Subcommittee on Resolution under section 3 of the Dogs and Cats Ordinance (Cap. 167) and Dogs and Cats (Amendment) Ordinance 1997 (97 of 1997) (Commencement) Notice 1999

Concerns raised at the meeting on 23 July 1999 which require follow up actions by the Administration


On 23 July 1999, four deputations and two members of the public attended the Subcommittee meeting to present their views on the proposed Dangerous Dogs Regulation. A number of concerns were raised. The Administration undertook to provide responses to these concerns for Members' consideration.

Background and statistics

To provide background information on why the United Kingdom (UK) introduced amendments to the legislation on the control of dogs in March 1997, and whether the UK experience can be referred to in formulating dog control measures in Hong Kong.

2. The 1991 Dangerous Dogs Act of the UK provided for, amongst others, mandatory destruction of unregistered fighting dogs. The Home Affairs Committee's report of 26 February 1997 concluded that as the Act had "largely succeeded in eliminating the breeding and holding of a kind of dog for criminal or antisocial purposes … the pit bull terrier … which was causing increasing concern to both the public and the police", it was possible to relax the "undoubted harshness" of the original legislation. In March 1997, the UK Government amended the Dangerous Dogs Act to introduce greater flexibility into it's operation. In particular, the Act was amended to:

  1. allow the courts to have greater discretion in sentencing, so that the former mandatory death penalty would not have to be applied to every fighting dog sentenced under the Act; and

  2. allow owners of unregistered pit bull terriers to register their dogs if they could provide legitimate reasons for not having done so previously.
3. The UK legislation was examined in detail in the preparation of the proposed Dangerous Dogs Regulation. The problems caused by lack of flexibility in the previous UK system were noted. To avoid these problems, the Hong Kong proposal allowed owners to keep fighting dogs under controlled conditions and did not provide for mandatory destruction of unregistered fighting dogs, as found in the UK 1991 Dangerous Dogs Act. Since owners of fighting dogs in Hong Kong may continue to keep their existing dogs provided that they are neutered following the new control measures, the 1997 UK law amendments had little relevance to the Hong Kong proposal.

To provide statistics on dog bites in Hong Kong including bites by dogs in the home, stray dogs and large dogs exceeding 20 kg in indoor and outdoor public places respectively.

4. The following tables provide relevant statistics on dog bites in Hong Kong in 1997-98 and 1998-99.

Table 1 Dog Bites Reported to and Investigated by AFD

Dog detained and case investigated1,68768%1,38868%
Uninvestigated cases *79632%66132%
Total dog bites reported2,483100%2,049100%

* Note : Some dog bite cases could not be investigated because the victim could not be located, was uncooperative, or could not identify the dog, or the dog could not be caught.

Table 2 Location of Dog Bites - Cases Investigated by AFD

Location1997 - 98
1998 - 99
In dwelling53332%38528%
Indoor public place23014%28220%
Public Road79947%57641%
Construction site493 %252%
Others764 %1209%

Table 3 Ownership of Biter Dogs - Cases Investigated by AFD

Ownership1997 - 98
1998 - 99
Claimed by keepers1,06463%68649%
Surrendered by keepers24615%27420%
No keepers or keepers cannot be identified (including stray dogs) * 37722%42831%

* Note : This category consists of kept dogs that were unlicensed and unclaimed by their keepers or stray dogs that have no keepers.

According to the Agriculture and Fisheries Department's (AFD's) statistics, local chow and mongrel were responsible for more than 50% of all investigated dog bite cases in the past two years. Based on the typical size of dogs of the relevant breeds, AFD estimated that 74% and 70% of dog bite cases involved dogs over 20 kg in body weight in 1997/98 and 1998/99 respectively.

Issues relating to fighting dogs

To provide the basis for classifying the four types of dogs as fighting dogs in the proposed Dangerous Dogs Regulation (the Regulation), whether more types of dogs will be categorized as fighting dogs in the future, and whether there are sufficient number of experts in Hong Kong who are capable of distinguishing dog breeds.

5. The four fighting breeds listed in Schedule 1 to the proposed Regulation, namely Pit Bull Terrier, Dogo Argentino, Fila Braziliero and Japanese Tosa, are recognised internationally as having been breed for fighting. They have the common characteristic of attacking without being provoked. Once they attack, they will not respond to signs of submission and may continue attacking until the victim is dead. All these fighting dogs are exceptionally strong and have a predisposition for abnormal aggressiveness. Other countries, including UK, Australia, Holland and Singapore, have legislation to control one or more of these breeds.

