Legislative Council

LC Paper No. LS283/98-99

Paper for the House Committee Meeting
of the Legislative Council
on 24 September 1999

Legal Service Division Further Report on
Adaptation of Laws (No. 5) Bill 1998

Members may recall that the Legal Service Division made a report to the House Committee on 13 November 1998 on the Bill (LegCo Paper No. LS43/98-99 refers). To recap, the Bill deals with the adaptation of 6 court-related Ordinances, i.e. Lands Tribunal Ordinance (Cap. 17), Labour Tribunal Ordinance (Cap. 25), Municipal Services Appeal Boards Ordinance (Cap. 220), Magistrates Ordinance (Cap. 227), Administrative Appeals Board Ordinance (Cap. 442) and Coroners Ordinance (Cap 504).

2. At the House Committee meeting, Members agreed that a Bills Committee on the Bill was not necessary. However, resumption of Second Reading debate on the Bill should not take place until other Bills Committees on Adaptation of Laws had completed their deliberations on the general principles of adaptation. During the last session, a number of Bills on Adaptation of Laws had been enacted.

3. On 13 September 1999, we received draft Committee Stage amendments (CSAs) of this Bill from the Administration. The CSAs which are attached at Annex A are in line with the agreed version endorsed by other Bills Committees on Adaptation of Laws. There are 4 CSAs.

  1. The Administration has agreed that there is no need for "the Chief Executive" to be adapted to "the Chief Executive in Council" when referring to his regulation-making power. Schedule 1 is therefore to be deleted.

  2. Schedule 4 relates to the Magistrates Ordinance (Cap. 227). The Bills Committee on the Adaptation of Laws (No. 12) Bill 1998 endorsed that criminal proceedings should be brought in the name of "HKSAR" and not the "Government". Similar references to this Ordinance are amended accordingly.

  3. In section 1 of Schedule 4, the reference "of the Magistrates Ordinance (Cap. 227)" has to be deleted since this reference has already been mentioned in the newly added clause 1A of Schedule 4. This is only a technical CSA.

  4. In section 5 of Schedule 4, the reference of is changed to . This is also a technical amendment.

4. With the proposed Committee Stage amendments, we are satisfied that the legal and drafting aspects of this Bill are in order. It is recommended that the Bill is ready for resumption of Second Reading debate.


Prepared by

Ho Ying-chu, Anita
Assistant Legal Adviser
Legislative Council Secretariat
20 September 1999

立法會

立法會LS283/98-99號文件

1999年9月24日立法會內務委員會會議文件

《1998年法律適應化修改(第5號)條例草案》

法律事務部進一步提交的報告

議員諒會記得,法律事務部曾於1998年11月13日就上述條例草案向內務委員會提交報告(請參閱立法會LS43/98-99號文件)。概括而言,條例草案旨在對6條與法院有關的條例作適應化修改,即《土地審裁處條例》(第17章)、《勞資審裁處條例》(第25章)、《文康市政上訴委員會條例》(第220章)、《裁判官條例》(第227章)、《行政上訴委員會條例》(第442章),以及《死因裁判官條例》(第504章)。

2. 在內務委員會會議上,議員同意無需就條例草案成立法案委員會。然而,條例草案應待研究其他法律適應化修改條例草案的法案委員會就適應化修改的一般原則完成商議工作,才恢復二讀辯論。在上一個會期,立法會已通過若干法律適應化修改條例草案。

3. 在1999年9月13日,法律事務部收到政府當局就本條例草案提交的委員會審議階段修正案擬本。該等修正案(載於附件A)與業經研究其他法律適應化修改條例草案的法案委員會同意的修訂一致。有關的委員會審議階段修正案共有4項。

  1. 政府當局同意在提述行政長官訂立規例的權力時,無需把"行政長官"適應化修改為"行政長官會同行政會議"。因此,附表1將予刪去。

  2. 附表4與《裁判官條例》(第227章)有關。《1998年法律適應化修改(第12號)條例草案》委員會同意,刑事法律程序應以"香港特別行政區"而非以"政府"名義提出。在該條例中的類似提述亦需作出相應修訂。

  3. 在附表4第1條中,"《裁判官條例》(第227章)"的提述須予刪去,因為該項提述已見於附表4新增的第1A條。此項委員會審議階段修正案只是技術性的修訂。

  4. 在附表4第5條中,將"法院"的提述改為"法庭"。此項亦屬技術性的修訂。

4. 在當局提出建議的委員會審議階段修正案後,法律事務部信納條例草案在法律及草擬兩方面均無問題。本部建議條例草案可隨時恢復二讀辯論。

連附件


立法會秘書處
助理法律顧問
何瑩珠
1999年9月20日