LegCo Panel on Manpower
Youth Pre-employment Training Programme


We informed Members on 24 June 1999 that the Administration planned to launch a new, six-month "Youth Pre-employment Training Programme" this September to help enhance the employability of young school leavers, and sought Members' advice on various aspects of the Programme. This paper reports on the latest development.

The Programme

2. The response to the Programme has been very encouraging. We have secured funds from the Hong Kong Jockey Club and the Government. Training bodies, non-government organisations and government departments have responded very positively. Together they have offered some 25,000 training places as well as counselling service. A list of the organisations and government departments providing modular training under the Programme and their respective training capacity is provided at Annex A.

Guidance and Counselling Service

3. In order to provide the trainees with support during the course of the Programme, guidance and counselling service will be provided by social workers specializing in youth services from 30 non-government organisations as well as the social welfare organisations. The social workers will help the trainees gain a better understanding of their needs and plan their career realistically based on their educational background, interests and abilities; motivate them to participate actively in various training courses and attachment training; and help them review and consolidate skills and knowledge acquired under the Programme. All the major youth groups will be involved in the provision of the counselling service. A list of these organisations is provided at Annex B.

Workplace Attachment Training

4. Employers have also actively supported the Programme. Up to mid-September, we have managed to secure some 10,000 workplace attachment training places from about 420 organisations. We expect this figure to increase further as we continue to receive attachment offers.

5. The Administration will take all necessary measures to ensure the safety and quality of workplace attachment training. In particular, we will adopt the following measures -

  1. to vet all attachment offers against a set of standard criteria. The offers must not involve dangerous work, the work duration must not exceed 35 hours a week, the organisations should appoint a mentor to supervise the trainees, the work must not involve any immoral activities etc.

  2. to promulgate widely the above requirements on workplace attachment training to all participating organisations through meetings and distribution of guidelines.

  3. to require all organisations providing attachment training to arrange orientation sessions for the trainees assigned to them prior to attachment. Both the organisations and the trainees may opt out of the particular attachment in case either party finds the arrangement unsuitable.

  4. to encourage trainees to report any abuses by the host organisations. A hotline will be set up within the Labour Department to handle these complaints. If considered necessary and appropriate, the concerned attachment arrangement may be suspended.

  5. to provide a network of support for trainees by assigning to them experienced social workers specialising in youth work, who will provide the necessary support and counselling service throughout the Programme. These counsellors will be very useful to the young people for coaching them throughout the six-month programme period.
6. The attachment offers received cover a wide spectrum from clerical duties to service and sales work, as well as IT-related duties. The attachment offers involve work in various sectors, including wholesale and retail, service, restaurants, hotels, transport, manufacturing, communications, social and personal services, finance, insurance, construction, government, etc.. A list of the organisations offering workplace attachment places for the Programme is provided at Annex C.


7. To provide better protection, we will take out a group insurance policy to indemnify the trainees of the Programme against public liability and in the event of personal accidents.


8. We have publicised the Programme through schools, social welfare organisations, district offices, Local Employment Services Offices, the electronic and printed media, pamphlets and posters, etc. Response from the youth has been overwhelming. 17,000 applications have already been received since registration commenced on 1 September 1999. Applicants will be assigned to courses and attachments by a computerised matching process based on the applicants' own preferences. The first batch of 59 courses with 1,488 participants will commence on 20 September.

9. Upon completion of the Programme in March 2000, we will conduct a review to see how best to equip school leavers in the 15 - 19 age group with pre-employment training before they enter the labour market.

Education and Manpower Bureau
September 1999

立法會人力事務委員會
青年職前綜合培訓

引言

我們於一九九九年六月二十四日告知議員,政府計劃於今年九月推出一項嶄新,為期六個月的「青年職前綜合培訓」,以幫助提高青年離校生的就業競爭力。我們並諮詢議員對是項計劃的意見。本文件向議員滙報計劃的最新進展。

計劃內容

2. 社會各階層對這項計劃的反應相當令人鼓舞。我們已分別從香港賽馬會及政府內部申請得撥款資助計劃。培訓機構、非政府機構及政府部門的反應均非常積極,他們已答允提供約25,000 個培訓名額,以及為參予計劃的青少年提供輔導服務。為計劃提供培訓的機構及政府部門,以及它們所提供的培訓名額列於附件A的名單內。

輔導服務

3. 為確保學員在計劃期間能得到所需的支援,30間志願機構和青年團體會在計劃進行期間,派出專責青少年服務的社會工作者,為學員提供輔導服務。社會工作者會協助學員更加了解本身的需要,因應他們的教育背景、與趣及能力,定適合他們的職業發展計劃,鼓勵他們積極參與各項訓練課程和實習訓練,幫助他們應用透過這項計劃所學得的技能及知識。所有主要的青年團體都有參與提供輔導服務。這些團體載列於附件B的名單內。

實習訓練

4. 僱主亦積極支持是項計劃。截至九月中旬,我們共從420間機構取得約10,000個實習機會,我們預計這個數字將會進一步上升。

5. 政府會採取所有所需的措施,以確保實習訓練的安全及質素。我們會採取下列的特別措施:-

  1. 根據一套統一的準則審核所有機構提供的實習訓練;準則包括有關的實習訓練不能涉及危險的工作,工作時數不可超出每週35小時,有關機構須指派一名「導師」監督學員,工作不能涉及不道德的活動等﹔

  2. 勞工處會透過會議及派發指引將上述有關工作實習的要求廣泛告知參與的機構﹔

  3. 要求所有提供實習訓練的機構,為其所獲編配得的學員在正式開始實習前安排迎新的活動。機構及學員如覺得有所不合適,均可選擇退出有關安排﹔

  4. 鼓勵學員舉報濫用這項工作實習安排的機構;勞工處會設立一個電話熱線,以處理有關投訴。如有需要,勞工處可終止有關的實習安排;

  5. 透過編配在青年工作上有豐富經驗的社工為參加實習的學員在整個計劃的六個月期間提供年青人需要的支援及輔導服務。
6. 各機構提供的實習機會範圍甚廣,包括文職職務、銷售工作、以及與資訊科技有關的職務等等。這些實習機會亦來自不同行業,當中包括批發及零售業、服務業、飲食業、酒店業、運輸業、製造業、通訊業、社會及個人服務、金融業、保險業、建造業及政府職務等。提供實習機會機構載於附件C的名單內。

保險

7. 為提供更妥善的保障,我們將為學員購買人身意外保險及公共責任保險。

申請

8. 我們通過學校、社會福利機構、各區民政事務處、本地就業輔導中心、電子及印刷傳媒、單張及海報等,宣傳是項計劃。年青人對計劃反應相當熱烈,自計劃九月一日開始接受申請,我們現已接獲17,000個申請。申請人將會透過電腦選配程式,因應他們自己的選擇,獲編配課程。第一批開始的課程有59個,有1,488名學員參與,將於九月二十日展開。

9. 在計劃於二零零年三月完畢後,我們將進行檢討,研究如何最佳地為15-19歲的青少年在投入勞工市場前提供職前培訓。

教育統籌局
一九九九年九月