6. The Administration has no intention of incorporating other breeds into the fighting dogs category, unless there is clear evidence demonstrating a need to do so.

7. AFD advises that in Hong Kong there are experts capable of distinguishing dog breeds and suitable for appointment to the Dogs and Cats Classification Board to identify fighting breeds and crosses. They include accredited judges from kennel clubs and experienced veterinary practitioners. To clarify whether in the case of a fighting dog making a transit and changing flights in Hong Kong, the owner and the operator of the conveyance will commit an offence under section 3 of the Regulation.

8. Section 3 of the proposed Dangerous Dogs Regulation prohibits removal of fighting dogs from a conveyance arriving in Hong Kong. Section 4 prohibits "import" of fighting dogs. "Import" is defined under the Interpretation and General Clauses Ordinance (Cap 1) as bringing or causing to be brought into Hong Kong by air, land or water.

9. The parties concerned (including the owner and operator of a conveyance) will commit an offence under sections 3 and 4 in case of a fighting dog making a transit with changing flights. In case of a fighting dog making a transit without changing flights, the parties will be liable under section 4.

10. We do not intend to allow fighting dogs to transit in Hong Kong mainly because we do not wish to promote trade in these dogs. There is also a risk that a fighting dog transiting in Hong Kong may be smuggled into Hong Kong.

To explain how the estimated number of 200 fighting dogs to be surrendered for destruction after the commencement of the Regulation was derived.

11. The estimated number of 200 existing fighting dogs to be surrendered for destruction is the sum of the number of licensed "fighting dogs" and the estimated number of crosses.

Issues relating to known dangerous dogs

To provide the rationale for including a dog which has killed or inflicted serious injury on a domestic animal without provocation in the "known dangerous dogs" category. The Administration is requested to take into account dogs' instinct in fighting with other animals such as cats, and it might not be appropriate if only serious injury on an animal will lead to a dog falling into the category of "known dangerous dogs".

12. It is unreasonable to allow people to have dogs in public places in such a way that they may kill or seriously injure other people's pets. It is incorrect to assume that domestic dogs have an instinct to fight with other animals such as cats. A well-kept, well-trained dog is not expected to attack or fight except when provoked. In the interest of public safety, dogs that have killed or inflicted serious injuries on domestic animals in the absence of provocation are dangerous and should be subject to the proposed controls while in public places by including such dogs in the "known dangerous dog" category. It should be noted that the decision to classify a dog as a "known dangerous dog" would be made by a magistrate after consideration of the facts of the case.

Issues relating to large dogs

To respond to comments made by the deputations that weight and size of dogs do not necessarily correlate, i.e. a dog exceeding 20 kg might not be a large size of dog, and the muzzle requirement will increase aggression in dogs.

13. The 20 kg limit is proposed in order to include local chows and mongrels, which were responsible for more than 50% of all investigated dog bite cases. The weight of a dog does have a significant correlation with size, except when severe obesity is the cause of the high weight. The Administration recognises that not all large dogs are dangerous but that the measures proposed will cause little inconvenience to dog owners while enhancing public safety. Owners of large dogs who wish to be exempted from the requirements may be exempted if they demonstrate, through examination, that their dog can be controlled off leash in a public place.

14. AFD is unaware of any scientific evidence that suitable or short-term muzzling increases aggression.

Enforcement of the Regulation

To clarify whether dogs participating in dog shows held in indoor public places are subject to muzzle requirement.

15. Exemptions can be made available for large dogs in dog shows subject to the adoption of adequate measures to protect the public.

To advise whether suitable muzzles are available for all types of dogs including pit bull terriers.

16. Suitable muzzles are available in a range of sizes and shapes for different types of dog, including pit bull terriers. Dogs in the large dogs category are only required to be muzzled while in indoor public places.

To advise whether the exemption examination will be held frequently enough to cater for the demands of dog owners, and whether one single examination required for each dog will be adequate for the determination on whether a dog will not endanger public safety.

17. The frequency of the exemption test will be adjusted to meet public demand. It is generally considered that one test for an individual dog with an individual handler is sufficient, provided that the test is rigorous and well designed. If evidence suggests that an exempted dog represents a threat to public safety, the Director of Agriculture and Fisheries may revoke the exemption and inform the owner accordingly.

