hon TSANG Kin-shing

Public officers attending :

    Items V, VI & VII

    Mr Matthew CHEUNG, JP
    Deputy Secretary for Education and Manpower

    Items IV, V & VI

    Ms Esther LEUNG
    Principal Assistant Secretary for Education and Manpower

    Item VII

    Mr Tony Reynalds
    Principal Assistant Secretary for Education and Manpower

    Item IV

    Ms Ingrid HO
    Principal Assistant Secretary for Security

    Mr T P WONG
    Assistant Director of Immigration(Special Duties)

    Item V

    Mrs Clare SIU
    Assistant Commissioner for Labour

    Item VI

    Mrs Jenny CHAN
    Chief Labour Officer

Clerk in attendance :

    Miss Polly YEUNG
    Chief Assistant Secretary(1)3

Staff in attendance :

    Miss Anita HO
    Assistant Legal Adviser 5

    Mrs Queenie YU
    Senior Assistant Secretary (1)8

I.Confirmation of minutes of meetings and matters arising

(LegCo Paper Nos. CB(1)1199/96-97 and 1270/96-97)

The minutes of the Panel meetings held on 24 February 1997 and 18 March 1997 were confirmed.

II.Date and items for discussion for next meeting

2.Members agreed to include the following into the agenda for the next Panel meeting to be held on Monday, 21 May 1997, at 2:30 pm.

Briefing on the Unfair Dismissal Bill (Member’s Bill introduced by Mr LEUNG Yiu-chung.)

3.Members noted that the last LegCo Sitting would likely commence on 23 June 1997 and agreed to re-schedule the last Panel meeting to Monday, 16 June 1997, at 2:30 pm.

III.Information papers since last meeting

4.No information paper had been issued since the last meeting.

IV.Briefing on Immigration (Amendment) (No.2) Bill 1997

(LegCo Paper Nos. CB(1)1365/96-97(01); 1398/96-97(01); 1398/96-97(02) and the Administration’s response tabled at the meeting subsequently issued vide LegCo Paper No. CB(1)1433/96-97(01))

5.Members noted that a Bills Committee had been formed to study the captioned Bill. The Chairman also informed the meeting that the Hong Kong Japanese Chamber of Commerce & Industry and the Hong Kong Chamber of Commerce of Industry had sent in their written views on the Bill. He advised that it would be more appropriate for the Bills Committee to examine these views in due course.

6.At the Chairman’s invitation, Miss CHAN Yuen-han explained that the issue of British citizens working in Hong Kong was first raised at the meeting of the Manpower Panel in May 1996. Upon conclusion of a review, the Administration had introduced the Immigration (Amendment) Bill 1997 which sought to remove the privileges inherent in the immigration status of British citizens provided under the current law. Nevertheless, she considered that the Administration’s proposed Bill had not effectively plugged the loophole and had therefore proposed the Bill which sought to remove the discretion of the Director of Immigration to ‘exempt certain persons’ from having to apply for employment visa apart from three groups of persons:

7.The Principal Assistant Secretary for Security (PAS for S) briefly explained that the Administration’s proposals in the Immigration (Amendment) Bill 1997 was mainly to remove the existing visa-free arrangements for British nationals working in Hong Kong and to abolish the special arrangements for the deportation of British citizens. The Administration believed Bill would achieve fully the objective of removing the privileged immigration status of British citizens.

8.Responding to members’ questions, PAS for S explained that all foreign nationals entering Hong Kong must have a valid entry visa. On arrival, depending on the merit of individual cases, an Immigration Officer would grant each visitor a specified period of stay in Hong Kong. For persons who possessed valid employment visas, an initial one-year period would normally be granted to the visa-holder subject to further extension as deemed appropriate by the Immigration Department. She also informed members that the Director of Immigration exercised his discretionary power under section 61(2) of the Immigration Ordinance two years ago to dispense with the requirement for persons on a limited period of stay to apply for a re-entry visa to return to Hong Kong after short trips.

