The Secretary for Information Technology and Broadcasting submits the following note for Members' information -

Title of NoteExecutive Council Meeting
Electronic Transactions Bill22 June 1999

8 July 1999Information Technology and
Broadcasting Bureau

File Ref : ITBB/IT 107/4/1 (99) VIII




At the meeting of the Executive Council on 22 June 1999, the Council ADVISED and the Chief Executive ORDERED that the Electronic Transactions Bill at the Annex should be introduced into the Legislative Council.



2. Electronic commerce is widely recognised as the engine of future economic growth. In Hong Kong, while there have been attempts at adopting this new mode of business transactions, we have yet to tap the full potentials of electronic commerce to enhance Hong Kong's overall competitiveness. To promote the development of electronic commerce in Hong Kong, Government has decided to be a leading user of electronic transactions by launching the Electronic Service Delivery (ESD) scheme. Under ESD, the first phase of which will be implemented in the latter half of 2000, public services will be available on-line, 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

3. In parallel, we propose to take action to address public concerns about the security and certainty of electronic transactions, e.g. the legal status of electronic records and digital signatures, authentication of the parties to electronic transactions, the confidentiality and integrity of electronic messages transmitted over open communications networks and non-repudiation of electronic transactions. To provide a secure and trusted environment for the conduct of electronic transactions, Government has spearheaded the establishment of a public key infrastructure (PKI) in Hong Kong through the Hongkong Post, which will start to provide public certification services on a non-exclusive basis by the end of 1999. With the issue of digital certificates by certification authorities (CAs) and through the use of digital signatures and public/private key encryption, individuals and businesses will be able to establish the identity of the opposite party in electronic transactions, authenticate electronic messages received, ensure that the confidentiality and integrity of electronic messages have not been breached and safeguard against the repudiation of electronic transactions.

Electronic Transactions Bill

4. Against the above background and to provide the necessary legislative back-up for the conduct of electronic transactions in Hong Kong, we propose to introduce a new bill, the Electronic Transactions Bill, to -

  1. give electronic records and digital signatures used in electronic transactions the same legal status as that of their paper-based counterparts; and

  2. establish a framework to promote and facilitate the operation of CAs so as to ensure trust and security in electronic transactions.

In order not to constrain unnecessarily the development of electronic commerce, the Bill should -

  1. adopt a technology-neutral approach to cope with rapid technological changes; and

  2. adopt a minimalist regulatory approach.

Electronic Records and Digital Signatures

5. To give legal recognition to electronic records and digital signatures, we propose to introduce provisions along the line of the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law - Model Law on Electronic Commerce. We have included the following provisions, and also suitable safeguards for these provisions to apply, in the Bill -

  1. where a rule of law requires or permits information to be given or presented in writing, the use of electronic records will satisfy the rule of law;

  2. where a rule of law requires information to be retained, or to be presented or retained in the original form, that requirement is met by retaining or presenting the information in the form of electronic records;

  3. where a rule of law requires a signature of a person, that requirement is met by a digital signature (subject to paragraph 10 below).

  4. contracts shall not be denied legal effect solely on the ground that electronic records are used in their formation; and

  5. electronic records shall not be denied admissibility as evidence in court on the sole ground that they are electronic records.

6. While it is our policy objective to promote the wider adoption of electronic transactions in Hong Kong, we recognise that for the time being certain types of transactions would preferably be conducted through conventional means because of their solemnity, significance, complexity or other factors. In addition, some Government departments may not accept electronic information under a rule of law because of operational, technological or other reasons. In some other cases, while individual departments are prepared to accept electronic information under a rule of law, they may only be able to do so if such electronic information has been prepared in a specified format and using a specified type of software. Taking account of these considerations, we have included the following provisions in the proposed legislation whereby -

  1. certain generic items like wills, trust, statutory declarations, affidavits, power of attorney, court orders, warrant, bills of exchange, documents or instruments concerning land or property transactions, etc. are exempt from the operation of the relevant provisions in the proposed legislation;

  2. a mechanism is provided to exempt by means of subsidiary legislation specific rules of law from the operation of the relevant provisions in the proposed legislation;

  3. judicial proceedings are exempt from the operation of the relevant provisions in the proposed legislation and the authorities for making court rules are empowered to apply the relevant provisions to such proceedings when the relevant courts/tribunals are ready ; and

  4. a mechanism is provided for format and procedural requirements to be specified if necessary in respect of cases whereby electronic information is accepted under a rule of law.

