For Discussion
on 28 September 1999

Monitoring of Sale and Supply of Drugs


Drugs are sold or supplied by dispensaries, medicine companies and registered medical practitioners. This paper provides information on the monitoring of the sale and supply of drugs.

Licensing of Dispensaries and Medicine Companies

2. Dispensaries and medicine companies are required to obtain a licence prior to commencement of business. The licensing authority is the Pharmacy and Poisons Board, a statutory body established under the Pharmacy and Poisons Ordinance. The Board will only issue a licence to applicants who have adequate experience, knowledge and a good track record related to the sale of medicines.

3. Dispensaries are premises which are allowed to sell controlled medicines. They can be identified by the R-x logo. They are required to employ a full time registered pharmacist who is responsible for personally supervising the dispensing of prescriptions and the sale of medicines classified as Part I poisons. The certificate of registration of the pharmacist and a notice of his duty hours must be displayed in the pharmacy. The premises must have adequate facilities for the dispensing and sale of medicines. The Pharmacy and Poisons Board has also promulgated a Code of Practice for dispensaries. The Code sets out the standard required of matters including: professional independence of the registered pharmacist, publicity for services provided, and the working conditions of the premises.

4. The above requirements do not apply to medicine companies. These companies are allowed to possess and sell only a limited range of medicines which can be used safely without medical supervision or pharmacist's advice.

5. As at the end of August 1999, there are 317 dispensaries and 2,501 medicine companies.

Monitoring of Dispensaries and Medicine Companies

6. With the executive support of the Department of Health, the Board monitors dispensaries and medicine companies to ensure their compliance with the law. For dispensaries, their compliance with the Code of Practice is also monitored. Requirements of the law applicable to dispensaries include:

  1. All medicines must be registered before they can be sold.

  2. Some medicines can only be sold upon a doctor's prescription and under the supervision of a registered pharmacist.

  3. Some other medicines (Part I poisons) can only be sold under the supervision of the registered pharmacist but without a doctor's prescription.

  4. Dangerous drugs, prescription medicines and some cough medicines must be stored in locked facilities, the key of which must be kept by the registered pharmacist.

  5. Records must be kept of the sale of dangerous drugs, prescription medicines and some cough medicines.

7. Both dispensaries and medicine companies are monitored by pharmacist inspectors of the Department of Health who conduct surprise inspections at their premises. The purpose of the inspections is to ensure that the law regulating the possession, sale, storage and record-keeping of the various types of medicines are complied with, and to provide professional advice on the standard of practice as per the Code of Practice of dispensaries.

8. On average, each dispensary and medicine company is inspected twice a year. More frequent visits are conducted at those with a poor record of compliance or are being complained against. A total of 6,408 inspections were conducted in 1998.

9. Besides inspections, test purchases are also conducted to detect any illegal sale of medicines. In 1998, the Department of Health conducted 9,399 test purchases. Prosecution will be initiated, upon legal advice, for offences detected during inspections or test purchases. In 1998, there were 51 prosecutions. Most of these related to the sale of prescription medicines without a prescription, the sale of some cough medicines without the supervision of a registered pharmacist, or the possession of unregistered pharmaceutical products.

10. For dispensaries, disciplinary actions are also taken by the Pharmacy and Poisons Board after a court conviction. These may result in suspension of the licence for a period of time, or the issue of a warning letter. In 1998, 15 dispensaries had their licences suspended, and 7 received a warning letter. If the conviction relates to the registered pharmacist, the latter will also be subject to disciplinary action. Since January 1999, two pharmacists have been censored, and one disqualified for a period as a result of convictions.

11. Likewise, a medicine company convicted of offences may have its licence cancelled or receive a warning letter. In 1998, 3 licences were cancelled, and 18 medicine companies received a warning letter.

Monitoring of Registered Medical Practitioners

12. All registered medical practitioners have to comply with the provisions of the Medical Registration Ordinance and the Professional Code and Conduct promulgated by the Medical Council. Registered medical practitioners are authorised to supply drugs in the course of their professional practice. However, they are required to comply with the law related to medicines including the use of registered medicines, proper record keeping of supplies of certain designated medicines, and the proper storage of dangerous drugs.

13. In 1998, the Department of Health investigated 6 complaints related to the illegal supply of medicines by registered medical practitioners. One of the registered medical practitioners was convicted of failing to keep proper record of dangerous drugs. The conviction was further referred to the Medical Council for disciplinary action.