9.Addressing members’ concerns on the practical effects of the Immigration (Amendment) (No.2) Bill on visa requirement for foreign nationals working in Hong Kong (including their spouse and dependents), the unconditional stay status and workload on the Immigration Department, PAS for S and the Assistant Director of Immigration (AD of I) provided the following clarification:-

  1. if the Bill is enacted, all foreign nationals would have to apply for re-entry visa before they left Hong Kong even for short trips. Otherwise, they would not be able to continue working upon return to Hong Kong. Operational experience had indicated that it would normally take four to six weeks to process a first time visa application and a few days to process a visa application for subsequent entry;

  2. the Director of Immigration would have no discretion at all to exempt foreign nationals from employment visa requirements. The Administration would have no flexibility to deal with unusual situations. The proposed arrangements would also tarnish Hong Kong’s reputation as an international business centre where expatriates could contribute to the economic well-being of Hong Kong;

  3. spouses and expatriate dependents of both foreign nationals and Hong Kong residents coming to join their family members in Hong Kong would not be able to work unless they had applied for an employment visa before their entry into Hong Kong;

  4. it would be impossible for the Director of Immigration to grant the unconditional stay status to any foreign national. As such, no matter how long a foreign national had lived in Hong Kong, he still had to apply for an employment visa to work here; and

  5. the Bill was a retrograde step which would create much inconvenience for foreign nationals. If enacted, it would also create an enormous amount of work for the Immigration Department.

10.Some members enquired about visa requirements for foreign nationals adopted in overseas countries. In reply, PAS for S said that similar discretionary power was exercised in New Zealand and Canada. Whole some members suggested that the Administration should collect more information on this aspect for future reference of the Bills Committee, a member cautioned that strict comparison with overseas countries might not be appropriate because of the unique "one-country, two-system" form of government in Hong Kong.

V. Administration’s Review on the Occupational Deafness Compensation Scheme and briefing on the Occupational Deafness (Compensation) (Amendment) Bill 1997

(LegCo Paper Nos. CB(1) 1365/96-97(02); 1398/96-97(03); 1405/96-97(01); 1398/96-97(04) and 1405/96-97(02))

Review on the Occupational Deafness Compensation Scheme

11.The Administration informed members that the figure in para 5(c) of the information paper issued vide LegCo Paper No. CB(1)1398/96-97(03) should be amended from 151 to 51.

12.The Deputy Secretary for Education and Manpower (DS for E&M) reported that the Working Group (WG) set up in the Labour Department had recently completed the review of the scheme. Its recommendations for improvements were being studied by the Occupational Deafness Compensation Board (the Board). According to the Administration’s plan, the relevant legislative proposals to give effect to the improvements would be introduced in early 1998, after they had been finalised in consultation with the Labour Advisory Board(LAB).

13.Responding to members’ enquiry on whether the WG’s recommendations to revise the deafness threshold and the maximum percentage of permanent incapacity for compensation were similar to those proposed by Mr LEUNG Yiu-chung under the Occupational Deafness (Compensation) (Amendment) Bill 1997, the Assistant Commissioner for Labour (AC for L) replied that these two issues had been included in the WG’s review. The WG had proposed to relax the disability requirement for compensation by lowering the minimum level of hearing loss (deafness threshold) from 50dB to 40dB. However, the WG did not consider it appropriate to increase the maximum percentage of permanent incapacity from 60% to 100% for the purpose of compensation.

LD 14.At the request of Mr LEE Cheuk-yan, the Administration agreed to provide a breakdown by reasons for the 287 applications rejected during the period 1.7.1995 to 31.3.1997. For applications rejected for failing to meet the deafness threshold, the Administration was asked to provide further information on the degree of hearing loss suffered by the workers.

Occupational Deafness (Compensation) (Amendment) Bill 1997

15.Mr LEUNG Yiu-chung expressed his appreciation of the Administration having advanced the review to April 1996 and extended the deadline for filing claims by 12 months to 30 June 1997. Nevertheless, he was dissatisfied with the slow progress of the Administration in making concrete proposals to improve protection for employees suffering from noise-induced hearing loss. Members noted the following reasons highlighted by Mr LEUNG Yiu-chung for introducing the Bill:-

  1. the American Medical Association had in fact recommended hearing loss at 26.25dB as the minimum level of impairment and hearing loss exceeding 40dB as the medium level of impairment. It appeared that the Administration had only made reference to those overseas countries which adopted a threshold of hearing loss on the higher side;

  2. it was only fair to equate occupational deafness to 100% incapacity an in the case of trail deafness due to a work-related accident.. This was supported by the Bills Committee which studied the Occupational Deafness (Compensation) Bill in 1995; and

  3. the Administration should assess whether it was justified to enhance compensation for occupational deafness rather than restricting the proposed improvements on financial grounds.

