LegCo Panel on Manpower
(Meeting on 20.9.99)
Work Arrangement in Times of the Black Rainstorm Warning and Typhoon

In Hong Kong, typhoons and rainstorms normally occur during the summer months. Strong winds and heavy rains can cause serious damage to life and personal property. They may also lead to severe traffic disruption, major floods and landslips, resulting in difficulties for employees to report for duty or arrive at work in time.

Why statutory regulation not practicable

2. Given the diversity in nature and requirements of different jobs in various trades and industries, and the need for some essential services, like public transport, public utilities, medical services and hotels etc., to maintain normal operation under inclement weather conditions, it would not be practicable to introduce legislation governing work arrangements for employees during typhoons and rainstorms. It is also difficult to determine which industries or trades should be covered by legislation and which should not.

Labour legislation in overseas countries

3. As far as we can ascertain, there is no specific legislation regulating work and pay for employees in adverse weather conditions in Australia, Canada, Indonesia, South Korea, Malaysia, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and the United Kingdom.

Agreement on work arrangements between employers and employees

4. To avoid unnecessary disputes, the Labour Department encourages employers to work out in consultation with employees prior work arrangements and contingency measures during rainstorms and typhoons. In drawing up the work arrangements, employers are advised to adopt a flexible approach and give prime consideration to employees' safety both in the workplace and during their journeys to and from work. Employers are strongly advised not to deduct wages and good attendance bonus of employees who are absent or late for work because of inclement weather conditions. They are advised to ensure that all employees are aware of such arrangements.

Code of Practice

5. The Labour Department has published a "Code of Practice in Times of Typhoons and Rainstorms" (the Code) to provide advice and guidelines to employers and employees on work arrangements regarding report for duty, release from work, resumption of work and wage calculation. The Code also provides a sample of work arrangements for reference by employers in preparing their arrangements.

6. The Code is available free of charge at all major offices of the Labour Department and Public Enquiry Service Centres of the Home Affairs Department. Copies have been sent to Members of the Legislative Council, employers associations, trade unions, resource centres for small and medium sized enterprises, and around 100,000 establishments employing five or more employees. It is also uploaded to the Department's Homepage on the Internet for public access.

Promotional activities by the Labour Department

7. Since April this year, the Labour Department has stepped up its publicity to promote the importance of making prior work arrangements in times of typhoon and rainstorm warnings. These activities include :

Mass media publicity

8. Television and radio announcements of public interest are broadcast on a current basis and a press release is issued every month. To avoid ambiguity, the Labour Department has, with effect from 24 August 1999, issued the following announcement through the electronic media whenever Black Rainstorm Warning is issued between 6 am and 9 am.

"The Labour Department reminds employers that as the black rainstorm warning is in force, they should not require their employees to report for work for the sake of safety, unless prior agreement on work arrangements has been made. For those employees who are already at work, they should stay where they are unless it is dangerous to do so."


9. In the publication on Sample Employment contract, the Department also advises employers to include work arrangements and wages calculation in times of typhoons and rainstorms in written contracts. Posters on the importance of prior work arrangements have been printed and displayed at the outposts of various Government departments throughout the territory.

Exhibitions and briefings

10. Special exhibition panels have been produced and displayed in three exhibitions staged at major shopping arcades. Briefings have also been organised for employers and human resource practitioners.

Tripartite dialogue at the industry level

11. The Code has been introduced to members of the four tripartite committees comprising the Labour Department as Convenor, the trade associations and the unions on catering, construction, theatre and warehouse and cargo transport trades. If individual trades have the need, the Labour Department will also assist the employers and employees to work out their work arrangements.

Samples of work arrangements

12. A number of employers have put in place work arrangements for employees during typhoons and rainstorms. A few samples of such arrangements are provided in Annexes 1 to 4.

Number of dispute cases

13. The Labour Department received five claims, each involving an individual employee, in relation to the issuance of a black rainstorm warning on 9 June 1998 and one claim from an employee in relation to the hoisting of typhoon signal No. 8 on 7 June 1999. Of the six claims, three were settled through conciliation by the Labour Department. The remaining three claims were referred either to the Labour Tribunal or the Minor Employment Claims Adjudication Board for adjudication.

14. Arising from the black rainstorm warnings issued on 23 and 24 of August 1999, as at 1 September, the Labour Department has received one claim from an employee for dismissal due to absence from duty.