Certification Authorities

7. In addition to the Hongkong Post, the private sector is free to set up CAs in Hong Kong to serve the needs of the community. The number of CAs to be established in Hong Kong will be determined by the market. In line with our minimalist approach and to encourage private sector initiatives, we do not propose to introduce a mandatory licensing requirement under the proposed legislation, as is the case for some other places.

8. However, to protect consumer interests and enhance users' confidence in electronic transactions, we propose to introduce a voluntary system of recognition whereby CAs are free to apply for recognition from Government. The Director of Information Technology Services (DITS) will be the authority for granting Government recognition to CAs under the proposed legislation. Such a scheme will also facilitate inter-operability among the systems of different recognised CAs under the local PKI. We will grant recognition only to those CAs -

  1. which have achieved a trust standard acceptable to Government (this covers the practices, procedures and systems engaged in providing the services, the suitability of the personnel involved, the financial status of the operator and the arrangements to cover potential liability of the CA, etc.); and

  2. which adopt a common and open interface in their operation to ensure inter-operability with other recognised CAs under the local PKI.

9. Under this voluntary regime, recognised CAs will have to meet the following requirements stipulated in the proposed legislation -

  1. publication of a certification practice statement which clearly specifies the practices and standards adopted for issuing certificates to subscribers;

  2. use of a trustworthy technical system in performing CA services;

  3. engagement of a professional approved by the DITS to conduct an annual audit on the provision of CA services; and

  4. compliance with a code of practice issued by Government.

Failure to comply with these requirements may result in suspension or revocation of the recognition granted by Government. Through the operation of this regime, consumers will be able to assess the trust standard of individual CAs and to make an informed choice when obtaining CA services.

10. To encourage CAs to seek Government recognition under the proposed voluntary regime, we have also stipulated in the proposed legislation that the provision therein regarding legal recognition of digital signatures (referred to in paragraph 5(c) above) applies only to those digital signatures supported by recognised certificates issued by CAs which are recognised by Government. In addition, we have, in line with common practice adopted elsewhere, introduced a provision to allow recognised CAs to limit their liability in the issue of recognised certificates under prescribed situations (i.e. concerning false or forged digital signature or misrepresentation of information provided to the CA but the CA concerned has complied with the requirements of the proposed legislation, and has not acted negligently, intentionally or recklessly on the misrepresentation). We consider these measures crucial in encouraging the development of a PKI and the establishment of CAs in Hong Kong.

11. For CAs which have not obtained recognition from Government and are thus not covered by the proposed statutory provisions, they and their subscribers will rely on common law principles in providing and obtaining CA services respectively.

12. Under the proposed legislation, Hongkong Post is a recognised certification authority and may charge fees for its services on a commercial basis.

Miscellaneous Issues

13. We have also included provisions in the proposed legislation to address the obligation of secrecy as well as safeguards against the provision of false information and the making of a false claim as a recognised certification authority.


14. The main provisions of the proposed Bill are -

  1. Part I provides for the commencement of the Bill and defines the terms used in the legislation. Part II and Schedule 1 set out the applicability of the Bill;

  2. Part III provides for legal recognition of electronic records and digital signatures in relation to rules of law and admissibility of electronic records as evidence in court, and sets out the safeguards for the legal recognition to apply;

  3. Part IV stipulates the authority for the Secretary for Information Technology and Broadcasting to provide for exemptions of rules of law from the operation of the provisions on legal recognition of electronic records/digital signatures in the Bill and to specify format and procedure in respect of rules of law under which electronic records/digital signatures are accepted. Judicial proceedings set out in Schedule 2 of the Bill are exempt ab initio from the operation of the provisions on legal recognition of electronic records/digital signatures in the Bill but the court authorities have the power to apply these provisions to these proceedings where appropriate;

  4. Part V provides for legal recognition of electronic records in the formation of contracts. Part VI specifies that an electronic record is that of the originator if it was sent by the originator or with his authority or through his information system. It also sets out provisions on sending and receiving of electronic records and where and when the electronic records are regarded as sent and received;

