Legislative Council

LC Paper No. CB(1) 150/99-00

Ref : CB1/HS/1/98

Paper for the House Committee meeting
on 22 October 1999

Report of the Subcommittee on
Securities and Futures Bill


This paper reports on the work progress of the Subcommittee on Securities and Futures Bill.


2. The Financial Secretary announced a major overhaul of the legislation governing the securities and futures markets of Hong Kong in his 1999-2000 Budget Speech. The legislative reform will be reflected in a composite Securities and Futures Bill ("the Bill") to be introduced into the Council by the end of 1999.

3. The Panel on Financial Affairs received a briefing by the Administration on the major reform proposals under the Bill on 5 July 1999. In view of the complexity of the Bill, the Panel recommended that a subcommittee be formed under the House Committee to advance the detailed study of the proposals enshrined in the Bill before it is introduced. The establishment of the subcommittee could also facilitate the Administration to incorporate Members' views expressed in the subcommittee into the draft Bill. The recommendation was endorsed at the House Committee meeting on 9 July 1999.

The Bill

4. The Bill seeks to update the regulatory framework for financial markets so as to enable Hong Kong to meet the challenges of global competition.

The Subcommittee

5. The Subcommittee on Securities and Futures Bill (the Subcommittee) first met on 10 September 1999. Hon Ronald ARCULLI and Hon Albert HO Chun-yan were elected Chairman and Deputy Chairman of the Subcommittee respectively. The membership of the Subcommittee is in Appendix I. The Subcommittee has held four meetings with the Administration.

The work of the Subcommittee

6. The Subcommittee was briefed by the Administration on the key proposals of the Bill under the following topics:

    - Review of licensing regime for market intermediaries;
    - Disciplinary powers of Securities and Futures Commission (SFC);
    - Establishment of a Securities and Futures Appeal Tribunal;
    - Enhancing inquiry powers into listed companies;
    - Establishment of a Market Misconduct Tribunal;
    - Disclosure of interests in securities;
    - Statutory backing for listing rules and liability for misstatements;
    - Regulation of automated trading facilities;
    - Statutory private right of action; and
    - Powers of intervention in proceedings.

Major concerns raised by members

Enhancing inquiry powers into listed companies: Access to auditors' working papers

7. Section 29A of the Securities and Futures Commission Ordinance is aimed to provide for a preliminary inquiry into suspected misconduct. The section enables SFC to inspect the books and records of a listed company where there are circumstances suggesting fraud, misfeasance or other misconduct in the management of a listed company or that shareholders have not received information to which they are entitled. However, in practice, SFC has only limited ability to place the entries in the books and records in any meaningful context or to check their veracity. To rectify these problems, the Bill seeks to enhance SFC's power in three areas, one of which is to provide SFC with power to obtain the working papers of the auditor of a listed company, its subsidiaries, or any other company substantially under the control of the listed company without the requirement to obtain a court order.

8. The Administration's reasons for requiring access to auditors' working papers are that these working papers could contain helpful information that is not otherwise available or that could curtail the need for further inquiry, and that the veracity of documents and explanations provided by the company, its directors and officers could be tested.

9. Members have raised a number of concerns over the enhancement of section 29A. They are of the view that SFC might be given excessive power and that checks and balances on such power might not be adequate. To avoid any abuse of power, members consider that detailed procedures for SFC in exercising the power, such as under what circumstances the power could be exercised, what kind of papers would be considered as working papers, use of the working papers and the information gained, etc. should be laid down clearly.

10. While appreciating members' concern, the Administration has stressed that SFC has been very careful in exercising its power. Since the enactment of the provision, SFC has only exercised its inquiry power on 9 occasions. As regards SFC's power to gain access to auditors' papers without recourse to a court order, the Administration gives its explanation that such a concept has been accepted both in Hong Kong and overseas. The Independent Commission Against Corruption and the Inland Revenue Department in Hong Kong are currently provided with similar powers. The Administration has assured members that statutory thresholds will have to be met before SFC can begin an investigation. Besides, SFC's internal operations and decision-making process will be subject to scrutiny by the newly formed Process Review Panel.

11. Some members are still not convinced by the Administration's explanation. They consider that given different circumstances, it is not appropriate to directly compare the powers of SFC and other regulatory authorities overseas. In response to various comments from members, the Administration has undertaken to consider members' view, in particular on the definition of "working papers".