16.In clarifying the position of the Administration, DS for E&M and AC for L advised as follows:

  1. the WG comprised medical professionals and audiologists. In examining the deafness threshold, appropriate reference had been made to scientific research and international standards. It should be noted that different countries adopted different deafness thresholds for compensating occupational deafness and in some countries, the effect of age on hearing loss had to be discounted when determining the degree of impairment;

  2. as the impact of occupational deafness developed insidiously over a long period of time, the traumatic impact of the disability was not as acute as that of a work-related accident. A person suffering from the disease was most likely to have continued working and might not have differed a total loss of earning capacity; and

  3. the Bill, if enacted, would exhaust the Occupational Deafness Compensation Fund within one year, resulting in a deficit of $60 million. It would be irresponsible of the Administration not to consider the financial implications.

17.In this connection, a member suggested that it would only be fair to charge the levy on employers of the specified noisy occupations such as the construction and manufacturing industries, instead of levying across the board in order to finance the Occupational Deafness Compensation Scheme. The Administration expressed reservation on this suggestion and indicated that there were plans to expand the schedule of noisy occupations for the purpose of claiming compensation.

EMB and Mr LEUNG Yiu-chung 18.After discussion, the Chairman asked both the Administration and Mr LEUNG Yiu-chung to provide further information from the medical aspects to justify their respective stance on the deafness threshold. Members also noted that the Bill would be forwarded to the LAB for consultation.

VI.Briefing on Employee’s Rights to Representation, Consultation and Collective Bargaining Bill

(LegCo Paper Nos. CB(1)1365/96-97(03); CB(1)1398/96-97(05) and a paper tabled by Mr LEE Cheuk-yan at the meeting and subsequently issued vide LegCo paper No. CB(1)1433/96-97(02))

EMB and


19.Mr LEE Cheuk-yan tabled a paper outliving his responses to the comments from the Administration and the Joint Concern Group of the Industrial/Commercial Sector on the Member’s Bill. The Administration was requested to provide written comments on his paper as soon as practicable. The Panel would forward the Administration’s views to the relevant Bills Committee for consideration.

20.At the Chairman’s invitation, Mr LEE briefed members on salient provisions of his Bill, in particular the employee’s right to be consulted by their employers on business plans such as changes in ownership, relocation and re-structuring and the employee’s right to be covered by a collective agreement negotiated with the employer by a representative trade union.

21.A member queried the need for legislation on compulsory collective bargaining in Hong Kong having regard to the fact that the current practice of dispute resolution had been working well. Moreover, employees were capable of organizing themselves and if necessary, would elect representatives to negotiate direct with their employers. He also opened that the low unemployment rate in Hong Kong had put employees in a favorable bargaining position vis a vis their employers.

22.In this connection, the Chief Labour Officer (CLO) advised that voluntary and direct negotiation between employers and employees at the enterprise level was always encouraged. The Administration did not have statistics on dispute cases which had been resolved without intervention by the Labour Department. In 1996, the Labour Department had handled 226 labour disputes, of which the majority had been resolved and 17 cases had resulted in strike action.

23.For purpose of elucidation, Mr LEE Cheuk-yan explained that a distinction must be drawn between direct negotiation between employers and employees on an ad-hoc basis and a formal, institutionalised system of consultation and negotiation. He confirmed that his Bill sought to formalise and regulate the employee’s right to representation, consultation and collective bargaining. He disagreed that the Bill would lead to abuse because these would be stringent pre-requisites on the number of persons employed as well as the percentage of union membership. As regards the proposal that collective bargaining should be practised in establishments employing 50 persons or more, Mr LEE considered the threshold number appropriate as this represented 2% of all establishments in Hong Kong and covered a total of 900,000 workers accounting for 40% of the workforce.

24.Indicating their support for legislation on collective bargaining, some members expressed the following views:

  1. low unemployment rate might not necessarily increase employees’ bargaining power and some labour groups had reservations on the Administration’s unemployment figures. Workers in fact encountered considerable difficulties in seeking jobs;

  2. at present, many voluntary collective bargaining mechanism in large establishments were increasingly conservative and even inactive;

  3. the Administration’s information that 5% of the workforce was engaged in collective bargaining was misleading because consultation on annual salary review and the demand for a decent working environment discussed at joint consultative committees were inappropriately included as collective negotiations;

  4. consultation and collective bargaining would not just benefit employees. An effective negotiation mechanism could serve to prevent labour disputes, ensure speedy dispute resolution and ultimately enhance overall productivity.

