Written Submission to Bills Committee

by Peoples Telephone Company Limited

in relation to

the Telecommunication (Amendment) Bill 1999

1. Preamble

1.1 Among those major amendments introduced by the Telecommunication (Amendment) Bill 1999 ("the Bill"), it is believed that all the Public Radiocommunication Service Licensees ("PRS Licensees") will welcome the changes to Section 14 of the Telecommunication Ordinance ("the Ordinance") regarding the right of access to land. If the assent of the Legislature is obtained, all PRS Licensees will have the identical right of access to lands and buildings as currently enjoyed by Fixed Telecommunication Network Services Operators ("FTNS Operators") for the purpose of erecting and maintaining radiocommunication installations. In this submission, we will demonstrate why such an amendment is necessary.

2. Major insufficiencies under the existing Section 14

2.1 PRS Licensees have in fact come across not a few difficulties so far in obtaining access to shielded areas of public places such as tunnels or shopping malls. In a number of bitter experiences we have encountered, the commercial offers from some land owners are neither fair, reasonable nor realistic. For instance, some offers are in effect analogous to "revenue sharing" because the asking licence fee is linked up with the number of our subscriber base or otherwise total volume of airtime revenue in the relevant month. In some other cases, the offers are extortionate enough to exclude any reasonable PRS Licensee so much so that these sites will be available only to those entities who have good connection with the land owners. Coupled with the fact that PRS Licensees are usually in a less favourable position during the course of negotiation, land owners can tactfully manoeuvre the negotiation process to the detriment of PRS Licensees. Many a time we have no choice but to succumb and accept this "all or nothing" approach however unreasonable it may be. Otherwise, we will not be able to extend our coverage to these locations and will likely face the complaints of poor coverage from the public and the press. Worse still, the Telecommunications Authority ("TA") is not in a legitimate position to step in and help PRS Licensees break the ice due to the restriction under the Ordinance.

2.2. In contrast, FTNS Operators have the privilege of seeking help from the TA in the event that similar problems take place and the result being that FTNS Operators will be allowed access without difficulty. This is FTNS Operators' privilege under the Ordinance. As mentioned however, Licensees cannot count on such a "fall back" position in case of deadlock. In our view, there is no practical reason to justify why equality was omitted in the existing Section 14.

2.3 A majority of PRS Licensees, who are not satisfied with the state of affairs, have duly escalated the issue to the Government jointly in March 1997 in response to the Government's consultative papers. We urged the Government to improve Section 14 with a view to reinstating equality into Section 14. The outcome of the Bill demonstrates the fact that our views have been adopted.

3. How the amendment can be justified by other grounds

3.1 It is argued that the revised Section 14 only safeguards the interests of PRS Licensees exclusively. This argument is not difficult to be refuted because the revised Section 14 has duly taken into consideration of the public interest, which is the tenet of HKSAR Government's Telecommunications Policy. To recapitulate, one of the policy objectives is to make the widest range of quality telecommunications services available to the community at reasonable price (emphasis added). As far as we understand, this policy statement remains intact to date.

3.2 We appreciate that there is exigent need to maintain adequate mobile coverage within the territory for the sake of public interest. It is also the reasonable expectation of the public that telephone services, whether fixed lines or mobile services, should have reached every piece of populated land and every popular shopping mall. But our concern is that not until Section 14 is changed, it will be highly remote, if not altogether impossible, for PRS Licensees to accomplish the TA's objective qua the TA's vehicle. Without the revised Section 14 and the assistance of the TA, the efforts of PRS Licensees alone are unable to provide a wide telecommunications coverage for the enjoyment of the public, particularly in those shielded areas where reasonable and sensible commercial agreements cannot be reached between the land owners and PRS Licensees. Therefore, the granting of the right of access equally to PRS Licensees will not only relieve the anxiety of our fellow operators but also benefit the entire community as a whole.

3.3 In the context of regulatory issue, the TA once said in a public occasion that they are in fact establishing the world's best practice in several areas. Whether or not the local practice is best practice should not be judged in isolation. Instead, it must be assessed with reference to world class practice. We do not have many examples of world class practice in hand but we believe our reference to the regime of Australia, the United Kingdom and the United States will suffice to strengthen our case for the revised Section 14. As a matter of fact, all these three countries have appropriate regime for land access open to all telecommunications service providers. That being said, it is submitted that these world class examples should be pursued and employed as the benchmark for streamlining our existing practice.

