The Administration's Response to the BOT Tunnel Operators'
submissions dated 20, 22 and 30 September 1999 and 13 October 1999
and the Consumer Council's submission dated 8 October 1999

This paper sets out our further response to the BOT Tunnel Operators' latest submissions to the Bills Committee on 20, 22 and 30 September 1999 and 13 October 1999 relating to the proposed amendments to section 14 of the Telecommunication Ordinance. It also acknowledges the clear and strong endorsement given by the Consumer Council to section 14 in its letter to the Bills Committee on 2 October 1999. We believe that our proposal is a well balanced approach to support our policy on ubiquitous coverage for mobile telecommunications services in Hong Kong. It has been supported by telecommunications user groups as well as the Consumer Council during our consultation in the context of the 1998 Review of Fixed Telecommunications and in their recent deputations to the Bills Committee.

Mobile phone licence obligations

2. All Personal Communications Services (PCS) operators are bound by their licences issued in 1996 to extend service coverage to BOT tunnels including Tate's Cairn Tunnel, Eastern Harbour Tunnel and Western Harbour Tunnel. The service coverage commitment did not include the Tai Lam Tunnel which is the newest BOT tunnel and commenced operation in May 1998. Their commitments to extend service coverage, including coverage to the BOT tunnels, are given by way of making performance bonds to guarantee the coverage of milestones. In the event that the mobile network operator fails to comply with any of the milestones by the specified deadline, the surety is liable to pay to the Telecommunications Authority (TA) a specified bonded sum. We do not agree with the BOT tunnel operators' claim that there is no effective time limit within which the mobile telecommunications operators should provide service coverage to these tunnels. In enforcing the obligations under the performance bonds, the TA will take into consideration whether the mobile network operators have used their reasonable endeavours to reach commercial agreements with the tunnel operators.

Respect for contract and free market economy

3. The proposed amendments to section 14 would not affect existing commercial agreements between mobile network operators and landlords/tunnel operators. It will empower the TA to make authorisation under the new section 14(1A) only if the public interest test under the new section 14(1B)(a) and any other relevant factors (such as whether there is any alternative location for installation) set out in the new section 14(1B)(b) are met. Under the new section 14(5), the TA will only be empowered to determine the access fees if the concerned parties have failed to reach an agreement as to the fee to be paid. Furthermore, the same section stipulates that fees so determined should be fair and reasonable in all the circumstances of the case.

4. Given the high and ever increasing mobile penetration rate (52 mobile telephones per 100 people as in July 1999) in Hong Kong, mobile telecommunications have now become an essential public service to consumers and the community. There is general expectation from consumers that there would not be disconnection of mobile communications services in shielded areas, including tunnels. With the advent of the third generation mobile services which enable consumers to conduct e-commerce, data transmission as well as other multi-media applications through handsets, there can only be even stronger consumer demand for ubiquitous coverage and uninterrupted services. It is therefore in the public interest to have a policy objective that there should be ubiquitous coverage of mobile telecommunications services in Hong Kong. Our proposed amendments to section 14 is a balanced package while on one hand ensure that the public interest is met, and on the other hand ensure that primacy should be given to commercial agreements in a free market economy and a fair and reasonable access fees would be paid to the owners of shielded areas.

Level of access fees

5. The Administration has reassured Members at previous Bills Committee meetings that we have not made any judgment as to whether the present level of access fees into private tunnels is reasonable or not. Nor have we decided on any charging principles in determining the access fees under the new section 14(5)(b) introduced by the Telecommunication (Amendment) Bill 1999.

6. As stated in our previous response to the Bills Committee [CB(1) 1860/98-99 (01)], the TA will, in line with its established practice, conduct public consultation on the charging principles in determining the access fees. It will formulate clear guidelines on how he would make such a determination. The purpose of the consultation is intended to enhance the effectiveness and transparency of decisions by ensuring that the views of all interested parties, including the landlords and tunnel operators, are factored into the decision-making process.