25.Apart from the reasons listed in its information paper for not supporting the Bill, DS for E&M considered that Hong Kong had achieved a harmonious labour relations system in which the interests of employers and employees were properly balanced and that the Bill would not be conducive to maintaining the existing good system. Members noted that the LAB would be consulted on the Bill.

VII.Practical Guidelines for Employers - Eliminating Age Discrimination in Employment

(LegCo Paper No. CB(1)1365/96-97(04))

26.Responding to members’ serious reservations on the effectiveness of non-statutory measures in eliminating age discrimination in employment, DS for E&M explained that the Administration had not ruled out the legislative option in future but believed that for the present, a programme of public education, publicity and self-regulation was the most appropriate way of dealing with age discrimination in employment. The Administration would review the usefulness of the practical guidelines after one year through a questionnaire survey and wide consultation. Mr LEUNG Yiu-chung, however, doubted whether there was any precedent case in which the Administration had introduced relevant legislation after issuing practical guidelines.

27.A member queried that whilst inviting members’ comments on the practical guidelines for elimination of age discrimination, the Administration had imposed age limits on security personnel under the Security and Guarding Services Ordinance. DS for E&M clarified in reply that might be very few exceptions where age was a genuine job or occupational requirement and this must be distinguished from discrimination..

LD 28.Referring to the ban since April 1995 on the stipulation of age requirement in job orders placed with the Labour Department, Mr LEE Cheuk-yan requested the Administration to provide information on the age profile of the successful job applicants both before and after the removal of age requirement in order to gauge the effectiveness of this measure which sought to eliminate age discrimination in recruitment.

29.The meeting ended at 4:30 pm.

Legislative Council Secretariat

17 May 1997

Last Updated on 21 August 1998

立法局CB(1)1613/96-97號文件
(此份會議紀要業經政府當局審閱)
檔 號: CB1/PL/MP/1


立法局
人力事務委員會
會議紀要

日  期:一九九七年四月二十八日(星期一)
時  間:下午二時三十分
地  點:立法局會議廳

出席委員 :

    劉千石議員(主 席)
    陳婉嫻議員(副主席)
    司徒華議員
    張文光議員
    馮檢基議員
    何敏嘉議員
    唐英年議員
    田北俊議員
    李卓人議員
    陳榮燦議員
    鄭耀棠議員
    李啟明議員
    梁耀忠議員
    莫應帆議員

缺席委員 :

    夏佳理議員
    倪少傑議員
    梁智鴻議員
    羅致光議員
    廖成利議員
    曾健成議員

出席公職人員 :

項目V,VI及VII

副教育統籌司
張建宗先生

項目IV,V及VI

首席助理教育統籌司
梁悅賢小姐

項目VII

首席助理教育統籌司
李樂善先生

項目IV

首席助理保安司
何蓓茵女士
人民入境事務處助理處長(特別職務)
黃達甫先生

項目V

勞工處助理處長
蕭何嘉玉女士

項目VI

首席勞工事務主任
陳麥潔玲女士

列席秘書 :

總主任(1)3
楊少紅小姐

列席職員 :

助理法律顧問5
何瑩珠小姐
高級主任(1)8
俞沈淑娟女士



I. 確認通過會議紀要及續議事項

(立法局CB(1)1199及1270/96-97號文件)

一九九七年二月二十四日及三月十八日的事務委員會會
議紀要獲確認通過。

II. 下次會議日期及討論事項

2. 議員同意把以下事項納入訂於一九九七年五月二十六 日(星期一)下午二時三十分擧行的下次事務委員會的會 議議程:

    簡介不公平解僱條例草案(由梁耀忠議員提出
    的議員條例草案)。

3. 議員察悉,立法局最後一次會議訂於一九九七年六月 二十三日開始進行,議員同意把事務委員會最後一次會 議重新編定在一九九七年六月十六日(星期一)下午二時
三十分擧行。

III. 自上次會議擧行至今發出的資料
文件

4. 自上次會議擧行至今並無發出資料文件。

IV. 簡介1997年人民入境(修訂)(第2
號)條例草案

(立法局CB(1)1365/96-97(01)號文件;1398/96-97(01)號文 件;1398/96-97(02)號文件及政府當局在會議席上提交的 答覆,該文件其後已隨立法局CB(1)1433/96-97(01)號文
件發出)