4. Land owners' concern

4.1 We have been told that some land owners, particularly tunnel operators, have reservation on the revised Section 14 lest such change will affect their property rights and prejudice their rights in seeking compensation. Some also fear that the TA may have excessive power in determining the compensation and the fee under the revised Section 14. With respect, all these contentions are not entirely persuasive on legal perspective.

4.2 With the deliberation of our law draftsmen, the concern of land owners have been duly counted and addressed. Under the revised Section 14, it is manifestly clear that the TA should determine the compensation and the fee reasonably and fairly having taken into account all the circumstances. Also, the change will not confer the TA an absolute power over these commercial matters to the exclusion of judicial intervention. It is our belief that any aggrieved party as a result of the TA's determination (including also PRS Licensee) has the inherent and legitimate right to address his grievances to the court. Obviously, the revised Section 14 has been designed to strive for fairness, impartiality and justice, the benefits of which will be equally available to every concerned parties following the passage of the Bill.

5. Other incidental issues

5.1 We understand that the Bill has also dealt with other incidental matters such as spectrum management and number plan etc. Our view on these matters is that provided the TA will exercise these powers in the interests of the industry and in a fair and reasonable manner, we are not prepared to pose any objection to these amendments. It is particularly because prolonged discussions may delay the revised Section 14 coming into play in good time.

6. Conclusion

6.1 Mobile telecommunications service has become part of our daily life and it can hardly be dispensed with. Furthermore, the distinction between fixed lines and mobile services is becoming increasingly insignificant and immaterial. Being an incumbent operator, we should have the privilege of gaining fair and equitable access to lands and buildings to the intent that we can provide the essential public service to the community without restriction.

6.2 Given all FTNS Operators are allowed the right of access to any lands and buildings under the existing legislation, PRS Licensees should also be given the same right for the sake of equality, failing which such telecommunications policy will be seen as discriminatory or otherwise unfairly prejudicial to interests of PRS Licensees.

6.3 In essence, the revised Section 14 should be greeted with acclaim. This is the best solution to balance the needs and interests of PRS Licensees, land owners and the public. It is also anticipated that following the new Section 14, a "win-win" situation can be seen.

6.4 The TA, being an impartial regulatory body, will be in the best position to oversee the proper implementation of the telecommunications policy and therefore adequate powers should be given to the TA for the fulfillment of such roles. Further, the better view is that by virtue of the integrity of the TA, the outcome of each determination under Section 14 will be fair, reasonable, acceptable and commercially viable as far as all parties are concerned.

6.5 In these circumstances, we must give our wholehearted support to the Bill and we sincerely hope that our Honourable Legislative Councillors will do the same without hesitation.

Peoples Telephone Company Limited
30th August 1999

萬眾電話有限公司
就>
向法案委員會提交之書面意見



1. 前言

1.1 就> 中所建議修訂現行> (第一零六章)的主要項目中,相信所有流動電話網絡商一定歡迎草案第七項對法例第十四條條文作出修訂的建議。 法案若能獲得立法會同意, 所有流動電話網絡商在新例下享有與固定電話網絡商現時在進入土地及大廈內鋪置及維持電訊線路等的對等權利。 本公司將於下闡釋有關修訂的需要性 。

2. 現行法例第十四條主要不足之處

2.1 流動電話網絡商在申請進入遮蔽的公眾地方 如隧道或購物商場時常遇到不少困難。 過往,我們有一些艱辛的經驗,部份土地業權人往往提出不公平,不合理及不切實際的商業條款。例如,提出類似"攤分收入"的方法,將客戶數量或有關月份的總通話時間與准許安裝發射基站費用掛鈎;或者提出高昂得令人卻步的費用,目的為只容納與其有良好關係的機構入場裝設發射基站。 凡此種種,流動電話網絡商在談判過程中往往處於下鋒。 而土地業權人則可技巧地謀畧,令流動電話網絡商失利。 很多情況下,縱然不合理,我們在別無他選下亦要屈服, 接受這種"全有或全無" 的安排。否則,我們將不能把網絡鋪設於這些地方內,因而很可能需要面對公眾及傳媒就覆蓋不良所作的投訴。 更壞的是,礙於現行法例的限制,電訊管理局局長並不具有合法地位去介入事件當中及協助流動電話網絡商打破這種僵局。

2.2 相對地,固定電話網絡商在類似情況下可以尋求電訊管理局局長的協助,令到他們可以輕易地得到進場權利。 而流動電話網絡商在兩難的困局下卻不能有任何"依靠"。 以我們的意見,我們很難找到合理解釋去支持第十四條條文內的不公平安排。