Statutory immunity for auditors of listed company

12. The Administration has advised that it will take the opportunity to include in the Bill an earlier proposal to provide statutory immunity to auditors of listed companies if they see the need to report suspected fraud and misconduct to relevant regulatory authorities in the course of their auditing work. This proposal was previously introduced into the Legislative Council on 27 November 1996. Members have expressed divergent views on the proposal in the Subcommittee.

13. On members' concern over the possible increase in the scope of auditors' potential liability under the proposal, the Administration stresses that the Bill does not seek to impose any additional duties on auditors, it merely provides "statutory protection to auditors who decide to blow the whistle in good faith". As corporate regulation in Hong Kong relies significantly on auditors and shareholders of a listed company rely on the company's audited accounts, the Administration emphasizes that an auditor has an obligation to report fraud and misconduct in a listed company's accounting. It is therefore the Administration's intention to provide auditors with statutory immunity when they make such reports to regulatory authorities.

14. As regards legal obligation to report fraud in the companies, some members are of the view that auditors as well as other professionals should have the obligation to report fraud and they should also be provided with the same statutory immunity. Nevertheless, other suggestion has also been made to the Administration that it should be stated clearly in the provision that auditors do not have legal obligation to report fraud in a company.

15. The Administration has explained that an express provision in the Bill to state that auditors have no legal reporting duties will give a misunderstanding that other professionals do have such duties. In view of the wide public concern, the Administration has undertaken to further discuss the issue with the relevant professionals.

Other concerns

16. Apart from the above issues, members have also raised other areas of concerns which will be considered by the Administration during the drafting stage of the Bill. A list of the concerns raised by members are set out in Appendix II.


17. The Subcommittee recommends that pending the follow-up action by the Administration to provide a summary of its response to representations received in respect of the proposals under the Bill, the work of the Subcommittee will be held in abeyance until it is transformed into a Bills Committee to study the Bill. It will take over the work of the Subcommittee from then onwards.

Advice sought

18. Members are invited to support the recommendation at paragraph 17 above.

Legislative Council Secretariat
20 October 1999

Appendix I

Legislative Council
House Committee
Subcommittee on Securities and Futures Bill

Membership List

夏佳理議員 (主席)Hon Ronald ARCULLI, JP (Chairman)
何俊仁議員 (副主席)Hon Albert HO Chun-yan (Deputy Chairman)
李家祥議員Hon Eric LI Ka-cheung, JP
涂謹申議員Hon James TO Kun-sun
張永森議員Hon Ambrose CHEUNG Wing-sum, JP
陸恭蕙議員Hon Christine LOH
單仲偕議員Hon SIN Chung-kai
黃宜弘議員Dr Hon Philip WONG Yu-hong
曾鈺成議員Hon Jasper TSANG Yok-sing, JP
劉漢銓議員Hon Ambrose LAU Hon-chuen, JP
馮志堅議員Hon FUNG Chi-kin

合共: 11位議員
Total: 11 Members

Date:10 September 1999

Appendix II

Subcommittee on
Securities and Futures Bill

Review of licensing regime for market intermediaries

Members' concernAdministration's response
SFC would become a super regulatory body with too much power. Adequate checks and balances e.g. Securities and Futures Appeals Tribunal would be built to review decisions of SFC.
Licensed banks actively participating in securities brokering should also be regulated by SFC. Overlapping in regulation by both Hong Kong Monetary Authority (HKMA) & SFC was not necessary. Close coordination between SFC & HKMA would ensure that regulatory objectives could be achieved.
Definition of incidental advice provided by solicitors and accountants as well as the reporting requirements from the professionals carrying on the business of dealing in securities as principal should be clarified. SFC would clarify the 'incidental' concept by way of a practice note. The practice note would be subject to public consultation.
A balance should be struck between setting criteria to ensure competence of the licensed intermediaries and leaving room for small scale intermediaries to carry on business in the market. A pragmatic and flexible approach would be adopted in the consideration of every case of license application.
Whether it was possible to establish a single regulatory body for financial markets to avoid confusion. No such plan at this stage. Different regulatory bodies would maintain close coordination to achieve effective regulation.
A considerable amount of time would be required for thorough scrutiny of the Bill in view of its complicated nature and wide coverage. The timetable given by the Administration was too tight. The regulatory framework should be modernized as soon as possible so as to enable the securities and futures industry to remain competitive.

