Legislative Council

LC Paper No. CB(2) 2721/98-99

Ref : CB2/H/5

Special Meeting of the House Committee held on 10 May 1999

Minutes of Discussion on Agenda items III and IV

Members present :

Dr Hon LEONG Che-hung, JP (Chairman)
Dr Hon YEUNG Sum (Deputy Chairman)
Hon Kenneth TING Woo-shou, JP
Hon James TIEN Pei-chun, JP
Hon David CHU Yu-lin
Hon HO Sai-chu, JP
Hon Cyd HO Sau-lan
Hon Edward HO Sing-tin, JP
Hon Albert HO Chun-yan
Dr Hon Raymond HO Chung-tai, JP
Hon LEE Wing-tat
Hon LEE Cheuk-yan
Hon Martin LEE Chu-ming, SC, JP
Hon NG Leung-sing
Prof Hon NG Ching-fai
Hon Margaret NG Ngoi-yee
Hon Mrs Selina CHOW LIANG Shuk-yee, JP
Hon Ronald ARCULLI, JP
Hon MA Fung-kwok
Hon James TO Kun-sun
Hon CHEUNG Man-kwong
Hon Ambrose CHEUNG Wing-sum, JP
Hon HUI Cheung-ching
Hon Christine LOH Kung-wai
Hon CHAN Kwok-keung
Hon CHAN Yuen-han
Hon CHAN Wing-chan
Hon CHAN Kam-lam
Hon Mrs Sophie LEUNG LAU Yau-fun, JP
Hon Gary CHENG Kai-nam
Hon SIN Chung-kai
Hon Andrew WONG Wang-fat, JP
Dr Hon Philip WONG Yu-hong
Hon WONG Yung-kan
Hon Jasper TSANG Yok-sing, JP
Hon Howard YOUNG, JP
Hon YEUNG Yiu-chung
Hon LAU Wong-fat, GBS, JP
Hon Ambrose LAU Hon-chuen, JP
Hon Emily LAU Wai-hing, JP
Hon CHOY So-yuk
Hon Timothy FOK Tsun-ting, JP
Hon LAW Chi-kwong, JP
Hon TAM Yiu-chung, JP
Hon FUNG Chi-kin
Dr Hon TANG Siu-tong, JP

Members absent :

Hon Michael HO Mun-ka
Hon Eric LI Ka-cheung, JP
Hon LEE Kai-ming, JP
Dr Hon David LI Kwok-po, JP
Hon Fred LI Wah-ming
Dr Hon LUI Ming-wah, JP
Hon Bernard CHAN
Hon LEUNG Yiu-chung
Hon LAU Chin-shek, JP
Hon LAU Kong-wah
Hon Mrs Miriam LAU Kin-yee, JP
Hon Andrew CHENG Kar-foo

Clerk in attendance :

Mrs Justina LAM
Clerk to the House Committee

Staff in attendance :

Mr Jimmy MA, JP Legal Adviser

Mr LAW Wing-lok
Chief Assistant Secretary (2)5

Miss Mary SO
Senior Assistant Secretary (2)8

I. The way forward in following up the issue of the right of abode of persons born in the Mainland to Hong Kong permanent residents

II. Meeting with Deputations/Individual

(Verbatim record of discussion on the above two items was issued to Members vide LC Paper No. CB(2) 2182/98-99 dated 2 June 1999)

III. Schedule of Meeting and Deputations Invited/to be Invited

1. Referring members to the proposed meeting dates in LC Paper No. CB(2)1915/98-99, the Chairman said that some meetings of Panels, Bills Committees and other committees would have to be rescheduled to make way for the special House Committee meetings. The Chairman asked the Secretariat to consult the committee chairmen concerned.

2. The Chairman asked members to inform the Secretariat if they had other suggestions in addition to those on the list of organizations and individuals tabled at the meeting. Mr Howard YOUNG said that in inviting an organization or individual to the same meeting, regard should be given to their area of expertise, to facilitate discussion.

IV. Any Other Business

Bombing of Chinese Embassy in Yugoslavia

3. The Chairman said that the items was not on the agenda. However, as most members were present at the meeting, he would like to invite them to consider the following courses of action in response to NATO's bombing of the Chinese Embassy in Yugoslavia -

  1. writing to Commissioner MA Yuzhen to express Members' concern over the bombing; and

  2. holding a motion or an adjournment debate on the matter.

4. Regarding 3(a), the Chairman tabled a draft letter (also at Annex A) and invited members' views. Mr Martin LEE said that he considered the wording appropriate. Mr NG Leung-sing suggested that the letter should also express support for actions taken by China, in addition to expressing concern. Miss Emily LAU said that as it was not known what actions would be taken by China, she preferred not to have this point added. Members agreed that the letter, as drafted, should be sent to Commissioner MA Yuzhen.