  5. Part VII sets out the Government recognition scheme for CAs, covering the application, renewal, suspension and revocation of recognition and the related appeal mechanism;

  6. Part VIII provides that Hongkong Post is a recognised certification authority and can charge fees for its services which can be above cost;

  7. Part IX sets out the various general provisions concerning the operation of recognised CAs, including the setting of reliance limit for recognised certificates, the limitation of liability of recognised CAs under prescribed situations, the annual auditing of the performance of recognised CAs, and the publication of certification practice statement to specify the practices and standards in the issue of certificates;

  8. Part X provides for the issue of code of practice by the DITS for compliance by recognised certification authorities and the recognition of repositories for storing and retrieving certificates and related information;

  9. Part XI addresses the obligation of secrecy, the safeguard against provision of false information and the offence for making a false claim in respect of recognised CA; and

  10. Part XII sets out the authority to make regulations and to amend the schedules under the Bill and provides for immunity of public officers in the exercise of authority (other than CA functions) under the Bill.


15. The proposed legislative timetable is -

Publication in the Gazette9 July 1999
First Reading and commencement
of Second Reading debate
14 July 1999
Resumption of Second Reading debate,
committee stage and Third Reading
to be notified


16. The proposed Bill applies to a rule of law irrespective of whether the rule of law is applicable to an individual, public body, public authority, private body, organ or any other person or to a transaction executed by means of electronic records to which any such person is a party.


17. The Department of Justice has advised that the proposed Bill does not conflict with those provisions of the Basic Law carrying no human rights implications.


18. The Department of Justice has advised that the proposed Bill is consistent with the human rights provisions of the Basic Law.


19. The proposed Bill does not give rise to additional financial or staffing implications. The resource requirement in respect of the operation of the voluntary CA recognition scheme will be met from within the Information Technology Services Department through redeployment. Fees will be charged for the CA recognition services on a cost-recovery basis. The resource requirement of the Hongkong Post to operate the public certification services will be met from within the Post Office Trading Fund. Revenue generated from the Hongkong Post's CA services will accrue to the Trading Fund.


20. Based on the latest forecast, the total value of electronic transactions (both business-to-business and retail transactions) on a global basis will rise to over US$400 billion annually by 2002. The projected growth rate is 40 times that of the global Gross Domestic Product. Given a favourable environment, the growth of electronic commerce in Hong Kong in the foreseeable future is likely to be substantial, against a relatively low initial base. The development of electronic commerce will enhance our productivity and efficiency, thereby strengthening our overall competitiveness. It will also enable us to interface effectively with our major trading partners who are driving intensively towards electronic commerce. The proposed legislation will provide a conducive environment for electronic commerce to take hold in Hong Kong, and to drive our economic growth in the Information Age.


21. There are no environmental implications.


22. We have consulted the Information Technology and Broadcasting Panel of the Legislative Council and the Information Infrastructure Advisory Committee on the principles of the Bill. They both expressed support to our proposals.

23. We have also consulted the Bar Association and the Law Society on the principles of the Bill. The Bar Association supported the principles. The Law Society has taken note of the principles and have raised some technical points for clarification.

24. We have also widely publicised the principles of the Bill through various fora, including seminars, workshops and briefings for different organisations, and have received positive feedback on the legislative exercise.


25. We will issue a press release on 9 July 1999 when the proposed Bill is published in the Gazette.


26. Any enquiries on this brief should be addressed to Mr Alan Siu, Principal Assistant Secretary for Information Technology and Broadcasting, at 2189 2287 or by facsimile at 2511 1458.