Disciplinary powers of Securities and Futures Commission

Members' concernAdministration's response
On the criteria for determining and calibrating civil fines, given that the size and financial resources of a firm would be a factor of consideration on deciding the level of fines imposed, dishonest market participants might make use of this consideration and carry out large scale market manipulation activities through small intermediaries to minimize the possible fine that might be imposed as a result of misconduct. This would only be one of the factors to be considered but not the only determining factor. There would be a set of guidelines setting out criteria and circumstances to be taken into account so as to ensure justice in individual case and consistency of judgement across cases. The Administration undertook to consider members' view.
On the transparency of the disciplinary procedures, private reprimand might be unfair to other market participants as they had no information on the misconduct of the intermediary concerned. Private reprimand would only be given under special circumstances where the misconduct was of minor nature, investors' interests would not be hampered, and where the concerned intermediary had taken appropriate remedial actions.
On what basis the proposed level of maximum fine for misconduct would be set. The penalties imposed would be the same as those imposed by the Market Misconduct Tribunal to ensure a consistent approach.
How the disciplinary sanctions outside the territory could be enforced. "Memorandum of Understanding" had been signed between Hong Kong and other jurisdictions to enable extra-territorial investigation and exchange of necessary information.
Whether it was possible to recover investigation cost from the fines collected. The fines would be put under the Government's general revenue to keep SFC's role impartial in the investigation.

Establishment of a Securities and Futures Appeal Tribunal

Members' concernAdministration's response
Under the proposal, the final decision of the Tribunal would be made only by the Chairman of the Tribunal. Members however considered that lay members assisting the Chairman should also be allowed to participate in the decision-making. Members' views were accepted and amendments in the draft Bill would be made accordingly.
Interlocutory hearing by the Tribunal should be allowed so that a firm subject to immediate suspension of business could have means of deferring the suspension pending the result of an appeal. Views accepted.
Whether a representative from the Hong Kong Society of Accountants could be appointed to the Tribunal. Members of the Tribunal would be appointed on the basis that they had no conflict of interest with the work of the Tribunal and had adequate market knowledge to advise the judge on aspects of market operations. Hence, representatives of any particular professional association or interest group would not be the major concern in the appointment.
Members supported the establishment of the Tribunal and suggested that similar appeal tribunal could be set up for other sectors e.g. the insurance agents. This should be subject to the special needs of different sectors and be considered by the relevant regulatory bodies.

Enhancing inquiry powers into listed companies

Members' concernAdministration's response
Under the proposed enhancement of section 29A of the Securities and Futures Commission Ordinance, SFC would be empowered to seek access to an auditor's working papers. Members considered that to avoid abuse of power, detailed procedures for SFC in exercising such power should be laid down such as under what circumstances the power could be exercised, what kind of papers would be considered as working papers, use of the working papers and the information gained, etc. Access to auditors' papers without recourse to a court order had been an accepted concept both in Hong Kong and overseas. ICAC & IRD were provided with similar powers. Statutory thresholds had to be met before SFC could begin an investigation. SFC's internal operations and decision-making process would be subject to scrutiny by the Process Review Panel. Nevertheless, the definition of "working papers" would be clarified.
Controversial views on whether auditors and other professionals as well, should have legal obligation to report fraud in the companies. Immunity from legal prosecution should also be extended to other professionals in reporting suspected fraud or misconduct. Reference should be made to HKMA. The proposal aimed to enhance SFC to discharge its supervisory and investigatory duties effectively without unnecessary and undue intrusion into the affairs of companies and individuals.
The circumstances under which auditors had to report to SFC as well as definitions of "fraud" and "misconduct" should be clarified. Views noted.

Disclosure of interests in securities

Members' concernAdministration's response
Definition of "settlor" should be clarified. Views noted.
To improve market transparency, provision should be made to require dissemination of information on internet. Information had already been made available on the website of the Stock Exchange of Hong Kong (SEHK) and in SEHK's publications.

Statutory backing for listing rules and liability for misstatements

Members' concernAdministration's response
Listing Rules should be subject to the scrutiny of the Legislative Council. Listing Rules should be market-oriented and flexible.