5. 議員察悉,立法局業已成立條例草案委員會研究上述 條例草案。主席亦告知與會者,香港日本人商工會及香 港總商會已就此條例草案提交書面意見。他認為,由此 條例草案委員會在適當時候研究此等意見會較為適合。

6. 陳婉嫻議員應主席邀請在席上解釋,英國公民在香港 工作的問題是於一九九六年五月的人力事務委員會會議 席上首次提出。政府當局在完成檢討後,提出1997年人 民入境(修訂)條例草案,旨在撤除現行法例賦予英國公 民在入境身分方面的固有特權。然而,她認為,當局的 條例草案未能有效堵塞目前的漏洞,因此,她便提出此 條例草案,旨在撤除入境處處長可豁免除三類人士以外 的某些人士申請工作簽證的酌情權。

7. 首席助理保安司扼要解釋,1997年人民入境(修訂)條 例草案旨在撤除在香港工作的英國公民目前的免簽證安 排,以及撤除把英國國民遞解離境的特別安排。當局認 為,此條例草案可完全達到撤除英國公民所享有的特許
入境身分的目的。

8. 首席助理保安司在回應議員的詢問時澄清,所有外國 國民在進入香港時必須持有有效的入境簽證。入境處在 外國國民抵港時,會根據個別情況,批准每位訪客在香 港逗留一段固定期限。對於那些持有有效工作簽證的人 士,入境處通常會首先批予他們為期一年的逗留期,並 在認為適當時可予進一步延長。她並告知議員,入境處 處長於兩年前行使《人民入境條例》第61(2)條所賦予的 酌情權,豁免那些受逗留期限限制的人士於短暫離開香 港後,無需申請回港簽證便可返回本港。

9. 議員對於人民入境(修訂)(第2號)條例草案對在本港工 作的外國國民(包括其配偶及受其供養的人士)的簽證規 定、無條件限制逗留身分及入境處的工作量所帶來的實 際影響表示關注,首席助理保安司和入境處助理處長就
此澄清如下:

  1. 此條例草案若獲得通過,所有外國國民在離開 香港前(即使屬短暫離開),必須申請回港簽證, 否則,他們在回港後便不能繼續工作。根據實 際經驗,當局通常需時四至六星期處理首次申 請簽證個案,而處理申請回港簽證的個案亦需
    數天時間;

  2. 入境處處長將全無可豁免外國國民無需申領工 作簽證的酌情權,這將使當局在應付特別情況 時缺乏靈活性。擬議安排亦有損香港作為國際 商務中心的聲譽,在這個國際商務中心的外籍 人士應可對本港的經濟利益有所貢獻;

  3. 外國國民及香港居民的配偶及外籍受供養者來 港與家人團聚時,除非他們在來港前已申請工
    作簽證,否則,他們將不能在本港工作;

  4. 入境處處長將不可能給予任何外國國民無條件 限制逗留身分。換言之,無論一個外國國民已 在本港居留多長時間,他仍需申請工作簽證方
    可在本港工作;及

  5. 此條例草案實屬倒退,將對外國國民造成諸多 不便。若其獲得通過,亦將為入境處帶來繁重
    的工作。

10. 部分議員詢問海外國家對外國國民採取的簽證規定 的情況。首席助理保安司在回應時表示,新西蘭和加拿 大的移民當局獲賦予類似酌情權。雖然有部分議員建議, 當局應搜集外國在此方面做法的更多資料,供條例草案 委員會日後參考之用,但一位議員提醒與會者,鑑於香 港將實行獨特的「一國兩制」的政府模式,因此嚴格來
說實不宜與外國比較。

V. 政府當局就職業性失聰補償計劃
進行的檢討以及簡介1997年職業性
失聰(補償)(修訂)條例草案

(立法局CB(1)1365/96-97(02)號文件;1398/96-97(03)號 文件;1405/96-97(01)號文件;1398/96-97(04)號文件及
1405/96-97(02)號文件)

就職業性失聰補償計劃進行的檢討

11. 政府當局告知議員,隨立法局CB(1)1398/96-97(03)號 文件發出的資料文件第5(c)段的數字應由151更正為51。

12. 副教育統籌司在席上報告,勞工處成立的工作小組 已於最近完成對此項計劃的檢討。職業性失聰補償管理 局(下稱「管理局」)現正研究該工作小組提出的改善建 議。根據當局的計劃,推行改善建議所需的相關立法建 議會經由當局與勞工顧問委員會(下稱「勞顧會」)共同 磋商,定案後於一九九八年初提出。