Information Technology and Broadcasting Bureau
8 July 1999

立法會參考資料摘要



資訊科技及廣播局局長現提交下述文件,供各位議員參考:

文件名稱行政會議的會議日期
《電子交易條例草案》一九九九年六月二十二日









一九九九年七月八日資訊科技及廣播局


檔號:ITBB/IT 107/4/1 (99) VIII


立法會參考資料摘要


電子交易條例草案


引言

在一九九九年六月二十二日的會議上,行政會議建議,行政長官指令電子交易條例草案(載於附件)應提交立法會。

背景和論據

背景

2. 電子貿易被廣泛視為未來經濟發展的動力。就香港而言,雖然已有一些機構嘗試採用這種新的商業交易模式,但我們目前尚未能够全面利用電子貿易增強香港整體的競爭力。為推動電子貿易在香港的發展,政府決定推行公共服務電子化計劃,率先採用電子模式為市民提供服務。第一期公共服務電子化計劃將於二零零零年下半年推出,屆時市民每星期七日及每日廿四小時都可得到政府透過聯機方式提供的公共服務。

3. 與此同時,我們建議採取適當措施,消除公眾對於電子交易是否安全穩妥及是否有明確依據這兩方面的疑慮。公衆人士所關注的事項包括電子紀錄及數碼簽署的法律地位、如何確認電子交易雙方的身分、透過開放通訊網絡傳送的電子訊息能否保密及保持完整無缺,以及是否能夠確保進行電子交易後不容交易雙方否定曾進行交易。為提供一個穩妥可靠的環境供進行電子交易,政府將會建立一個本地的公開密碼匙基礎建設。為達到這個目的,香港郵政將以非專營形式,在一九九九年年底前開始提供公共核證服務。將來,無論個人或商號,在進行電子交易時,將可利用核證機關所發出的數碼證書和透過使用數碼簽署及公開/私人密碼匙加密科技,以確定交易的另一方的身分、核實所接收的訊息是否真確、確保電子訊息完整無缺和不會外洩,以及保障在進行電子交易後雙方必須確認曾進行交易。

電子交易條例草案

4. 基於上述背景,以及為在香港進行電子交易提供法律的依據,我們建議制訂新的法例 - 電子交易條例草案。該法例的目的如下 -

  1. 使電子交易中所使用的電子紀錄及數碼簽署,將如同文件交易的紀錄和簽署般獲得法律承認;及

  2. 為鼓勵在香港設立核證機關及就核證機關的運作制訂合適架構,藉此確保電子交易穩妥可靠。

為免窒礙電子貿易的發展,條例草案應 -

  1. 採取科技中立的方式,以配合科技的急速發展;及

  2. 盡量少加規管。

電子紀錄及數碼簽署

5. 為使電子紀錄及數碼簽署獲得法律承認,我們建議參照聯合國國際貿易法例委員會的電子貿易標準法例 (United Nations Commission on International Trade Law - Model Law on Electronic Commerce),在條例草案內訂立下列規定及實施這些規定的適當保障措施 -

  1. 凡法律規則規定或准許以書面形式提供資料,則提交電子紀錄亦屬符合規定;

  2. 凡法律規則要求保留資料,或以原狀出示或保留資料,則以電子紀錄方式保留或出示有關資料亦屬符合規定;

  3. 凡法律規則要求有關人士作出簽署,則使用數碼簽署亦屬符合規定(但須符合下文第10段所述的情況);

  4. 不得純粹因為有關合約是以電子紀錄方式訂立而否定其法律效力;及

  5. 不得純粹因為有關紀錄屬電子紀錄而不准用作呈堂證據。

6. 我們的政策目標是鼓勵廣泛採用電子交易,但我們亦明白到某些類別的交易,由於其性質莊嚴、重要、複雜,又或由於其他因素,目前較宜以傳統方式進行。此外,有些政府部門基於運作上的考慮或某些技術原因或其他理由,可能未能在某些法律規則下接受電子資訊。另外出現一些情況是即使個別部門作好準備在某些法律規則下接受電子資訊,他們只能够處理以指定形式擬備及使用指定種類的軟件提交的電子資訊。在考慮這些因素後,我們在擬議法例加入以下條文 -

  1. 遺囑、信託、法定聲明、誓章、授權書、法庭命令、手令、匯票、有關土地或樓宇交易的文件或文書等文件類別均獲豁免,不受擬議法例內的有關條文影響;

  2. 設立一個機制,藉附屬法例豁免一些指定的法律規則,使這些法律規則不受擬議法例內的有關條文影響;