Regulation of automated trading facilities

Members' concernAdministration's response
Whether it was possible to preserve the existing monopoly held by SEHK in respect of trading in securities if the proposal of granting authorization to automated trading systems (ATSs) was to be implemented. In view of the global trend of ATS operations, the Bill would not seek to change the existing SEHK's monopoly as presently prescribed in the law but to incorporate ATS activities into the regulatory regime.
It could be difficult to regulate transactions carried out in offshore markets. Subject to the "Memorandum of Understanding" signed with other jurisdiction, Hong Kong could exercise investigation power to investigate misconduct in offshore markets.
Definition of ATSs involving transactions of Hong Kong stock should be clarified. Instead of using a single set of rules and definitions, ATSs would be assessed individually according to the type of services they provided and the scale of transactions involved.

Statutory private right of action

Members' concernAdministration's response
The proposal could only benefit those big companies or individuals with adequate financial resources to pay for the cost of the legal proceedings and could not help the majority small investors. Limiting the right of action to action against the company would not hold if the company went into liquidation. The Administration should balance the practicability of the proposal against the current requirement of having independent non-executive directors. A special fund, similar to the Consumer Legal Action Fund, should be set up to assist small investors in taking collective action to sue for damages. The suggestion of a special fund would not fall within the scope of the Bill.

Powers of intervention in proceedings

Members' concernAdministration's response
SFC power to intervene in third party proceedings might be acceptable if it was limited to circumstances when it was in the public interest to do so. Other reasons for intervention, including in the interest of the just and equitable resolution of the proceedings, were not justifiable. The Administration agreed to reconsider the circumstances requiring intervention.

Legislative Council Secretariat
20 October 1999

內 務 委 員 會 ( 文件 ) 1999年10月22日

立法會

立法會CB(1)150/99-00號文件

檔號 :CB1/HS/1/98

1999年10月22日內務委員會會議文件

《證券及期貨條例草案》小組委員會報告

目的

本文件旨在匯報《證券及期貨條例草案》小組委員會的工作進展。

背景

2. 財政司司長在1999至2000財政年度政府財政預算案演詞中宣布,規管本港證券及期貨市場的法例將會進行重大改革。有關的法例改革將會包含在一條綜合的《證券及期貨條例草案》(下稱"條例草案")內,該條例草案將於1999年年底前提交立法會審議。

3. 政府當局曾於1999年7月5日就條例草案所載的各項主要改革建議,向財經事務委員會作出匯報。鑒於條例草案內容複雜,事務委員會建議在內務委員會之下成立小組委員會,以便在條例草案提交立法會前,預先就條例草案內各項建議進行詳細研究。成立小組委員會亦可讓政府當局將小組委員會委員提出的意見納入條例草案擬本內。內務委員會於1999年7月9日的會議席上通過該項建議。

條例草案

4. 條例草案旨在革新金融市場的規管架構,以便香港可應付全球競爭所帶來的挑戰。

小組委員會

5. 《證券及期貨條例草案》小組委員會(下稱"小組委員會")於1999年9月10日舉行首次會議。夏佳理議員及何俊仁議員分別當選小組委員會正副主席。小組委員會的委員名單載於附錄I。小組委員會與政府當局舉行了4次會議。

小組委員會的工作

6. 政府當局根據以下題目,向小組委員會概述條例草案內各項主要建議:

    - 市場中介機構發牌制度的檢討;
    - 證券及期貨事務監察委員會(下稱"證監會")的紀律處分權力;
    - 設立證券及期貨事務上訴審裁處;
    - 加強對上市公司的查訊權力;
    - 設立市場失當行為審裁處;
    - 披露證券權益;
    - 賦予《上市規則》法定效力及虛報資料責任;
    - 規管自動化交易設施;
    - 法定私人訴訟權;及
    - 介入訴訟的權力。

