LC Paper No. CB(1) 189/99-00(03)

Response from ITBB

(1) Clause 3

We note that a drafting point has been raised. We are now considering, in consultation with the Law Draftsman, as to whether it is necessary to distinguish between information which is required/permitted to "be in writing, given or presented in writing" or whether a general form of wording can be adopted to cover all three scenarios. The drafting point raised can be addressed in that context.

(2) Clause 5

The question is, as we understand it, if the law permits information to be in writing, that is if the law does not specify that it must be in writing, can it exist in the form of electronic record? If so, why is "be in writing" not referred to in clause 5(2)? The answer to the first question is that if information is not required to be in writing, it may exist in the form of electronic record. As for the second, please refer to our reply to the question on clause 3.

(3) Clause 22(4)

There is no requirement under existing clause 22(4) that the Director of Information Technology Services (DITS) has to give reasons in the notice for revocation of recognition. However, we have no objection that DITS should give reasons in the notice to assist the certification authority concerned in its preparation for an appeal. We will consult the Law Draftsman and propose CSAs for the purpose.

(4) Clause 23

Under clause 23, the DITS may suspend a recognition for a period not exceeding 14 days by serving a notice of suspension on the certification authority. We do not consider that there is a need for the DITS to invite the certification authority concerned to make representations before the suspension is implemented. This will otherwise defeat the purpose of suspension which has to be carried out efficiently. However, the certification authority concerned may appeal under clause 27 to the Secretary for Information Technology and Broadcasting against the suspension decision of the DITS within 7 days of the date on which the suspension notice is served on the certification authority.

(5) Clause 38

It is our intention that a recognised certification authority should publish its certification practice statement for public information. We will deal with such matters of detail in the Code of Practice to be issued by the DITS under clause 39.

(6) Schedule 1

  1. We note that section 16 should be referred to in the heading of Schedule 1. We will consult the Law Draftsman and propose CSAs for the purpose.

  2. A document effecting a floating charge on immovable property is a contract for disposition of land which is required to be in writing under section 3 of the Conveyancing and Property Ordinance (Cap. 219). Moreover, while it is not an instrument affecting land and therefore is not registrable under section 2A(1) of the Land Registration Ordinance (Cap. 128), it becomes a fixed charge upon crystallization (as evidenced by a certificate signed by or on behalf of the chargee), which is registrable under section 2A(2) of the Land Registration Ordinance and has to be in writing. As such and after further consideration, we propose that the exemption in Schedule 1 should be extended to a floating charge and a fixed charge as respectively described in sections 2A(1) and (2) of the Land Registration Ordinance.

(7) Schedule 2

It is not intended that proceedings before statutory tribunals cited should fall within the scope of Schedule 2. If the provisions relating to these proceedings should be exempt from the operation of clauses 5, 6, 7 or 8 of the Bill, they will be dealt with by order under clause 11.

(8) Public consultation

We have responded to the technical points on the principles of the Electronic Transactions Bill raised by the Law Society and we enclose the related correspondence for your reference.

立法會CB(1)189/99-00(03)號文件

資訊科技及廣播局的回應

(1) 擬議第3條

所提問題是一個法律草擬方面的問題。我們現正徵詢法律草擬專員的意見,考慮是否有必要把資訊區分為規定/准許「是書面形式,或以書面形式出示或提供」,抑或可以採用一般字眼概括全部三種情況。我們可在研究上述情况時處理所提出的問題。

(2) 擬議第5條

據我們理解,所提問題是倘若法例准許資訊以書面形式作出,即倘若法例並無訂明資訊必須以書面形式作出,則有關資訊可否採用電子紀錄形式?而如果可以的話,則第5(2)條為何不提述「是書面形式」的字眼。就第一個問題,我們的看法是倘若法律並無規定資訊必須以書面形式作出,則有關資訊可以採用電子紀錄形式。至於第二個問題,請參閱我們就有關擬議第3條的提問所作出的回覆。

(3) 擬議第22(4)條

現有第22(4)條並無規定資訊科技署署長(下文簡稱「署長」)須在撤銷認可的通知內陳述理由。不過,我們不反對署長應在通知內陳述理由,以便有關的核證機關在提出上訴時可作準備。我們會徵詢法律草擬專員的意見,就此制訂委員會審議階段修訂建議。

(4) 擬議第23條

根據第23條,署長可向核證機關送達暫時吊銷通知,暫時吊銷向該機關發出的認可,但為期不可超過14-天。我們認為署長無必要在實行暫時吊銷前邀請有關核證機關作出陳述,否則將不能有效率執行暫時吊銷認可的工作。不過,有關的核證機關可根據第27條,在暫時吊銷認可通知送達該機關之日計7天內,就署長暫時吊銷認可的決定,向資訊科技及廣播局局長提出上訴。

(5) 擬議第38條

我們將會訂明認可核證機關應發出核證作業準則,供公眾參考。上述細節將會於署長根據第39條所發出的業務守則內訂明。

(6) 附表1

  1. 我們同意附表1的標題應提述第16條。我們會徵詢法律草擬專員的意見,就此制訂委員會審議階段修訂建議。

  2. 根據《物業轉易及財產條例》(第219章)第3條,就不動產達成浮動押記的文件是指必須以書面作出的土地處置合約。這些文件雖然並非屬影響土地的文書,及因此無需根據《土地註冊條例》(第128章)第2A(1)條註冊,但這些文件會在押記具體化(由承押記人簽署或代其簽署的證明書證明)時,變成一項固定押記,須根據《土地註冊條例》第2A(2)條註冊,而且必須以書面作出。因此,經進一步考慮後,我們建議將《土地註冊條例》第2A(1)及(2)條所分別描述的浮動押記和固定押記納入附表1所界定的豁免範圍內。

(7) 附表2

我們無意把來信中提及的法定審裁處席前進行的法律程序納入附表2的範圍內。若有關這些法律程序的條文需耍獲得豁免,不受草案第5、6、7或8條的實施所影響,我們可透過按第11條所發出的命令予以處理。

(8) 公眾諮詢

對於香港律師會就《電子交易條例草案》的原則所提出的技術性問題,我們經已作出回應,並隨文夾附有關函件以供參考。