2.3 大部份對此現象感到不滿的流動電話網絡商早於一九九七年三月聯合上書回應政府的諮詢文件,並提出有關申訴。 我們要求於第十四條條文中政府能引入公平的原則。 事實上,這份草案建議証實了我們的意見已獲採納。

3. 支持有關法案的修訂的其他理據

3.1 有言論認為新修訂的第十四條只保障流動電話網絡商的利益。這言論並不難反駁,其實新修訂的第十四條對政府所信守的電訊政策中有關的公眾利益已作出充份考慮。在此扼述其中一項政策目標旨在令社會大眾在合理的價錢下獲得最廣泛的優質電訊服務 (加註强調)。 據知,政府對此目標至今仍徹不變。

3.2 我們明白到在公眾利益的前提下,提供足夠的流動無線電話覆蓋是急需的。同樣地,公眾亦有權期望固定電話網絡或流動無線電話網絡均須在每處有人口居住的土地上及每個受歡迎的購物商場裏提供電話服務。 但我們所關心的是,在第十四條條文仍未修訂前,我們要協助電訊管理局局長達成有關政策目標,雖不至沒有可能,惟仍有一段遙遠的距離。 沒有新修訂的第十四條及的協助下,流動電話網絡商實難獨力為公眾提供廣泛的電訊服務, 尤其是在遮蔽的公共地方當土地業權人與流通電話網絡商未能達成合理的商業協議。 故此,給予同等的進入土地權將不單紓解同業的憂慮,更可惠及整體社會。

3.3 在規管事務的層面上,電訊管理局局長曾在一公眾場合上表示本地事務已在某方面達到世界級水準。我們這當然不可以單獨去判斷本地事務是否達至水平,而必須與其他國家作比較。雖然例子不多,但以英國、美國及澳洲為例,已足夠强化支持條訂第十四條條文的論據。 事實上,這三個國家已制訂適當的規管制度,開放土地進入權予所有電訊服務提供機構。 換言之,我們應該跟循這些世界級規管事務,並以此為借鏡改善現行制度。

4. 土地業權人的顧慮

4.1 我們得悉部份土地業權人,尤以隧道營辦商對有關修訂持保留態度, 唯恐影響其物業權益及損害其索償權;又或擔心電訊管理局局長擁有過大的權力於裁決賠償額及收費上。惟從法律角度而言,這些言論是有欠說服力。

4.2 審慎的法律起草人員其實已充份考慮及照顧土地業權人的顧慮。 修訂條款中已清楚闡釋電訊管理局局長必需對所有情況作出考慮並需要合理地及公平地裁決賠償及收費。 再者,有關修訂沒有賦予電訊管理局局長凌駕司法介入的絕對權力以支配商業事務。 我們相信任何若因電訊管理局局長的裁決而備受侵害的團體(包括流動電話網絡商)都具與生俱來及合法的權利向法院提出訴訟。 明顯地, 有關修訂建議已致力尋求公平、無私及正義, 令各有關的團體均能獲益。

5. 其他條例修訂建議

5.1 我們明白草案涉及其他條文的修訂,如頻譜管理及電訊服號碼計劃等。我們對此的立場是只要電訊管理局局長在行使其權力時以業界的利益為依歸及抱著持平態度,我們並不打算提出任何反對。 尤其是因為避免冗長的辯論而拖誤新修訂的第十四條的生效日期。

6. 總結

6.1 流動電服務已成為我們生活中不可或缺的一部份。 加上固定電話網絡商與流動電話網絡商的分冶越來越不明顯。作為一間稱職的網絡營辦商,我們應獲得公平及平等進入土地及大廈的權利, 藉此我們可在沒有局限的情況下為社會提供這項必需的公共服務。

6.2 再者,在公平的原則下,流動電話網絡商應有對等進入土地的權利,容許與固定電話網絡商看齊。否則,這法例的遣漏便反映了電訊政策對流通電話網絡商存有歧視及偏見。

6.3 大體上,第十四條條例的修訂應該受到喝采。 這是一個最好的解決辦法來平衡流動電話網絡商、土地業權人及公眾的需要及利益。 我們可以預期新的第十四條會為各方帶來"雙贏"的局面。

6.4 電訊管理局局長,作為一個公正無私的政府規管體制,將會處於最適當的位置上監督電訊政策是否妥善地推行。 因此,我們必須賦予其足夠權力以履行職責。 加上電訊管理局局長的誠信,所有根據第十四條所作的裁決,定必就各有關團體而言是公平、合理及可接受的。

6.5 在此情況下,我們衷心支持草案修訂建議。並懇請所有立法會議員亦能同樣表示贊同。


萬眾電話有限公司
一九九九年八月三十日