委員提出的主要關注事項

加強對上市公司的查訊權力:索取核數師的工作底稿

7. 《證券及期貨事務監察委員會條例》第29A條旨在對涉嫌失當行為進行初步查訊。該條文讓證監會可在相信一家上市公司的管理方面出現有詐騙行為、不當行為或其他失當行為,或在股東未能獲得其理應得到的資料時,檢查該公司的簿冊及紀錄。然而,實際的情況是,證監會在要求清楚解釋簿冊及紀錄上的記項或核實這些記項的真確性方面,權力實在有限。為糾正這些問題,條例草案旨在加強證監會在三方面的權力。其中一項是賦權證監會在無須取得法院命令的情況下,索取上市公司、其附屬公司及實質由該上市公司控制的任何其他公司的核數師工作底稿。

8. 政府當局要求索取核數師工作底稿的原因,是因為這些工作底稿可能載有無法從其他途徑取得的有用資料,或所載的資料將可省卻進一步的查訊。此外,亦可測試該公司、其董事及高級人員所提供的文件及所作出的解釋的真確性。

9. 委員對擴大第29A條的權力範圍提出多項關注事項。他們認為證監會或獲賦予過大的權力,而且用以制衡該項權力的措施亦未必足夠。為免出現濫用權力的情況,委員認為應清楚及詳細訂明證監會在行使該項權力時的程序,例如在何種情況下可行使該項權力、哪些文件會被視作工作底稿、工作底稿及所得資料的運用等。

10. 政府當局雖然理解委員提出的關注事項,但強調證監會在行使其權力時,一直十分審慎。自該條文制定為法例後,證監會只在9宗個案中行使其查訊權力。關於證監會無須憑藉法院命令,亦有權取得核數師工作底稿的規定,政府當局解釋,此概念已為香港及海外地區所接受。現時香港的廉政公署及稅務局亦獲提供類似的權力。政府當局向委員保證,證監會必須在符合有關法定規限的情況下,才可展開調查。此外,證監會的內部運作及作出決定的過程,必須受到新成立的程序檢討委員會的審查。

11. 部分委員仍不信服政府當局的解釋。他們認為由於各地情況有別,將證監會的權力與其他海外規管機構的權力作直接比較,並不恰當。在回應委員提出的各項意見時,政府當局承諾將會加以考慮,特別是"工作底稿"的定義。

上市公司核數師的法定免責權

12. 政府當局表示會藉此機會,將較早前的一項建議納入條例草案內,以規定如上市公司的核數師在審計過程中,發現有懷疑欺詐行為或失當行為,並認為須向有關的規管當局舉報,該等核數師可獲提供法定免責權。該項建議曾於1996年11月27日提交立法局。委員在小組委員會上對有關建議發表不同的意見。

13. 委員關注,該項建議可能擴大核數師的潛在法律責任的涵蓋範圍。政府當局為此強調,條例草案並非旨在規定核數師必須承擔任何額外的責任,只是訂明"決定真誠地揭發實情的核數師可獲得法定保障"。由於在香港對公司進行監管,有需要倚重核數師合作,而上市公司的股東亦需依賴有關公司的經審核帳目,所以政府當局強調,核數師有義務舉報上市公司的帳目中出現的欺詐行為及失當行為。因此,政府當局擬於核數師對規管機構作出此類舉報時,向他們提供法定免責權。

14. 關於舉報公司欺詐行為的法律義務,部分委員認為,除核數師外,其他專業人士亦須承擔舉報欺詐行為的義務,而他們亦應獲提供相同的法定免責權。然而,政府當局亦接獲其他建議,要求當局在條文內清楚述明核數師無須承擔舉報公司欺詐行為的法律義務。

15. 政府當局解釋,在條例草案加入明示條文,說明核數師無須承擔有關舉報的法律義務,會令人誤以為其他專業人士必須承擔該等義務。由於上述建議引起社會人士廣泛關注,政府當局承諾與有關的專業人士進一步討論此事。

其他關注事項

16. 除上述問題外,委員亦提出其他關注事項,以便政府當局在條例草案的草擬階段加以研究。委員提出的關注事項一覽表載於附錄II

建議

17. 小組委員會建議,由於政府當局需採取跟進行動,就其對所接獲關於條例草案各項建議的申述書而作出扼要回應,小組委員會可於此段期間暫停工作,待改為成立法案委員會後,法案委員會便會接手處理小組委員會的工作。

徵詢意見

18. 請議員支持上文第17段所載的建議。


立法會秘書處
1999年10月20日


附錄I
Appendix I

立法會
內務委員會
《證券及期貨條例草案》小組委員會
Legislative Council
House Committee
Subcommittee on Securities and Futures Bill