To advise whether the Administration would anticipate any difficulties in the enforcement of the Regulation in rural areas, and if so, whether any measures would be in place to tackle the problem.

18. AFD's Animal Management Teams work in both urban and rural areas. AFD does not anticipate any insurmountable enforcement difficulties in rural areas.

Measures to tackle the crux of the dog control problem

To introduce effective measures to control stray dogs such as catching abandoned dogs upon the completion of construction projects.

19. The Administration has drawn up guidelines on management of dogs on construction sites for construction companies. AFD animal management staff visit constructions sites regularly and pay special attention to those sites where construction work is near completion. AFD will continue to work with construction site managers to alleviate this problem.

To impose higher penalties on those who fail to control their dogs.

20. Under the proposed Dangerous Dogs Regulation, those who fail to comply with the control measures are liable to a fine at level 4 ($10,001 to $25,000) and imprisonment for three months (for large dogs and known dangerous dogs) or six months (for fighting dogs). The level of penalty to be imposed in individual cases is a matter for the court to decide.

To control smuggling of dogs from the Mainland.

21. The Administration has exerted considerable effort to prevent smuggling of dogs into Hong Kong. AFD has on-going liaison with the Mainland authorities to prevent smuggling of dogs from the Mainland. In response, the Mainland authorities have targeted Shenzhen pet shops close to the Lo Wu railway station which were believed to be a major source of dogs involved in attempted smuggling. These pet shops have been closed recently. In addition, the Customs and Excise Department, the Police and AFD will continue to work together to combat the dog smuggling problem.

To escalate educational programmes and publicity to promote responsible ownership of dogs and integration of dogs into the community.

22. AFD has implemented a number of measures to enhance public education and publicity on responsible ownership of dogs. These measures include distribution of a booklet on owning a dog in Hong Kong and a promotional campaign on microchips and dog licences later in 1999. Other publications are being developed.

Economic Services Bureau/
Agriculture and Fisheries Department
August 1999

根據《貓狗條例》(第167章)第3條提出的議決案及
《〈1997年貓狗(修訂)條例〉(1997年第97號)
1999年(生效日期)公告》小組委員會

1999年7月23日會議
所關注並要求當局跟進的事宜

引言

1999年7月23日,四個代表團體及兩位公眾人士出席小組委員會會議,講述其對建議的《危險狗隻規例》的意見。會上提出多項關注。當局同意就這些關注事項作出回應,供委員考慮。

背景資料及統計數字

提供背景資料,解釋為何1997年3月英國修訂有關管制狗隻的法例。本港制訂措施管制狗隻時,又可否借鑑英國的經驗。

2. 英國的1991年《危險狗隻條例》強制毀滅未經登記的格鬥狗隻。其後,該國內政委員會1997年2月26日的報告總結「比特鬥牛㹴…曾令公眾人士及警方日益關注」,該法例已「大致上達到杜絕繁育或畜養某種作犯罪或有損公眾利益用途的狗隻的目的」,因而可以放寬原有法例中「無庸置疑的繁苛」。故此,於1997年3月英國政府修訂了其《危險狗隻條例》,使該條例的運作有更大彈性,特別是:

  1. 讓法庭在判刑方面有更大酌情權,使以往強制性毀滅格鬥狗隻的刑罰無須適用於每一隻根據該法例被判刑的狗隻;及

  2. 准許先前沒有登記其比特鬥牛㹴而能提出合理理由的狗主,登記其狗隻。
3. 當局於草擬香港的《危險狗隻規例》時,曾詳細研究英國的法例,並留意到英國先前的制度缺乏彈性。為了避免這些問題,香港的建議容許狗主在狗隻受管制的情況下畜養格鬥狗隻,而不跟從英國1991年的《危險狗隻條例》強制毀滅未經登記的格鬥狗隻的規定。只要格鬥狗隻遵照新的管制措施,接受絕育手術,狗主便可繼續飼養其現有的格鬥狗隻。因此,英國1997年的法例修訂與香港的建議關連不大。

提供本港狗隻咬人的數字,包括家犬,流浪狗隻和體重超過20公斤大型狗隻在戶內、戶外公眾地方咬人的統計數字。

4. 下表載列1997-98及1998-99年度香港狗隻咬人的有關統計數字。

表1 向漁農處舉報以及該處調查的狗隻咬人個案


1997-98年度
(個案)
1998-99年度
(個案)
宗數百分率宗數百分率
扣留狗隻及予以調查的個案1,68768%1,38868%
未能進行調查的個案*79632%66132%
舉報狗隻咬人個案的總數2,483100%2,049100%