13. 議員詢問,工作小組有關修訂失聰程度準則及計算 補償時所根據的永久喪失工作能力百分比的上限的建議, 是否類似梁耀忠議員在1997年職業性失聰(補償)(修訂)條 例草案提出的建議,勞工處助理處長在回應時表示,此 兩項問題業已納入工作小組的檢討範圍。工作小組建議 放寬有關失聰程度的索償規定,把聽力損失程度的最低 標準(失聰程度準則)由50分貝調詆至40分貝。不過,工 作小組認為,把計算補償時所根據的永久喪失工作能力 百分比的上限由60%提高至100%的建議並不適當。

14. 政府當局應李卓人議員要求,同意提供資料,逐一 說明在一九九五年七月一日至一九九七年三月三十一日 期間拒絕287宗補償申請所持的理由。議員亦要求當局 就那些因未能符合失聰程度準則而被拒絕的申請個案, 提供該等工人失聰程度的進一步資料。

1997年職業性失聰(補償)(修訂)條例草案

15. 梁耀忠議員對於當局把有關的檢討工作提前至一九 九六年四月進行,以及把提出申索要求的期限延長十二 個月至一九九七年六月三十日的做法表示滿意,但他不 滿當局在提出實質性建議以加強保障飽受噪音所致失聰 之苦的僱員方面進展緩慢。議員察悉梁耀忠議員就提出 此條例草案而列出的下列理由:

  1. 事實上,根據美國醫學會的建議,聽力損失程 度達26.25分貝已屬最低程度失聰,而聽力損失 程度達40分貝已屬中等程度失聰。當局似乎只 參考那些採用較高失聰程度準則的國家;

  2. 因與工作有關的意外而導致完全失聰被視作喪 失100%工作能力,職業性失聰獲同等待遇方屬 公平。此項建議獲得在一九九五年研究職業性 失聰(補償)條例草案的條例草案委員會支持;及

  3. 當局應評估是否有理由提高對職業性失聰受害 者的補償,而不應基於財政原因限制擬議的改
    善建議。

16. 副教育統籌司和勞工處助理處長在澄清當局的立場
時作如下表示:

  1. 工作小組由醫療專業人士及聽力學家組成。該 小組在研究失聰程度準則時,曾適當地參考科 學研究結果和國際標準。值得注意的是,不同 國家對於補償職業性失聰採用不同的失聰程度 準則,某些國家在斷定聽覺受損程度時,會減
    去因年齡引致的聽力損失程度;

  2. 由於職業性失聰的影響是經過一段長時間才逐 漸形成,其在喪失工作能力方面所帶來的影響 不如與工作有關的意外般突然。受職業性失聰 影響的人大多可能繼續工作,因此不一定會完
    全喪失謀生能力;及

  3. 此條例草案若獲得通過,職業性失聰補償基金 將在一年內耗盡,並會出現6,000萬元赤字。當 局若不考慮此方面的財政影響,實屬不負責任。

17. 就此方面一位議員建議,用於資助職業性失聰補償 計劃的徵費只應向某些噪音問題較嚴重的行業(例如建 造業和製造業)的僱主收取,而不應向各行業劃一徵收, 這樣才屬公平。當局對此項建議有保留並表示,當局有 計劃擴大法例中可供索償的高噪音行業附表。

18. 經商討後,主席請當局和梁耀忠議員從醫學角度提 供進一步資料,為各自就失聰程度準則所持的立場提供 理據。議員亦察悉,此條例草案將送交勞顧會進行諮詢。

VI. 簡介僱員代表權、諮詢權及集體
談判權條例草案

(立法局CB(1)1365/96-97(03)號文件;1398/96-97(05)號 文件以及由李卓人議員在會議席上提交、其後隨立法局 1433/96-97(02)號文件發出的文件)

19. 李卓人議員在席上提交一份文件,闡述他對當局及 工商業聯席關注小組就其提交的議員條例草案所述意見 的回應。議員要求當局盡快就李議員的文件提供書面意 見。事務委員會把當局的意見轉達有關的條例草案委員
會考慮。