5. In respect of 3(b), the Chairman informed members that Mr LAU Kong-wah was seeking the President's approval to change the topic of his motion for debate on 12 May 1999 from "Installation of retro-fitting platform screen doors" to "Condemning NATO" (Wording of the motion tabled and also in Annex B). The President had said that she would consider the request if Mr LAU had the House Committee's support. The Chairman added that Mr HO Sai-chu had indicated that he would withdraw his motion on "Problem of youngster gangs", also scheduled for debate on 12 May 1999, if Members agreed.

6. Miss Emily LAU said that she was in favour of having a motion debate on the matter. However, she had reservation about Mr LAU's request as it would set a precedent of allowing a Member to change a motion topic at short notice. She suggested that the Chairman should move the motion, and that the President's permission to waive the requisite notice period be sought. Mr Albert HO and Dr Raymond HO concurred with Miss LAU. Dr HO added that consideration could also be given to deferring the other two debates if members preferred not to have three debates for the Council meeting on 12 May 1999.

7. Mr HO Sai-chu said that he intended to jointly move the motion on "Condemning NATO" with Mr LAU Kong-wah. In order that Members could focus on debating this motion, he proposed to defer his motion on "Problem of youngsters gangs" to a future meeting. The Chairman responded that there was no provision in the Rules of Procedure which allowed more than one Member to jointly move a motion.

8. Mr CHAN Kam-lam said that a motion debate, rather than an adjournment debate. He added that a serious and consensus view should be taken on the matter. Mr Fred LI said that as three debates on Members' motions for the same Council meeting were allowed under the Rules of Procedure, the other two motion debates already scheduled for 12 May 1999 needed not be cancelled.

9. Mr SZETO Wah said that the wording of the motion should include requesting NATO to publicly apologize for the bombing and also pay compensation.

10. Miss Emily LAU reiterated that it was more appropriate for the House Committee Chairman to move the motion for debate, and that a Member should not change his motion topic at short notice. Mr Fred LI and MR SZETO Wah concurred with Miss LAU.

11. Mr LAU Kong-wah said the bombing of the Chinese Embassy in Yugoslavia called for an immediate response. He hoped that Members would support his application to the President to move a motion on "Condemning NATO" instead of "Installation of retro-fitting platform screen doors" for debate at the Council meeting on 12 May 1999. He added that his application was made in accordance with the Rules of Procedure.

12. The Chairman suggested that a vote be taken on the question that Mr LAU's application be supported. Members agreed. The result was that 11 members expressed support for Mr LAU's application, 15 members voted against, and one member abstained.

13. Members agreed that the Chairman should move the motion on "Condemning NATO" for debate at the Council meeting on 12 May 1999. The Chairman said that he would work out an appropriate wording for the motion to enable Members to give views. He hoped that Members would not move any amendment.

14. Mr LAU Kong-wah and Mr HO Sai-chu said that they would withdraw their motions for debate on 12 May 1999.

15. Mr TSANG Yok-sing enquired whether Mr LAU Kong-wah and Mr HO Sai-chu would be regarded as having used their debate slots. The Deputy Chairman responded that they would not be so regarded if the motions were withdrawn with the agreement of the House Committee. The Deputy Chairman, Mr Fred LI and Mr Andrew CHENG suggested and members agreed that Mr LAU Kong-wah and Mr HO Sai-chu would not be regarded as having used their debate slots.


Legislative Council Secretariat
27 August 1999

內務委員會 ( 會議紀要 ) 1999年5月10日


立法會

立法會CB(2)2721/98-99號文件

檔號:CB2/H/5

立法會內務委員會
於1999年5月10日舉行的特別會議上
討論議程第III及IV項的紀要


出席議員:

梁智鴻議員(內務委員會主席)
楊 森議員(內務委員會副主席)
丁午壽議員
田北俊議員
朱幼麟議員
何世柱議員
何秀蘭議員
何承天議員
何俊仁議員
何敏嘉議員
何鍾泰議員
李永達議員
李卓人議員
李柱銘議員
李啟明議員
李華明議員
吳亮星議員
吳靄儀議員
周梁淑怡議員
夏佳理議員
馬逢國議員
涂謹申議員
張文光議員
張永森議員
許長青議員
陳婉嫻議員
陳智思議員
陳鑑林議員
梁劉柔芬議員
單仲偕議員
黃宏發議員
黃宜弘議員
曾鈺成議員
楊孝華議員
楊耀忠議員
劉江華議員
劉健儀議員
劉漢銓議員
劉慧卿議員
蔡素玉議員
鄭家富議員
司徒華議員
霍震霆議員
羅致光議員
譚耀宗議員
馮志堅議員
鄧兆棠議員

缺席議員:

李家祥議員
李國寶議員
呂明華議員
吳清輝議員
陸恭蕙議員
陳國強議員
陳榮燦議員
梁耀忠議員
程介南議員
黃容根議員
劉千石議員
劉皇發議員

列席秘書:

內務委員會秘書
林鄭寶玲女士

列席職員:

法律顧問
馬耀添先生

總主任(2)5
羅榮樂先生

高級主任(2)8
蘇美利小姐

I. 日後跟進香港永久性居民在內地所生子女居留權問題的做法

II. 與團體及人士舉行會議
(討論上述兩項議程的逐字紀錄本已隨1999年6月2日發出的立法會CB(2)2182/98-99號文件送交議員)

III. 會議時間表及已獲邀請/將獲邀請的團體及人士

內務委員會主席請議員參閱立法會CB(2)1915/98-99號文件所載的建議會議日期時表示,事務委員會、法案委員會及其他委員會的部分會議將須改期,以便內務委員會可舉行各次特別會議。內務委員會主席請秘書處就此徵詢各有關委員會主席的意見。

2. 內務委員會主席表示,除了席上提交的團體及人士名單外,議員如另有其他建議,可通知秘書處。楊孝華議員表示,在邀請團體或人士出席同一次會議時,應考慮有關團體或人士所熟悉的專門範疇,以方便進行討論。

IV. 其他事項

中國駐南斯拉夫大使館遭受轟炸


3. 內務委員會主席表示,此項目不在議程內,但由於大部分議員出席了是次會議,他請議員考慮應否採取下述行動,就中國駐南斯拉夫大使館遭北約轟炸一事作出回應:

  1. 致函馬毓真特派員,以表達議員對轟炸事件的關注;及

  2. 就此事進行議案辯論或休會辯論。

4. 關於上文第3段(a)項,內務委員會主席於席上提交一封函件的擬稿(載於附件A),並請議員就此提出意見。李柱銘議員表示,他認為該函件的措辭恰當。吳亮星議員建議,除了表示關注外,該函件亦應表示支持中國所採取的行動。劉慧卿議員表示,由於現時不知道中國將會採取甚麼行動,她屬意不在函中加入此點。議員同意該函件應以原來草擬的措辭寄給馬毓真特派員。

5. 關於第3段(b)項,內務委員會主席告知議員,劉江華議員正請求立法會主席批准其更改於1999年5月12日進行辯論的議案的題目,由"加裝月台幕門"改為"譴責北約"(議案措辭於會議席上提交,並載於附件B)。立法會主席已表示,如劉議員獲內務委員會支持,她會考慮該請求。內務委員會主席補充,何世柱議員已表明,如議員同意,他會撤回其就"童黨問題"提出的議案,該議案亦是編排在1999年5月12日進行辯論。

6. 劉慧卿議員表示,她贊成就此事進行議案辯論。不過,她對劉議員的請求有所保留,因為此舉會開立容許議員在短時間通知下更改議案題目的先例。她建議由內務委員會主席動議該議案,並請立法會主席免卻所需的預告期。何俊仁議員及何鍾泰議員贊同劉議員的意見。何鍾泰議員補充,如議員不希望在1999年5月12日立法會會議上舉行3項議案辯論,亦可考慮把另外兩項議案辯論押後。

7. 何世柱議員表示,他打算與劉江華議員聯合動議有關"譴責北約"的議案。為了讓議員可專注辯論此議案,他建議把其有關"童黨問題"的議案押後至日後另一次會議。內務委員會主席回應時表示,《議事規則》內並沒有容許多於一名議員聯合動議一項議案的規定。

8. 陳鑑林議員表示,他屬意進行議案辯論而不是休會辯論,並且補充說,立法會應重視此事,而且應有一致意見。李華明議員表示,由於《議事規則》容許在任何一次立法會會議就議員所提的議案進行3項辯論,其他兩項已安排在1999年5月12日舉行的議案辯論不必取消。

9. 司徒華議員表示,該議案的措辭應包括要求北約就轟炸事件公開道歉,並作出賠償。

10. 劉慧卿議員重申,較宜由內務委員會主席動議就該議案進行辯論,而議員不應在短時間通知下更改其議案的題目。李華明議員及司徒華議員贊同劉議員的意見。

11. 劉江華議員表示,有必要就中國駐南斯拉夫大使館遭轟炸一事立即作出回應。他希望議員會支持其向立法會主席提出的申請,讓他可在1999年5月12日立法會會議席上,就"譴責北約"而非"加裝月台幕門"一事動議議案辯論。劉議員補充,他是根據《議事規則》的規定提出該項申請的。

12. 內務委員會主席建議就應否支持劉議員的申請一事進行表決。議員表示贊同。結果有11名議員表示支持劉議員的申請,有15名議員反對,而有1名議員放棄表決。

13. 議員同意由內務委員會主席動議有關"譴責北約"的議案,在1999年5月12日立法會會議席上進行辯論。內務委員會主席表示,他會就該議案擬訂適當的措辭,讓議員發表意見。他希望議員不會動議任何修正案。

14. 劉江華議員及何世柱議員表示,他們會分別撤回其原定於1999年5月12日進行辯論的議案。

15. 曾鈺成議員詢問,劉江華議員及何世柱議員會否被視作已使用其辯論時段。內務委員會副主席回應時表示,他們如經內務委員會同意而撤回議案,便不會被視作已使用其辯論時段。內務委員會副主席、李華明議員及鄭家富議員建議,劉江華議員及何世柱議員不會被視作已使用其辯論時段。議員表示贊同。


******************************


立法會秘書處
1999年8月27日