For Information

LegCo Panel on Health Services
Meeting on 13 September 1999

Control on Use of Health Care Laser Systems
(in particular Class 3B and Class 4 systems)


In 1988, a Working Group on Laser Safety (WGLS) under the then Committee on Science and Technology was formed to advise the government on scientific and technological issues of laser use with relevance to Hong Kong.

2. The WGLS prepared a voluntary Laser Safety Code of Practice (LSCOP) in October 1991. The LSCOP was subsequently finalised and distributed to laser owners, users, operators and manufacturers in March 1992. It contained guidelines for laser safety in industry, manufacturing, entertainment and display, as well as beauty therapy and biostimulation. Furthermore, the Hong Kong Medical Association and the Hong Kong Surgical Laser Association jointly issued a Code of Practice on Health Care Laser System in Hong Kong in July 1994.

3. As part of the safety awareness programme, the Electrical & Mechanical Services Department (EMSD) conducted a number of laser safety seminars and courses in 1990 for the public, including beauticians, factory inspectors, laboratory staff, doctors and nurses. EMSD also works with other Government departments on areas relating to public safety.

Current Situation

4. EMSD continues to provide advisory and technical support on laser safety to various departments such as the Television and Entertainment Licensing Authority, Urban Services Department and Regional Services Department, especially in handling applications of licences involving the use of laser devices for entertainment purpose.

5. The degree of control of laser use varies in different countries, ranging from self-regulation to legislation. Some international authorities specify a set of classification criteria for laser products and recommend certain labelling requirements. The World Health Organization recommends that Class 3B and Class 4 laser products should be used by trained persons. These laser products may cause injuries to eyes and skin if improperly used. They may also cause fire risk.

6. In Hong Kong, we have relied on self regulation to control laser use. So far, the Administration is not aware of any serious laser injury cases related to beauty or medical treatment. However, there is increasing concern among health professionals recently as a number of beauty salons are now advertising the use of laser for hair removal or skin biostimulation.

7. Although the use of laser devices in beauty salons is not under statutory control, safety guidelines on the use of lasers for beauty therapy and biostimulation are included in the Laser Safety Code of Practice (Part 5). The Code recommends that only competent persons with training in laser safety should be employed in handling Class 3B and Class 4 health care laser systems. EMSD is prepared to provide technical assistance and advice on issues relating to laser safety for beauty salons whenever required.

8. The Labour Department has recently conducted inspections, as part of their work in enforcing the Occupational Safety and Health Regulations, on some beauty salons that advertise laser treatments. It was noted that only a few of these beauty salons were actually using laser systems to provide treatment. The laser systems used are Class 3B laser products. The staff of these beauty salons are found to be competent and conversant with the safety precautions.

The Way Forward

9. The Government will continue to monitor the situation. EMSD and DH will jointly work on programmes to enhance laser safety awareness among the public and users.


Health and Welfare Bureau
September 1999

資料文件

立法會衞生事務委員會
1999年9月13日會議

使用醫護激光系統的管制
(特別是第3B類及第4類系統)


引言

1988年當時的科學及技術委員會成立了一個激光安全工作小組,就與香港的激光使用有關的科學及技術事宜向政府提供意見。

2. 激光安全工作小組於1991年10月擬備了一份供有關人士自願遵行的激光安全守則。該份激光安全守則經定稿後已於1992年3月派發給擁有激光設備的人士,以及使用、操作及生產該等設備的人士。守則載有激光設備在工業、製造業、娛樂、圖文展示、美容治療及生物刺激治療等各方面用途的安全指引。此外,香港醫學會及香港鐳射學會亦於1994年7月聯合出版了一份香港醫護激光安全守則。

3. 為配合激光安全意識計劃的推行,機電工程署亦於1990年擧辦了多項以美容師、工廠督察、化驗室人員、醫生及護士等為對象的激光安全講座及課程。機電工程署亦與其他政府部門合力處理與公眾安全有關的事宜。

目前情況

4. 機電工程署繼續為影視及娛樂事務管理處、巿政總署、區域巿政總署等政府部門,特別就處理涉及使用激光設備作娛樂用途的各類牌照申請等事宜,提供激光安全方面的諮詢服務及技術支援。

5. 不同國家採用不同方法規管激光使用,由用自律到立法監管不等。一些國際機構,為激光產品制訂一系列分類準則,並就標籤規定提出建議。世界衞生組織亦建議第3B類及第4類激光產品應由受過訓練的人士使用。這類激光產品,如使用不當,可引致眼睛及皮膚受損,亦可引致火警發生。

6. 香港一直採用用自律的做法。當局並未有收到與使用激光作美容或醫療用途有關的嚴重受傷個案。但是最近一些美容院的廣告表示可使用激光脫毛或對皮膚施行生物刺激,醫護界人士對此日益關注。

7. 雖然美容院使用激光儀器並不受法例監管,有關使用激光作整容及生物刺激的安全指引臚列於激光安全守則(第5部)內。守則建議只有受過訓練的人士,才可受僱處理第3B類及第4類醫護激光系統。機電工程署在有需要的時候,隨時會就有關美容院激光安全的事宜,提供技術上的協助及意見。

8. 勞工處最近巡查了一些聲稱有提供激光美容服務的美容院,作為執行《職業安全及健康規例》的工作的一部分。結果發現這些美容院中,只有極少數真正有使用激光系統,提供激光治療。當中使用的皆為第3B類激光產品。該處發現有關職員均勝任並熟悉有關的安全預防措施。

前贍

9. 政府會繼續留意有關情況。機電工程署及衞生署會攜手合作,加強巿民及用對激光安全的意識。


**********



衞生福利局
一九九九年九月


c:\connie\asm2\panel\13sep99\p09134c2.doc