*註:有些個案未能進行調查原因是未能找到受害人、受害人不合作或未能辨認咬人狗隻,或未能捕獲咬人狗隻。

表2 狗隻咬人的地點-漁農處予以調查的個案

地點1997-98年度
(個案)
1998-99年度
(個案)
宗數百分率宗數百分率
屋內53332%38528%
戶內公眾地方23014%28220%
公共道路79947%57641%
建築地盤493%252%
其他764%1209%
總計1,687100%1,388100%

表3 咬人狗隻是否由人擁有的情況-漁農處予以調查的個案

擁有情況1997-98年度
(個案)
1998-99年度(個案)
宗數百分率宗數百分率
狗主認領1,06463%68649%
狗主放棄擁有24615%27420%
沒有狗主或未能找出狗主(包括流浪狗)*37722%42831%
總計1,687100%1,388100%

*註:這類別包括未被狗主認領的無牌飼養的狗隻,或沒有狗主的流浪狗隻。

根據漁農處統計,在過去兩年經調查的狗咬人個案中,涉及本地唐狗及雜種狗的百分率超過50%。根據有關品種的典型體積計算,漁農處估計在1997/98及1998/99年分別有74%及70%的狗咬人個案牽涉體重超過20公斤的狗隻。

與格鬥狗隻有關的事宜

在建議的《危險狗隻規例》訂明四類格鬥狗隻的分類準則,並表明日後會否把更多類型的狗隻列為格鬥狗隻,以及本港是否有足夠專家可以分辨狗隻品種。

5. 建議的《危險狗隻規例》附表1所列的4種格鬥狗隻,即比特鬥牛㹴、阿根庭杜告狗、巴西非拉狗及日本土佐犬,是國際公認被繁育作格鬥用途的狗隻。這些狗隻均有沒被激怒而展開襲擊的共同特性。一旦展開襲擊,牠們會不理受害者是否有屈服的徵象,及可能繼續襲擊,直至受害者死亡為止。所有這些格鬥狗隻都特別強壯,有異常的好鬥傾向。其他國家,包括英國、澳洲、荷蘭和新加坡,均已立法管制其中一種或多種上述的狗隻。

6. 當局無意把其他品種的狗隻納入格鬥狗隻的類別,除非有確鑿證據顯示有需要這樣做。

7. 漁農處表示,香港有能夠分辨狗隻品種的專家。他們適合委任為狗隻及貓隻分類委員會的委員,以分辨格鬥狗隻及其混種狗隻。這些專家包括狗會認可的評判以及富經驗的獸醫。

澄清當格鬥狗隻在本港過境及轉機時,運輸工具的擁有人及操作人會否觸犯《危險狗隻規例》第3條。

8. 建議的《危險狗隻規例》第3條禁止從抵達香的運輸工具中移走格鬥狗隻,第4條禁止輸入格鬥狗隻。根據香港法例第1章《釋義及通則條例》,"輸入"是指以空運方式或循陸路或水路而運入香港,或導致以空運方式或循陸路或水路而運入香港。

9. 如過境的格鬥狗隻涉及轉機,有關人士(包括運輸工具的擁有人及操作人)會觸犯第3條及第4條。如過境的格鬥狗隻不涉及轉機,有關人士會觸犯第4條。

10. 當局無意讓格鬥狗隻在香港過境,主要因為不希望促進有關這類狗隻的貿易,此外,有格鬥狗隻可能會被偷運入港的危險。

解釋如何估計出《危險狗隻規例》實施後會有200頭格鬥狗隻由狗主交出毀滅。

11. 200頭格鬥狗被交出毀滅的估計數目,是領有牌照的格鬥狗數目與格鬥狗混種狗隻估計數目的總和。

與已知危險狗隻有關的事宜

解釋基於甚麼理由把在未被觸怒的情況下咬死或嚴重咬傷其他受飼養的動物的狗隻列為「已知危險狗隻」。狗隻天性喜與其他動物如貓等打架,如狗隻只是嚴重咬傷其他動物便給歸類為「已知危險狗隻」,可能並不恰當,政府應詳加考慮。