委員名單
Membership List


夏佳理議員 (主席) Hon Ronald ARCULLI, JP (Chairman)
何俊仁議員 (副主席) Hon Albert HO Chun-yan (Deputy Chairman)
李家祥議員 Hon Eric LI Ka-cheung, JP
涂謹申議員 Hon James TO Kun-sun
張永森議員 Hon Ambrose CHEUNG Wing-sum, JP
陸恭蕙議員 Hon Christine LOH
單仲偕議員 Hon SIN Chung-kai
黃宜弘議員 Dr Hon Philip WONG Yu-hong
曾鈺成議員 Hon Jasper TSANG Yok-sing, JP
劉漢銓議員 Hon Ambrose LAU Hon-chuen, JP
馮志堅議員 Hon FUNG Chi-kin


合共: 11位議員
Total: 11 Members


日期: 1999年9月10日
Date: 10 September 1999

附錄II


《證券及期貨條例草案》小組委員會

市場中介機構發牌制度的檢討

委員提出的關注事項 政府當局的回應
證監會將會成為權力過大的超級監管機構。 將會制訂足夠的制衡措施,例如設立證券及期貨事務上訴審裁處,覆核證監會的決定。
積極從事證券經紀業務的持牌銀行亦應受證監會監管。 香港金融管理局(下稱"金管局")與證監會的監管工作沒有必要重疊。證監會與金管局會通力合作,確保可達致所訂定的監管目標。
應澄清何謂律師及會計師提供的附帶顧問服務,以及以主事人身份從事證券交易業務的專業投資者所必須遵守的呈報要求。證監會會透過發出應用指引,澄清"附帶"的概念。證監會會就應用指引進行公眾諮詢。
應該在釐定準則以確保持牌中介機構的勝任能力,以及保留空間讓小規模中介機構得以在市場上經營兩者之間取得平衡。會以務實及靈活的方式考慮每宗牌照申請。
能否設立單一機構監管金融市場,以避免混亂。 現階段沒有此計劃。各個監管機構會繼續通力合作,以達致有效監管。
鑒於條例草案內容複雜,涵蓋範圍亦十分廣泛,因此將需要花大量時間,以詳細審議條例草案。政府當局訂定的時間表過於緊迫。應盡快革新監管架構,以便證券及期貨業可保持競爭力。


證券及期貨事務監察委員會的紀律處分權力

委員提出的關注事項 政府當局的回應
關於確立及釐定民事罰款的準則,由於在決定所施加的罰款水平時,有關商號的規模及財政資源會是考慮因素之一,不誠實行事的市場參與者或會利用此項考慮因素,透過小規模中介機構進行大規模操控市場活動,以期盡量減少因失當行為而可能被施加的罰款。 這只是其中一個考慮因素,而不是唯一一個決定因素。證監會會有一套指引,列出所考慮的準則及情況,以確保每宗個案得以公正處理,以及各宗個案的裁決貫徹一致。政府當局答應考慮委員的意見。
關於紀律處分程序的透明度,私下譴責的做法或會對其他市場參與者有欠公允,因為他們無從得悉有關中介機構的失當行為。 證監會只會在有關的失當行為僅屬輕微性質,投資者的利益不會因而受損,以及有關的中介機構已採取適當的補救行動各種特殊情況下,才作出私下譴責。
當局會根據何等理據,釐定所擬議的失當行為最高罰款額。 所施加的罰則會與市場失當行為審裁處訂定的罰則相同,以確保做法貫徹一致。
如何能夠在本港以外執行紀律制裁。 香港與其他司法管轄區已簽訂"諒解備忘錄",以便可進行境外調查及交換所需的資料。
可否從所徵收的罰款中討回調查費用。 有關罰款會撥歸政府一般收入內,以保持證監會在調查工作中角色中立。