7. The TA will carry out research and analyses on the relevant factors and considerations, including the commercial consideration put forward by landlords/tunnel operators, to determine the appropriate charging models under various circumstances. These models may include, but not limited to, the following :

  • an incremental cost-based model that includes only costs such as the costs of additional resources incurred by the tunnel operators to enable the installation, operation, management and maintenance of the mobile network facilities inside the tunnels;

  • a revenue-sharing model that involves the estimation and sharing with the tunnel operators of the additional revenue being generated through the usage of the mobile network facilities inside the tunnels;

  • access charges that are based on the valuation of property rights such as the retail rental value of spaces on equivalent premises; and

  • various combinations of above models to be applicable under specific circumstances.

In response to Members' request, we will produce an outline of the draft consultation document and present it to the Bills Committee.

8. As set out in our paper to the Bills Committee [CB(1)46/99-00(02)], the Government has completed a review on the access fees charged by Government for installation of radiocommunications equipment at Government tunnels with a view to lending support to our policy objective of ubiquitous coverage of mobile services in Hong Kong. The new access fees charged by the Government are based on a full-cost recovery approach. The BOT tunnel operators' view that charging the access fee at a level lower than the market rate is subsidizing mobile phone operators at the taxpayers' expense is unfounded. The access fee will recover all the cost incurred by the Government in handling such installations and there is no subsidy involved. As explained at the last Bills Committee meeting held on 6 October 1999, the fact that the Government is charging the mobile network operators at cost does not mean that the private BOT tunnel operators are expected to follow suit. We have not decided on any charging principles in determining the access fees under the new section 14(5)(b) introduced by the Telecommunication (Amendment) Bill. The TA will consult the public on the charging models to be adopted, including those in paragraph 7 above. Clearly, the revenue-sharing model and the model based on the valuation of property are not cost-based.

Benefit to the consumer

9. Our proposal will facilitate the extension of mobile network coverage. This will undoubtedly benefit consumers and businesses in Hong Kong given the growing importance of mobile telecommunications services. The penetration of mobile telecommunications services in Hong Kong has already passed 52% in July 1999, or 44% more than that in July 1998.

10. The Consumer Council in its letter to the Bills Committee dated 2 October 1999 gave us full support on our proposed amendments to section 14 as it would help protect the interests of both businesses and consumers. The Council considers that the concerns of facilities owners should not be viewed as reasons for not allowing third party arbitration to take place that will have regard to economic welfare as the overarching concerns. It considers that our proposal would help ensure a role of the TA in resolving issues on access to facilities (e.g. road tunnels) that is essential for the maintenance of a ubiquitous telecommunications network. It also points out that the role proposed for the TA is not unprecedented in Hong Kong. The necessity of interpolating a Government appointed "arbitrator" in the process of negotiations between two parties where the wider communities' concerns need to be safeguarded, is an established principle in overseas jurisdictions where other telecommunications sectors have been deregulated.

11. We welcome the Consumer Council's support. It is also in line with views received from telecommunications user groups during our consultation in the context of the 1998 Review of Fixed Telecommunications and in their recent deputations to the Bills Committee.

Basic Law Issues

12. The tunnel operators' claim that our proposed amendments to section 14 are in contravention of the relevant Articles of the Basic Law is unfounded. There is no question that the Bill will compromise the stipulations in the Basic Law and we are fully committed to abide by them. We are dedicated to implementing the policy of free trade and free economic principles, and to provide an economic and legal environment for encouraging investments as guaranteed under the Basic Law. Our proposals to enable the TA, in certain circumstances only after the application of a public interest test (the new section 14(1B)(a)) and having regard to the factors under the new section 14(1B)(b) (e.g. whether there is other alternative location and whether there is space constraint of the intended location for installation)to determine what constitutes a fair and reasonable charge would surely benefit consumers and businesses. Our proposals would continue to give primacy to commercial negotiations and provides a balanced and reasonable framework to facilitate our policy objective of ensuring ubiquitous coverage of mobile services in Hong Kong.