  3. 豁免司法程序,使這些程序不受擬議法例內的有關條文影響,而制定法庭規則的主管當局有權當有關的法庭/審裁處可以接受電子資訊時撤銷有關豁免;及

  4. 設立一個機制,就在某些法律規則下可接受提交電子資訊的情況,視乎需要規定這些電子資訊必須按指定的規格及程序提交。

核證機關

7. 除香港郵政外,私營機構可因應社會的需要,在香港自由設立核證機關。本地核證機關的多寡將由市場需求決定。為貫徹盡量少加規管的原則,並鼓勵私營機構參與提供核證服務,我們不會建議仿效某些地區的做法,在擬議法例內訂立強制性領牌規定。

8. 不過,為保障消費者利益及增加使用者對電子交易的信心,我們建議實行一套自願申請認可的制度,讓核證機關以自願形式向政府申請認可。根據擬議法例,資訊科技署署長將會是向核證機關發出政府認可的主管當局。這套制度亦有助本地公開密碼匙基礎建設下不同的認可核證機關的系統在運作上互相配合。我們建議核證機關必須符合以下條件始獲政府認可 -

  1. 其可靠程度已達至政府認可水平(包括提供服務的作業方式、程序及系統,工作人員是否稱職,營辦者的財政狀況,以及為應付核證機關可能承擔的責任而作的安排等);及

  2. 在運作上採用共通及開放的界面,確保可與在公開密碼匙基礎建設下的其他認可核證機關互相配合運作。

9. 在這自願申請認可的制度下,核證機關必須符合擬議法例內訂明的以下規定始會獲得認可 -

  1. 公布核證作業準則,清楚說明核證機關向用戶發出證書的作業方式及採用的標準;

  2. 採用穩妥可靠的技術系統提供核證服務;

  3. 聘用獲資訊科技署署長認可的專業人員,每年就其所提供的核證服務進行審核;及

  4. 遵守政府所發出的業務守則。

若認可核證機關不符合上述規定,政府可暫時吊銷已發出的認可或將之撤銷。透過這個制度,消費者可自行評估個別核證機關的可靠程度,然後根據有關資料選擇合適的核證服務。

10. 為鼓勵核證機關在擬議的自願申請認可的制度下向政府申請認可,我們在擬議法例內訂明,有關承認數碼簽署具法律效力的條文(見上文第5(c)段),只適用於由政府認可核證機關發出的認可證書所提供的數碼簽署。此外,我們亦按照其他地方的一般做法,制訂法例條文,容許認可核證機關在指定情況下為其發出的認可證書所須承擔的責任設定限額。這些指定情況涉及某些人士利用虛假或偽造數碼簽署,又或某些人士向核證機關提供虛假資料,而所涉及的核證機關已履行其在擬議法例下的責任,同時並無在疏忽,蓄意或罔顧實情的情況下行事。我們認為這些措施對於在香港推動發展公開密碼匙基礎建設及鼓勵成立核證機關這兩點非常重要。

11. 至於未經政府認可因而不受擬議法例條文規管的核證機關,在提供核證服務時,將以普通法原則為依據,同樣地,其客戶在接受服務時,亦以普通法原則為依據。

12. 按擬議法例的規定,香港郵政為一認可核證機關,其服務可根據商業原則收費。

其他事項

13. 我們亦在擬議法例內訂立其他條文,就保密責任作出規定、以及防止任何人士提供虛假資訊和虛假聲稱為認可核證機關。

條例草案

14. 擬議條例草案的主要條文如下 -

  1. 第I部訂明條例草案的生效日期及界定法例內所使用的字眼,第II部及附表1訂明條例草案的適用範圍;

  2. 第III部訂明電子紀錄及數碼簽署在有關法律規則下獲承認和可接納作為呈堂證據,以及為施行上述認可條文而制訂的保障措施;

  3. 第IV部訂明資訊科技及廣播局局長根據條例草案可作出豁免,令某些法律規則不受草案內承認電子紀錄及數碼簽署的條文的運作所影響;另外,如在某些法律規則下可予接納電子紀錄/數碼簽署,資訊科技及廣播局局長亦可就所需依循的規格和程序作出規定。附表2所列的司法程序自草案開始實施即獲豁免,不受草案內承認電子紀錄及數碼簽署的條文的運作所影響,但法庭主管當局有權在適當時撤銷有關豁免;