Labour Department
September 1999

立法會人力事務委員會
(一九九九年九月二十日會議)
黑色暴雨警告或颱風下的工作安排

香港的夏季經常會出現颱風和暴雨。強風和暴雨可以對生命和個人財產造成嚴重損害,亦可能導致嚴重的交通障礙、水浸和山泥傾瀉,使僱員難以上班或準時到達工作崗位。

為什麼立例規管並不切實可行

2. 由於各行各業不同職位的工作性質和要求各有不同,而一些基本服務,例如公共交通、公用事業、醫療服務、酒店等在惡劣天氣下仍需維持正常運作,因此立例規管僱員在颱風或暴雨警告下的工作安排,並不切實可行,而且要決定那些行業應受法例規管,那些行業不應受法例規管,也是十分困難的。

外國的勞工法例

3. 根據我們所得的資料,澳洲、加拿大、印尼、南韓、馬來西亞、新西蘭、菲律賓、新加坡、泰國和英國都沒有特定法例,規管僱員在惡劣天氣下的工作安排和工資。

僱主和僱員就工作安排達成協議

4. 為了避免不必要的糾紛,勞工處鼓勵僱主與僱員商討,事先制訂在暴雨警告或颱風下的工作安排和應變措施。僱主在制訂工作安排時,應採取彈性的處理方法,並應首先考慮僱員在工作地點和往返工作途中的安全問題。如果僱員因惡劣天氣而不能上班或準時到達工作地點,僱主便不應扣減僱員的工資和勤工獎。僱主也應確保所有僱員知悉有關的工作安排。

工作守則

5. 勞工處出版的《颱風或暴雨警告下的工作守則》(下稱該守則),就有關上班、提早下班、復工的工作安排,以及工資計算的方法,向僱主和僱員提供意見和指引。該守則也提供有關工作安排的樣本,供僱主在制定安排時參考。

6. 該守則於勞工處各大辦事處及民政事務處各諮詢服務中心免費派發,並已寄給立法會議員、僱主商會、職工會、中小型企業資源中心,以及約100 000家聘用五名或以上僱員的機構,而內容亦已上載於互聯網上的勞工處網頁,以供市民查閱。

勞工處的宣傳活動

7. 勞工處由今年四月,加強宣傳事先制訂在颱風或暴雨警告下工作安排的重要性。這些宣傳活動包括:

透過傳媒作出宣傳

8. 經常播出電視宣傳短片及電台宣傳聲帶,和每月發放新聞稿。為避免含糊之處,由一九九九年八月二十四日,每當黑色暴雨警告在上午六時和九時之間發出時,勞工處便會透過電子傳媒作出以下宣布:

「勞工處提醒僱主由於黑色暴雨警告現已生效,為僱員安全著想,他們不應要求僱員上班,除非雙方事先已協定有關的工作安排。至於已上班的僱員,他們應留在原來的工作地點,除非該處會有危險。」

出版刊物

9. 在《僱傭合約樣本》的刊物中,本處亦建議僱主在擬訂書面合約時,把颱風或暴雨警告下的工作安排和計算工資的方法包括在內。本處並印備海報,宣傳事先制訂工作安排的重要性,這些海報已張貼於全港各處的政府告示版上。

舉辦展覽及簡介會

10. 特設的展板已在大型商場舉行的三項展覽中展出。本處亦已為僱主及人力資源從業員舉辦多個簡介會。

在行業層面的三方對話

11. 本處已向四個行業,(飲食業、建造業、戲院業、倉庫及貨運業)的三方小組介紹該守則,這些小組是由作為召集人的勞工處、商會和工會的代表組成。個別行業如有需要,本處亦會協助僱主和僱員制定有關的工作安排。

工作安排的樣本

12. 一些僱主已訂立了僱員在颱風或暴雨警告下的工作安排。這類工作安排的一些樣本現載於附件一至四。

糾紛個案數目

13. 有關在一九九八年六月九日發出的黑色暴雨警告,勞工處接獲五宗申索個案,每宗均涉及一名僱員;而有關在一九九九年六月七日懸掛的八號颱風訊號,勞工處則接獲一宗由僱員提出的申索個案。在這六宗申索個案中,三宗透過勞工處的調解而得到解決,餘下三宗則轉介勞資審裁處或小額薪酬索償仲裁處審裁。

14. 就一九九九年八月二十三日及二十四日發出的黑色暴雨警告,截至九月一日為止,本處接獲一宗僱員因沒有上班而遭解僱的申索個案。

勞工處
一九九九年九月