Information Technology and Broadcasting Bureau
October 1999

當局對以建造、營辦及移交方式經營隧道的營辦商
(於一九九九年九月二十、二十二、三十日和十月十三日
提出)的意見及消費者委員會(於一九九九年十月八日
提出)的意見作出回應



本文件載述我們對以建造、營辦及移交方式經營隧道的營辦商最近於一九九九年九月二十、二十二、三十日和十月十三日就《電訊條例》第14條的建議修訂向法案委員會所提出的意見所作的進一步回應,並確認消費者委員會於一九九九年十月二日致函法案委員會,表示強烈支持第14條。我們相信有關第14條的建議修訂已平衡各方面利益,有助落實促使流動電訊服務覆蓋全港的政策。電訊用戶團體及消費者委員會於《一九九八年固定電訊服務檢討》諮詢期間及最近派代表向法案委員會提出意見時,都對我們的建議表示支持。

流動電話牌照規定

2. 按當局於一九九六年簽發給各家個人通訊服務營辦商的牌照規定,它們須把服務的覆蓋範圍擴展至以建造、營辦及移交方式經營的隧道,包括大老山隧道、東區海底隧道和西區海底隧道。但由於大欖隧道是在一九九八年五月才開始通車的最新隧道,所以有關的網絡覆蓋承諾並沒有包括大欖隧道。這些電訊服務營辦商透過履約保證金形式保證履行各個有關的里程標,承諾擴展服務覆蓋範圍,包括至以建造、營辦及移交方式經營的隧道。流動電訊服務營辦商若未能遵照指定限期履行任何里程標,擔保人便須向電訊管理局局長(下文簡稱「電訊局長」)繳交一筆指定的保證金。對於上述隧道的營辦商聲稱並無實際時限規定流動電訊服務營辦商把服務覆蓋範圍擴展至該等隧道,我們並不同意。電訊局長執行履約保證金的規定時,會考慮流動電訊服務營辦商是否已盡了合理努力與隧道營辦商達成商業協議。

合約精神及自由市場經濟

3. 第14條的擬議修訂不會影響流動電訊服務營辦商與業主/隧道營辦商之間的現行商業協議。擬議修訂只賦予電訊局長權力,讓他按新訂第14(1B)(a)條在公眾利益的情況下,及於考慮新訂第14(1B)(b)條所列因素(如是否有其他地點可供裝置有關設備)後,根據新訂第14(1A)條作出授權。根據新訂第14(5)條,電訊局長只會在有關方面無法達成商業協議時,才獲授權裁定有關費用,而這條文亦規定要電訊局長所裁定的費用應該在有關個案的所有情況下屬公平和合理的。

4. 鑑於流動電訊服務在香港十分普及(截至一九九九年七月,每100人當中便有52具流動電話),而滲透率更有不斷上升的趨勢,流動電訊服務經已成為消費者和社會各界一項必要的公共服務。消費者一般都期望在遮蔽地區(包括隧道)內使用的流動通訊服務並不會中斷。隨着將推出的第三代流動服務,消費者可利用手機進行電子貿易、數據傳輸及使用其他多媒體的應用,消費者將會更強烈要求流動電訊服務全面覆蓋,以及有關的服務不會被中斷。因此,為公眾利益計,我們需要制定政策,務使流動電訊服務的覆蓋範圍遍及全港。我們對第14條所建議作出的修訂,是平衡各方面利益的做法;有關的建議一方面照顧公眾利益,而另一方面又確保在自由市場的經濟下雙方必須首先尋求達成商業協議,並且令遮蔽地方的擁有人得到公平和合理的收費。

進入土地的費用水平

5. 在法案委員會上次會議上,當局已向委員保證,我們對私營隧道現時所收取的費用是否合理一事,並沒有定論。至於根據《1999年電訊(修訂)條例草案》新訂第14(5)(b)條裁定進入土地費用所採取的收費原則,我們亦未有任何決定。

6. 正如我們先前向法案委員會回應〔CB(1)1860/98-99(01)號文件〕時所表示,電訊局長會根據一貫做法,先就裁定收費所依循的收費原則諮詢公眾意見,並制定清晰指引,說明他如何作出有關決定。公眾諮詢之目的是要增加決策成效及透明度,確保在決策過程中顧及各有關方面包括業主及隧道營辦商的意見。

7. 電訊局長將會就有關的考慮因素,包括業主/隧道營辦商所提出的商業意見,進行研究和分析,以決定在各種情況下所應採用的適當收費模式。這些模式可能包括但不限於以下各種:

  • 按成本增量計算收費模式,即收費額只會包括成本,例如隧道營辦商因准許流動電訊服務營辦商在隧道內安裝、操作、管理和維持流動網絡設施而須耗用額外資源的成本;

  • 攤分收入模式,即包括估計因在隧道內使用流動網絡設施所帶來的額外收入,並要求流動電訊服務營辦商與隧道營辦商攤分該筆收入;

  • 根據有關物業權的估值(例如同類地方的零售租值)釐定進入土地的費用;及

  • 在特定情況下組合以上模式加以應用。

因應委員的要求,我們會在條例草案獲得通過前,向法案委員會提交上述諮詢文件的草擬大綱。

8. 正如我們向法案委員會提交的文件〔CB(1)46/99 -00(02)號〕所指出,當局已完成就收取進入政府隧道裝置無線電通訊設備的流動電訊服務營辦商的費用所進行的檢討,以配合我們的政策方針,務使流動服務的覆蓋範圍遍及全港。政府的新收費是按悉數收回成本原則計算。以建造、營辦及移交方式經營隧道的營辦商認為,收費低於市值水平的做法無疑是以納稅人的支出補貼流動電話營辦商;這說法是毫無根據的。政府可以從有關費用中全數收回處理該等個案的成本,並不會作出任何補貼。正如我們上次於一九九九年十月六日法案委員會會議上所保證,政府按成本向流動電訊服務營辦商徵收費用,並不表示要私營隧道營辦商採取同樣做法。對於根據《電訊(修訂)條例草案》新訂第14(5)(b)條裁定進入土地費用所採取的收費原則,我們並未有任何決定。電訊局長會就所採取的收費模式(包括上文第7段所開列的模式)諮詢公眾意見。顯然而見,攤分收入模式及根據有關物業估值釐定費用的模式,兩均不是基於成本的。

消費者的得益

9. 我們的建議有助擴展流動電訊服務網絡的覆蓋範圍。鑑於流動電訊服務日趨重要,有關的建議無疑會令本港的消費者及工商界得益。截至一九九九年七月,本港流動電訊服務的滲透率已超過52%,較一九九八年七月增加了44%。

10. 消費者委員會(下文簡稱「消委會」)於一九九九年十月二日致函法案委員會,表示完全支持我們建議對第14條作出的建議修訂,因為此舉有助保障工商界以及消費者的利益。消委會認為當局不應因為設施擁有人的關注,而不容許第三在基於社會的經濟方面的利益的大前題下作出仲裁。消委會認為我們的建議有助加強電訊局長在解決有關進入設施(例如隧道)問題上所擔當的角色,而能否進入有關設施對電訊網絡覆蓋全港而言,是十分重要的。消委會並指出,我們建議電訊局長所擔當的角色,並非本港前所未有。在兩方進行磋商的過程中,當局需要加插一名由政府委任的「仲裁人」以保障廣大社會利益,這做法所持的原則廣為很多電訊業開放的海外司法管轄區所採用。

11. 對於消委會給予的支持,我們十分歡迎。該會的意見亦與電訊用戶團體於《一九九八年固定電訊服務檢討》諮詢期間及最近向條例草案委員會提出意見時所表達的意見相同。

與基本法的關係

12. 隧道營辦商指稱我們對第14條所建議的修訂違反了基本法的有關條文,這說法是無根據的。毫無疑問,本條例草案須符合基本法的規定,而我們亦定必致力遵照基本法行事。我們致力奉行基本法下所確保的自由貿易政策和自由經濟原則,並提供經濟和法律環境,鼓勵各項投資。我們建議電訊局長只會在若干情況下〔例如按新訂的第14(1B)(a)條在符合公益的情況下及經考慮新訂的第14(1B)(b)條的因素(如是否有其他地點可供使用,及有意裝置電訊設備的地點是否受到空間限制)後〕裁定何謂公平和合理的費用。這建議必會令消費和工商界獲益。有關的建議會確保雙方繼續首先尋求達成商業協議,並提供一個平衡各方關注和合理的架構,以協助達致流動電訊服務覆蓋全港的政策。


資訊科技及廣播局
一九九九年十月