  4. 第V部訂明在法律上認可在簽訂合約時採用電子紀錄。第VI部訂明發訊者須就其發出或批准發出或經由其資訊系統發出的電子紀錄負責,並就發出和接收電子紀錄及有關的地點及時間作出規定;

  5. 第VII部訂明政府認可核證機關計劃的細則,其中包括有關提出申請認可或將認可續期、暫時吊銷政府已發出的認可、撤銷認可及相關的上訴機制各事項的細則;

  6. 第VIII部訂明香港郵政為認可核證機關,並可就其核證服務收取費用,而該費用可超逾提供服務的成本;

  7. 第IX部訂明與認可核證機關運作有關的各項一般條文,包括為認可證書設定承擔限額,在指定的情况下限制認可核證機關所須承擔的責任,每年就認可核證機關的運作作出審核,及公布核證作業準則,以規定發出證書的方式和標準;

  8. 第X部訂明資訊科技署署長可發出業務守則,認可核證機關須予遵守。資訊科技署署長亦可就用作儲存及檢索數碼證書和其他有關資訊的儲存庫作出認可;

  9. 第XI部訂明保密責任及防止提供虛假資訊的規定,及如虛假聲稱為認可核證機關,可予入罪等;及

  10. 第XII部訂明根據條例草案訂立規例及修訂附表的權力,以及公職人員在行使條例草案所賦予的權力(除核證機關功能外)時的豁免權。

立法程序時間表

15. 建議的立法程序時間表會如下 -

    刊登憲報一九九九年七月九日
    首讀和開始二讀辯論一九九九年七月十四日
    恢復二讀辯論、委員會審議階段和三讀另行通知

法例的約束力

16. 擬議法例適用於任何法律規則,不論該規則是適用於個人、公共機構、公共主管當局、私營機構、機關或任何其他人士。擬議法例亦適用於任何上述人士使用電子紀錄進行的交易。

與基本法的關係

17. 律政司認為擬議條例草案並無抵觸基本法中與人權無關的條文。

與人權法案的關係

18. 律政司認為擬議條例草案與基本法中有關人權的條文相符。

對財政和人手的影響

19. 擬議條例草案並不涉及額外的財政或人手資源。推行核證機關自願申請認可計劃所需的資源,將由資訊科技署以內部調配方式應付。該署將按收回成本的原則,就核證機關的認可服務收取費用。香港郵政提供公共核證服務所需的資源,將由郵政署營運基金撥付,而從該項服務所得到的收入,將撥入上述營運基金。

對經濟的影響

20. 根據最新預測,全球電子交易(包括商戶與商戶之間的交易及零售交易)的總值到二零零二年將增至每年逾4,000億美元,其增長率預計是全球本地生產總值增長率的40倍。電子貿易現時在香港尚處於起步階段,在有利其發展的環境下,於可見的未來應會有大幅度的增長。發展電子貿易可提高我們的生產力和效率,從而加強香港整體的競爭力,令我們能夠有效地與現在積極發展電子貿易的主要貿易伙伴聯繫。擬議法例將會提供有利電子貿易在香港蓬勃發展的環境,並推動香港在資訊新紀元的經濟增長。

對環境的影響

21. 條例草案對環境並無影響。

公眾諮詢

22. 我們已就條例草案的原則,諮詢立法會資訊科技及廣播事務委員會和資訊基建諮詢委員會的意見。兩個委員會均對我們的建議表示支持。

23. 我們亦曾就條例草案的原則徵詢香港大律師公會和香港律師會的意見。香港大律師公會支持有關的原則,香港律師會表示知悉有關原則,並要求我們澄清一些技術問題。

24. 我們利用不同場合廣泛宣傳條例草案的原則,例如不同組織和團體籌辦的研討會、講座及簡介會,並收到正面的回應,支持這項立法工作。

宣傳安排

25. 我們將於一九九九年七月九日發出新聞稿,並於同日在憲報刊登擬議法例。

查詢

26. 如對這份摘要有任何疑問,請撥電2189 2287或傳真2511 1458,向資訊科技及廣播局首席助理局長蕭如彬先生查詢。



資訊科技及廣播局
一九九九年七月八日