Department of Health
September 1999

一九九九年九月二十八日會議
提交討論

對銷售和供應藥物的監察

目的

現時藥物均由「藥房」、「藥行」和註冊醫生銷售或供應。本文件旨在向各議員報告藥物銷售和供應方面的監察工作。

有關「藥房」及「藥行」的發牌事宜

2. 「藥房」或「藥行」均須領牌方可開業。現時負責發牌的藥劑業及毒藥管理局是一個根據《藥劑業及毒藥條例》成立的法定組織。申請人必須在銷售藥物方面具有足夠經驗、知識和良好紀錄,才會獲得發牌。

3. 「藥房」是獲准售賣受管制藥物的店舖,一般以「R-x」標誌作識別。所有「藥房」均須聘請一名全職註冊藥劑師,親自監督配發處方藥物及銷售列為第I部毒藥的工作。藥劑師必須在「藥房」內展示其註冊證明書及當值時間,而有關的店舖必須具備足夠的配藥和銷售藥物的設施。藥劑業及毒藥管理局亦編製了「藥房」的工作守則,已就註冊藥劑師的專業自主性、「藥房」為服務所作的宣傳及店舖內的工作環境等事宜訂定準則。

4. 「藥行」雖然不受上述規定的限制,但只可出售和管有少數種類的藥物。這些藥物可以在沒有醫生監督或藥劑師指示的情況下安全使用。

5. 截至本年8月底為止,本港共有317間「藥房」和2,501間「藥行」。

監察「藥房」和「藥行」的工作

6. 管理局在衞生署提供的行政支援下監督「藥房」和「藥行」,確保它們遵守法例,同時監察「藥房」遵守其工作守則。現時適用於「藥房」的法例規定包括:

  1. 所有藥物必須先註冊才可出售。

  2. 部分藥物必須憑醫生處方及在註冊藥劑師監督下才可出售。

  3. 另一些藥物(第I部毒藥)無須醫生處方但必須在註冊藥劑師監督下方可出售。

  4. 危險藥物、憑處方供應的藥物和一些止咳藥須貯存在上鎖的地方,鎖匙須由註冊藥劑師保管。

  5. 危險藥物、憑處方供應的藥物和部分止咳藥的銷售必須保存紀錄。

7. 衞生署的藥劑督察會突擊巡查「藥房」和「藥行」,確保它們在管有、出售、貯存各類藥物和保存紀錄方面均符合法例的規定,並在有關工作守則的標準方面提供專業意見。

8. 衞生署的藥劑督察平均每年巡查每間「藥房」和「藥行」兩次,有違規紀錄或曾遭投訴接受巡查的次數會較為頻密。1998年全年的巡查次數為6,408次。

9. 除了巡查外,有關方面亦會透過試買行動輯拿非法銷售藥物,而衞生署在1998年間便採取了共9,399次試買行動。當局在巡查或試買行動中發現違規後會諮詢法律意見,決定是否對有關人士提出起訴。衞生署在1998年間曾提出51宗起訴,其中大部分涉及在沒有醫生處方的情況下出售須憑處方才可出售的藥物、在沒有註冊藥劑師監督下出售某些止咳藥、或管有未經註冊的藥劑製品。

10. 藥劑業及毒藥管理局亦會對遭法庭定罪的「藥房」採取紀律處分,最終可能會吊銷其牌照一段時間或作書面警告。於1998年間共有15間「藥房」被吊銷牌照,7間被書面警告。如果定罪事件涉及註冊藥劑師,其本人亦會遭受紀律處分。自本年1月起至今,因被定罪而遭譴責的藥劑師共有兩名,被取消資格一段期間的藥劑師則有一名。

11. 同樣,被法庭定罪的「藥行」亦可能被吊銷牌照或被書面警告。在1998年間,共有3間「藥行」被吊銷牌照,另外有18間被書面警告。

對註冊醫生的監察

12. 所有註冊醫生均須遵守《醫生註冊條例》的條文和醫務委員會發出的「香港註冊醫生專業守則」。註冊醫生有權在執行其專業時供應藥物,但他們須遵守有關使用藥物的法例,包括:使用已註冊藥物、為他供應的某類指定藥物備存適當紀錄及適當貯存危險藥物。

13. 衞生署在1998年曾調查6宗註冊醫生非法供應藥物的投訴,其中一名註冊醫生因未為危險藥物備存適當紀錄而被定罪。該案更被轉交醫務委員會作紀律處分。


衞生署
一九九九年九月

c:\connie\asm2\panel\28sep99\p09282c2.doc