LegCo Paper No. CB(2) 535/96-97

Ref : CB2/BC/1/96

Bills Committee on the Fugitive Offenders Bill

Minutes of the First Meeting held on Wednesday, 20 November 1996 at 2:15 p.m. in Conference Room A of the Legislative Council Building

Members Present :
    Hon James TO Kun-sun (Chairman)
    Hon Emily LAU Wai-hing
    Hon CHEUNG Hon-chung
    Hon Albert HO Chun-yan
    Hon Bruce LIU Sing-lee
Members Absent :
    Hon Ronald ARCULLI, OBE, JP*

Clerk in Attendance :
    Mrs Sharon TONG
    Chief Assistant Secretary (2)1
Staff in Attendance :
    Mr Paul WOO
    Senior Assistant Secretary (2) 5

I. Election of Chairman

Mr James TO Kun-sun was elected Chairman of the Bills Committee.

II. Way Forward

Members agreed that the Secretariat should invite submission from the Law Society of Hong Kong and the Hong Kong Bar Association on the Bill. Should the two organisations also indicate interest to meet the Bills Committee, they would be invited to the meeting.

(Post-meeting note: Letters to the two organisations were sent on 21 Novermber 1996)

III. Dates of next meetings

The next meetings of the Bills Committee were scheduled as follows:

MondayDecember 19962:30 p.m - 4:30 p.m
Conference Room B
Thursday5 December 19962:30 p.m - 4:30 p.m
Conference Room B
Tuesday10 December 19962:30 p.m - 4:30 p.m
Conference Room A

IV. Close of Meeting

The meeting ended at 2:30 p.m

LegCo Secretariat
27 November 1996
* other commitments

Last Updated on 15 Apr, 1997