20. 李卓人議員應主席邀請,向議員簡介其條例草案的 主要條文,尤其是僱員應有獲僱主就關乎僱主業務計劃 進行諮詢的權利。該等業務計劃包括企業擁有權的變更, 企業搬遷及重組。僱員亦應得到經由具代表性的工會與 僱主談判達成的集體協定保障的權利。

21. 鑑於本港現時解決勞資糾紛的方法行之有效,一位 議員質疑本港有否需要訂立強制性集體談判的法例。此 外,僱員亦甚有組織能力,他們在必要時會選出代表與 僱主直接談判。他並認為,本港失業率偏低,令僱員在 與僱主討價還價時處於有利地位。

22. 首席勞工事務主任就此表示,當局一向鼓勵僱員與 僱主在企業層面進行自願和直接的談判。至於未經勞工 處排解便得到解決的糾紛個案,當局並無此方面的數字。 勞工處在一九九六年一共處理226宗勞資糾紛,當中大 部分獲得解決,而17宗導致罷工行動。

23. 為清楚說明起見,李卓人議員解釋,僱主與僱員以 專為某事件進行直接談判與正規和制度化的諮詢和談判 制度必須加以區分。他證實,其條例草案旨在正式確立 和規管僱員的代表權、諮詢權及集體談判權。他不認為 此條例草案會被濫用,原因是其在僱員人數和工會成員 百分比方面訂有嚴格的先決條件。至於集體談判權應在 僱員人數在50人或以上的企業推行的建議,李卓人議員 認為此下限數目恰當,因此等企業佔本港企業總數的2%, 所涵蓋的僱員總數約為900 000名,或佔勞動人口的40%。

24. 部分議員支持制訂關乎集體談判的法例,並表達以下
意見:

  1. 失業率偏低未必可加強僱員的討價還價能力, 部分勞工團體對於政府當局發表的失業數字有 保留。事實上,工人現時在求職時遇到頗大困
    難;

  2. 目前,大機構的許多自願集體談判制度日趨保
    守及甚至已停止運作;

  3. 當局指有5%的勞動人口參與集體談判的資料有 誤導成份,原因是當局把勞資雙方每年就薪金 調整進行的諮詢以及僱員透過聯席協商委員會 要求提供適當的工作環境而進行的商討,亦看
    成集體談判,此點實不恰當;及

  4. 諮詢和集體談判不單為僱員帶來益處。一套有 效的談判機制有助防止勞資糾紛,確保糾紛得
    到迅速解決,而最終可提高整體生產力。

25. 除了當局在其資料文件就不支持此條例草案所列述 的各項理由外,副教育統籌司認為,香港已建立一套和 諧的勞資關係制度,此制度令勞資雙方的利益得到適當 的平衡,而此條例草案將無助維持現有的良好制度。議 員察悉,當局將就此條例草案諮詢勞顧會。

VII. 《僱傭實務指引 ── 消除就業
方面的年齡歧視》

(立法局CB(1)1365/96-97(04)號文件)

26. 議員對於當局以非法定措施消除就業方面的年齡歧 視是否有成效有重大保留,副教育統籌司在回應時解釋, 當局並不排除日後進行立法的可能性,但認為,推行一 套公眾教育、宣傳和自我規管計劃是現時對付就業方面 的年齡歧視最恰當的方法。當局將在此項實務守則實施 一年後,透過進行問卷調查和公眾諮詢,檢討其成效。 但梁耀忠議員懷疑,當局是否有先發出實務指引,後制
定相關法例的先例。

27. 對於當局一方面邀請議員就消除就業方面的年齡歧 視的實務指引表達意見,但另一方面卻根據《保安及護 衛服務條例》對保安人員實施年齡限制,一位議員提出 質疑。副教育統籌司澄清謂,有幾種特殊情況可能基於 工作或職業方面的確實要求而需訂出年齡限制,但此方
面必須與歧視加以區分。

28. 李卓人議員在提及勞工處自一九九五年四月開始禁 止僱主在委託該處代辦的招聘告示內列明年齡規定一事 時,要求當局提供資料,說明在禁止訂明年齡限制前後 成功獲得聘用的申請人的年齡分布情況,藉以評估此項 旨在消除招聘僱員方面的年齡歧視的措施有多大成效。

29. 會議於下午四時三十分結束。


立法局秘書處
一九九七年五月十七日




Last Updated on 18 August 1998