設立證券及期貨事務上訴審裁處

委員提出的關注事項 政府當局的回應
根據該項建議,審裁處的最終裁決將只會由審裁處主席作出。然而,委員認為協助主席的非司法專業人士的委員,亦應獲准參與有關的決策過程。當局接納委員的意見,並會在條例草案擬本內作出相應修訂。
審裁處應獲准進行非正審聆訊,以便面臨即時停業的公司在等候上訴結果期間,可以有途徑延遲執行停業令。意見獲接納。
香港會計師公會的代表可否獲委任為審裁處的成員。 當局將會根據以下原則委任審裁處的成員:他們與審裁處的工作沒有利益衝突,並充分瞭解金融市場的情況,以便就金融市場的運作向法官提供意見。因此,在委任過程中,有關人士是否任何專業人士協會或有關組織的代表,將不會是當局主要關注的事項。
委員支持設立該審裁處,並建議當局可為其他行業,例如保險經紀等設立類似的上訴審裁處。 這應視乎各不同行業的特殊需要而定,並應由有關的監管機構考慮。


加強對上市公司的查訊權力

委員提出的關注事項 政府當局的回應
根據有關擴大《證券及期貨事務監察委員會條例》第29A條權力範圍的建議,證監會將獲賦權索取核數師的工作底稿。委員認為,為免出現濫用權力的情況,應在條文中訂明證監會行使該項權力的詳細程序,例如在何種情況下可以行使有關權力、哪些文件會被視為工作底稿、工作底稿及所得資料的運用等。 香港及海外地區均接納可在無須憑藉法院命令的情況下,索取核數師工作底稿的做法。廉政公署及稅務局均獲類似的權力。證監會必須在符合有關法定規限的情況下,才可展開調查。證監會的內部運作及作出決定的過程,必須受到程序檢討委員會的審查。然而,當局會澄清"工作底稿"的定義。
對於核數師及其他專業人士應否承擔法律義務,舉報公司的欺詐行為,委員對此意見不一。當局應擴大免受法律檢控權的涵蓋範圍,使其他專業人士在舉報懷疑欺詐行為或失當行為時亦受到保障。當局應參考金管局的做法。 此項建議旨在提高證監會在履行其監管及調查職能的成效,但無須對公司及個別人士的事務作出不必要及不適當的侵擾。
應澄清核數師在何種情況下需要向證監會作出舉報,以及"欺詐行為"及"失當行為"的定義。 當局察悉有關意見。


披露證券權益

委員提出的關注事項 政府當局的回應
應澄清"信託創立人"的定義。當局察悉有關意見。
為加強市場的透明度,應制定條文規定必須透過互聯網發布消息。 香港聯合交易所(下稱"聯交所")的網頁及聯交所發出的刊物,均已載有有關資料。


賦予《上市規則》法定效力及虛報資料的責任

委員提出的關注事項 政府當局的回應
《上市規則》應提交立法會審議。《上市規則》應由市場主導,並具備靈活性。


規管自動化交易設施

委員提出的關注事項 政府當局的回應
倘實施有關對自動化交易系統作出認可的建議,聯交所現時擁有的證券買賣專營權可否獲得保留。 鑒於以自動化交易系統運作是全球的趨勢,條例草案並非旨在更改現時法例指明聯交所現有的專營權,而是把自動化交易系統的活動納入規管機制內。
難以規管在離岸市場進行的買賣。 倘與其他司法管轄區簽訂《諒解備忘錄》,香港便可行使調查權力,調查在離岸市場的失當行為。
應澄清涉及買賣香港股票的自動化交易系統的定義。 當局會根據所提供的服務的類別及涉及買賣的規模,對自動化交易系統進行個別的評估,而不會單使用一套規則及定義。


法定私人訴訟權

委員提出的關注事項 政府當局的回應
此項建議只會令擁有足夠財政資源,以支付法律訴訟費用的大規模公司及個別人士受惠,大部分小投資者不會因而獲益。如果有關公司進行清盤,則限制對該公司採取訴訟權的規定便無效。政府當局應在該項建議是否切實可行,以及現行規定須有獨立非執行董事兩者之間取得平衡。當局應設立一個類似消費者訴訟基金的特別基金,協助小投資者提出集體訴訟,要求賠償。 條例草案的涵蓋範圍並不包括設立特別基金的建議。


介入訴訟的權力

委員提出的關注事項 政府當局的回應
證監會介入第三方訴訟的權力,如果只限於在保障公眾利益的情況下行使,也許可以接受。其他介入的理由,包括有助訴訟能得到公正公平的裁決等,均不是作出介入的充分理由。 政府當局同意重新考慮須作出介入的情況。



立法會秘書處
1999年10月20日