12. 容許人們在其狗隻可能會殺死或嚴重傷害他人寵物的情況下,把狗隻帶往公眾地方是不合理的。假設家犬天性喜與貓等其他動物打架是錯誤的。一頭受良好畜養及訓練的狗,除了在被觸怒的情況下,不預期會襲擊其他動物或與牠們打架。在未被觸怒的情況下曾咬死或嚴重咬傷其他受飼養的動物的狗隻是危險的,為了公眾安全着想,當局建議把這些狗隻納入「已知危險狗隻」類別,使其在公眾地方時須受管束。至於是否把某一狗隻分類為「已知危險狗隻」的決定,是由裁判官於考慮個別情況的事實之後而作出的。

與大型狗隻有關的事宜

代表團體指出狗隻的體重與體型未必一定相關,即體重超過20公斤的狗隻不一定體型龎大,而且按規定戴上口套後的狗隻會更有攻擊性,這點需要當局作出回應。

13. 20公斤的準則是為了把唐狗和雜種狗納入管制範圍內而建議設定。在所有經調查的狗咬人個案之中,有一半以上是由該等狗隻造成的。除了痴肥引致重磅外,狗隻的體重與體型有顯著的相互關係。當局同意並非所有大型狗隻都是危險,但建議中的措施只會令狗主有少許不便,同時令市民安全更受保障。大型狗隻的狗主只要能通過考試證明其狗隻即使在公眾地方沒有受狗帶牽引的情況下仍受控制,便可獲豁免遵守有關規定。

14. 漁農處不察覺有任何科學證據證明狗隻適當或短暫地戴上口套後會更有攻擊性。

規例的執行工作

澄清在戶內公眾地方參加狗展的狗隻是否須遵守戴上口套的規定。

15. 如有關方面已採取足夠的措施保障市民安全,大型狗隻在參加狗展時,可獲豁免。

就是否有合適口套供所有類型狗隻(包括比特鬥牛㹴)使用一事提供資料。

16. 市面上有很多不同尺碼和形狀的口套出售,適合各類狗隻(包括比特鬥牛㹴)。大型狗隻只須在戶內公眾地方時戴上口套。

就以下問題提供意見:豁免考試的舉行次數會否足夠,以滿足狗主的需求;以及規定每隻狗須接受單一次考試的做法,是否足以決定一隻狗是否不會危害公眾安全。

17. 豁免考試的舉行次數會因應市民的需求而調整。漁農處認為只要考試夠嚴謹和設計得好,每頭狗隻在其個別畜養人規管下接受一次考試便已足夠。如有證據顯示獲豁免的狗隻對市民的安全構成威脅,漁農處處長可撤銷該豁免,及據此通知有關狗主。

就以下問題提供意見:當局預料在鄉郊地區執行該規例時會否有任何困難,如有的話,會否採取措施解決這方面的困難。

18. 漁農處的動物管理隊在市區及鄉郊地區工作。該處不預料在鄉郊地區執行該規例時會有無法克服的困難。

解決狗隻管制問題癥結的措施

推行有效措施管制流浪狗隻,例如在建築工程完竣後捕捉遭遺棄的狗隻。

19. 漁農處已制訂管理建築地盤狗隻的指引,供建築公司遵守。該處的動物管理人員定期巡視建築地盤,並特別留意那些將近完工的地盤。該處會繼續與建築地盤的管理人合作,以減輕這問題。

對未能管束其狗隻的狗主施加更重刑罰。

20. 根據建議的《危險狗隻規例》,狗主不遵守規管措施的刑罰包括:可被判處第4級罰款($10,001 至 $25,000),以及監禁3個月(適用於大型狗隻及已知危險狗隻的狗主)或6個月(適用於格鬥狗隻的狗主)。個別個案判罰的輕重,是由法庭決定的。

控制從內地偷運狗隻來港的情況。

21. 漁農處已作出很大努力,防止偷運狗隻來港。該處不斷與內地有關當局聯絡,防止從內地偷運狗隻入境。內地當局以羅湖火車站附近那些被認為是企圖偷運狗隻主要來源的深圳寵物店作為目標。那些寵物店最近已停業。另外,海關、警方及漁農處會繼續聯手對付偷運狗隻問題。

加強教育及宣傳計劃,以培養狗主的責任感並使狗隻容入社區。

22. 漁農處已實行多項措施,以加強教育市民及宣傳飼養狗隻的應有責任感。有關措施包括派發養狗之道的小冊子,以及於1999年稍後推行一項有關微型晶片及狗隻領牌的宣傳運動。其他宣傳刊物亦正在籌備階段。

經濟局/
漁農處

1999年8月